View Full Version : Best Beer Gardens un Edinburgh

20-07-2013, 03:50 PM
Well? :greengrin
And please dont say the Pear Tree.

Godsahibby
20-07-2013, 04:12 PM
Not "technically" in Edinburgh but the Steading at the bottom of Hillend has an amazing garden. Another place that is pretty decent is the Ettrick Hotel, thats a proper little suntrap and gets the sun until late. Only down side is sometimes there can be families with screaming bairns!

20-07-2013, 04:13 PM
The Beehive in the Grassmarket has a decent space out back but will likely be rammed.

The Steading up by Hillend ski slope also has a nice beer garden but a bit out the way.

The Cumberland Bar and Henricks up at Brunstfield are also good.

20-07-2013, 04:16 PM
Sheep heid for me, especially when there's a beer festival on.

20-07-2013, 04:23 PM
The Beehive in the Grassmarket has a decent space out back but will likely be rammed.

The Steading up by Hillend ski slope also has a nice beer garden but a bit out the way.

The Cumberland Bar and Henricks up at Brunstfield are also good.

The Cumberland was my first thought as well but havent been there for a while.

20-07-2013, 04:31 PM
The Cumberland was my first thought as well but havent been there for a while.

Star bar near there has a beer garden too I think.

hibsboy90
20-07-2013, 04:55 PM
56north near clerk street is great for sunning yourself over a beer. Not a garden technically, but outdoor seating regardless.

20-07-2013, 05:06 PM
There's a few decent places down the shore were you can sit outside for a beer

20-07-2013, 06:04 PM
56north near clerk street is great for sunning yourself over a beer. Not a garden technically, but outdoor seating regardless.

You're about five yards from the traffic roaring past Potterrow at 56north. Im after something a bit more beer gardeny.

20-07-2013, 08:16 PM
The Out House off Broughton Street is ok. The pub opposite the commy that uses to be the physician and Firkin was not bad. Edinburgh doesn't really do beer gardens though, I'm struggling to think of anywhere else.

21-07-2013, 01:37 AM
Loads of al fresco drinking will pop up for the Festival.

21-07-2013, 10:14 AM
Loads of al fresco drinking will pop up for the Festival.

Al wants to watch his liver.

hibby rae
21-07-2013, 01:13 PM
The Blackbird in Bruntsfield is nice, was there last week. If you can be bothered with the trek then get a bus to the Flotterstone Inn, doesn't get too busy as it's far out and the food's brilliant.

DanHFC1875
21-07-2013, 01:35 PM
The Manse snooker hall in Corrie lol

21-07-2013, 03:56 PM

I was up at The Pear Tree yesterday, dinnae see the problem with it.

21-07-2013, 04:04 PM
I was up at The Pear Tree yesterday, dinnae see the problem with it.

Its always been full of the worst kind of studenty ****ers, in my humble opinion. (Yourself yesterday excluded im sure).

21-07-2013, 04:43 PM
Its always been full of the worst kind of studenty ****ers, in my humble opinion. (Yourself yesterday excluded im sure).

You're right, I'm not a student! :-)

Ants
24-07-2013, 04:25 PM

An absolute sun trap,
Plenty of footie related banter,
Good beer, Belhaven Cold Best,
Good décor, easy access,
That's the Luckies, aka The Horseshoe.....

24-07-2013, 05:26 PM
The Railway at juniper green.... Great beer, big garden..... No kids :-)

Bit pricy mind, but still worth it.

24-07-2013, 08:13 PM
The Railway at juniper green.... Great beer, big garden..... No kids :-)

Bit pricy mind, but still worth it.

agreed. I really miss staying up there, not that pricey though, from memory £3.40 for a tennants?

24-07-2013, 09:33 PM
agreed. I really miss staying up there, not that pricey though, from memory £3.40 for a tennants?

Fair do's on the tennants.. I tend to go for the real ales up there...... I suppose I'm trying to say more "in town" levels of pricing :-)

24-07-2013, 09:51 PM
If it wasn't populated by rich yams it would be up there with my favourite pubs...saying that may move back up there next year so they can have their mouthy Hibby back to wind them all up!

24-07-2013, 10:22 PM
An absolute sun trap,
Plenty of footie related banter,
Good beer, Belhaven Cold Best,
Good décor, easy access,
That's the Luckies, aka The Horseshoe.....

Thats my old mans local, never really noticed The Beer Garden.

Ants
26-07-2013, 09:05 AM
Thats my old mans local, never really noticed The Beer Garden.

Its not used very much outwith the traditional Scottish summer week.
Whos yir old man?
Its my local when I'm back in Edinburgh....

26-07-2013, 10:36 AM
Its not used very much outwith the traditional Scottish summer week.
Whos yir old man?
Its my local when I'm back in Edinburgh....

Billy the fish! ;-)

06-08-2013, 12:33 PM
The dalriada at Joppa.
The Golf

Bet there must be some good bowling clubs with beer gardens?

07-08-2013, 08:11 AM
The Blue Goose has a decent area next to the Water of Leith.

Nice pint of San Miguel too.

http://thebluegoosecountrypub.co.uk/

07-08-2013, 09:28 AM

Is that the pub that used to be the Tickled Trout?

07-08-2013, 09:33 AM
Is that the pub that used to be the Tickled Trout?

:agree: and the Dell Inn before that.

08-08-2013, 12:00 AM

Never been to this incarnation but used to love the beer garden of the dell inn/tickled. Plenty of space, nice scenery and that sound of the waterfall. If I stayed in that area now that would be my pub of choice.