View Full Version : NHC Golf Outing @ The Carrick

13-01-2012, 01:18 PM
http://www.devere-hotels.co.uk/hotel-lodges/locations/cameron-house/golf/introduction.html

Does anybody fancy a golf outing to the Carrick on Friday 30th March, bacon rolls and coffee on arrival a round on the Carrick for only £29 and if we wanted high tea the can sort that out for a tenner a head. Anybody fancy it we need 12 but pay for 11 as one goes free :thumbsup:

13-01-2012, 01:25 PM
Is the 29th no the Thursday? :greengrin

I can't make it Ronnie sorry.

13-01-2012, 05:45 PM
As it stands I am on holiday that week. If I still have a job I might be persuaded.:agree:

13-01-2012, 06:15 PM
I would make myself available for such an occasion :-)

13-01-2012, 06:31 PM
I would make myself available for such an occasion :-)

just need 10 more now :greengrin

13-01-2012, 07:05 PM
Would imagine van laddie would go too :-) so its 9 now.

14-01-2012, 10:54 AM
Would imagine van laddie would go too :-) so its 9 now.

Good stuff, can't do anything till we get 12 tho :wink:

14-01-2012, 02:12 PM
I'll play if someone can give me a lift:agree:

It'll give me a target for getting my fitness back.:agree:

14-01-2012, 08:29 PM
I'll play if someone can give me a lift:agree:

It'll give me a target for getting my fitness back.:agree:

I'd be up for that, could give you a lift Nae bother H.

14-01-2012, 10:30 PM
I'd be up for that, could give you a lift Nae bother H.

:thumbsup:Nice one, I'll see you right for petrol obviosly:agree:

15-01-2012, 12:59 PM
Half way there :thumbsup:

16-01-2012, 01:14 PM
If I could remember what this "golf" malarky is, I'd have been interested, but alas, my memory fails me.

17-01-2012, 12:42 PM
I would be up for this. Could I also bring along my 14yr old laddie? He plays off 11 so is a decent player.

I've got a 9 seat car so would be happy to drive and cram a few bodies in to keep the cost of petrol down for everyone.

17-01-2012, 02:11 PM
I would be up for this. Could I also bring along my 14yr old laddie? He plays off 11 so is a decent player.

I've got a 9 seat car so would be happy to drive and cram a few bodies in to keep the cost of petrol down for everyone.

That would not be a problem, but its a school day mind :greengrin

17-01-2012, 03:00 PM
That would not be a problem, but its a school day mind :greengrin

Yeah but it's last day of term before they break for Easter so school normally on wind-down mode by then so he can take the day off :greengrin

17-01-2012, 05:23 PM
I thought I'd posted earlier saying count me in. :confused:

Count me in! :greengrin

18-01-2012, 08:03 AM
Thats 9 only 3more needed :aok:

30-01-2012, 01:06 PM
Anybody else for this or will I just knock it on the head :greengrin

30-01-2012, 05:09 PM
Want me to ask around?

30-01-2012, 05:23 PM
Anybody else for this or will I just knock it on the head :greengrin

Hope you get the numbers as this is gonna be part of the lads birthday present.

30-01-2012, 07:11 PM
Hope you get the numbers as this is gonna be part of the lads birthday present.

Feel free to add a mate to the list :greengrin

31-01-2012, 07:42 AM
Feel free to add a mate to the list :greengrin

Will ask around and get back to you. Might not be today as got jobs on til 11pm tonight

31-01-2012, 09:55 AM
My laddies in. How many is that?

01-02-2012, 12:55 PM
My laddies in. How many is that?

That makes 10, only 2 needed now :thumbsup:

Anybody is welcome friends of friends even :agree:

01-02-2012, 01:28 PM
If it'll help numbers, go on then, but I've nae held a club since Saturday 15th October...

01-02-2012, 01:46 PM
If it'll help numbers, go on then, but I've nae held a club since Saturday 15th October...

:thumbsup: cool 1 to go :thumbsup:

01-02-2012, 02:02 PM
Could always ask Garry - be nice to have someone to split the fuel cost with driving down!

01-02-2012, 05:04 PM
Could always ask Garry - be nice to have someone to split the fuel cost with driving down!

Make him the free one and he will be a cert.
Sorry G. Come on down I will buy you a pint. Promise.

02-02-2012, 10:23 AM
They are happy for us to play with 11 it just means we do not get a freebie, [which was going to be used for prizes] I asked for tee times around 1030, so what is our preferred Tee times 950 means travelling through the rush hour to get there 1340 would mean easier to get there and less of a rush, can you let me know please, and I will need a tenner a head for deposit you can paypal me if you have the facilities mark it as a gift then no charges are incurred bottlegreen@talktalk.net is the paypal addy :wink:

Thank you for the reply. 11 players is no problem, it just means you do not get 1 free

The closest tee times I have available to 10.30 would be 9.50 - 10.10. Would these be ok? After this the next available time is 13.40.

We would require a deposit which would be £10pp, I would also have to send of a contract for signature, would this be ok?

02-02-2012, 12:35 PM
13.40 would suit me better Ronnie. Might have the missng body, will give you a bell in about an hour. Not got PayPal account, meet you at the game on Saturday?

02-02-2012, 12:46 PM
13.40 would suit me better Ronnie. Might have the missng body, will give you a bell in about an hour. Not got PayPal account, meet you at the game on Saturday?

Yeah cool Afternoon seems to be the preferable option :thumbsup:

03-02-2012, 12:01 PM
Right we now have 12 and the tee times have been booked and deposit has been paid, it is £29 pp and one in 12 goes free so if we round it up to £30 along with the freebie that will give us a prize fund of £42, for nearest the pin's and long drive, and a prize for the best Stableford score if that's agreeable to the majority :thumbsup:

Hi Ronnie,

That’s great I have you booked in on the 30th March from 13.40 -14.00.

Your tea/coffee and bacon rolls will be served from 12.00pm to give the guys time to get something to eat and loosen up before they play.

I have attached your contract, please have a read over it and if there needs to be any changes let me know.

For the deposit we can take that by card payment or of you want to pay by cheque that’s no problem. If paying by cheque then you would need to make it out to Cameron House.

03-02-2012, 12:12 PM
Cool.

That's one hell of a drive from Dundee! Fancy making me the freebie so I can offset my green fees on to fuel? :wink::greengrin

(insert "half joking, half chancing my arm" smiley here).

03-02-2012, 12:52 PM
Only eleven miles further than from Edinburgh;) just looked at the course online an I don't think I'll be winning any prizes, not really set up for my sli I mean fade :)

03-02-2012, 04:55 PM
Right we now have 12 and the tee times have been booked and deposit has been paid, it is £29 pp and one in 12 goes free so if we round it up to £30 along with the freebie that will give us a prize fund of £42, for nearest the pin's and long drive, and a prize for the best Stableford score if that's agreeable to the majority :thumbsup:

Hi Ronnie,

That’s great I have you booked in on the 30th March from 13.40 -14.00.

Your tea/coffee and bacon rolls will be served from 12.00pm to give the guys time to get something to eat and loosen up before they play.

I have attached your contract, please have a read over it and if there needs to be any changes let me know.

For the deposit we can take that by card payment or of you want to pay by cheque that’s no problem. If paying by cheque then you would need to make it out to Cameron House.

Nice one. Looking forward to it.

20-03-2012, 08:07 AM
Nice one. Looking forward to it.

10 days to go I hope everybody is still up for it :thumbsup:

20-03-2012, 02:57 PM
:agree: :thumbsup::thumbsup:

20-03-2012, 05:15 PM

Aye just been out to Turnhouse for a wee hit as a bit rusty.

Do you still want a lift through? Car seats 9 so happy to take anyone from Edinburgh if they don't want to drive.

20-03-2012, 06:28 PM
Aye just been out to Turnhouse for a wee hit as a bit rusty.

Do you still want a lift through? Car seats 9 so happy to take anyone from Edinburgh if they don't want to drive.

That would be fantastic, me and my boy :thumbsup: are you picking up Houchy in Bathgate?

20-03-2012, 06:48 PM
That would be fantastic, me and my boy :thumbsup: are you picking up Houchy in Bathgate?

Aye I can do. I'll get addresses for pick-up nearer the time mate.

22-03-2012, 07:21 AM
Aye I can do. I'll get addresses for pick-up nearer the time mate.

Cheers :thumbsup:

22-03-2012, 08:51 AM

I'll probably be driving to stay with my folks on the Thursday night, so I can get Houchy if you'd like. Already know where he stays etc

22-03-2012, 10:15 AM
I'll probably be driving to stay with my folks on the Thursday night, so I can get Houchy if you'd like. Already know where he stays etc

That would be great save you travelling alone :greengrin

22-03-2012, 12:23 PM
Appartment available at the carrick for £90 per night thursday and friday sleeps 4.

22-03-2012, 06:21 PM
Any room for one more plus a trolley?

I'm in a bit of a pickle because someone hit my car and I'll probably just have a courtesy car next Friday.

23-03-2012, 08:04 AM
Any room for one more plus a trolley?

I'm in a bit of a pickle because someone hit my car and I'll probably just have a courtesy car next Friday.

Aye plenty space in mine. Get your address nearer the time mate.

23-03-2012, 10:37 AM
Aye plenty space in mine. Get your address nearer the time mate.

Good man! Thanks.

26-03-2012, 07:56 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/g83

Weather looking good :thumbsup:

26-03-2012, 08:44 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/g83

Weather looking good :thumbsup:

I played it on 31 March last year and it was a bit misty so the views weren't too great.

Worse, however, was the state of the fairways. They were all excessively scored for drainage so I hope that's not an annual task for them.

I seem to recall that the price of a pint in the De Vere Hotel was well over £4 so it might be a better idea to head into Balloch if we want to have a drink or eat on the way home.

26-03-2012, 09:42 AM
Remember the sun screen folks - looks like it's going to be another .net outing scorcher.

Dinnae want Lex to have a napper like a well skelpt erse again :greengrin

26-03-2012, 09:59 AM
Remember the sun screen folks - looks like it's going to be another .net outing scorcher.

Dinnae want Lex to have a napper like a well skelpt erse again :greengrin
Too late. Its already roasted yesterday. Through in that neck of the woods as it happens. :greengrin

26-03-2012, 12:28 PM
I played it on 31 March last year and it was a bit misty so the views weren't too great.

Worse, however, was the state of the fairways. They were all excessively scored for drainage so I hope that's not an annual task for them.

I seem to recall that the price of a pint in the De Vere Hotel was well over £4 so it might be a better idea to head into Balloch if we want to have a drink or eat on the way home.

Depend's what our driver wants to do :greengrin

27-03-2012, 10:43 AM
Depend's what our driver wants to do :greengrin

Oh i'm sure we could stop for a wee sherry on the way home :wink:

My only time constraint is i need to pick up my daughter in Corstorphine area at 9:30pm

27-03-2012, 11:11 AM
IIRC, the journey takes about an hour and a half so getting back to Corstorphine by 9.30 should be a doddle.

I'm up the road at Clerwood, although I keep my clubs and trolley etc at Turnhouse.

Would it be easier for me to bring them to my house or can you detour to the clubhouse?

27-03-2012, 12:14 PM
IIRC, the journey takes about an hour and a half so getting back to Corstorphine by 9.30 should be a doddle.

I'm up the road at Clerwood, although I keep my clubs and trolley etc at Turnhouse.

Would it be easier for me to bring them to my house or can you detour to the clubhouse?

Ha ha that's typical. Was out at Turnhouse last night and we took clubs out my lads locker for this trip. It's no prob tho mate, we can swing by there on way out.

27-03-2012, 12:23 PM
Oh i'm sure we could stop for a wee sherry on the way home :wink:

My only time constraint is i need to pick up my daughter in Corstorphine area at 9:30pm

I was thinking stopping somewhere closer to home so I can have a couple of shandies without bursting on a piss half way home :)

27-03-2012, 08:17 PM
What do we reckon is a reasonable time for getting away from The Carrick?

Been invited to something just after 7pm in Glasgow, but wasn't sure if I'd make it or not.

Also, is the tee-time booked under the name "Young"? There's a guarded gate on the way in where they'll ask you the name it's booked under.

Cheers.

28-03-2012, 07:24 AM
What do we reckon is a reasonable time for getting away from The Carrick?

Been invited to something just after 7pm in Glasgow, but wasn't sure if I'd make it or not.

Also, is the tee-time booked under the name "Young"? There's a guarded gate on the way in where they'll ask you the name it's booked under.

Cheers.

:agree: Bacon rolls at half 12 you can go out in the 1st group Scott if that helps you, it's not as if you will win any of the prize sweeps anyway :greengrin

28-03-2012, 08:01 AM
:agree: Bacon rolls at half 12 you can go out in the 1st group Scott if that helps you, it's not as if you will win any of the prize sweeps anyway :greengrin

It's nice to be on the other end of that for a change - the past 2 weeks, I've heard nothing other than how my department are going to force me to play with one hand, as I continually keep winning our bi-annual golf outing (going for 6/6 next month) :greengrin

It genuinely doesn't matter if I'm off in time or not - it's the Rangers vs AC Milan game at Ibrox, which gets underway at half 7, but If I miss it, I'm nae going to lose any sleep :wink: - no special allocation required sir!

28-03-2012, 09:15 AM
Ronnie, I've just looked at the stroke saver for the course and think this could be the one that forces me into permanent retirement. Are you supplying the straight jackets:greengrin

Can I go out with I'm_cabbaged as we are both "broken" so are thinking of getting a buggy:agree:

Looking forward to it as it'll be a good laugh but i'll be taking plenty balls:greengrin

28-03-2012, 09:16 AM
Ronnie, I've just looked at the stroke saver for the course and think this could be the one that forces me into permanent retirement. Are you supplying the straight jackets:greengrin

Can I go out with I'm_cabbaged as we are both "broken" so are thinking of getting a buggy:agree:

Looking forward to it as it'll be a good laugh but i'll be taking plenty balls:greengrin

Keep it straight nae bother, :greengrin

29-03-2012, 04:51 PM
1230 meeting tomorrow lads gatehouse is not manned so just mosey all in and see you at the club house :thumbsup:

29-03-2012, 05:26 PM
1230 meeting tomorrow lads gatehouse is not manned so just mosey all in and see you at the club house :thumbsup:

See you there gents, really looking forward to it :thumbsup:

Is taking the M8 and over the Erskine bridge the best way? :confused:

29-03-2012, 07:37 PM
Hope you get a great day guys - gutted I'm no coming.

If you're a bit tired after the hike you could always relax in their jacuzzi.....................

http://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=8019&d=1333049351

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

29-03-2012, 08:20 PM
looking forward to this boys :-) no been to a:bandit: convention in ages :greengrin

30-03-2012, 07:11 AM
See you there gents, really looking forward to it :thumbsup:

Is taking the M8 and over the Erskine bridge the best way? :confused:

You can go M8 but i prefer M9 to Stirling Junction 10 then head to Loch Lomond that way. Adds a couple of miles but motorway is always quiet. See you there.

30-03-2012, 07:22 AM
You can go M8 but i prefer M9 to Stirling Junction 10 then head to Loch Lomond that way. Adds a couple of miles but motorway is always quiet. See you there.

That's the route I'll be taking from Dundee :agree:

You might have no choice but to go that way as the M8 is closed at Harthill:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-17559093

30-03-2012, 07:37 AM
Picking up houchy in Bathgate, will Stirling still be best?

30-03-2012, 07:44 AM
Picking up houchy in Bathgate, will Stirling still be best?

Misread the story - seems it's open, but one lane is closed East bound.

A quick shoot down the Avon gorge to the M9 and off at Stirling should be easy enough from Bathgate, but it really is probably much of a muchness.

30-03-2012, 07:50 AM
Misread the story - seems it's open, but one lane is closed East bound.

A quick shoot down the Avon gorge to the M9 and off at Stirling should be easy enough from Bathgate, but it really is probably much of a muchness.
Good man!!

30-03-2012, 08:27 AM
Guy's we have 5 nearest the pin, par 3's and 1 long drive comp, along with a stableford comp so, is every body happy to put another £3.00 each [50p for each par 3/long drive] in the kitty to add to the prize fund? The prize fund stands at £42 at the moment but an extra £36 will make a decent split for the winner's :thumbsup:

31-03-2012, 07:12 PM
Apart from the brutal golf can I just thank Radge, TSSF and Houchy (Oh Houchy Houchy Houchy) (can you tell I'm pissed?) for the most enjoyable 5 hours of grief Ive ever had :greengrin

31-03-2012, 08:11 PM
hahahaha good day mate and a pleasure meeting you :agree:

01-04-2012, 09:23 AM
Apart from the brutal golf can I just thank Radge, TSSF and Houchy (Oh Houchy Houchy Houchy) (can you tell I'm pissed?) for the most enjoyable 5 hours of grief Ive ever had :greengrin

I'll echo that and say that if it wasn't for the company, i'd have been in tears at the state of my game but we had some great banter on the way round. Cheers guys:agree::aok:

01-04-2012, 11:05 AM
Aye, that was a tough 5 and a bit hours. I had to take a buggy round yesterday and I could hardly swing the club.

I might have 9 holes before the fitba' today though...

01-04-2012, 01:32 PM
I'd also like to thank everyone that was there for not posting who came last. Lets keep that on a "need to know" basis:agree::greengrin

01-04-2012, 02:26 PM
Was looking into a price for a Gifford outing as discussed. Roughly 20 quid a head golf, a 3 course meal and sweep money included

01-04-2012, 02:57 PM
We could always arrange a wee mini outing at turnhouse

I'm off for ten days after Thursday

Radge and I could sign 6 guests on

01-04-2012, 04:14 PM

Radge and I could sign 6 guests on:agree::thumbsup:

01-04-2012, 05:34 PM
Big "thank you" to Ronnie for taking the time to arrange and organise this - I really didn't enjoy the course (far too long and in pretty poor condition) but then, I knew I wasn't a fan of it having played it before and really not had much fun.

The day out was never about the course or the golf for me though - it was just a good opportunity to catch up with some old faces and meet some new ones, whilst getting a day in the fresh air, away from behind this sodding laptop screen.

The golf was deplorable at times, but the weather, views and company were fantastic and I'd echo the sentiments from earlier with thanks to Willie, Lawrence and Dave - was nice to play such terrible golf and still be smiling at the end of it all for a change!

And cheers again to Ronnie for rescuing my wedge - without it, I'd have struggled to breach double figures stableford :greengrin

02-04-2012, 05:56 AM
Both Gifford and turnhouse are nice courses, could do either with enough notice so I can book a day off or even better a halfie if it's an afternoon tee off ;)

02-04-2012, 06:53 AM

Radge and I could sign 6 guests on

I'm a member out there too so can sign more on to keep costs down.

02-04-2012, 11:46 PM
I'm a member out there too so can sign more on to keep costs down.

Nice one - what say you all - shall we? :greengrin

Has to be next week sometime for me.

03-04-2012, 06:07 AM
I can't get another day off work so soon after the carrick so I would be unable to attend.

03-04-2012, 06:50 AM
I can't get another day off work so soon after the carrick so I would be unable to attend.

Likewise. Can you believe we were golfing in shorts on Friday and now look at it!!!

03-04-2012, 07:28 AM
Nice one - what say you all - shall we? :greengrin

Has to be next week sometime for me.

I could probably manage next week except Monday :wink:

03-04-2012, 07:35 AM
Likewise. Can you believe we were golfing in shorts on Friday and now look at it!!!

I couldnae believe you were wearing shorts on Friday ;)

03-04-2012, 07:39 AM
I couldnae believe you were wearing shorts on Friday ;)

Aye with they pins :greengrin

03-04-2012, 07:58 AM
Aye with they pins :greengrin

Calfs of a Greek god I'll have you know :greengrin

03-04-2012, 10:16 AM

This is true.

A long dead, Greek god.

PS I'm up for a game next week too.

03-04-2012, 11:22 AM
I'm up for it but not sure my boss will be ;) would have to know asap to see if the diary is clear

03-04-2012, 02:29 PM

http://www.paleothea.com/Gallery/LazinessCarmel.html :wink:

03-04-2012, 04:24 PM
Cannae do next week. Sorry:boo hoo:

05-04-2012, 01:20 PM
Nice letter from Cameron House :thumbsup:

July we are doing the offer of £39 per person for tea/coffee and breakfast roll and 18 holes of golf. Minimum numbers would just be the same as last time 12 - but the offer is 1 in 12 goes free so you would only really need 11

05-04-2012, 03:57 PM
Nice letter from Cameron House :thumbsup:

July we are doing the offer of £39 per person for tea/coffee and breakfast roll and 18 holes of golf. Minimum numbers would just be the same as last time 12 - but the offer is 1 in 12 goes free so you would only really need 11
I would be up for that, would like to tackle it in better weather, a bit of course knowledge and a bit of golf behind me ;)

05-04-2012, 05:04 PM
I would be up for that, would like to tackle it in better weather, a bit of course knowledge and a bit of golf behind me ;)

A "no" from me. Have played it twice now and twice I've felt the course has been poor.

That's no commentary on the organisation, which was outstanding by the way R, but I just don't like The Carrick as a course.

06-04-2012, 08:02 AM
Would depend on date but I loved the course and would like another bash at it

06-04-2012, 01:34 PM
Would depend on date but I loved the course and would like another bash at it
i'll echo this.

11-04-2012, 07:10 AM
No idea if it is any good - but this is a bargain:

http://www.yamolo.com/lochwinnoch-gc-100412.html