View Full Version : Has discipline always been a problem at Hibs

24-01-2012, 06:25 PM
Or just in the Petrie years? :devil:

Seriously though - what employer would be so lax with on and off field discipline over a 10-year period. It embarassess our club and our supporters..

Night Clubs, Lothian Road, George Street, Drunkenness, Assaults, Urination, Police involvement, Diving, Gestures, Kicking ball away, Rash Fouls all point to a poor, undisciplined culture, poor moral fibre and disrepect for Hibernian FC.

Whatever happened to a pride in the jersey - in the football club? Do the present incumbents running Hibs just not give a **** or are they just really very poor people managers?

24-01-2012, 06:33 PM
'twas always thus.

Back in the day Father Hannan could often be see down George Street pishing all over walls, while Bobby Templeton was well known for giving offensive finger gestures to his own as well as opposition fans. Not forgetting Hugh Shaw, who allegedly crashed his old Morris roadster into a tree with a gram of cocaine up his nose while blaming an unnamed friend as being the driver.

The mental HFC :flag:

NYHibby
24-01-2012, 06:34 PM
While I totally agree with you, part of the problem is that all of those things you listed apply to a large part of Scottish society in general.

24-01-2012, 06:44 PM

Seriously though - what employer would be so lax with on and off field discipline over a 10-year period. It embarassess our club and our supporters..

Night Clubs, Lothian Road, George Street, Drunkenness, Assaults, Urination, Police involvement, Diving, Gestures, Kicking ball away, Rash Fouls all point to a poor, undisciplined culture, poor moral fibre and disrepect for Hibernian FC.

Whatever happened to a pride in the jersey - in the football club? Do the present incumbents running Hibs just not give a **** or are they just really very poor people managers?

You were assured by a director of the club that this what was in the press wasn’t what happened and you seemed to be OK with that when you were face to face, so why bring that up?

You were also told what the disciple regime was, how it worked and you seemed happy, face to face, with that.

More from you though. :rolleyes:

24-01-2012, 06:44 PM
While I totally agree with you, part of the problem is that all of those things you listed apply to a large part of Scottish society in general.

It's all Petrie's fault.

24-01-2012, 06:49 PM
I blame the Griffiths incidents on those players that went to petrie behind john collins back.

24-01-2012, 07:46 PM

Definitely wouldnae have happened under Eddie Turnbull, to be fair I think its a fairly recent phenomenon and I still wish JC had won out if indeed the players did turn up and whine to Petrie direct, it all seemed to go downhill big time from then.

24-01-2012, 10:43 PM
You were assured by a director of the club that this what was in the press wasn’t what happened and you seemed to be OK with that when you were face to face, so why bring that up? You were also told what the disciple regime was, how it worked and you seemed happy, face to face, with that.

More from you though. :rolleyes:

Did that impress you Jack - what you were told? I wasn't the supporter that brought the topic up.

As a one off I think we could overlook it. If it was at odds with behaviour over recent years.

The trouble is that despite their assurances, their good intentions, their nice speaking voices - their track record over the past few years has been abysmal.

Never mind ............ the ticketing and catering is better than it used to be I guess :rolleyes:

DCI Gene Hunt
25-01-2012, 12:30 PM
It's part and parcel of being a young professional footballer that you are a bit of a twat. I was at school with a few footbalers who went on to bcome small-time pro players. No names mentioned for legal reasons, but one ended up at Killie for a short while IIRC (probably about 2003/4?) and another ended up with Gretna just before they went down t'crapper. Invariably they were all pricks. :rolleyes:

Gene

25-01-2012, 02:22 PM
Did that impress you Jack - what you were told? I wasn't the supporter that brought the topic up.

As a one off I think we could overlook it. If it was at odds with behaviour over recent years.

The trouble is that despite their assurances, their good intentions, their nice speaking voices - their track record over the past few years has been abysmal.

Never mind ............ the ticketing and catering is better than it used to be I guess :rolleyes:

I cant remember the detail of it but I thought it was fair enough at the time with the footballing side of the operation looking after the footballing side.

I have been told since BBs arrival and that of Pat Fenlon discipline, at EM anyway, has become considerably 'firmer' shall we say.

Anyway the point is it, the VP incident and the general discipline procedures were explained to you, you seemed happy enough with the clubs stance at the time, whether you brought it up or not is neither here nor there.

To then come on here and criticise the Board and tarnish the name of the Club with half-truths - if they were even that, when you know they have no right of reply, seems a tad unfair to me.

25-01-2012, 02:22 PM
One additional problem is that we lose respect for the players. Back in the Seventies the players were highly thought of, sometimes worshipped. Some supporters behaved like hooligans though.:devil: Supporters have gained respectability over the last 30 odd years whilst the players have lost credibility.

This results in a disconnect, lack of identification and bondbetween players and supporters. At Hibs the connection between the board, manager and players has been dismantling for years and this was acknowledged by both sides in the recent fans forums. How you fix it is a different story - one for the Shadow Board perhaps?

25-01-2012, 03:01 PM
The old Stevie Fulton 'booked for being ugly' thing comes to mind. I think the officials are so disgusted by our spineless bunch they get booked for being sappy as soon as they walk onto the pitch.

Its the only way I can reason the crime count being so high for Scotland's most powder puff defense.

25-01-2012, 03:34 PM
It wasn't always like this.

Back in the 1960's we had a team of disciplined athletes, honed to the highest pitch of physical fitness, controlled and focussed on the pitch. It was a rare event in those days for a Hibs player to be spoken to by the referee during a match, and unheard of for any to be sent off.

How I long for the days of athletes like Willie Hamilton, Alex Edwards, Peter Marinello, Joe Harper, and Ally Mcleod, living almost monastic lifestyles in the pursuit of football perfection.

The sportsmanship of defenders like "Gentle Giant" John McNamee, "Baby-Face" John Blackley, and Erich "A Gentle Touch is Always Best" Schaedler.

The calm, courteous, almost academic team-talks delivered by giants of the game like Jock Stein, Eddie Turnbull, and Bertie Auld, quietly and earnestly cajoling and encouraging their players from the sidelines to do their best, to play the game, and to win, but always in a sporting and gentlemanly manner.

Alex Miller never had to ask where Andy Goram was - he knew.

Players like Jackie MacNamara hardly knew what a public house was, never mind what went on inside. Lean, mean fighting machines like Joe Harper were always in bed by nine o'clock. Easter Road was a warm, cheerful, welcoming place to visit - ask Gordon Strachan, so quickly made to feel at ease and at home by our dear old inimitable Joe T.

There was no abuse from the terraces, either - ask Graeme Souness, Jim Jefferies, Stevie Fulton. they'd happily testify to the warmth of their welcome and the light and witty banter that floated down from the terraces and stands whenever they played here.

How I miss those days - wending our way to the old Football Ground, exchanging pleasantries with the visiting supporters. Some times we even offered them gifts - I know Hibs supporters who would gladly have given Rangers and Celtic fans the very cobblestones from the streets of Leith as keepsakes. And the carefree leaving of the ground at full-time, escorted by smiling police-constables - sometimes even transported, free of charge, in police vehicles to enjoy the hospitality and entertainment of HM Constabulary over the whole weekend. How we enjoyed those games of "How many constables can you get in one police cell and they can still all put the boot into the accused?" How we laughed!

And there was none of this 'replica' clothing, either. Jeans, a T-shirt with a tasteful and relevant logo on the chest, a leather motor-cycling jacket, the helmet to go with it, and a comfortable pair of Doctor Martin's boots. The prudent football fan always provided him/herself with steel toe-caps to guard against some clumsy fellow stepping on their toes during the match. A really prudent males often also wore an abdominal cup - bumping into the end of a crush barrier could leave one painfully bruised. And it was as well to be prepared - festivities could at times become quite boisterous.

Happy days!

25-01-2012, 08:06 PM

Back in the 1960's we had a team of disciplined athletes, honed to the highest pitch of physical fitness, controlled and focussed on the pitch. It was a rare event in those days for a Hibs player to be spoken to by the referee during a match, and unheard of for any to be sent off.

How I long for the days of athletes like Willie Hamilton, Alex Edwards, Peter Marinello, Joe Harper, and Ally Mcleod, living almost monastic lifestyles in the pursuit of football perfection.

The sportsmanship of defenders like "Gentle Giant" John McNamee, "Baby-Face" John Blackley, and Erich "A Gentle Touch is Always Best" Schaedler.

The calm, courteous, almost academic team-talks delivered by giants of the game like Jock Stein, Eddie Turnbull, and Bertie Auld, quietly and earnestly cajoling and encouraging their players from the sidelines to do their best, to play the game, and to win, but always in a sporting and gentlemanly manner.

Players like Jackie MacNamara hardly knew what a public house was, never mind what went on inside. Lean, mean fighting machines like Joe Harper were always in bed by nine o'clock. Easter Road was a warm, cheerful, welcoming place to visit - ask Gordon Strachan, so quickly made to feel at ease and at home by our dear old inimitable Joe T.

There was no abuse from the terraces, either - ask Graeme Souness, Jim Jefferies, Stevie Fulton. they'd happily testify to the warmth of their welcome and the light and witty banter that floated down from the terraces and stands whenever they played here.

How I miss those days - wending our way to the old Football Ground, exchanging pleasantries with the visiting supporters. Some times we even offered them gifts - I know Hibs supporters who would gladly have given Rangers and Celtic fans the very cobblestones from the streets of Leith as keepsakes. And the carefree leaving of the ground at full-time, escorted by smiling police-constables - sometimes even transported, free of charge, in police vehicles to enjoy the hospitality and entertainment of HM Constabulary over the whole weekend. How we enjoyed those games of "How many constables can you get in one police cell and they can still all put the boot into the accused?" How we laughed!

And there was none of this 'replica' clothing, either. Jeans, a T-shirt with a tasteful and relevant logo on the chest, a leather motor-cycling jacket, the helmet to go with it, and a comfortable pair of Doctor Martin's boots. The prudent football fan always provided him/herself with steel toe-caps to guard against some clumsy fellow stepping on their toes during the match. A really prudent males often also wore an abdominal cup - bumping into the end of a crush barrier could leave one painfully bruised. And it was as well to be prepared - festivities could at times become quite boisterous.

Happy days!

:faf::faf::top marks

25-01-2012, 08:29 PM
Brilliant, Doddie :top marks

25-01-2012, 08:58 PM

Happy days!

Terrific :not worth havenae laughed so much in ages, especially the bit about Shades and I had forgotten all about Willie Hamiltons off field interests, my Dad and cousin always said Hamilton was actually the most gifted player they had seen, and thats saying something. I think theres probably something in the suggestion that because they were just better players on the pitch we thought more of them.

25-01-2012, 09:02 PM
Definitely wouldnae have happened under Eddie Turnbull, to be fair I think its a fairly recent phenomenon and I still wish JC had won out if indeed the players did turn up and whine to Petrie direct, it all seemed to go downhill big time from then.

Remember "Ned" drank with the players at the Barnton Hotel regularly :greengrin

25-01-2012, 09:37 PM
Football used to be a man's game, a "getaway from it all" for the average working class guy, where he could shout and scream and sing to his hearts content, let themselves go, get rid of the frustrations of a week. Now its all namby pamby and girls blousey.
We're not allowed to sing, abuse our opponents and their fans, swear, question the ref's parentage, stand up..... even the toilets are half decent!
We've also got "compliance Officers" FFS!!!
Kids can't climb over the walls nowadays, (used to love chopping up my fingers on the glass topped wall behind the cowshed as a kid!) and now it costs over £20 to watch Hibs v Inverness! :rolleyes:
Now players can't even point their bottoms in the direction of the "terracing" without worrying about the forensic compliance officer knocking on the door on Monday morning!! What a load of pish! :confused:

25-01-2012, 09:39 PM
:rolleyes: Sorry, kinda went off on one there...........:wink:

neilmartinrocks
25-01-2012, 11:11 PM
:rolleyes: Sorry, kinda went off on one there...........:wink:

No need to apologise mate, most people over 40 would agree with most of that.

26-01-2012, 12:19 AM
Football used to be a man's game, a "getaway from it all" for the average working class guy, where he could shout and scream and sing to his hearts content, let themselves go, get rid of the frustrations of a week. Now its all namby pamby and girls blousey.

We're not allowed to sing, abuse our opponents and their fans, swear, question the ref's parentage, stand up.....

Pi sh wi a capital P mate!!

Me and a few hundred others do all of that for 90minutes in Section43 every home game :greengrin
I've no changed my fitba day oot since the 1960's - mibbies it's you who have gone all namby pamby

26-01-2012, 11:57 AM
Pi sh wi a capital P mate!!

Me and a few hundred others do all of that for 90minutes in Section43 every home game :greengrin
I've no changed my fitba day oot since the 1960's - mibbies it's you who have gone all namby pamby

Folks wi steel toecaps ken whit it's aw aboot. :devil:

26-01-2012, 11:59 AM

Happy days!

For a moment I thought this was in earnest, and then I saw the name Joe Harper. :greengrin

One of the best things I've read on here. Happy halcyonic days indeed.

26-01-2012, 12:13 PM
Terrific :not worth havenae laughed so much in ages, especially the bit about Shades and I had forgotten all about Willie Hamiltons off field interests, my Dad and cousin always said Hamilton was actually the most gifted player they had seen, and thats saying something. I think theres probably something in the suggestion that because they were just better players on the pitch we thought more of them.

For those too young to remember - Alex Miller always knew where Goram was because Andy was always in the bookies. Joe Harper was indeed in bed by 9 o'clock every night - just he either wasn't in his own bed or if he was, he wasn't alone.

Peter Marinello was given a very special present (which as a man of the cloth I must say I totally disapprove of) by his team-mates (I think Wee Seamus and King Paddy had a lot to do with it) which nowadays would have had him, them, and the entire tour party plastered across the front pages of the tabloids from Leith to Nagasaki. That was on a club tour of Nigeria, IIRC ...

And Jock Stein had one of the coaching-staff (trainers, they were called in those days) to check out the local hostelries and roust Willie H out of wherever he was in reasonable time for kick-off. Willie once scored 7 goals in a friendly match on a tour of Canada having been out on the tiles all night and nursing a gargantuan hangover. Stein had decided to 'punish' him for his drunken escapade by making him play the whole 90 minutes. Willie hardly left the centre-circle (sorry heid, churning tummy, bowels about to explode), scored 7, and was presented woth a nice silver salver to commemorate his performance. How Big Jock laughed - NOT!

Oh, we were a highly disciplined, finely-honed footballing machine we I was a lad. Not half. :party:

PS. And my alert and discerning readers will be well aware that I haven't even MENTIONED George Best ....

26-01-2012, 07:15 PM
For those too young to remember - Alex Miller always knew where Goram was because Andy was always in the bookies. Joe Harper was indeed in bed by 9 o'clock every night - just he either wasn't in his own bed or if he was, he wasn't alone.

Peter Marinello was given a very special present (which as a man of the cloth I must say I totally disapprove of) by his team-mates (I think Wee Seamus and King Paddy had a lot to do with it) which nowadays would have had him, them, and the entire tour party plastered across the front pages of the tabloids from Leith to Nagasaki. That was on a club tour of Nigeria, IIRC ...

And Jock Stein had one of the coaching-staff (trainers, they were called in those days) to check out the local hostelries and roust Willie H out of wherever he was in reasonable time for kick-off. Willie once scored 7 goals in a friendly match on a tour of Canada having been out on the tiles all night and nursing a gargantuan hangover. Stein had decided to 'punish' him for his drunken escapade by making him play the whole 90 minutes. Willie hardly left the centre-circle (sorry heid, churning tummy, bowels about to explode), scored 7, and was presented woth a nice silver salver to commemorate his performance. How Big Jock laughed - NOT!

Oh, we were a highly disciplined, finely-honed footballing machine we I was a lad. Not half. :party:

PS. And my alert and discerning readers will be well aware that I haven't even MENTIONED George Best ....

Seen Best in Jingling Geordies, in a drink splattered off white suit, wi quite a few Hibs fans before a cup tie away at Ayr I think it was, problem was he was in the squad for that game. Never played but then he was on a pay as you play deal.