View Full Version : PDC World Championship...

14-12-2012, 09:47 PM
And we're off.

Thornton, Nicholson and Lewis through. Lewis was murder.

Can't see past Taylor. Would leave to see Anderson challenge but just can't see it.

Two each way outsiders, Newton and King. Just a guess.

17-12-2012, 07:11 PM
Thought Barney was wonderful last night. Quite enjoyed Anderson's win too.

18-12-2012, 03:28 PM
Thought Barney was wonderful last night. Quite enjoyed Anderson's win too.

Aye Barney was superb. They are on course to play each other if they both win their next games....I think Barney will hammer Gary unfortunately.

Latest odds from Bet365

Phil Taylor 2/1
Michael van Gerwen 9/2
Raymond van Barneveld 8/1
Adrian Lewis 9/1
Gary Anderson 12/1
Simon Whitlock 12/1
James Wade 16/1
Andy Hamilton 28/1
Dave Chisnall 30/1
Wes Newton 33/1
Robert Thornton 33/1
Mark Webster 40/1
Kim Huybrechts 50/1
Mervyn King 50/1
Justin Pipe 50/1
Terry Jenkins 66/1
Dean Winstanley 66/1
Kevin Painter 80/1
Paul Nicholson 80/1

18-12-2012, 04:15 PM
He would hammer most folk if he repeats that form.

18-12-2012, 06:03 PM
He would hammer most folk if he repeats that form.

Anderson is capable of turfing him out with a 108 average. Not many are!

18-12-2012, 09:59 PM
And we're off.

Thornton, Nicholson and Lewis through. Lewis was murder.

Can't see past Taylor. Would leave to see Anderson challenge but just can't see it.

Two each way outsiders, Newton and King. Just a guess.

Crap guess!

19-12-2012, 08:36 AM
Anderson is capable of turfing him out with a 108 average. Not many are!

You're preaching to the converted here re GA, so, I hope you are right.

19-12-2012, 08:40 AM
Was glad to see King lose last night, although he showed a bit of class during Winstanley's post match celebrating on the stage, which you can't often say. Once we can get Andy Hamilton's Mrs off the screen we can properly get down to business!

20-12-2012, 11:18 PM
Shame to see Huybrechts lose tonight, his mrs is always a sight to look forward to.

21-12-2012, 06:21 AM
Shame to see Huybrechts lose tonight, his mrs is always a sight to look forward to.

Yeah, very nice!

Very sad about his Dad. Must have been difficult to play....127 checkout to win the first set was outstanding. Great sportsmanship from Rand as well.

21-12-2012, 07:42 AM
The next 3 days should be fun, 2 sessions per day with some great matches scheduled even though its only round 2, looks like being an outstanding tournament. I doubt we'll ever get a better session than last years semis, I had to leave when Wade was winning 5-1 so that i could get the last train back into Central London, was devastated when I got back to the hotel and found out the score!

21-12-2012, 03:33 PM
Anderson all over the place with his doubles again today.

21-12-2012, 03:42 PM
He's struggling here.

Hibbie_Cameron
21-12-2012, 04:18 PM
Almost threw my tv out of the window there. Superb scoring by Anderson but his doubles were a shambles. He could easily have won 4-1 but credit to Bowles who took his chances

21-12-2012, 04:50 PM
Magic entertainment, watching Gary isnae good for the blood pressure tho!

21-12-2012, 04:53 PM
According to PDC stats Gary hit 19 maximum's in that game, but 28% on his doubles.

Mental stats.

21-12-2012, 04:53 PM
What was the score?

21-12-2012, 04:55 PM
What was the score?

4-3 to Anderson with him winning 6-4 in the last set.

21-12-2012, 04:57 PM
4-3 to Anderson with him winning 6-4 in the last set.

Typical!

They say he's a Hibby.....no surprise there!

21-12-2012, 05:30 PM
Brilliant entertainment!

Anderson's scoring was unbelievable but his doubling was shocking.
Bowles missed 3 darts at D20 to win the match and let Gary off the hook.
Credit to Bowles as he made Anderson pay after almost every error he made.

Looking forward to tonight aswell...

Taylor, Nicholson, Jenkins, Part and Thornton all on.
I'll be cheering on Jenkins, Part, Hendricks and hopefully, Thornton be the 2nd Scotsman through...

:saltireflag

21-12-2012, 07:15 PM
Terry Jenkins hammers John Part 4-1 with 60% on the doubles and a 98 average.
Pretty impressive from the raging bull. :agree:

21-12-2012, 09:02 PM
The quality of the darts has been brilliant. Thornton \ Nicholson at 3 sets all just now BUT.....

The crowd with their ****ty singing and general piss poor behaviour really is beginning to do my nut in, to the extent that I now watch with the sound off.

21-12-2012, 10:45 PM
The quality of the darts has been brilliant. Thornton \ Nicholson at 3 sets all just now BUT.....

The crowd with their ****ty singing and general piss poor behaviour really is beginning to do my nut in, to the extent that I now watch with the sound off.

It's a right pain. Now it seems to be groups singing back and forward to each other. During thorntons match the crowd had no idea when a leg was won as no bugger was watching

22-12-2012, 12:21 AM
Well done Thornton, I've no idea how he managed to win that match, but, what a fantastic days darts.
The 2 Jocks did their best to lose, but, the entertainment factor was magic!

22-12-2012, 10:33 AM
Chisnall is playing well

22-12-2012, 04:18 PM
RVB v Anderson it is then, should be a cracker.

22-12-2012, 06:48 PM
Not sure how the world rankings but that might be a must win for Anderson. He's 4th in the world, last automatic place for the Premier League and I can't see him getting one of the sponsor/tv wild card picks. Maybe it depends who the top 4 are right enough.

As ever it will probably come down to Andersons finishing as to whether he wins or not.

22-12-2012, 07:48 PM
Great performance by Newton there, some player when he is on form. Just lacks a bit of consistency cos when he is bad he is REALLY bad, he doesnae have the knack of scraping through games when he isn't on form.

Newhaven
23-12-2012, 02:30 PM
Dean Winstanley just hit a 9 darter against Van der Voort :top marks

23-12-2012, 06:27 PM
Just realised that wade's walk on music is called bonkers. Fair play to him picking that after his recent health issues.

Hope Hamilton gets stuffed tonight. Get his missus off the telly

Piqué
23-12-2012, 09:04 PM
Is Thornton a hibby by any chance? Walking on to The Proclaimers...

24-12-2012, 11:29 AM
Hope Hamilton gets stuffed tonight. Get his missus off the telly

Never saw any of yesterdays darts was too busy getting bevvied in Killie and Weegieland, but, most definitely agree with the above, she does my nut in!

27-12-2012, 07:27 PM
Anderson game just starting. Sky building this game up like its Ryder cup, Olympics and World Cup rolled into one

27-12-2012, 07:38 PM
Barney takes the opening set 3-2

27-12-2012, 07:48 PM
2 down now. Barney playing well

27-12-2012, 07:51 PM
Yep, not looking good for Anderson as Barney is in impressive form and not really giving away any chances. Mind you, Anderson blew a chunk of darts at x16 in leg 3 of that 2nd set which done for him.

27-12-2012, 08:01 PM
Funny 3rd set. Both tried to throw it away. Long way back now

Newhaven
27-12-2012, 08:08 PM
Barney throwing for the match

27-12-2012, 08:09 PM
Jeez, Gary was closer to the bull than double 11 there!

Barney was OK, but Anderson was very, very poor.

27-12-2012, 08:11 PM
Both poor on the doubles but blarney muddled thru. Hope painter gets gubbed next. Canny stand the man

27-12-2012, 08:56 PM
Terrible performance by Gary there, the whole day hasnae lived up to its potential at all, disappointing.

27-12-2012, 09:03 PM
Lewis was brilliant just there. Hit a 180, celebrated, Painter hits a 180 in reply and does a sarcastic celebration and then Lewis goes and hits another 180 and rips the pish out of Painter :greengrin

2-1 in sets to Lewis. Decent game.

Newhaven
27-12-2012, 09:26 PM
Lewis was brilliant just there. Hit a 180, celebrated, Painter hits a 180 in reply and does a sarcastic celebration and then Lewis goes and hits another 180 and rips the pish out of Painter :greengrin

2-1 in sets to Lewis. Decent game.

Needle creeping in I feel :top marks

27-12-2012, 09:33 PM
Did Painter mouth 'twat' when Lewis won the 5th set?!

27-12-2012, 09:38 PM
Painter and Lewis ; The PDC's Blackpool Hibs and Ray in Ireland.

28-12-2012, 12:12 PM
Painter and Lewis ; The PDC's Blackpool Hibs and Ray in Ireland.

I must be Lewis, i'm still in?

28-12-2012, 04:50 PM
I must be Lewis, i'm still in?

I'll let you sort it out between you - good luck!

28-12-2012, 04:56 PM
The 8 players tonight might be the 8 players for the Premier League. 7 of the top 8 players, the non top 8 player is Barney who will definitely get a wildcard slot if he's not top 4 by the end of this event.

Possibly Thornton in for Newton to keep a Scottish interest. Although I would sub Thornton for Hamilton because Hamilton is a tollie and keep Newton in!

Anderson just isnt really playing that well at the moment and will need a wildcard to get in.

What do others think?

28-12-2012, 06:12 PM
The 8 players tonight might be the 8 players for the Premier League. 7 of the top 8 players, the non top 8 player is Barney who will definitely get a wildcard slot if he's not top 4 by the end of this event.

Possibly Thornton in for Newton to keep a Scottish interest. Although I would sub Thornton for Hamilton because Hamilton is a tollie and keep Newton in!

Anderson just isnt really playing that well at the moment and will need a wildcard to get in.

What do others think?

I think you are spot on in that this 8 will make up the premier league. Just can't see Anderson getting a wildcard. In fact, he will be lucky to keep a top 10 place given his dismal form in the last year and a bit. Barney will defo get a wildcard and I think Newton deserves his chance. The scottish crowd will adopt Barney in any case so no loss to the PDC if there is no Anderson or Thornton.

28-12-2012, 06:23 PM
I have £20 on Taylor so avoid him!

28-12-2012, 06:52 PM
Barney 2-1 up in sets. Good scoring just now by Whitlock who is making a bit of a comeback.

28-12-2012, 07:27 PM
Barney wins 5 sets to 1. A bit flattering but a good performance from him.

Newhaven
28-12-2012, 07:32 PM
The last set Barney just knew those darts were going in. What a game him versus Taylor (assuming he gets through) will be

28-12-2012, 08:52 PM
Taylor destroys Hamilton 5 - 0

28-12-2012, 09:22 PM
First day of the tournament I decided to have a bet, backed Whitlock +1.5 sets and Taylor to score over 6.5 180s, oh well!

29-12-2012, 10:04 PM
That was the best game I've ever seen! I can't stand Lewis but he played brilliantly. MVG was unbelievable.

29-12-2012, 10:11 PM
Some game. I like Lewis. Met him at Ian Murray darts day and he's a sound lad.

wazoo1875
29-12-2012, 10:42 PM
That was incredible darts from both of those lads tonight. It's weird, I cannae stand Lewis when he's on the oche but when he speaks I come round to him. Very magnanimous in defeat and he is a true champion. Would love to see a van gerwen; barney final, would be some atmosphere.

30-12-2012, 12:54 PM
Premier league is going to be something special next year with every player in the top eight or so capable of beating each other on their day! One of the best sports to watch either live in person or live on the telly imho! Hope Van Gerwen wins it as he has been awesome this tournament.

30-12-2012, 06:07 PM
Can see Micheal van Gerwen pumping wade 6 zip tonight.
And Barney beating Taylor too

30-12-2012, 06:38 PM
Can see Micheal van Gerwen pumping wade 6 zip tonight.
And Barney beating Taylor too

Maybe not :wink:

Got a double of van Gerwen -2.5 and Taylor -2.5. Not the best start!

30-12-2012, 07:18 PM
Oh my god!

That was unreal...17 perfect darts! And loses the set!!

30-12-2012, 07:20 PM
Oh my god!

That was unreal...17 perfect darts! And loses the set!!

One of the great moments in the history of darts.

MvG is taking the sport to a new level.

30-12-2012, 07:22 PM
How the hell is Wade still in this game? 13-6 in legs!

30-12-2012, 07:27 PM
amazing darts from MVG.

30-12-2012, 07:44 PM
Amazing 6th set there.

30-12-2012, 08:18 PM
Wade's a classless twat.

30-12-2012, 08:22 PM
Wade's a classless twat.

He's always been like that, and given his mental health issues he can probably be cut a bit of slack.

30-12-2012, 08:44 PM
Hope I'm wrong but I think Barney's been talking the talk too much...

30-12-2012, 08:56 PM
Wade's a classless twat.

He didn't even acknowledge the 9 darter. Poor show.

30-12-2012, 09:07 PM
Hope I'm wrong but I think Barney's been talking the talk too much...

I must admit I did think he was a bit silly in that interview considering his recent record v Taylor.

30-12-2012, 09:44 PM
He's always been like that, and given his mental health issues he can probably be cut a bit of slack.

Not sure I'd agree Dave. Mental health issues or not, he should know when to acknowledge the 9 darter or put a bit effort into the handshake at tje emd.

30-12-2012, 10:38 PM
What the f was up with Taylor at the end of that match????????? :confused:

TheReg!
30-12-2012, 11:00 PM
How good was that, it's setting up to be the best final ever in the game. Wiley old fox against the Young gun. The Power to win!

30-12-2012, 11:12 PM
What the f was up with Taylor at the end of that match????????? :confused:

A bit of an over reaction by Taylor methinks, it will all stem from RVBs interview after he beat Whitlock.

31-12-2012, 09:21 AM
Taylor is a fud.

Hope he gets humped in the final.

31-12-2012, 11:29 AM
Just been on sky news that Taylor is thinking about retiring tomorrow. Wee scone

31-12-2012, 03:55 PM
Just been on sky news that Taylor is thinking about retiring tomorrow. Wee scone

Not quite the full story though. He apologised for his behaviour, said he was ashamed and that the way he felt now he could walk away from darts after tomorrow's final. Normally, I have little time for Taylor and his soundbites but I think he knows this time he has really embarrased himself and was quite honest in his apology.

31-12-2012, 04:30 PM
Barney now saying they haven't had a conversation!

Hibbie_Cameron
01-01-2013, 03:52 PM
Not quite the full story though. He apologised for his behaviour, said he was ashamed and that the way he felt now he could walk away from darts after tomorrow's final. Normally, I have little time for Taylor and his soundbites but I think he knows this time he has really embarrased himself and was quite honest in his apology.

I dont think he he was honest Dave.

I heard his interview yesterday and it is a load of rubbish imo. As soon as the game is over he celebrates and then turns round and gives it a "get it right up you" Leigh Griffiths like gesture to Barney, who was side on. He then shakes hands with the officials and looks like he will not go over to Barney. At the time I said to my dad, Taylor is not gonna shake his hand, then it all kicked off.

I have said to you face to face, why i dont like Taylor and it was shown again the other night. The whole Barney holding onto his arm is a load of garbage imo. The crowd were against him and he could not stand it. He has come out with this retirement rubbish before too, its a ploy for the fans to get behind him tonight as he knows he is up against it. If he loses tonight he will go on about his cold, if he wins it will be forgotten about.

Taylor is like the Alex Ferguson of darts. The rest get punished for behaviour like that, Taylor gets nothing. Harrington and Clark, defending him the other night on Sky was sickening. Had it been Mason, King or Hankey they would be going mental

01-01-2013, 04:06 PM
I dont think he he was honest Dave.

I heard his interview yesterday and it is a load of rubbish imo. As soon as the game is over he celebrates and then turns round and gives it a "get it right up you" Leigh Griffiths like gesture to Barney, who was side on. He then shakes hands with the officials and looks like he will not go over to Barney. At the time I said to my dad, Taylor is not gonna shake his hand, then it all kicked off.

I have said to you face to face, why i dont like Taylor and it was shown again the other night. The whole Barney holding onto his arm is a load of garbage imo. The crowd were against him and he could not stand it. He has come out with this retirement rubbish before too, its a ploy for the fans to get behind him tonight as he knows he is up against it. If he loses tonight he will go on about his cold, if he wins it will be forgotten about.

Taylor is like the Alex Ferguson of darts. The rest get punished for behaviour like that, Taylor gets nothing. Harrington and Clark, defending him the other night on Sky was sickening. Had it been Mason, King or Hankey they would be going mental

Don't get me wrong Cameron - I don't like him much at all - but to me I thought he tried to be sincere in his apology. If, as 3pm is saying that Barney hasn't had a conversation with Taylor then clearly the PDC spin machine has had a malfunction :greengrin

Totally agree with the bit in bold BTW. Anderson banned from 3 European tournaments for a confrontation, but I can hardly see Taylor missing out on the next 3 British majors somehow.

Hibbie_Cameron
01-01-2013, 04:15 PM
Don't get me wrong Cameron - I don't like him much at all - but to me I thought he tried to be sincere in his apology. If, as 3pm is saying that Barney hasn't had a conversation with Taylor then clearly the PDC spin machine has had a malfunction :greengrin

Totally agree with the bit in bold BTW. Anderson banned from 3 European tournaments for a confrontation, but I can hardly see Taylor missing out on the next 3 British majors somehow.

Taylor is coming out saying that he has spoke to Barney and all is forgiven. Barney released a statement saying he has a text but has not replied in any form.

Remember the Chris Mason thing though? They had a falling out on stage then Taylor like a a wee wimp bad mouthed Mason on live TV before sneaking out a side door. Mason was going to knock him out and he coped the ban IIRC. Mason tweeted the other night saying something alogn the lines of "true colours coming through now"

I have often wondered why Mason has never been asked to work for Sky. I think he is an excellent commentator and pundit, certainly better than Mardle. Probably due to his dislike of Taylor?

01-01-2013, 04:31 PM
Taylor is coming out saying that he has spoke to Barney and all is forgiven. Barney released a statement saying he has a text but has not replied in any form.

Remember the Chris Mason thing though? They had a falling out on stage then Taylor like a a wee wimp bad mouthed Mason on live TV before sneaking out a side door. Mason was going to knock him out and he coped the ban IIRC. Mason tweeted the other night saying something alogn the lines of "true colours coming through now"

I have often wondered why Mason has never been asked to work for Sky. I think he is an excellent commentator and pundit, certainly better than Mardle. Probably due to his dislike of Taylor?

I agree that Mason's a really good summariser - you might have a point there becase I doubt if its to do with his "previous" - GBH and fraud was it not? Certainly not enough for Sky not to employ him.

Anyway come on MVG!

01-01-2013, 04:47 PM
I agree that Mason's a really good summariser - you might have a point there becase I doubt if its to do with his "previous" - GBH and fraud was it not? Certainly not enough for Sky not to employ him.

Anyway come on MVG!

He served time for Assault and was also guilty of benefit fraud a couple of years ago I think. Dislike of Taylor or not, they are hardly glowing credentials for a TV job :greengrin

01-01-2013, 06:43 PM
He served time for Assault and was also guilty of benefit fraud a couple of years ago I think. Dislike of Taylor or not, they are hardly glowing credentials for a TV job :greengrin

On the positive side, Hearts offered a 3 year deal.

01-01-2013, 07:34 PM
What a finish from Taylor there. 180, followed by a 170.

Not good enough though as MVG takes the opening set with a 140 finish!

01-01-2013, 07:58 PM
Only 1 winner here.

01-01-2013, 08:02 PM
Only 1 winner here.

Dunno about that. Taylor got out of jail there and nicks the 3rd set.

Back on throw now.

01-01-2013, 08:02 PM
Poor final leg by MVG there.

Taylor wins this set and its game on again.

01-01-2013, 08:10 PM
I know Waddell was the man but I like John Gwynne as a commentator.

01-01-2013, 08:13 PM
Van Gerwen almost checks out 116, Taylor finishes out with 40 and its all square in sets. Both averaging around the 102 mark. This could go to the wire.

01-01-2013, 08:29 PM
I know Waddell was the man but I like John Gwynne as a commentator.

Aye, he's far better than that guy who did the last set, he's a slavering erse.

01-01-2013, 08:33 PM
Aye, he's far better than that guy who did the last set, he's a slavering erse.

John Gwynne was doing the commentary on the opening 4 sets?

01-01-2013, 08:41 PM
Taylor almost looking like he can't be arsed.

If Van Gerwen keeps hitting the doubles like he has been then he will win.

01-01-2013, 08:43 PM
Taylor has to win 5 of the next 7 sets. Not going to happen.

01-01-2013, 08:52 PM
How many T19'd has Taylor missed?!

VG is unreal though.

01-01-2013, 08:54 PM
Hits 4 and breaks. No coincidence.

01-01-2013, 08:54 PM
Taylor is hanging on in there. 4-3 to MVG now.

01-01-2013, 08:55 PM
Taylor nicks a set from nowhere.

If he wants to win this think his best bet is to try and slow the game down to a snails pace.

01-01-2013, 08:55 PM
4 out of 6 needed.

01-01-2013, 09:07 PM
Taylor starting to find his stride.

Cracking match.

01-01-2013, 09:08 PM
Hmmm.

01-01-2013, 09:09 PM
John Gwynne was doing the commentary on the opening 4 sets?

Really?...The beer must be affecting my hearing!

01-01-2013, 09:10 PM
I backed Taylor at 2.08 - 2.26 & 4.2

He's now trading at 1.84 and I really should cash in, but I'm going to stand the bets as I really think he'll do it.

01-01-2013, 09:35 PM
I backed Taylor at 2.08 - 2.26 & 4.2

He's now trading at 1.84 and I really should cash in, but I'm going to stand the bets as I really think he'll do it.

Looking good now Sergey, 6-4 Taylor. :agree:

01-01-2013, 09:40 PM
Small outlay on MVG at 11/2 to cover my stake on Taylor should he turn it round.

01-01-2013, 09:43 PM
Incredible darts, what a match. :top marks

01-01-2013, 09:44 PM
Incredible darts, what a match. :top marks

Great night of darts.

01-01-2013, 09:45 PM
Looking good now Sergey, 6-4 Taylor. :agree:

Told you Sergey. :greengrin

01-01-2013, 09:49 PM
Great game!

01-01-2013, 09:50 PM
Taylor just ground him down and MVG gave up on it once he went behind IMO.

Good final though and Taylor deserved it.

Benny Brazil
01-01-2013, 09:55 PM
Taylors a legend, a complete one off - cant see anyone dominating the way he has - not the best darts both players a bit patchy at times but once Phil got in front only going to be one winner

01-01-2013, 09:56 PM
Don't like the guy but fair play to Taylor.

Ground Van Gerwen down and played some great darts in the last few sets.

01-01-2013, 09:59 PM
Told you Sergey. :greengrin

It's a sure-fire way to bankruptcy backing against Taylor. I detest him as an individual, but he's one of the greatest sportsman in the world.

I'm still well down on the tournament financially. I laid too many favourites to lose. (Until the final) It was a favourites backers bonanza.

01-01-2013, 10:32 PM
See ye all for the Premier League!