View Full Version : Worst adverts on the telly?

23-10-2012, 08:47 AM
The GoCompare adverts have already been well covered, you've got to wonder how much the fat boy in the baggy orange trousers got paid for the TopCashback.co.uk advert, it really is abysmally bad! If he got more than a two for one Pizza Hut voucher he has done well.

23-10-2012, 11:48 AM
Good shout on topcashback. It's rank. The ones that get on my thrupenny bits are the "make a claim" ones where you get some dodgy actor re-creating falling off a ladder or slipping on an office floor.

23-10-2012, 12:35 PM
The subway one during the Olympics with the boxer who had 'a sensitive mouth alright?' was suitably annoying.

Any cat or dog food adverts are just sickening as well

Caversham Green
23-10-2012, 01:45 PM
It's the absolute nonsense some of them expect us to swallow that gets me. Davina McCall spouting about "nourished hair" was one. Nationwide had one about "mortgages that make coming home feel great". Makes no sense whatsoever if you give it any thought.

Various cars have been "built without compromise" over the years - without compromise to what? Safety? Comfort? Space? Economy? Performance? Handling? A car built without compromise would not be roadworthy.

23-10-2012, 02:20 PM
Jacomo
Belgravia Hair Centre

That mini morning maximizer cereal one.

Twa Cairpets
23-10-2012, 03:10 PM
Whichever toothpaste advert that has the woman saying "my teeth are squeaking clean".

They're not.

They're "squeaky clean" if anything

Grrrrrrrr.

23-10-2012, 04:58 PM
Definitely GoCompare and all the car adverts. If folk did in their car what they do in the advertisements they would be off the road for years. Adverts done by celebs endorsing a product that you know for definite that they wouldn't wear or use. David Beckham in M&S undies and Freddie Flintoff buying from Jacamo. Come on get real.

Glad to say that I tend to record anything I want to watch and with Virgin Tivo I just press one of the buttons on the remote control 9 times and it whizzes right through the ads. :aok:

23-10-2012, 05:23 PM
The toothbrush advert where they brush a boiled egg.

24-10-2012, 08:06 AM
Pounds to Pocket. The actor says "my credit history wasn't great". Then he finds the solution to all his problems by taking out a payday loan with APR of 2,687% with a £12 fine for late payment.

The car advert with what sounds like a wee lassie singing an unbelievably twee version of "Ever Fallen In Love". Why do they persist in murdering classic songs?

Ramsdens - there's a branch near you - cringe.....

24-10-2012, 01:43 PM
What about the best adverts on TV?

The meerkat ones can get a bit annoying but I can't help laugh at:

"Ahh, Steeeve Smeet. Remember me? Of course you do...."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mfXf0VL894

Also burst out laughing at the silliness of this advert for Kayak.com:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WCBvVH7FGI

24-10-2012, 02:15 PM
The lassie in the bath on the Victoria Plumb ad is starting to do my nut in now!

24-10-2012, 02:22 PM
ahhhhhh adverts do my titties in!!

the ones that get my goat the now are - Truvia sugar advert. all the go compare /meerkats etc do my nut in. As someone else said the 'squeeking clean' one thats nippy. all the PPI stuff but in particular the one with scottish guy in all the armour runnign about on a horse. not the telly but a radio one for 'payment protection scotland' where they are trying to use a football chant tune.
one for what I think is areal or persal or somthing bunch of bairns jumping about to we will riock you makes me want to throw somthing at the telly.
the 'flash cleans anything'.......only cause i get the song stuck in my head.........and now its stuck again as i thought of it FFS!!!
Mcdonalds coffee adverts just makes me angry when there singing in all the coffee beans.
oh just remebered, the 'cheap/secret hotel rooms' woman gets right on ma goat anaw

maybe im an angry person or just watch to much t.v but adverts generally do my nut in!!!

however I do like some so to but a positive spin on here a couple of the adverts I like are:

the John Lewis one with Paloma faith siging 2 worlds colliding (maybe its the song more than the advert)
the 'you must be hank marvin'
not seen it in a while but i liked the one with a dog and his teddy going to get thrown away catchy wee song - F R I E N D S do you really need them? yes!' quality
the ladbrooks one wi kammy in the shower made me chuckle

24-10-2012, 10:12 PM
I'm wondering what point they are trying to make on the Haribo Tangfastics advert, Is the wee laddie going to get his nat if he plies the blonde lassie with enough fizzy jelly sweets? :-o

25-10-2012, 07:28 AM
i've got a new one to hate.....the scottish leader whisky adverts that run before the STV sports update at 6pm. Prancing about in their maroon pinnys.....argh!

25-10-2012, 08:11 AM
I hate any advert for a film where it is described as 'this years Batman' or 'this decades The Matrix'.

So basically what you are openly advertising is your film is totally unoriginal.

25-10-2012, 12:35 PM
however I do like some so to but a positive spin on here a couple of the adverts I like are:

the John Lewis one with Paloma faith siging 2 worlds colliding (maybe its the song more than the advert)

Good shout! Really like both the advert and the song although, for some strange reason, the song in the advert is a different version to the one she has released.

25-10-2012, 12:51 PM
I'm wondering what point they are trying to make on the Haribo Tangfastics advert, Is the wee laddie going to get his nat if he plies the blonde lassie with enough fizzy jelly sweets? :-o

didnt work for me when I tried it outside Murrayburn...:duck:

25-10-2012, 01:37 PM
Money Supermarket

25-10-2012, 02:22 PM
didnt work for me when I tried it outside Murrayburn...:duck:

Jimmy used badges instead of sweets! :-o

25-10-2012, 03:54 PM
Those god awful Belhaven Best adverts on sky before Scottish Football games. Portrays us as all kilt wearing, och aye the noo teuchtars. Aw naw ah spilt some doon ma vestie.

Apocalypso
25-10-2012, 04:39 PM
Pounds to Pocket. The actor says "my credit history wasn't great". Then he finds the solution to all his problems by taking out a payday loan with APR of 2,687% with a £12 fine for late payment.

The car advert with what sounds like a wee lassie singing an unbelievably twee version of "Ever Fallen In

Ramsdens - there's a branch near you - cringe.....

This one. The people in the advert look like the people who would work in the shop forced to act at gunpoint. One of the birds even has a big dirty cold sore as well. Rank.

Also I like the one for British Red Cross. The Irish lassie giving it "I am a crisis". I don't know why.

25-10-2012, 05:58 PM
This one as well

http://www.bad-ads.co.uk/envirofone-102

What's that blonde burd wearing? Is it a Hearts tracksuit?

25-10-2012, 11:20 PM
They may be bad but the fact you can all remember them means they have served their purpose in getting the message and the brand across :wink:

26-10-2012, 11:29 AM
Doesnae mean the products will see any of our money though.

28-10-2012, 06:44 AM
There have been some superb car ads over the years. This is n't one of them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9RYxwe1iPU

:wtf:

28-10-2012, 06:55 AM
Wonga advert gets on my wick.

04-01-2013, 07:49 PM
The Sun big smile giveaway with the wee speccy lassie "singing", really struggling to understand most of it!

blaikie
04-01-2013, 09:02 PM
Aviva ... Paul Whitehouse is really wasted in them!

hibeequinn
04-01-2013, 09:34 PM
POSTCODE LOTTERY CAN'T STAND THE THING BEST ADVERT HAD TO BE THE JOHN WEST WHEN HE'S FIGHTING WITH THE BEAR

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

05-01-2013, 07:54 AM
Worst adverts are just give £3 a month to save some starving kids / tiger / snow leopard / donkey / cat / dog / whatever.

Don't even get me started on story behind the new Zimbabwe one.

05-01-2013, 10:42 AM
That Belhaven one is utter pish.

VickMackie
06-01-2013, 03:39 AM
Worst adverts are just give £3 a month to save some starving kids / tiger / snow leopard / donkey / cat / dog / whatever.

Don't even get me started on story behind the new Zimbabwe one.

The wee one asked earlier tonight if she could sponsor a dog. I told her it was fine as long as she gave up her treat money. Quickly changed her tune. Then I told her she was selfish :devil:

StevesFamau5
06-01-2013, 04:28 AM
i cant stand the africa water ads... oh im sorry. sort the mass problems of poverty abuse rape and abondoning of children here. i f'n hste the way im guilt tripped intl it. i sponsor a jaguar and donate to dpgs trust... for my own reasons... i was one of these abondened kids who was hurt and ended up shipped out to a new family. id love to see those adverts... Steve is 26. his confidence and personailty are destrpyed because his mother was a whore. he has several brpthers and sisters he will never know. he has striggled through education and lashed out at any attempt to help... he is now doing ok but is still very very poor. £200pcm will make his life easier. its not that much. help a guy who trys hard. :D

nuff said.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

22-04-2013, 04:41 PM
Bump.

The new Victoria plumb advert is equally as annoying as the one before. The two wee lassies saying 'from Victoria plumb' does my nut in.

22-04-2013, 09:57 PM
That Belhaven one is utter pish.

Absolutely despise the Belhaven adverts.

Totally cringeworthy.

23-04-2013, 11:28 AM
POSTCODE LOTTERY CAN'T STAND THE THING BEST ADVERT HAD TO BE THE JOHN WEST WHEN HE'S FIGHTING WITH THE BEAR

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

The woman that shouts "Derek, we're off to Benidorm" needs a good slap!

Jay
23-04-2013, 12:09 PM
Two annoyed me this morning and made me think of this thread.

First one was Gok Wan going on about us being stressed and need a little indulgence in our life - then suggested a yoghurt! A yoghurt is not what i would call stress bustin indulgence as mr Wan would quickly find out if he handed one to me when i am stressed :greengrin

Second one was drontal worming tablets -their usp was that they are shaped like bones! My dogs not that clever, or maybe stupid, to think a worming tablet shaped like a bone is actually a bone. He wont eat it any more readily, maybe if they came pre wrapped in cheese we would have half a chance :rolleyes:

hibby rae
23-04-2013, 08:06 PM
1. The Grants whiskey ads on itv4. It's meant to be a party and none of them are even drinking anything, let alone whiskey! It's also quite possibly the worst acting I've ever seen.

2. Wowtcha. Needs to explanation.

3. The adverts with Ronnie Corbett for obvious reasons. Wee fud.

23-04-2013, 08:44 PM
The woman that shouts "Derek, we're off to Benidorm" needs a good slap!

Ha ha bears a passing resemblance to andy Hamiltons boot of a wife

23-04-2013, 09:36 PM
Ha ha bears a passing resemblance to andy Hamiltons boot of a wife

There's nae better reason to give her a slap!

I bet you she keeps her fags in one of those wee purse things that old bints seem to like!