08-07-2012, 01:09 PM
go on murray . show us what bottle in a final is all about. best of luck

08-07-2012, 01:13 PM
1-0 murray with a break of serve. :top marks

08-07-2012, 01:17 PM
Shouldn't this be moved to the other sports board under the Rugby League and Cricket sections :greengrin

Do you think Murray gets a lot of the close line calls going his way?

Doing well though 2-0 up first set.

08-07-2012, 01:19 PM
Shouldn't this be moved to the other sports board under the Rugby League and Cricket sections :greengrin

:shhhsh!:

2-0 up already :thumbsup:

Are you questioning the sporting integrity of the line Judges? :wink:

:grr: this is a football forum ...get this Girly twirly lawn tennis off else where.....

mind if he wins his sponsorship will go mega and he might be short of things to spend cash on :cb

08-07-2012, 01:22 PM
His grandfather played for us so that makes it football related :wink:

08-07-2012, 01:24 PM
Are you questioning the sporting integrity of the line Judges? :wink:

Maybe they just need better glasses :greengrin

08-07-2012, 01:25 PM
Maybe they just need better glasses :greengrin

Hawk-eye does away with any Thomson-esque decisions :agree:

08-07-2012, 01:28 PM
ESPN 3:30pm Live beech football for anyone needed a football fix.

Suzy how does this whole Hawk-eye think work? i.e. if they think a ball is out in the middle of a rally do they just stop playing and shout Hawk-eye :confused:

Leishy1995
08-07-2012, 01:28 PM
Hibs hibs hibs for the cup...
C'mon Murray!

08-07-2012, 01:30 PM

Suzy how does this whole Hawk-eye think work? i.e. if they think a ball is out in the middle of a rally do they just stop playing and shout Hawk-eye :confused:

The player challenges the call and they have a very short break whilst the result of the shot/call is shown on screen :aok:

Twiglet
08-07-2012, 01:31 PM

I don't know how it works technically, but they can shout out part way through a rally, but they've got to call before they hit the return. If they call it incorrectly (i.e. they think it's out, but it is in), they lose the point. If it's correct I think they replay the point.

08-07-2012, 01:35 PM
I don't know how it works technically, but they can shout out part way through a rally, but they've got to call before they hit the return. If they call it incorrectly (i.e. they think it's out, but it is in), they lose the point. If it's correct I think they replay the point.

Not really much to be gained from calling it, might as well just play on and see how they do. :confused:

08-07-2012, 01:40 PM
Not really much to be gained from calling it, might as well just play on and see how they do. :confused:

Yeh, think they only tend to shout if it's been called as in and they haven't been able to play it, or has been called as out.

08-07-2012, 01:56 PM
Federer looks absolutely formidale.

That Lindt advert was ****ing shocking, mind you.

08-07-2012, 02:01 PM
Murray up 5-4 in the first set :thumbsup:

08-07-2012, 02:06 PM
This is actually quite exciting game for tennis. How many celebrities are there

08-07-2012, 02:07 PM
Serving for the set. First set Murray. First ever set in a grand slam final.

08-07-2012, 02:07 PM
He's taken the first set! :flag:

08-07-2012, 02:11 PM
First Hibs fan to win a set in a Grand Slam final...

08-07-2012, 02:21 PM
I live about 8 miles away and it's just started pushing with rain.

Lendo
08-07-2012, 02:23 PM
Chances of him whipping off his top to reveal the new Home strip if he wins??

Leishy1995
08-07-2012, 02:35 PM
There's only one team in Edinburgh... With a Wimbledon finalist.

08-07-2012, 03:54 PM
Has that Dunblane Diddy blown it yet?

:duck:

Leishy1995
08-07-2012, 04:01 PM
Looking like he's going all the way!

08-07-2012, 04:03 PM
Has it restarted? What's the score?

Leishy1995
08-07-2012, 04:04 PM
Restarted at a set each with games at 3-2 and it's deuce.

08-07-2012, 04:12 PM
Restarted at a set each with games at 3-2 and it's deuce.

Sound mate thanks

08-07-2012, 04:15 PM
****s sakes, this doesn't half drag on, does it?

08-07-2012, 04:16 PM
Murray is doing really well but Federer is beginning raise his game and I think he'll prove to strong in the end. If Murray does pull it off then it'll be some performance.

08-07-2012, 04:18 PM
Federer to win 3-1 I think.

He just seems to have that extra gear that Murray can't quite find. The chances Murray didn't take on the break points in the 2nd set are what will have cost him.

08-07-2012, 04:21 PM
Not looking good for Murray at the moment he needs to try and hang in there

08-07-2012, 04:25 PM
Murray done really well so far but he is up again arguably the greatest male tennis player of all time. I think Federer will just prove to be far too strong for Murray.

08-07-2012, 04:30 PM
Game over now imo.

Would love to be proved wrong but losing the second set after having break points and then being broken after being 40-0 up in that set will finish him.

08-07-2012, 04:41 PM
Unfortunately Federer purring like a Rolls Royce now. Forehand is almost perfect

08-07-2012, 05:07 PM
I have an irrational hatred for Federer's wife.

No idea why.

08-07-2012, 05:12 PM

No idea why.

Quite like the fact she isn't the normal WAG

08-07-2012, 05:13 PM

No idea why.

She could try cracking a smile now and then.

08-07-2012, 05:14 PM
****s sake

08-07-2012, 05:17 PM
Murray can be proud of his efforts today but he was up against the best tennis player ever who was at the top of his game in the 3rd and 4th sets.

No one can question Murrays attitude today, he gave everything and kept plugging away.

08-07-2012, 05:19 PM
As I said on the other thread there wasn't much he could do up against the best ever player. Had a chance to break Federer in the 2nd, if he had taken that who knows.

He'll win a slam one day though.

08-07-2012, 05:19 PM
Murray can be proud of his efforts today but he was up against the best tennis player ever who was at the top of his game in the 3rd and 4th sets.

No one can question Murrays attitude today, he gave everything and kept plugging away.

Maybe next time..............

Murray Scottish again!

08-07-2012, 05:27 PM
Emotional interview from Andy there.

You can feel his pain.

He's unfortunate to be playing in a period with 3 of the greatest players who've ever done it. Hopefully he can do it one day.

08-07-2012, 05:36 PM
Great effort from Andy but he lost to probably the greatest ever tennis player.

08-07-2012, 05:41 PM
Great effort from Murray, still made history. As previously mentioned it's just unfortunate he happens to be on his game at the same time as 3 of the best players ever!

08-07-2012, 05:41 PM
Maybe next time..............

Murray Scottish again!

British again.

08-07-2012, 05:44 PM
British again.

it could have been worse. A straight sets loss would have seen him simply defined as a Hibby.

08-07-2012, 05:46 PM
it could have been worse. A straight sets loss would have seen him simply defined as a Hibby.

'Maybe next year'.

The Hibby mantra.

08-07-2012, 05:49 PM

Littlest Hobo
08-07-2012, 05:57 PM
He's getting better as each year passes.

Hard lines Andy.

08-07-2012, 05:59 PM
He should have won the second set. Federer's legs might not have lasted five sets.

08-07-2012, 06:04 PM
Is anyone honestly surprised that Murray fell at the final hurdle, against a performance like that??

Said it before, and I'll say it again, as long as the draw means he has to play any of The Big 3, Murray will never win a Grand Slam - IMO.

08-07-2012, 06:07 PM
Another defeat this time delivered by Fed express, Murray is simply not good enough. :greengrin

Delighted, maybe now the papers will stop with all this Murray crap.

08-07-2012, 06:11 PM
I almost filled up myself when Andy was trying to talk afterwards. Well done lad, you did us proud and you will get another chance. Great achievement this year and the best is yet to come.

08-07-2012, 06:14 PM
Another defeat this time delivered by Fed express, Murray is simply not good enough. :greengrin

:tsk tsk: The 'expert' the BBC came up with was John Lloyd, Australian Open finalist 1977 :rolleyes: At least Murray made it to the final of THE best tournament there is :na na:

08-07-2012, 06:16 PM
:tsk tsk: The 'expert' the BBC came up with was John Lloyd, Australian Open finalist 1977 :rolleyes: At least Murray made it to the final of THE best tournament there is :na na:

Yes and lost AGAIN :faf:

Another glorious defeat to celebrate eh.

08-07-2012, 06:17 PM

You really are an annoying ****!!

08-07-2012, 06:19 PM

I actually enjoy your role here as the pantomime villain but you really do come across as a **** at times. I would usually refrain from pointing that out but I think you will take that as a badge of honour. :greengrin

hibsmad
08-07-2012, 06:20 PM
Is anyone honestly surprised that Murray fell at the final hurdle, against a performance like that??

Said it before, and I'll say it again, as long as the draw means he has to play any of The Big 3, Murray will never win a Grand Slam - IMO.

Of course no one is surprised, Federer is the greatest ever and he was bang on his game today in sets 3 and 4.

Also think that he will win a grand slam one day. He obviously will always have to play one of the top 3 but Murray is always improving and is as he said "getting closer". There has been massive improvement from him this year. First he took Djokovic to five sets in the semi at the Australian Open and today he took the first set and could also have gone two nil in front with a little bit of luck.

Federer won't last forever and Nadal showed this year at Wimbledon how any one can have an off day. Murray's day will come!

08-07-2012, 06:20 PM

Now now, you're letting him get to you again :greengrin

08-07-2012, 06:21 PM

I don't mind you not wanting Scotland to do well although Andy Murray wasn't representing Scotland today. As I said elsewhere, it's perfectly understandable.

However, this is a Scottish football forum so you're going to hear the views of Scottish supporters.

Do a lot of Scots go on English football club forums and slag off your national team and tennis players?

08-07-2012, 06:23 PM

You again! :tee hee:

08-07-2012, 06:24 PM
I actually enjoy your role here as the pantomime villain but you really do come across as a **** at times. I would usually refrain from pointing that out but I think you will take that as a badge of honour. :greengrin

:greengrin :not worth

08-07-2012, 06:25 PM

How did I know as soon as I saw this quoted that it would be aimed at Scouse?

08-07-2012, 06:25 PM

Tragic really.

On another note, I had to spend time in Bootle last week. What a *****hole eh? Bet you are glad you don't live amongs that lot?

08-07-2012, 06:26 PM
I don't mind you not wanting Scotland to do well although Andy Murray wasn't representing Scotland today. As I said elsewhere, it's perfectly understandable.

However, this is a Scottish football forum so you're going to hear the views of Scottish supporters.

Do a lot of Scots go on English football club forums and slag off your national team and tennis players?

1. Did I ever say I was unhappy to hear the views of Scottish supporters?

2. I haven't got a clue if they do or do not mate, I would hope if they do that they enjoy themselves as much as I do! :greengrin

08-07-2012, 06:28 PM
Tragic really.

On another note, I had to spend time in Bootle last week. What a *****hole eh? Bet you are glad you don't live amongs that lot?

It's not tragic mate it's just banter.

Tragic would be living in Bootle :greengrin

08-07-2012, 06:29 PM
It's not tragic mate it's just banter.

Tragic would be living in Bootle :greengrin

It's Jimmy Tarbuck! Hiya Jim!

08-07-2012, 06:29 PM
1. Did I ever say I was unhappy to hear the views of Scottish supporters?

2. I haven't got a clue if they do or do not mate, I would hope if they do that they enjoy themselves as much as I do! :greengrin

You Scouse b*****d :greengrin

Nah, nothing wrong with going against the grain, but Andy is one of us, too. Remember that, mate. :flag:

08-07-2012, 06:31 PM
Nippy scouse **** shocker.... :rolleyes:

08-07-2012, 06:32 PM
Watched a bit of the final. Now I don't know much about tennis but having heard how much he makes from finishing 2nd he will be ok.

He lost to the better player. Simple as that.

08-07-2012, 06:32 PM
oh ffs, i can only imagine Jimmy Tarbuck has made an appearance on here again aye:rolleyes:

08-07-2012, 06:33 PM
You Scouse b*****d :greengrin

Nah, nothing wrong with going against the grain, but Andy is one of us, too. Remember that, mate. :flag:

:greengrin I was waiting for the chorus of "he's one of our own" today but it never came!

08-07-2012, 06:34 PM
It's all good fun just remember that!

08-07-2012, 06:35 PM
Nippy scouse **** shocker.... :rolleyes:

Hardly a shocker by now surely? :greengrin

08-07-2012, 06:37 PM
:greengrin I was waiting for the chorus of "he's one of our own" today but it never came!

He's a Hibs fan like yourself. It doesn't matter where he's from, we're on the same side. Even scousers are welcome!

08-07-2012, 06:38 PM
Hardly a shocker by now surely? :greengrin

Was thinking over the last couple of days that you were a trolling knob, now I know ;)

08-07-2012, 06:39 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/liverpool/content/images/2005/02/24/jimmy_tarbuck_mid_200x150.jpg

jimmy
http://www.bbc.co.uk/liverpool/content/images/2005/02/24/kendodd._home_203x152.jpg

or ken

08-07-2012, 06:39 PM
He's a Hibs fan like yourself. It doesn't matter where he's from, we're on the same side. Even scousers are welcome!

IF I ever see him at Easter Road I will bear that in mind.

08-07-2012, 06:40 PM
Was thinking over the last couple of days that you were a trolling knob, now I know ;)

Jeez another one!

08-07-2012, 06:42 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/liverpool/content/images/2005/02/24/jimmy_tarbuck_mid_200x150.jpg

jimmy
http://www.bbc.co.uk/liverpool/content/images/2005/02/24/kendodd._home_203x152.jpg

or ken

Doddie all the way, still lives in Liverpool not far from my Dad's. Tarbuck on the other hand only appears as a Scouser when he wants a cup final ticket!

08-07-2012, 06:43 PM

jimmy

or ken

He's unfunny enough to be this one.....

08-07-2012, 06:44 PM
IF I ever see him at Easter Road I will bear that in mind.

Who was Merseyside's last great tennis player? Or England's for that matter? Tim? Greig? Both 'so near yet so far' men. In case you hadn't noticed, Murray is the first male to make the Wimbledon final in 74 years. What is there to slag off? :confused: I honestly don't get the point of your posts.

08-07-2012, 06:47 PM
Or this fokker

08-07-2012, 06:49 PM
Who was Merseyside's last great tennis player? Or England's for that matter? Tim? Greig? Both 'so near yet so far' men. In case you hadn't noticed, Murray is the first male to make the Wimbledon final in 74 years. What is there to slag off? :confused: I honestly don't get the point of your posts.

Jeez Christ you don't get my posts! Thankfully not everyone on here has had a sense of humour bypass or can't recognise a friendly bit of tit for tat banter when they see it. I despair at the amount of people who can dish things out but not take it back I really do.
Anyone that takes me too seriously wants to have a word, it's not as if I haven't posted plenty of or recieved similar banter on here. :brickwall

08-07-2012, 06:50 PM

Without wanting to get into this debate and fallout isn't Murray one of these too as he has never won it :confused:

08-07-2012, 06:52 PM
Without wanting to get into this debate and fallout isn't Murray one of these too as he has never won it :confused:

The point is mate there is no debate. :greengrin

08-07-2012, 06:53 PM
Jeez Christ you don't get my posts! Thankfully not everyone on here has had a sense of humour bypass or can't recognise a friendly bit of tit for tat banter when they see it. I despair at the amount of people who can dish things out but not take it back I really do.
Anyone that takes me too seriously wants to have a word, it's not as if I haven't posted plenty of or recieved similar banter on here. :brickwall

Ah, dey do dough don't dey dough?

08-07-2012, 06:53 PM
He's unfunny enough to be this one.....

What happened to Cilla, nah, second thoughts, don't answer that one!

08-07-2012, 06:54 PM
Ah, dey do dough don't dey dough?

08-07-2012, 06:55 PM

True, you're okay by me, even though you were unlucky enough to be born in Liverpool. There was no internet the last time Liverpool won the league, so don't worry about criticism :greengrin

08-07-2012, 06:59 PM
True, you're okay by me, even though you were unlucky enough to be born in Liverpool. There was no internet the last time Liverpool won the league, so don't worry about criticism :greengrin

Ouch! Where's that below the belt smiley? :greengrin

08-07-2012, 07:07 PM

Calm doon! I asked in all seriousness about the point of your posts as I am confused. I haven't had a sense of humour bypass coz IMHO your posts weren't funny :na na: Are you Swiss-Scouse :confused:? If you are then I could understand it but how is it banter when a Brit gets beat? Who are you having a banter with? Genuine question! Maybe this is why you're being accused of being a troll.....(not by me :greengrin)

08-07-2012, 07:09 PM

J, stick to egg chasing, eh? :greengrin The difference is HE MADE THE FINAL. THEY DID NOT. This is progress. The guy is 25 - plenty of time for him to win a major. As Bad Martini would say 'End of. Fact.'

08-07-2012, 07:26 PM

Nae need for the personal insults, if you can't contribute without them then I suggest you don't bother at all!

08-07-2012, 07:36 PM
J, stick to egg chasing, eh? :greengrin The difference is HE MADE THE FINAL. THEY DID NOT. This is progress. The guy is 25 - plenty of time for him to win a major. As Bad Martini would say 'End of. Fact.'

Least next Sunday you can check on how the cougars get on :greengrin

By the way as i'm sure H&A will tell you. First is everywhere and 2ND is no where. :wink:

08-07-2012, 07:45 PM
Least next Sunday you can check on how the cougars get on :greengrin

By the way as i'm sure H&A will tell you. First is everywhere and 2ND is no where. :wink:

Do you mean me? No Hibs fan would say that.

Leishy1995
09-07-2012, 12:31 AM
If tennis crowds could chant like they kind of did for Andy toward the end all game he'd never lose. He plays off the crowd. Next year Andy will be back. Unfinished business.

09-07-2012, 01:15 AM

I've got a few Anyone But Murray English pals and had good banter with them.

I really pity the Scottish people that can't have good banter with English friends.

TheMentalHibees
09-07-2012, 03:19 AM
Is that a scouser mocking somebody ELSE for failing? Surely not.

09-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Is that a scouser mocking somebody ELSE for failing? Surely not.

Is that a jock without a sense of humour? Surely not.