View Full Version : Betting Odds

Islington Hibs
19-05-2013, 07:00 PM
The bookies don't give us a chance. Typically 6-1 with the best out there are 15-2 for a Hibs win in 90 minutes (Bet Victor according to odds checker) with Celtic 1-2 on. I have posted elsewhere saying I think we can do it. Regardless of my prejudiced optimism these odds look far too generous. What is the general view?

19-05-2013, 07:06 PM
Hibs are 7.8 for the win on Betfair, quite unusual for a normal bookie to have better odds.
A look at the league table would indicate the odds are about right.

19-05-2013, 07:07 PM
We're between 3-1 and 4-1 to win it - the trophy not the 90 minutes - have to admit to being tempted

West hamBERNIAN
19-05-2013, 07:08 PM
The bookies don't give us a chance. Typically 6-1 with the best out there are 15-2 for a Hibs win in 90 minutes (Bet Victor according to odds checker) with Celtic 1-2 on. I have posted elsewhere saying I think we can do it. Regardless of my prejudiced optimism these odds look far too generous. What is the general view?

Literally just looked at William hill. Not going to make it up this year so ill put a few quid on. Liked the look of 1 nil hibs Lewis 1st scorer. Bout 500 to 1. Who knows...

19-05-2013, 07:08 PM
Putting £50 on hibs to win... that should pay for the party

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

19-05-2013, 07:10 PM
Hibs are 7.8 for the win on Betfair, quite unusual for a normal bookie to have better odds.
A look at the league table would indicate the odds are about right.

If it hadn't been for those four dropped points vs Dundee United and Hearts, we'd have been fourth; a solitary point off third.

19-05-2013, 07:12 PM
If it hadn't been for those four dropped points vs Dundee United and Hearts, we'd have been fourth; a solitary point off third.

How can you possibly know that?

Edit - I see what you've done now, I dinnae really know where to start, its wrong for so many different reasons!

19-05-2013, 07:13 PM
I'll be having a small punt on Griffiths anytime/Hibs to win.

Not even looked at odds but worth a go.

I'll probably also put a Dortmund/Hibs/Froch treble on as thats who i'll be supporting in all the sport I plan to watch next weekend.

19-05-2013, 07:15 PM
I think after Motherwell there's not a lot between the teams - are the Hibs team as good as ICT and Ross County?
On their day yes, so I don't think the league table itself is worth calculating odds on.

Given Celtic's record at Hampden under Lennon the odds are fairly generous

19-05-2013, 07:16 PM
How can you possibly know that?

Going for the overly simple tactic of adding four to our points total.

However, I refuse to believe that a game vs Ross County, ICT, St Johnstone, Dundee United etc. is any harder than a derby at Tynecastle.

We also finished with more points than Dundee United in sixth; I think looking at the league table with the way the split goes is a little inaccurate in terms of abilities of squads.

19-05-2013, 07:26 PM
Putting £50 on hibs to win... that should pay for the party

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Not a chance :greengrin

19-05-2013, 07:26 PM
Going for the overly simple tactic of adding four to our points total.

To be honest I was giving you the benefit of the doubt by hoping that wasn't what you'd done. Its the kind of thing bairns will be saying in the playground at school.

HibeeBigFly
19-05-2013, 07:30 PM
B365 have the following odds for first scorer;

Kuqi 12/1
Harris 40/1
Thomson 50/1

Done a timecast for Harris first scorer in the first 20 mins at 75/1, 21-45 90/1 and 45plus at 120/1.

19-05-2013, 07:32 PM
B365 have the following odds for first scorer;

Kuqi 12/1
Harris 40/1
Thomson 50/1

Done a timecast for Harris first scorer in the first 20 mins at 75/1, 21-45 90/1 and 45plus at 120/1.

i don't gamble, but....how the heck can they have longer odds for harris to score, and 12's for someone who wont even be in the squad....i don't get it :confused:

pontius pilate
19-05-2013, 07:35 PM
I've tried looking at paddy power for sparky anytime goalscorer us to win 2-1 but all I'm getting is us winning at 6/1 I did put on a treble and four fold of Wigan/hibs/Dortmund and Wigan/Chelsea/hibs/Dortmund at a quid each so here's hoping

HibeeBigFly
19-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Bookies wary of the long overdue swan dive!

19-05-2013, 07:37 PM
i don't gamble, but....how the heck can they have longer odds for harris to score, and 12's for someone who wont even be in the squad....i don't get it :confused:

Maybe they know something we don't, Sparkys injured and Kuqi's taking his place

19-05-2013, 07:38 PM
To be honest I was giving you the benefit of the doubt by hoping that wasn't what you'd done. Its the kind of thing bairns will be saying in the playground at school.

Hmmm. Good to see you left the rest of the post out; I do believe we'd have gotten a fair few points out of the top half of the split; opponents weakened or not getting a win in a derby away from home is a big result.

19-05-2013, 07:40 PM
Maybe they know something we don't, Sparkys injured and Kuqi's taking his place

don't say things like that :shocked:both scenarios

19-05-2013, 07:42 PM

It's because kuqi is a striker and if he was to play he would be more likely to score than a winger. The bookies don't take into account who may or may not play

19-05-2013, 07:44 PM
It's because kuqi is a striker and if he was to play he would be more likely to score than a winger. The bookies don't take into account who may or may not play

so basically...they will pick up free money if anyone is mad enough to put a few quid on someone that wont be anywhere near the squad, no wonder you wont find a poor bookie :)

19-05-2013, 07:45 PM
so basically...they will pick up free money if anyone is mad enough to put a few quid on someone that wont be anywhere near the squad

No if he doesn't play or he comes on after the first goal has been scored you would get your money back

wearethehibs
19-05-2013, 07:46 PM
Well Danny Galbraith at 20/1 may be worth a cheeky fiver?

It shows how little bet365 know about Hibs

19-05-2013, 07:47 PM
No if he doesn't play or he comes on after the first goal has been scored you would get your money back

ah ok :aok: ta

19-05-2013, 07:48 PM
so basically...they will pick up free money if anyone is mad enough to put a few quid on someone that wont be anywhere near the squad, no wonder you wont find a poor bookie :)

Wrong - If he's not on the pitch when the 1st goal is scored then he's classified as a non-runner (1st goalscorer market)

If he plays no part whatsoever then you'll get a refund in the any time scorer market

19-05-2013, 07:50 PM
Well Danny Galbraith at 20/1 may be worth a cheeky fiver?

It shows how little bet365 know about Hibs

I saw that as well, Wanyama may be worth a punt as well!!!!!!!

19-05-2013, 07:53 PM
Wrong - If he's not on the pitch when the 1st goal is scored then he's classified as a non-runner (1st goalscorer market)

If he plays no part whatsoever then you'll get a refund in the any time scorer market

ok, i'm out of this betting stuff :(

19-05-2013, 07:54 PM
Tonne on Hibs to win the cup.

(Placed the same bet last year... Whoops :greengrin:rolleyes:)

Makaveli
19-05-2013, 07:58 PM
Would they honour 40/1?

Harris is listed as our 13th most likely scorer... I imagine they'd argue it was an error.

19-05-2013, 07:59 PM
ah ok :aok: ta

You see it quite a lot in epl games were teams have 4 strikers who they rotate but the bookies always price them all up as if they were playing. If someone scored the first goal and he wasn't in the betting the bookies would have to refund all bets

19-05-2013, 08:01 PM
Harris has been huge odds since coming in to the team with bet365, including 25/1 against Killie :wink:

grammyb111
19-05-2013, 09:02 PM
Someone in the know betting-wise might be able to help with this: a couple years back when we played Montrose in the SC I put money on Allan Gow to score at any time, he came on with 10 mins to go or something and scored, yet the bookie refunded my bet rather than pay out. Any idea why?

19-05-2013, 09:04 PM
£30 on Hibs to win in 90 mins and Griffiths anytime @22/1

wearethehibs
19-05-2013, 09:12 PM
Someone in the know betting-wise might be able to help with this: a couple years back when we played Montrose in the SC I put money on Allan Gow to score at any time, he came on with 10 mins to go or something and scored, yet the bookie refunded my bet rather than pay out. Any idea why?

Hmm I dont get that. They should be paying out. May be a tad late to go complain though

CyberSauzee
19-05-2013, 09:17 PM

I would imagine they have a rule for this market saying the player must start or bets voided. Otherwise you would have punters quite rightly complaining if the player came on for just 30 seconds and the bookie kept the stakes. Rules can differ between different firms though.

19-05-2013, 10:06 PM
£30 on Hibs to win and Griffiths anytime @22/1

Where r the odds m8

19-05-2013, 10:11 PM
£30 on Hibs to win and Griffiths anytime @22/1

Great price!

19-05-2013, 10:26 PM
Where r the odds m8

Great price!

I have to give money to a mate due to my age, and he says William Hill - can't really figure out how to work it but I think that's how to do it!

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/e/4323154/Hibernian-v-Celtic.html

19-05-2013, 10:30 PM
8/1???

HibeeBigFly
19-05-2013, 10:32 PM
It's 8/1 with Griffiths anytime and 22/1 with him scoring first. Pity as I liked those odds.

19-05-2013, 10:32 PM
Paddy power hibs to come from behind and win 30/1
To win both halfs 35/1
6/1 to win
Penalty scored 12/5

19-05-2013, 10:49 PM
8/1???

FFS, sorry, serves me right. He must have meant first scorer. Sorry everyone :(

Edit: Hold on, it was us to win over 90 mins. Forgot to mention that.

20-05-2013, 12:22 AM
£20 on Hibs to win the cup, 3-1 paddy power. Might do a fiver on Hibs to win over 90 minutes with lg to score anytime

20-05-2013, 12:31 AM
Celtic half time - Hibs full time with BoyleSports.

80/1. £25 on. 2 weeks all inclusive in Spain back.

20-05-2013, 01:01 AM
I just got hibs 2-1 sparky first scorer at willie hills 145/1 stuck a fiver on it.

Comon the hibees!!!!

20-05-2013, 06:10 AM

I'll probably also put a Dortmund/Hibs/Froch treble on as thats who i'll be supporting in all the sport I plan to watch next weekend.

I've got a treble on for two fifty, Wigan to win the cup Hibs and Dortmund, returning 648. Including other bets I end up with around £850.

HibeeMG
20-05-2013, 06:58 AM

I've tried looking at paddy power for sparky anytime goalscorer us to win 2-1 but all I'm getting is us winning at 6/1 I did put on a treble and four fold of Wigan/hibs/Dortmund and Wigan/Chelsea/hibs/Dortmund at a quid each so here's hoping

I've got a treble on for two fifty, Wigan to win the cup Hibs and Dortmund, returning 648. Including other bets I end up with around £850.

I can't see you's winning your bets.

That pesky Bayern will mess things up. :greengrin

20-05-2013, 07:36 PM
Hibs +1 is 2/1 in some bookies (15/8 with Hills)

Draw no bet - Hibs are 5/1 which is pretty healthy

I think I'll put some on the DNB and some on Hibs to win the cup - might do a Celtic to win 3-1 bet as well to cover a potential disappointment

20-05-2013, 07:41 PM
Leigh Griffiths hat trick 50/1 :greengrin

20-05-2013, 07:45 PM
I had 20 on Wigan to win in 90 mins and 20 on them to win the cup that returned 250 so stuck that on us to lift the cup at 3/1

20-05-2013, 07:48 PM
Leigh Griffiths hat trick 50/1 :greengrin

Now your talking

Off the bar
20-05-2013, 08:17 PM
not much of a betting man but like to throw a few quid at the big games! lost 40 quid on last years final and not bet since! Does anyone know of any good offers on opening a new online account, free matched bets etc? went with william hill last year so don't think they'll allow me a new account/ free bet deal again. Any advice appreciated :thumbsup:

20-05-2013, 08:38 PM
not much of a betting man but like to throw a few quid at the big games! lost 40 quid on last years final and not bet since! Does anyone know of any good offers on opening a new online account, free matched bets etc? went with william hill last year so don't think they'll allow me a new account/ free bet deal again. Any advice appreciated :thumbsup:
http://www.freebets.co.uk/

One or two to choose from.

Off the bar
20-05-2013, 08:49 PM
http://www.freebets.co.uk/

One or two to choose from.

nice one KH I'll get stuck into that tomorrow and 'invest' some dollar! :greengrin

20-05-2013, 09:03 PM
nice one KH I'll get stuck into that tomorrow and 'invest' some dollar! :greengrinMake sure you read the terms of any free bet, take the freebie and forget about betting until next year.

20-05-2013, 10:14 PM
Bets being placed tomorow.

£100 on Hibs outright and a tenner on Celtic half-time/ Hibs full-time.

Off the bar
21-05-2013, 09:30 AM
21/05/2013
Single To Win
Hibernian @ 3.75
To Lift the Cup
Hibernian v Celtic - Hampden Park (https://www.paddypower.com/my_account?action=go_my_bets&compact=0&hide_sidebar=0#)
Pending
£15.00

21/05/2013
Single To Win
Celtic / Hibernian @ 71.00
Half-Time/Full-Time
Hibernian v Celtic - Hampden Park (https://www.paddypower.com/my_account?action=go_my_bets&compact=0&hide_sidebar=0#)
Pending
£10.00

21/05/2013
Single To Win
L Griffiths to score in 90 minutes and Hibernian to win the match @ 11.00
Wincast
Pending
£15.00

21-05-2013, 09:32 AM
Hibs +1 is 2/1 in some bookies (15/8 with Hills)

Draw no bet - Hibs are 5/1 which is pretty healthy

I think I'll put some on the DNB and some on Hibs to win the cup - might do a Celtic to win 3-1 bet as well to cover a potential disappointment
The draw NO bet looks very nice

grammyb111
21-05-2013, 09:53 AM
I would imagine they have a rule for this market saying the player must start or bets voided. Otherwise you would have punters quite rightly complaining if the player came on for just 30 seconds and the bookie kept the stakes. Rules can differ between different firms though.

I thought it must be something like that, cheers

21-05-2013, 09:56 AM
I think after Motherwell there's not a lot between the teams - are the Hibs team as good as ICT and Ross County?
On their day yes, so I don't think the league table itself is worth calculating odds on.

Given Celtic's record at Hampden under Lennon the odds are fairly generous

Given Hibs record at Hampden over the course of ETERNITY the odds seem fine to me, should probably be longer.

21-05-2013, 10:18 AM
Someone in the know betting-wise might be able to help with this: a couple years back when we played Montrose in the SC I put money on Allan Gow to score at any time, he came on with 10 mins to go or something and scored, yet the bookie refunded my bet rather than pay out. Any idea why?Depends on the bookie you placed it with. Paddy Power would've paid as their rule on anytime goalscorer is a runner as long as he plays some part, William Hill the player must start the game or bet void.

hibee19
21-05-2013, 04:37 PM
Depends on the bookie you placed it with. Paddy Power would've paid as their rule on anytime goalscorer is a runner as long as he plays some part, William Hill the player must start the game or bet void.

Harris to score first and Hibs to win 2-1 is 420/1 with William Hill, same bet with Griffiths is 155/1

21-05-2013, 05:58 PM
Harris to score first and Hibs to win 2-1 is 420/1 with William Hill, same bet with Griffiths is 155/1

******* I jumped in at 145/1 for sparky and 2-1

21-05-2013, 06:27 PM
As long as Hibs win :greengrin

I'm going for Hibs to win it in 90 minutes...odds are too good and I'll be gutted anyway if we don't do it - although clearly delighted if we win in added time

21-05-2013, 06:36 PM
Done Harris and 1-0 @ 255/1. :aok:

21-05-2013, 06:38 PM
hibs out to 15/2 from 6/1 last night willy hills

Godsahibby
21-05-2013, 06:40 PM
Harris 40/1 this morning with PP, noticed when I checked again about 5pm his odds had dropped to around 20's!

I actually decided to go for Harris 1st Goal and Hibs to win at 90/1.

21-05-2013, 06:40 PM
Done Harris and 1-0 @ 255/1. :aok:

Would Done and Harris not be 2-0?:greengrin

steviej147
21-05-2013, 06:45 PM
i got sparky first goal and hibs win 2-1 at a whopping 145/1 also harris first goal scorer and hibs win 2-1 @a better 390/1 mon the cabbage.:giruy:

PerfectlyFranck
21-05-2013, 06:46 PM
i got sparky first goal and hibs win 2-1 at a whopping 145/1 also harris first goal scorer and hibs win 2-1 @a better 390/1 mon the cabbage.:giruy:

I just put a tenner on Harris first scorer with Hibs to win 2-1, but the odds were around 420/1 or 450/1 on William Hill

21-05-2013, 06:48 PM
Will Pat put Harris Lw or Rw I wonder. Might get more success on the left rather than being up against Izzaguire (sp)

21-05-2013, 06:53 PM
Would Done and Harris not be 2-0?:greengrin

I'll get your coat for you

21-05-2013, 06:56 PM
I'll get your coat for you

Thank you doctor, it's cup final fever kicking in.

21-05-2013, 08:58 PM
17/2 betvictor add with croch to win Saturday 100 quid returns 1377.
Add sparky if u have the balls 1st goal over 10k for ur ton.

21-05-2013, 09:04 PM

Imagine Hibs win and Froch gets beat...

21-05-2013, 09:09 PM
Contemplated that mate hink I'd knock him out if that happened

21-05-2013, 09:28 PM

Hibs to win in 90 minutes
Froch to win the boxing
Griffiths first scorer

100/1 the treble?
I worked it out more as around 60/1

Still worth a tenner not sure I'd go 100 on that

21-05-2013, 09:40 PM
Aye how much? Ken its 1377 going on 8's?

21-05-2013, 09:42 PM
Returns 12350

21-05-2013, 09:44 PM
Okay nice one - wont be risking 100 on the other bits as I'd be a bit sick if someone else got our first

21-05-2013, 09:46 PM
Who else lol unless they score first surely worth a punt take a month of work live like a king I'm in ill keep u posted.

22-05-2013, 07:53 AM
Who else lol unless they score first surely worth a punt take a month of work live like a king I'm in ill keep u posted.

Harris, Doyle, I dunno - WORTH £20 for a potential 2 grand but my bigger bet will be a straightforward Hibs win

22-05-2013, 07:58 AM
Harris, Doyle, I dunno - WORTH £20 for a potential 2 grand but my bigger bet will be a straightforward Hibs win

is there such a thing ever? lol

22-05-2013, 10:39 AM
is there such a thing ever? lol

Hibs to win 5-1 is 500/1 - nailed on

22-05-2013, 11:04 AM
Hibs 2-0 (40/1) and Dortmund 2-0 (22-1)

£5 will return you over £4000, which should cover next week's bar tab :agree:

22-05-2013, 11:17 AM
Got a free £10 bet from Sky Bet so put it on Hibs to win 3-1 @ 66/1. Long shot but anything can happen on the day!

22-05-2013, 11:26 AM
Stuck £20 on Harris anytime at 14/1! Seems an absolute belter of a price

22-05-2013, 11:30 AM
I'm looking forward to a couple mental scorecasts between Hibs and the CL final!

22-05-2013, 11:43 AM
hibs to score at 4/5 on 365 looks very decent value. Going to see what odds are available on betfair closer to the time, 2 or more might be a good shout as well depending on the price. Other than that i'll be taking hibs draw no bet

22-05-2013, 12:49 PM

:agree: Agreed - brilliant value for Hibbies - given recent form I would have thought about 7/2 or 4/1 so 6/1 is excellent - just back from William Hill just now :greengrin

22-05-2013, 01:27 PM

Good advice might take u up on it. And a hibs win single of course.

24-05-2013, 08:21 AM
Griffiths 8.5/1 & Harris 33's on Betfair for first scorer, decent odds.

24-05-2013, 02:45 PM

I've now placed my bets (although all I really care about is winning the Cup)

I've put £40 on Hibs to win and Griffiths to score anytime - 11/1

£10 on a Griffiths hat trick 66/1

£20 on Bayern Munich, Froch and Hibs to win with Griffiths scoring anytime

Hovehibby
24-05-2013, 06:02 PM
20/1 on Harris to score anytime and Hibs to win

18/1 on Caldwell same

Hovehibby
24-05-2013, 06:03 PM

Getting 9/1 on LG and 40/1 on Harris on Willy Hill

24-05-2013, 06:25 PM
Aye, saw that earlier.
Harris 18's with Ladbrokes - LOL!

24-05-2013, 06:35 PM
As well as my £5 on sparky first scorer and hibs 2-1 @ 145/1 I couldn't resist putting a £5 on the Harris and hibs 2-1 420/1 £2000 Ish back

24-05-2013, 06:54 PM
As well as my £5 on sparky first scorer and hibs 2-1 @ 145/1 I couldn't resist putting a £5 on the Harris and hibs 2-1 420/1 £2000 Ish back

Where dis you get 145-1 for sparky 2-1? I only got 100-1 for the same at Ladbrokes.

Also got draw half time, Hibs full time at 16s and Kevin Thomson to score last at 33-1.

24-05-2013, 06:56 PM
Where dis you get 145-1 for sparky 2-1? I only got 100-1 for the same at Ladbrokes.

Also got draw half time, Hibs full time at 16s and Kevin Thomson to score last at 33-1.

Coral and skybet are 120/1 for sparky 2-1

Green Reaper
24-05-2013, 07:40 PM
Coral and skybet are 120/1 for sparky 2-1

170/1 on hills coupon

24-05-2013, 07:46 PM
1-0 Leigh, 140/1