View Full Version : James McPake signs 2 year deal with Hibs (merged)

Kaiser_Sauzee
30-06-2012, 01:12 PM
Confirmed on Twitter

Curly1875
30-06-2012, 01:14 PM
:hibees:pfgwa:flag::flag::flag:

Kaiser_Sauzee
30-06-2012, 01:15 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfcclub/status/219055683453202433

30-06-2012, 01:15 PM
http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/th_2v1lwe0.gif

30-06-2012, 01:16 PM
Great news !!:thumbsup:

Iceman1875
30-06-2012, 01:17 PM
About time!!! :)

30-06-2012, 01:18 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120630/mcpake-signs-for-hibernian_2262950_2827903

2 year deal - excellent :thumbsup:

wheniwas5
30-06-2012, 01:19 PM
great news well done hibs

Delighted! :thumbsup:

McKenzie
Where's those people with their season ticket money now?

30-06-2012, 01:21 PM
Bout time!!!

30-06-2012, 01:22 PM
Very good news indeed! Well done, Pat :agree:

G-Reg
30-06-2012, 01:22 PM
Superb start

VickMackie
30-06-2012, 01:23 PM
Perfect

Just_Jimmy
Dancer! Mcpakes picture on twitter was class as well. Hes been dying to tell us all weekend i think.

Great news, delighted McPake's been signed up.

Just been down to ER to get my home and away tops. Looking forward to the new season. :thumbsup:

30-06-2012, 01:24 PM
Great stuff! :aok:

dunfyhibby
Excellent!!! Some more quality signings now please!

Benny Brazil
Welcome back James - just what we need a true leader on and off the pitch.

30-06-2012, 01:25 PM
Well done Hibs and PF.....

Best news since May......Let's build a team around him.....

wearethehibs
30-06-2012, 01:25 PM
Welcome back James :)

30-06-2012, 01:26 PM
Well done Pat and the board, credit where it's due. Now let's build a winning team round this guy.

Delighted with this. McPake's a proper Captain and a leader on the pitch.

We need more like him across the park though.

Great to have him on board. :flag:

Over the moon at this news

Smiggy 7-0
30-06-2012, 01:27 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120630/mcpake-signs-for-hibernian_2262950_2827903

2 year deal - excellent :thumbsup:

BRILLIANT

WELCOME TO OUR NEW CAPTAIN:not worth:flag::flag::flag:

Yessss! :thumbsup:

A great leader on and off the park...over the moon at hearing this news

At The Edge
30-06-2012, 01:28 PM
At last! glad we've finally got him to dot the t's and cross the i's :thumbsup:

Smiggy 7-0
30-06-2012, 01:28 PM
Who is next ???????

Dave-O
30-06-2012, 01:29 PM
Fantastic...now for some more quality like him, welcome James. :flag:

DMR1875
30-06-2012, 01:29 PM
Well Rod done his part. Time for the fans to do the same, it's not all about Rangers. It's about US. GGTTH

aljo7-0
30-06-2012, 01:30 PM
Fantastic news. Exactly the type of player we need. Great to get him in for the start of pre Season too.

30-06-2012, 01:30 PM
It is a start and hopefully the sign of better things to come! Defence is now pretty much sorted imo. Give me a strong keeper, pace down either wing and a hard man centre forward and I will be relishing the new season! Welcome about James lead us onto better things! :thumbsup:

alan1875
30-06-2012, 01:31 PM
Excellent news! Delighted

30-06-2012, 01:32 PM
You ****ing beauty!!!

Assuming The Huns get sent to Division 3, consider my interest in Hibs and Scottish football firmly re-ignited.

30-06-2012, 01:32 PM
One of the most important signings we have ever made IMO.

****ing delighted :thumbsup:

30-06-2012, 01:33 PM

30-06-2012, 01:35 PM
Well chuffed. Great signing, has the potential to become a club legend.

cad
30-06-2012, 01:35 PM
Great news get a keeper and a target man thats the spine .
The cynic in me says why, whats round the corner what brown stuffs going to hit the fan, is McPake a sweetner for another reason to keep the fans on board.
Once we find out whats what, will be when I decide to buy a ST ,and McPake is certainly a move in the right direction.

30-06-2012, 01:37 PM
Delighted with this. Club shop was busy a cople of hours back with lots of shirts being snapped up.
Two hugely positive threads and it's not July yet! Crivvens. Three counting the departure of Broon. Lets hope ST sales get the boost they need and maybe Paddy will get some more of the players he needs.

30-06-2012, 01:37 PM
Well done to James and PF for making this happen. Good start along with Clancy, hopefully more to come of similar, if not better quality

S.sct
30-06-2012, 01:38 PM
Great news, exactly the type of player we need. GGTTH

DAVE1875
30-06-2012, 01:38 PM
Who is next ???????

Today McPake, Tomorrow Messi

http://i3.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/medium/000/001/987/fyeah.jpg

Barman Stanton
30-06-2012, 01:39 PM
Great news. Keep them coming Hibs.

30-06-2012, 01:40 PM
Well chuffed. Great signing, has the potential to become a club legend.

Wow, that has certainly lifted the gloom. Well done Hibs. At last we have a permanent leader on the park:not worth

30-06-2012, 01:40 PM
Excellent news. If I manage to get myself a job back in Edinburgh I will definitely consider getting a season ticket.

30-06-2012, 01:42 PM
Brilliant news. 2 year deal too, so a little stability.

Yes!! :flag::hibees

We have our Captain, who is next? :greengrin

murray26
Great news for a change, one of the very few shining lights of last season, a proper Hibs captain for the next 2 years

30-06-2012, 01:47 PM
Jackpot

Billie Jo
30-06-2012, 01:47 PM
Welcome back James :flag:

Littlest Hobo
30-06-2012, 01:48 PM
Magic news.

30-06-2012, 01:48 PM
http://i.imgur.com/flRWu.gif

30-06-2012, 01:50 PM
http://i.imgur.com/flRWu.gif

:not worth

30-06-2012, 01:51 PM
Fantastic news, another 6 or so like him please Pat. :top marks

KanyeWestLower
30-06-2012, 01:52 PM
Just seen from @AgentScotland on twitter that if Mcpake plays 70 games he gets an extra year

30-06-2012, 01:52 PM
Got a real quality player for nothing. No fee, hee haw!! Coventry fans not happy about it on their forum. :)

30-06-2012, 01:53 PM
Fantastic news, another 6 or so like him please Pat. :top marks

Only 6?? I was thinking 11 ;)

30-06-2012, 01:53 PM
Just seen from @AgentScotland on twitter that if Mcpake plays 70 games he gets an extra year

A good move from Hibs if that's the case. If he stays fit then he gets the three years he was seemingly after.

BarneyHibby
30-06-2012, 01:54 PM
Welcome back, Captain!:hibees

30-06-2012, 01:54 PM

You are just being greedy. :wink:

green glory
30-06-2012, 01:56 PM
Get in!!!

30-06-2012, 01:59 PM
Seemed on the cards for a while now, especially reading between the lines on McPakes tweets.

Superb to have it finally confirmed, let's have a few more of similar calibre now Hibs. :thumbsup::aok::flag:

Got a real quality player for nothing. No fee, hee haw!! Coventry fans not happy about it on their forum. :)

Indeed

http://www.skybluestalk.co.uk/threads/17891-mcpake-gone-for-free!/page2

Although, inevitably, one of them has him down as a crock.

Actually feel quite emotional about this. We as hibs fans have put up with so much ***** and all this he is going to hearts etc I think we would all be resigned to not getting him and another slap in the face for us.

But no, we went and got our number 1 signing priority of the season, we've got our captin back.

We've got our captain back

Delighted.

Another international player on our books. Keep them coming.

CabbageBoy
30-06-2012, 02:02 PM

The number of goals conceded in the last two games he's played.

Glad there was no fee involved; we need creativity and forwards more than the new Shaun Dennis

hibeefan95
Brilliant news :deal:

Absolutely delighted!! He is a born leader and a natural captain, Lets build the team around him, Another 5 quality signings like this please.

This has made my Saturday!!:hibees:hibees:hibees

KdyHby
30-06-2012, 02:05 PM
You ****ing beauty!!!

Assuming The Huns get sent to Division 3, consider my interest in Hibs and Scottish football firmly re-ignited.

x2, will renew my season ticket once the Huns situation is resolved.

30-06-2012, 02:06 PM
Having been linked with a move to the PBS, the Jambos have a seven page thread about not wanting or rating McPake. I reckon they can draw a line under that one now.

30-06-2012, 02:07 PM
Welcome home James.

Well done the board :)

Humble pie anyone ???? ;-)

30-06-2012, 02:08 PM

30-06-2012, 02:10 PM
x2, will renew my season ticket once the Huns situation is resolved.

Why bother waiting ?

30-06-2012, 02:11 PM
Welcome James.

30-06-2012, 02:12 PM
Excellent news. It's a start. Keeper hard as nails MF and a CF and we have the spine of team sorted.

Well done Hibs. Hopefully more if the same in its way

KdyHby
30-06-2012, 02:13 PM
Why bother waiting ?

Because if the huns are any higher than div 3, I'll not be watching Scottish football again.

TomoHFC
Welcome Back heres hoping a good season:flag::hibees:pfgwa

Posted by the man himself on twitter....

https://twitter.com/JamesMcPake/status/219056355850452992/photo/1/large

30-06-2012, 02:14 PM
Indeed

http://www.skybluestalk.co.uk/threads/17891-mcpake-gone-for-free!/page2

Although, inevitably, one of them has him down as a crock.

Yeah there's always one. Even the yams are saying he's pish and never wanted him anyway now that he's singed for us.

ancienthibby
30-06-2012, 02:15 PM
Just the most excellent news!

James, thanks so much for signing - lead the new Hibees to success for all!

And well done to a much maligned Board.

More backing for PatF, please!

AH raises a very large dram to all!!:greengrin

30-06-2012, 02:15 PM

davhibby
30-06-2012, 02:16 PM
Hopefully this is the start of a great summer, bring on the 5th
:flag::hibees:pfgwa:flag::greengrin

30-06-2012, 02:17 PM
Because if the huns are any higher than div 3, I'll not be watching Scottish football again.

Ok well the choice is yours.

You are just being greedy. :wink:

Perhaps just a little ;)

30-06-2012, 02:18 PM

Quality mate. Quality.......

Littlest Hobo
30-06-2012, 02:24 PM
Right James, your task.

Make sure we are more motivated for the next derby than ever before.

You only need to have a wee read of Kickback to see that lot are looking forward to coming to our place to try and ridicule us about the cup final.

They need brought back down a peg or two.

Reading this and pinning some of their comments up in our dressing room will surely give you and your team mates the motivation to get revenge and allow us Hibees to once again walk proud with our heads held high.

I beg you to start planning now, so we can reap revenge on this lot.

30-06-2012, 02:30 PM
Yes!!

Fantastic news. :thumbsup:

30-06-2012, 02:30 PM
Great news, and a decent start to what needs to be 4 or 5 more vg signings.

PJ IronHIbee
30-06-2012, 02:33 PM
Fantastic news. Welcome home. Lets not get to carried away. We still need 5 or so new players and soon to hit the ground running. Great work from pat and the board but the hard work has only begun. Ggtth

Dave-O
30-06-2012, 02:33 PM

30-06-2012, 02:34 PM
Good signing, is that now 2 centre backs in. Now for midfield and some up top. Mon hibs.

Bob Box Fish
30-06-2012, 02:36 PM
Fantastic news, hopefully sell a few more season tickets if we keep bringing in decent players :)

30-06-2012, 02:38 PM
Absolutely delighted we have got him signed up, something we have been missing in central defence for a long time.

As has been said a few times on this thread we need a MF who puts an eye and his teeth in a glass at night and a strong CF along with a keeper and our spine is sorted.

Funny feeling we are not quite done this weekend or at least another before Monday is out.

Well done Hibs.

Right James, your task.

Make sure we are more motivated for the next derby than ever before.

You only need to have a wee read of Kickback to see that lot are looking forward to coming to our place to try and ridicule us about the cup final.

They need brought back down a peg or two.

Reading this and pinning some of their comments up in our dressing room will surely give you and your team mates the motivation to get revenge and allow us Hibees to once again walk proud with our heads held high.

I beg you to start planning now, so we can reap revenge on this lot.

Everything's about Hearts with you isn't it? :hmmm:

I'd much rather we/he just focused on a game by game basis and try to attain as high a position in the league as possible!

Good signing, is that now 2 centre backs in. Now for midfield and some up top. Mon hibs.

Clancy is a RB and been signed to play at RB.

30-06-2012, 02:39 PM
Brilliant. Welcome back, James! :top marks

That's a lot over two seasons - virtually has to be an ever present during both league campaigns. Surprised his agent agreed to that many.

30-06-2012, 02:41 PM
Well done Hibs :greengrin and James for keeping quiet this past few weeks, he must've been bursting at the seems on twitter and a 2 year deal is fine.

LeighLoyal
30-06-2012, 02:42 PM
Good signing! Very happy with that!

30-06-2012, 02:43 PM

That's a lot over two seasons - virtually has to be an ever present during both league campaigns. Surprised his agent agreed to that many.

What 38 league game and hopefully 6-8 cup games, no problem getting to 70 over 2 yrs.

Dalkeith
30-06-2012, 02:49 PM
on radio scotland now

"delighted to be back, fans need to back everyone from board to players"

30-06-2012, 02:50 PM
Great news, need a couple more players though

What 38 league game and hopefully 6-8 cup games, no problem getting to 70 over 2 yrs.
No problem if you usually manage to steer clear of injury and suspension.

McPake has had his injury worries in the past and even had to nurse his way through a few of our fixtures last season. And CBs can miss a few games each season through suspension - tends to go with the job description.

You're also relying on cup-runs - say no more on that score.

Stuarty1875
Absolutely delighted :scarf::thumbsup:

Hopefully more quality signings will follow.

PJ IronHIbee
30-06-2012, 02:51 PM
On radio just now. He was never in doubt that he wanted to stay with us. It took time to agree a deal with coventry. He like us knows we need to improve the squad. Top bloke and future hibs legend. Ggtth

30-06-2012, 02:52 PM
Great job hibs! :aok:

I must admit, I never thought we'd sign him. Really great news!

Now we have something to build on.

Hibby-Nessie
30-06-2012, 02:53 PM
Excellent news, welcome back :agree:

PJ IronHIbee
30-06-2012, 02:59 PM
On radio just now. He was never in doubt that he wanted to stay with us. It took time to agree a deal with coventry. He like us knows we need to improve the squad. Top bloke and future hibs legend. Ggtth

30-06-2012, 03:01 PM
Delighted. For all the back injury issues he's had, he's a leader on and off the park who can galvanize the support, so well worth the risk. Fenlon wants a harder, more competitive team, and I can see Hibs not being soift touches any more. Right now I'd almost settle for eleven evil *******s who scared the bejesus out the opposition, and build in some quality in the next window.

30-06-2012, 03:04 PM
Delighted. For all the back injury issues he's had, he's a leader on and off the park who can galvanize the support, so well worth the risk. Fenlon wants a harder, more competitive team, and I can see Hibs not being soift touches any more. Right now I'd almost settle for eleven evil *******s who scared the bejesus out the opposition, and build in some quality in the next window.

I don't want us to just beat Hearts next time we play them, I want us to completely destroy them.

GreenPJ
30-06-2012, 03:06 PM

One CB and a right back. Two strikers and two wide men next.

30-06-2012, 03:08 PM
Pleased with that!

Excellent news and a very important signing.

Come on Hibs, wheres the squad numbers so we know what number to put on our mcp replica shirts? FFS Petrie :grr:

Emerald
30-06-2012, 03:09 PM
This was a deal that HAD to be done and very glad it is. Hope we can now build a solid team around him and make us hard to beat. We need to get a decent forward now and please please a creative midfield player that can make things happen. Well done Hibs and keep up the good work. :aok:

oldbiker
30-06-2012, 03:12 PM
Lets hope this is the start of something good :flag::flag:

Passion and commitment with a tad of talent and huge chunk of good attitude :agree:

30-06-2012, 03:14 PM
We need a sing for McPake like there was for Jones :flag:

30-06-2012, 03:15 PM
Delighted.

More to be done but going in the right direction.

Purehibee_MYB
30-06-2012, 03:15 PM
Very happy now! Defence is starting to look reasonably solid.. hopeful for summer now!!

30-06-2012, 03:17 PM
Come on Hibs, wheres the squad numbers so we know what number to put on our mcp replica shirts? FFS Petrie :grr:

Petrie seems to have bigger fish to fry, namely racking his brains with Doncaster and Reagan as to their next ham-fisted, embarrassing scheme to get other people to ensure that there are 4 x OF league games per season asap.

30-06-2012, 03:19 PM

We've got James McPake, eh,
He's no George Street jakey
na na na na etc

30-06-2012, 03:19 PM
Petrie seems to have bigger fish to fry, namely racking his brains with Doncaster and Reagan as to their next ham-fisted, embarrassing scheme to get other people to ensure that there are 4 x OF league games per season asap.

boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

positive thread this mate.

30-06-2012, 03:20 PM

I don't want us to just beat Hearts next time we play them, I want us to completely destroy them.

Unless McPake is one of a set of quadruplets, I suspect you're going to be sorely disappointed

A great signing, but he's only one man. Our squad and club need a complete overhaul, both in terms of personnel and mentality before we can realistically asipre to be completely destroying Hearts.

30-06-2012, 03:21 PM
Good news...

30-06-2012, 03:21 PM
Coventry fans aint too happy...More so about not getting a fee than losing him http://www.skybluestalk.co.uk/threads/17891-mcpake-gone-for-free!

30-06-2012, 03:22 PM
Welcome back James :not worth

30-06-2012, 03:23 PM

Maybe includes friendlies, cup ties also?

30-06-2012, 03:27 PM
Welcome back Jamesie! :thumbsup:

For goodness sake, we've got
The Hibby James McPake ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PR61UVA3gZk

SmokieJoe
Welcome back James, its great to have you back in the green and white:not worth

Ferryhibby
30-06-2012, 03:32 PM
well thats two players PF has wanted and got, things lookin a bit better, hope he gets the others he was lookin at, the board seem to be delivering for him.

30-06-2012, 03:32 PM
Coventry fans aint too happy...More so about not getting a fee than losing him http://www.skybluestalk.co.uk/threads/17891-mcpake-gone-for-free!
I wonder how we managed to negotiate ourselves out of the previously reported 'available for £100k at the end of the season' fee?

semaj64
30-06-2012, 03:35 PM
Great news given all that has happened over the last few months

The_Sauz
30-06-2012, 03:39 PM
Today McPake, Tomorrow Messi

http://i3.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/medium/000/001/987/fyeah.jpg

with Pirlo on Monday :greengrin

30-06-2012, 03:41 PM
boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

positive thread this mate.

Maybe Petrie just sent one of the £100k bribe letters to the wrong people :greengrin

HibbySpurs
30-06-2012, 03:45 PM
Great News, delighted about this, hope it can encourage other players we are chaing to sign up as surely this is a statement of intent?

:top marks to all concerned

:pfgwa

Ultrabee1-0
30-06-2012, 03:45 PM
Right sorry did we get Mcpake for FREE??
But am ****ing ecstatic at this news well done pat & rod!

30-06-2012, 03:50 PM
I wonder how we managed to negotiate ourselves out of the previously reported 'available for £100k at the end of the season' fee?

Two words - Rod Petrie :greengrin

Steven_Hibs
30-06-2012, 03:53 PM

30-06-2012, 03:55 PM
That's a given. :greengrin

Just curious about the detail - but I guess if the player himself expresses a strong desire to go to one club and nowhere else, then the only alternative for the 'selling' club is to keep an unhappy player on their books at £6k a week.

Also wonder if the Football League lifting Coventry City's transfer embargo on 20th June had something to do with the timing.

30-06-2012, 03:58 PM
Very happy. Now more players with the correct attitude please!

In Pat we trust!

30-06-2012, 03:59 PM
Unless McPake is one of a set of quadruplets, I suspect you're going to be sorely disappointed

A great signing, but he's only one man. Our squad and club need a complete overhaul, both in terms of personnel and mentality before we can realistically asipre to be completely destroying Hearts.

Its good news but he alone couldn`t stop us being destroyed in the cup final. We need a lot more signings of his quality if we are to compete next season.

Ultrabee1-0
30-06-2012, 04:01 PM
To the old torres song 'liverpools number 9'
we got the lad from Coventry mcpake mcpake,
hell ware the green and white again mcpake mcpake,
his arm band proved he needs a deal and Petrie got him what a steel,
james mcpake Hibernians got um it's fine.

30-06-2012, 04:13 PM
Wonderful news. Welcome home, James. :thumbsup:

A few more signings and the Hun consigned to SFL3 could make next week aCarlsberg week.

30-06-2012, 04:14 PM
Its good news but he alone couldn`t stop us being destroyed in the cup final. We need a lot more signings of his quality if we are to compete next season.

Correct, we do need more of similar quality, and they will come, be patient, trust in Nutsy, he will deliver. To say I am happy about this signing is the worlds biggest understatement. Well done to all involved and welcome home James.

keithkeith
30-06-2012, 04:14 PM
Fantastic news! Next season without him would have been unbearable!?

First of many, I hope.

Twitter pic of Edinburgh Airport was brilliant as well...

Welcome back, James!

GGTH

30-06-2012, 04:15 PM
Class. Except 'Hibernians got um it's fine' needs changed. 'James Mcpaaake Hibernian through and through'?

30-06-2012, 04:20 PM
Haha Brilliant!!!

Two Halves
30-06-2012, 04:29 PM
Been out most of the day so only just seen this. Absolutely delighted with McPake coming back in. One of the few positives last season for me. A fully committed player and now we know who our club captain should be forcthe season too!! Well done Hibs!

TomTheHibbyBev
30-06-2012, 04:33 PM
Going in the right direction well done Hibs:thumbsup:

30-06-2012, 04:34 PM
Great news :greengrin

Being greedy, I'd like a reliable keeper, some steel in midfield and a couple of strikers over the next week please.

30-06-2012, 04:34 PM
Check out the welcome page on the fishy site
(http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Welcome)

Eaststand
30-06-2012, 04:35 PM
For goodness sake, we've got
The Hibby James McPake ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PR61UVA3gZk

A fantastic signing

Hows about a simple wee chant of,

You mix iron and steel
What does that make

A tough tough guy like James McPake :wink:

ps if this catches on who do I claim royalties from :-)

dchibs
30-06-2012, 04:35 PM
:hibees

franks
30-06-2012, 04:36 PM
OK. Guys that is a very big signing. Fed up of all this bull**** about "never going back if they don't go to the third ( to good for them if you ask me) but we have to support our team while trying to ensure integrity. IMOP those who refuse to buy a season ticket now never would have bought one anyway.

30-06-2012, 04:36 PM
Delighted :greengrin...

On holiday but just had to find a way to log on...

Happy to WAIT on more signngs if the quality...is this decent

30-06-2012, 04:45 PM
James McPake‏@JamesMcPakeThanks 4 all your messages. Very much appreciated!Can't wait to get started #GGTTH (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23GGTTH) also to the Cov fans 4 there messages, means a lot #PUSB (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23PUSB)

30-06-2012, 04:46 PM
Superb couple of days, cracking home top and a cracking player :thumbsup:

30-06-2012, 04:47 PM
Have to say, totally surprised but delighted Hibs got him, especially for those who suffered last season. Two good captures now. a few more and a decent team won't be far away. Need quality in there, not quantity.

30-06-2012, 04:53 PM
The number of goals conceded in the last two games he's played.

Glad there was no fee involved; we need creativity and forwards more than the new Shaun Dennis

Could only come from a Jambo......

30-06-2012, 04:57 PM
Check out the welcome page on the fishy site
(http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Welcome)

Man, he suits that kit does he not?

30-06-2012, 04:58 PM
Just got home and read the news, fantastic:thumbsup: Was beginning to worry it wouldn't happen, chuffed that it has!

30-06-2012, 04:58 PM
Best news that I've heard from Hibs in a long time. Well done, Hibs. Welcome, JMcP.

30-06-2012, 05:03 PM

Being greedy, I'd like a reliable keeper, some steel in midfield and a couple of strikers over the next week please.

That's not being greedy - that's being realistic.

We've shed a lot of players since the end of May, and two experienced defenders are a decent start, but nothing more.

I would agree -we need an experienced keeper, a replacement for O'Hanlon if he leaves as expected, at least 2, probably 3 midfielders, and 2 attacking players, preferably ones who don't make rude gestures to their own supporters or get regularly out of their skulls on illegal substances.

O'Hanlon MIGHT do as a back-up for McPake and Hanlon - he played well the one occasion he started for PF last season. Callum Booth was out for a long spell and there must be a question as to where he stanbds in PF plans - if Callum's fit and on form, that fact alone would supply a major boost to the squad.

Midfielders listed on the club site right now include Wotherspoon, who many people seem convinced is going to Sheffield; Ivan Sproule, whom many don't think we should have retained as he's getting pretty long in the tooth these days; Jorge Claros, who hasn't convinced anyone as yet; Danny Galbraith, ditto; Martin Scott, away on loan; and Sam Stanton who hasn't broken into the first team yet. Claros is away at Christmas. We need at least THREE good midfieldrs, IMO.

Garry O'Connor's still listed as in the squad, but seems to be looking to go elsewhere. Eoin Doyle has yet to convince me; Ross Caldwell, like Sam Stanton, has yet to break into the first team squad.

This is NOT a squad tailored for SPL survival.

And the quicker the new guys come in, the better settled they'll be for the start of season, the better their fitness will be, the better they'll be settled into PF's way of playing. We really don't want to still be looking for players right up to kick-off on the 5th of August.

FIVE WEEKS is the time PF has to form a team.

30-06-2012, 05:23 PM
https://p.twimg.com/Awpx3xUCQAAo1Rp.jpg

30-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Superb start

I feel sorry for Clancy now :greengrin

30-06-2012, 05:31 PM
Fantastic news.

JAAAAAMES MCPAKE, JAAAMES MCPAKE....

30-06-2012, 05:36 PM
Man, he suits that kit does he not?

I've come over all of a flutter at that pic

#mancrush :love ya!:

30-06-2012, 05:38 PM
Well done hibs, just the lift we have needed!

McPake is a great leader and motivator, he has the ability to organise and control the team. He is the type of captain we have been missing for years!

Welcome back James :flag:

30-06-2012, 05:48 PM
WELCOME HOME JAMES!!!!!!!!!!!! now all we need is a goalie,,and a left back,,and another centre half,,and another 3 midfielders,,,and the list goes on,,,,GREAT SIGNING,,,however we neeed a lot more players of JAMESIES QWALITY to get back to where WEE belong
what was that quote from that baseball film,,,,BUILD IT,,AND THEY WILL COME
hopefully the tasche has been watching it :cb:cb:cb:cb:cb:cb:cb
bt

30-06-2012, 05:55 PM
Couldnt be happier, the only Hibs player to escape Hampden with his reputation intact IMO.

We still need at least two midfield players a wide player and a striker though.

30-06-2012, 05:57 PM
well done everyone concerned.

30-06-2012, 06:00 PM
Think the penny dropped with the board, that if we didn't get this boy, there was no point in getting anyone else. Not only an investment for just now, but the proper template for Hanlon to watch and learn and take himself to the next level.

barryhibby
30-06-2012, 06:11 PM
Great news , makes the waiting worth while , got to say well done to the Manager and Board as well :top marks
Hope they bring in more signings with the desire and commitment of McPake

GGTTH :flag:

30-06-2012, 06:18 PM
Great news :top marks

I knew there was a reason I didn't change me avatar :greengrin

He is a leader - a winner - and we know what we are getting :aok:

It shows you what a positive loan can do.

We are still short of a 4 or 5 players - A keeper, a play maker in CM, a wide player who beats his man and some strikers but hopefully this signing will make players coming to Hibs realise we are trying to build.

Please though sort newco out and send them to Div 3 !:rolleyes:

jamieross
30-06-2012, 06:27 PM
Best news of the summer. FACT

The man could become a real urban legend if he captains the team to any form of a decent season/glory in the next few years, imo he haas the credentials to do so :aok:

30-06-2012, 06:38 PM

This ,plus a creative midfielder :agree:

Welcome aboard James .

30-06-2012, 06:38 PM
Spiffing stuff.

Welcome back Jimbo :thumbsup::flag:

30-06-2012, 06:39 PM
Best signing since Le God

What a great last few days, a "Hat Trick " of good news,

1. New Strip - Real winner imo

2. We get rid of Billy Brown

3. We sign James McPake

Ya beauty

30-06-2012, 06:54 PM
That's not being greedy - that's being realistic.

We've shed a lot of players since the end of May, and two experienced defenders are a decent start, but nothing more.

I would agree -we need an experienced keeper, a replacement for O'Hanlon if he leaves as expected, at least 2, probably 3 midfielders, and 2 attacking players, preferably ones who don't make rude gestures to their own supporters or get regularly out of their skulls on illegal substances.

O'Hanlon MIGHT do as a back-up for McPake and Hanlon - he played well the one occasion he started for PF last season. Callum Booth was out for a long spell and there must be a question as to where he stanbds in PF plans - if Callum's fit and on form, that fact alone would supply a major boost to the squad.

Midfielders listed on the club site right now include Wotherspoon, who many people seem convinced is going to Sheffield; Ivan Sproule, whom many don't think we should have retained as he's getting pretty long in the tooth these days; Jorge Claros, who hasn't convinced anyone as yet; Danny Galbraith, ditto; Martin Scott, away on loan; and Sam Stanton who hasn't broken into the first team yet. Claros is away at Christmas. We need at least THREE good midfieldrs, IMO.

Garry O'Connor's still listed as in the squad, but seems to be looking to go elsewhere. Eoin Doyle has yet to convince me; Ross Caldwell, like Sam Stanton, has yet to break into the first team squad.

This is NOT a squad tailored for SPL survival.

And the quicker the new guys come in, the better settled they'll be for the start of season, the better their fitness will be, the better they'll be settled into PF's way of playing. We really don't want to still be looking for players right up to kick-off on the 5th of August.

FIVE WEEKS is the time PF has to form a team.

Relax. Barely any significant transfer activity across all teams. I'm fairly confident that many irons are in the fire (probably for most teams) until the euro's finish.

I'm hoping last season has shown the board/management exactly the calibre of player we need.

I essence, I'm hoping that the cup final defeat has woken a few people up. Shown them what is required to be successful.

30-06-2012, 07:07 PM
Do we have a confirmed squad number as yet?

30-06-2012, 07:14 PM
Delighted by this signing, hope I get to go and watch him next season. Fenlon is doing his bit Petrie, over to you now?

HibeeMackenzie
30-06-2012, 07:15 PM

:6: :wink:

30-06-2012, 07:16 PM
Delighted by this signing, hope I get to go and watch him next season. Fenlon is doing his bit Petrie, over to you now?

Fenlon is getting to do his bit because Petrie is doing his, no??

30-06-2012, 07:21 PM

I hope he's not got the Cup Final score on his back for the new season

30-06-2012, 07:21 PM
Excellent news :thumbsup:

Clancy
Mcpake
CM
LM
RM
2 Strikers
GK

30-06-2012, 07:22 PM

Six.

30-06-2012, 07:30 PM
I feel sorry for Clancy now :greengrin

Right back surely?

30-06-2012, 07:50 PM
Fenlon is getting to do his bit because Petrie is doing his, no??

not my point and pretty sure you know that:wink:

30-06-2012, 07:51 PM
Relax. Barely any significant transfer activity across all teams. I'm fairly confident that many irons are in the fire (probably for most teams) until the euro's finish.

I'm hoping last season has shown the board/management exactly the calibre of player we need.

I essence, I'm hoping that the cup final defeat has woken a few people up. Shown them what is required to be successful.

'Until the Euros finish' is tomorrow night.

I too hope the board/management have finally wakened up to the quality of player we require ....

... but if it took that obscenity of a Cup Final "effort" for reality to get through to them, they must be stinking slow learners.

30-06-2012, 07:51 PM
Excellent news :thumbsup:

Clancy
Mcpake
CM
LM
RM
2 Strikers
GK

why is the GK upfront, do we not have enough problems:brickwall:greengrin

30-06-2012, 07:53 PM
Excellent! Welcome back James and well done Fenlon/Hibs for making this happen. Out of all the players we had on loan McPake was the single most positive influence and I am delighted he is back - a definite step in the right direction giving us all hope for the new season! :top marks:thumbsup:

:pfgwa

30-06-2012, 07:57 PM
'Until the Euros finish' is tomorrow night.

I too hope the board/management have finally wakened up to the quality of player we require ....

... but if it took that obscenity of a Cup Final "effort" for reality to get through to them, they must be stinking slow learners.

Gawds sake man cheer up! Give the presbyterian angst a rest, we've just signed our best player (AKA theRedeemer© :greengrin

30-06-2012, 08:15 PM
Can't see much coming past us down the right with McPake & Clancy, but obviously depends who is ahead of them, but two very solid players.

30-06-2012, 08:20 PM
Can't see much coming past us down the right with McPake & Clancy, but obviously depends who is ahead of them, but two very solid players.

Fret not, Hanlon and Pa Kujabi on the left counter that.

30-06-2012, 08:23 PM

Stevenson Ozzy Claros Wotherspoon..

30-06-2012, 08:27 PM
;3281260']Stevenson Ozzy Claros Wotherspoon..

Jeezo that's not good

30-06-2012, 08:33 PM
Gawds sake man cheer up! Give the presbyterian angst a rest, we've just signed our best player (AKA theRedeemer© :greengrin

You picked out the negative comments. I'm chuffed to bits about Mcpake. I was suggesting to the other poster that I expect other solid signings to come... :flag:

Long Time Hibee
30-06-2012, 09:00 PM
Excellent news. Just what is needed. Great captain and superb attitude.

Will sort out the defence with a good pre-season and I think he'll continue to bring on Paul Hanlon.
Tim Clancy will hopefully sort out the right back problem. Think we need a similar left back though.
Like Kujabi but need a no nonsense defender.

Just need the midfield and striker positions dealt with now.
More of the same please Hibs. :thumbsup:

yekimevol
30-06-2012, 09:08 PM
next signings must be a keeper. After that a playmaker, 2 strikers, left midfielder and a true fighter in the middle of the park. So another six signings please.

30-06-2012, 09:09 PM
So our defence is: Kujabi Hanlon McPake Clancy

On paper that doesn't look too bad, especially as Hanlon looks sturdier playing alongside McPake. Of course it could end up looking like this: Hanlon Michalik McPake Clancy which would look a lot more formiddable.

In terms of midfield we need a creative midfielder and this should enable chances to be made for Doyle and whoever his strike partner will be.

30-06-2012, 09:10 PM

On paper that doesn't look too bad, especially as Hanlon looks excellent playing alongside McPake. Of course it could end up looking like this: Hanlon Michalik McPake Clancy which would look a lot more formiddable.

In terms of midfield we need a creative midfielder and this should enable chances to be made for Doyle and whoever his strike partner will be.

Would rather keep the Hanlon-McPake combo in the middle myself and spend on a new left back.

30-06-2012, 09:13 PM
Would rather keep the Hanlon-McPake combo in the middle myself and spend on a new left back.

It is baby steps for us, considering the funding required to sign a couple of wide players and a midfielder on top of at least a striker. There are far more pressing issues than a left-back and at least Kujabi is a trier and we can only hope he can improve

30-06-2012, 09:18 PM
Delighted at his signing.

However, feet on the ground people, his signing only takes us back to where we were at season end..with the exception of Clancy, but minus the likes of Griffiths etc...

More signings please, and starting with a goalie or we'll end up playing long banging every week.:wink:

30-06-2012, 09:19 PM
It is baby steps for us, considering the funding required to sign a couple of wide players and a midfielder on top of at least a striker. There are far more pressing issues than a left-back and at least Kujabi is a trier and we can only hope he can improve

:agree: Kujabi has shown he has some quality, May 19th notwithstanding.

30-06-2012, 09:42 PM
:agree: Kujabi has shown he has some quality, May 19th notwithstanding.

And with his free-kick too :greengrin

Personally though for next season I would be happy with us finishing very clear of the bottom and would be ecstatic at a top 6 place. I'll be pleasantly surprised if we finished 4th or above, might even run naked down Princes Street.

30-06-2012, 11:08 PM

Let's give young Scott Smith a chance at left back

30-06-2012, 11:18 PM

Erm, Hibs already have four possible left backs under contract (Hanlon, Kujabi, Booth and Smith). It's just about the lowest priority.

30-06-2012, 11:20 PM
Let's give young Scott Smith a chance at left back

I wouldn't be against that with maybe Booth in front of him in midfield.

30-06-2012, 11:28 PM
If he's such a great signing, why couldn't McPake get a game at Coventry?

That's a genuine question.

30-06-2012, 11:28 PM
I wouldn't be against that with maybe Booth in front of him in midfield.

If we were seeing the Booth of a couple of years ago, yes.

But he needs to sort out a few things first.

30-06-2012, 11:37 PM

On paper that doesn't look too bad, especially as Hanlon looks sturdier playing alongside McPake. Of course it could end up looking like this: Hanlon Michalik McPake Clancy which would look a lot more formiddable.

In terms of midfield we need a creative midfielder and this should enable chances to be made for Doyle and whoever his strike partner will be.here we go again. Hanlon, a much improved centre back with a solid, dependable no nonsense experienced player beside him, to encourage/force/tell him what to do/cover for him when he's lost it/ or , do we just go for another no nonsense experienced solid dependable player? how long will it take, for people to say.....yes, that's a good signing, he will fit in nicely with Hanlon, a good solid dep......blah blah?

30-06-2012, 11:40 PM
here we go again. Hanlon, a much improved centre back with a solid, dependable no nonsense experienced player beside him, to encourage/force/tell him what to do/cover for him when he's lost it/ or , do we just go for another no nonsense experienced solid dependable player? how long will it take, for people to say.....yes, that's a good signing, he will fit in nicely with Hanlon, a good solid dep......blah blah?

I guess folk will say that when Hanlon looks like he's in charge and has some presence.

30-06-2012, 11:43 PM

He was out for months with a serious back injury, hence why he was sent out on loan to us, and Coventry had their first choice centre-backs at the club too, McPake was probably the 3rd choice. Was it not also at Coventry where he converted from a striker to a defender? That would probably explain it.

30-06-2012, 11:43 PM
Erm, Hibs already have four possible left backs under contract (Hanlon, Kujabi, Booth and Smith). It's just about the lowest priority.

Erm...

Kujabi: Gash
Booth: No (maybe midfield)
Smith: Not started a game
Hanlon: Centre back.

DAVE1875
30-06-2012, 11:44 PM

My guess is cause the manager rated Keogh and Cranie higher than McPake... if memory serves me right were we not trying to sign Keogh a few seasons ago?

Plus as Salt & Sauzee mentioned, the serious back injury will have played a major part in him not being picked

30-06-2012, 11:46 PM
here we go again. Hanlon, a much improved centre back with a solid, dependable no nonsense experienced player beside him, to encourage/force/tell him what to do/cover for him when he's lost it/ or , do we just go for another no nonsense experienced solid dependable player? how long will it take, for people to say.....yes, that's a good signing, he will fit in nicely with Hanlon, a good solid dep......blah blah?

I actually rate Hanlon, let's not forget though that he is a young player and he still needs to be brought on. When it looks like he is in charge of the defence when McPake is not playing I will be able to talk about a new signing fitting in with Hanlon. If we are serious Hanlon is still a great prospect and McPake looks like the man to help him improve considerably.

KiddA
01-07-2012, 12:27 AM
Delighted, welcome aboard big man :greengrin

01-07-2012, 12:32 AM
I actually rate Hanlon, let's not forget though that he is a young player and he still needs to be brought on. When it looks like he is in charge of the defence when McPake is not playing I will be able to talk about a new signing fitting in with Hanlon. If we are serious Hanlon is still a great prospect and McPake looks like the man to help him improve considerably.ok, you have your opinion, and I have mine. he has been on the verge allegidly over the last 2 seasons, of becoming a good player.he captains the national side, at his age level, but has not taken the next step, and if he does not do it this season, he never will.

01-07-2012, 12:45 AM
I'd take:

Hanlon - O'Hanlon - McPake - Clancy

O'Hanlon was the tits against Aberdeen in the third last game of the season, with a strong leader next to him I think him and McPake would be scary for a CF to deal with.

If it doesn't work, Booth - Hanlon - McPake - Clancy is good as well.

Time to get a thug of a CM and a similar CF in place to get the spine as formiddable as needs be.

01-07-2012, 01:18 AM
Two down another nine to go....im proud to be a Hibby first time since May well done Petrie...a few nore sifnings and an ST coming Hibs way...

edwards
01-07-2012, 01:45 AM
At present my first choice back four would be

Clancy O'Hanlon Mcpake Kugabi

i always thought O'Hanlon should have played in the final but Hanlon earned his place just feel O'hanlon gives us more height and is stronger than Hanlon

01-07-2012, 01:45 AM
I'd take:

O'Hanlon was the tits against Aberdeen in the third last game of the season, with a strong leader next to him I think him and McPake would be scary for a CF to deal with.

Time to get a thug of a CM and a similar CF in place to get the spine as formiddable as needs be.

I kind of agree. O'Hanlon was Vice Captain at MK Dons where there was a big commanding captain CH next to him.
Sometimes as a centre back it's all about gelling - witness the chemistry that Miller and McLeish had, as opposed to Miller and Hanson banging into each other during Scotland v USSR in Espana82. Miller never looked the same without McLeish.

*note - for younger posters, the USSR was like Russia, but including Ukraine, and the Liths and a few others. They were big on red flags, bullying the neighbours and female underarm hair, yet somehow still managed to lose the Cold War to a USA inspired only by Rocky Balboa, Ronald Reagan and The Scorpions (a rock band).

01-07-2012, 07:43 AM
Fantastic signing :thumbsup: but still think (hope!) that we will be signing another CH and LB before the end of the summer to sort that defence out!

01-07-2012, 07:47 AM
I'm sure McPake would not have signed if he did not get some assurances that there will be a few more decent signings to come.

So hopefully the first of a few more over the coming weeks. :aok:

01-07-2012, 07:54 AM
I'd take:

O'Hanlon was brilliant against Aberdeen I must admit. I cant see him featuring much next season, he has been told to find a new club.

01-07-2012, 08:14 AM
I'm sure McPake would not have signed if he did not get some assurances that there will be a few more decent signings to come.

So hopefully the first of a few more over the coming weeks. :aok:

He said that on Radio Scotland yesterday.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/scotfoot

32:00 onwards

01-07-2012, 08:56 AM

He was much improved with Mcpake in the side....

I guess folk will say that when Hanlon looks like he's in charge and has some presence.

Why else would he be captain of Scotland u21's?

01-07-2012, 08:59 AM
I kind of agree. O'Hanlon was Vice Captain at MK Dons where there was a big commanding captain CH next to him.
Sometimes as a centre back it's all about gelling - witness the chemistry that Miller and McLeish had, as opposed to Miller and Hanson banging into each other during Scotland v USSR in Espana82. Miller never looked the same without McLeish.

*note - for younger posters, the USSR was like Russia, but including Ukraine, and the Liths and a few others. They were big on red flags, bullying the neighbours and female underarm hair, yet somehow still managed to lose the Cold War to a USA inspired only by Rocky Balboa, Ronald Reagan and The Scorpions (a rock band).

Perfect summary of a 4 month history topic I did at school :greengrin

01-07-2012, 09:01 AM
why is the GK upfront, do we not have enough problems:brickwall:greengrin

Something has to work this season FFS :grr: :wink:

01-07-2012, 09:13 AM

You are a man after my own heart BOb. Get intae them first, then worry aboot playing fitbal.

01-07-2012, 09:18 AM
Erm...

Kujabi: Gash
Booth: No (maybe midfield)
Smith: Not started a game
Hanlon: Centre back.

Whilst I agree we dont have one particular stand out player for LB, the fact is we have 4 players who can play in that position. Given things are tough enough financially as it is with both reduced ST sales and the Rangers situation, cant see us spending money on a player when we already have options there. We have other areas that are in greater need of improvement, so heres hoping one of the 4 you mentioned can step up.

01-07-2012, 09:20 AM

As I'm sure you know there are many players who don't do too well at one club but shine at another. Look at the Dobster, released by Rangers & Hibs, drops all the way down to Dumbarton & ends up playing in Premiership & starring at Wembley 3 times!
In JM's case, he never really got an extended opportunity at Coventry, mainly through injury but I believe he revels in being captain & in being wanted at Hibs. Certainly the very best news after an awful summer.

Green Man
01-07-2012, 09:25 AM
Absolutely delighted, this is the best signing we've made in years. I actually welled up a bit when I heard the news. Well done PF and the board for making it happen.

patlowe
01-07-2012, 09:35 AM
At the risk of jumping the gun here, IF (and it's a big if) we can sign a 4/5 more players of McPake's experience, quality and desire then there is no reason why we shouldn't be challenging in the upper reaches of the league this coming season. The other teams are for the most part being weakened right now and there's an extra spot available up there thanks to the club formerly known as Rangers.

My fear is that Hibs have pushed the boat out somewhat with McPake's wages (to placate the fans and encourage season ticket sales) and will not be willing (or able) to sign other players on that kind of money.

01-07-2012, 09:36 AM

Perfect summary of a 4 month history topic I did at school :greengrin
:Ummm:

That Curriculum for Excellence has a lot to answer for .....

Nelly070
01-07-2012, 09:38 AM
Has anyone seen McPakes new avatar nn twitter ? It's quality !! :thumbsup:

01-07-2012, 09:43 AM

Terrific love it.

01-07-2012, 11:00 AM
:Ummm:

That Curriculum for Excellence has a lot to answer for .....

Seconded, leaving people like me in the dark about communist under-arm hair :grr:

Hibiza
01-07-2012, 11:10 AM
:flag::top marks

Thomson
01-07-2012, 11:18 AM

https://si0.twimg.com/profile_images/2355555449/image.jpg

01-07-2012, 11:21 AM

Proof as if any was needed that players read this forum, as that's where - AFAIK - that pic came from.

Class.

01-07-2012, 04:43 PM
Proof as if any was needed that players read this forum, as that's where - AFAIK - that pic came from.

Class.

Forgive me chaps, but the significance of this mcpake signing is being exaggerated.

He is ok. That's it. Mind you our standards have dropped lately. Players celebrating avoidance of relegation and defeat to hearts appearing to be water off a ducks back. What are we coming to?

01-07-2012, 04:52 PM
Forgive me chaps, but the significance of this mcpake signing is being exaggerated.

He is ok. That's it. Mind you our standards have dropped lately. Players celebrating avoidance of relegation and defeat to hearts appearing to be water off a ducks back. What are we coming to?

Not entirely sure where my earlier post comes into the above? I was referring to McPake's Twitter avatar, which was - I think - lifted directly from this thread.

01-07-2012, 04:52 PM

I agree, McPake is decent but we do need at least another 6 players of similar quality before i will start with the hand stands.

01-07-2012, 05:10 PM
I agree, McPake is decent but we do need at least another 6 players of similar quality before i will start with the hand stands.

You can do handstands?! ;-)

01-07-2012, 05:12 PM
You can do handstands?! ;-)

Easy, you'd be surprised what i can do with my body. :wink:

01-07-2012, 09:36 PM
This is probably going to be a good signing in that it shows intent that we're looking for a better class of player than before. Similarly if we get some of the youngsters into the squad, you want them to be around players like Jaaaaames McPake, especially if Nutsy gets rid of the boozing culture.

capitals_finest
01-07-2012, 10:07 PM
:not worth:not worth:not worth

Thank you Mr McPake.

It is a breath of fresh air to see a talented player show some dedication to our support.

Glory Glory James McPake.

02-07-2012, 07:39 AM
James McPake‏@JamesMcPakeFirst day as a full time Hibs player! #newjob (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23newjob) #preseason (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23preseason)