View Full Version : Brown in charge for now, Petrie not involved in hiring new man... (merged)

07-11-2011, 11:44 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111107/club-update_2262950_2508660

Good luck in the meantime Billy.

Hope Fife and Scott are getting help in their search for the new man!

07-11-2011, 11:45 AM
On the fishy now.

Tom Hart RIP
07-11-2011, 11:46 AM
According to the Hibs site the search for a manager will be led by Scott and Hyndland.
BB to take charge until then.

I have emailed a few times to the board on different subjects and always found Hyndland to be a person I don't like much. I wouldn't send him to the shops, never mind letting him choose out next manager. He isn't even a Hibby.

07-11-2011, 11:49 AM

The best thing that they could do is announce tomorrow that they've appointed a board of experts to identify, interview and recommend candidates to the Board. They won't though.

07-11-2011, 11:50 AM
According to the Hibs site the search for a manager will be led by Scott and Hyndland.

I have emailed a few times to the board on different subjects and always found Hyndland to be a . I wouldn't send him to the shops, never mind letting him choose out next manager. He isn't even a Hibby.

From someone who thinks that John Blackley would be the answer. :confused:

Perspective
07-11-2011, 11:50 AM
That's a terrifying prospect.

I've heard, read or seen nothing from either individual that would fill me with any confidence that they have the ability or expertise to pick the right guy.

Caversham Green
07-11-2011, 11:51 AM

I have emailed a few times to the board on different subjects and always found Hyndland to be a . I wouldn't send him to the shops, never mind letting him choose out next manager. He isn't even a Hibby.

Might have helped if you'd got his name right.

scott7_0(Prague)
07-11-2011, 11:53 AM

I've heard, read or seen nothing from either individual that would fill me with any confidence that they have the ability or expertise to pick the right guy.

Right, so let me get this straight. People don't want Petrie to hire, so Hibs have tasked Scott and Hyndland to run the process and some people are still not happy...... Maybe you can suggest them to run the interviews via the Job Center.,

Fickle Fans. :rolleyes:

07-11-2011, 11:53 AM

The board have gone pretty much exactly with what the fans have wanted for the last appointments (Calderwood excepted) and they're supposed to have some incredible power of foresight that we didn't have so maybe that's a good thing if he's not a Hibby, eh?

07-11-2011, 11:55 AM
Right, so let me get this straight. People don't want Petrie to hire, so Hibs have tasked Scott and Hyndland to run the process and some people are still not happy...... Maybe you can suggest them to run the interviews via the Job Center.,

Give the task to Tam McCourt.

07-11-2011, 11:55 AM

It's either Scott and Fife or Lindsay and Hyland. :confused:Are you sure you know who the twat is? Personally I wouldn't let you near the shops.

07-11-2011, 11:56 AM

I see the Easter Road slope is back bigger than ever.

07-11-2011, 11:57 AM
i believe Amanda Jones gets to pick the next again manager

Purehibee_MYB
Let Pat Nevin find our new manager, he'd do a good job!

Who the hell cares.

It's these guys jobs to do their best, and that means the club doing well. The idea that these guys are sitting around not caring because they didn't grow up with posters of the Famous Five on their walls is nonsensical. It's like saying I do a crap job at my work because I didn't dream of working here as a kid.

Folk wanted Petrie to have nothing to do with the process, the club has done that. Now we have people who have little idea of what these two guys are like declaring them to be rubbish before they've even tried, no doubt their choice will be labelled as such and we can all pick up were we left off, booing and chanting for change after a 10 minute honeymoon in the guys first game.

The club needs to change for sure, but so do a sizeable chunk of the fans.

07-11-2011, 11:58 AM
Surely they need some help from a football person?

07-11-2011, 11:58 AM
By the way, I take it we all know that Petrie will pick the new manager, yes?

07-11-2011, 12:01 PM
Let Pat Nevin find our new manager, he'd do a good job!

If we are asking media stars to pick our new manager I think Judith Ralston would be a good shout. :agree:

07-11-2011, 12:02 PM

Yup.

07-11-2011, 12:03 PM

One will sit on Uncle Rod's left knee and one on Uncle Rod's right knee. Both will have a hand up their back to operate them with.

The best thing that they could do is announce tomorrow that they've appointed a board of experts to identify, interview and recommend candidates to the Board. They won't though.

07-11-2011, 12:04 PM
If we are asking media stars to pick our new manager I think Judith Ralston would be a good shout.

Brian Blessed.

In fact, I'd have him as manager. He'd certainly improve on-field communication. :agree:

07-11-2011, 12:04 PM
What are the odds that, after a worldwide search was conducted leaving no golf course unturned, we meet our new man tomorrow at the AGM?

07-11-2011, 12:05 PM
With all players and coaching staff on holiday till Thursday I wouldn't imagine Billy Brown will be taking charge of anything, unless he is working from his hotel in Torremelinos that is :greengrin

07-11-2011, 12:06 PM
What are the odds that, after a worldwide search was conducted leaving no golf course unturned, we meet our new man tomorrow at the AGM?

"No further comment will be made on the recruitment process until after the AGM"

07-11-2011, 12:07 PM
"No further comment will be made on the recruitment process until after the AGM"

By which time there will be no need to comment further.

07-11-2011, 12:08 PM
The article doesn't actually say Petrie will not be involved in the process. It says the search will be lead by the other directors. I would be amazed if the whole board isn't involved in the final selection following preparation of a shortlist.

07-11-2011, 12:08 PM
By which time there will be no need to comment further.

You think everything will be done and dusted within 48 hours? No way.

07-11-2011, 12:10 PM
The article doesn't actually say Petrie will not be involved in the process. It says the search will be lead by the other directors. I would be amazed if the whole board isn't involved in the final selection following preparation of a shortlist.

That's how I read it. It would be pretty extraordinary for a club chairman to sit out during something as fundamental as this.

07-11-2011, 12:16 PM

Call me fickle if you want, but they will still have to report back to Petrie so he has the final say on who the manager will be.

07-11-2011, 12:17 PM
I dont know or give a ratts ass what Petrie and co specialise in privately regards business activities though I do know none of the three men mentioned are footballing greats in the managerial field.

Therefore, IF They get this wrong again, dont take advice from someone who is in the know and dont rely on either:
1) THE FANS..(we canny be blamed nor objective...we are allowed opinions but we're all different)...
2) THEMSELVES..(They KNOW no more than us)
...we ARE, I Repeat, ARE ****ed.

We NEED a good, solid, reliable, proven manager who can MANAGE. MANAGE. Not, be told what to do. Not undermined but MANAGE the club. Not just the first 11. The whole club. Thats why I say club, and not "team". Someone who can do that, and we have a hope. Ideally someone who knows the game, someone who the fans can at least respect if not like, but if not, I dont care....its amazing how more likable someone would become with some:

1) Charisma. Show willing. Shout a bit. Give a ****. That'll gain you lots of respect from the fans.
2) Skill. Get some wins in the bag.
3) Quality. Get some nice playing on the go.
...most importantly, get the whole thing going in one direction ... the SAME direction.

Its possible. Plenty teams have been rejuvinated with the right man, mid-season with the same ***** players properly MANAGED (look up the King's Jan-May tenure at Anfield for evidence) a difference can be made. Just look at the squads of the teams who are beating us. Some are beating us purely because they play TOGETHER, as a team. Not because theyre all that good.

If you dont have any team spirit and a leader who gives a toss, you have nothing. Right now, thats us....only by changing THAT, do we have any hope.

GGTTH.

07-11-2011, 12:21 PM
Petrie not involved aye right. He is going to do nothing if he doesnt agree with their choice after all his involvement. The man along with all other directors whom are involved in the football team side of things should get out of club.

What mess somebody has to appoint a manager I dont really want any of them involved but you cant have it all.

07-11-2011, 12:22 PM

Surely we could get £15k from CEC to do a study to find the best candidate :greengrin

07-11-2011, 12:28 PM

Exactly. Rod will still be Chairing the Board who will ultimately be approving the appointment.

07-11-2011, 12:33 PM
I dont know or give a ratts ass what Petrie and co specialise in privately regards business activities though I do know none of the three men mentioned are footballing greats in the managerial field.

Therefore, IF They get this wrong again, dont take advice from someone who is in the know and dont rely on either:
1) THE FANS..(we canny be blamed nor objective...we are allowed opinions but we're all different)...

We NEED a good, solid, reliable, proven manager who can MANAGE. MANAGE. Not, be told what to do. Not undermined but MANAGE the club. Not just the first 11. The whole club. Thats why I say club, and not "team". Someone who can do that, and we have a hope. Ideally someone who knows the game, someone who the fans can at least respect if not like, but if not, I dont care....its amazing how more likable someone would become with some:

1) Charisma. Show willing. Shout a bit. Give a ****. That'll gain you lots of respect from the fans.
...most importantly, get the whole thing going in one direction ... the SAME direction.

Its possible. Plenty teams have been rejuvinated with the right man, mid-season with the same ***** players properly MANAGED (look up the King's Jan-May tenure at Anfield for evidence) a difference can be made. Just look at the squads of the teams who are beating us. Some are beating us purely because they play TOGETHER, as a team. Not because theyre all that good.

If you dont have any team spirit and a leader who gives a toss, you have nothing. Right now, thats us....only by changing THAT, do we have any hope.

GGTTH.

Its sad to say, but it doesn't really matter who makes the final decision, as none of them have a clue.

But I reckon problems go deeper than the manager and even if by some miracle we do bring someone decent in, I think they'll need to be some bigger changes made as well.

07-11-2011, 12:34 PM
Brian Blessed.In fact, I'd have him as manager. He'd certainly improve on-field communication. :agree: Good shout. Blessed would identify the right man. Id prefer Simon Callow to lead the process though. Hes currently in the middle of a run of Dickens' 'Doctor Marigold and Mister Chops' at the Kings Theatre. He's in town, in the form of his life and a lifelong Hibby to boot. Time we got some input from the thesbian community.

Perspective
07-11-2011, 12:35 PM

Call me fickle if you want. I'm not the type to be negative. I've never booed a player or manager at a game, but I have legitimate concern about the way the club is being run.

Just my opinion. But SL and FH have been handed key roles with different responsibilities and I believe they should be held accountable.

If Fife is judged with driving up revenue streams then it doesn't look good for him. The most recent set of figures were grim and next year's will be far worse. I know people with both innovative and simple money-making ideas (with the good of the club at heart) that have simply been ignored by him.

As for Scott, if he's in charge of the Football Department then he has a lot to answer for. We've had a ridiculous turnover of players, the squad is imbalanced yet again, there's no identifiable style or vision and the quality of player coming through from the Academy isn't good enough to take us where we want to go. Would like to add that I don't blame the Academy staff for that. I think their hands are tied to a large extent.

In addition, their interviews on Hibs TV just leave me angry and increasingly disillusioned.

And I think anyone who doesn't think Rod Petrie will have a major say in the appointment is naive in the extreme. Also, was SL not involved heavily int he last two appointments? So his judgement, too, has already been shown to be suspect.

07-11-2011, 12:50 PM
Brian Blessed.

In fact, I'd have him as manager. He'd certainly improve on-field communication. :agree:

"Diiiiiiiiiiiiiive!"

Was it not fergie who advised on Mowbray?
Why not ask either of them ?
Is Venus out the game still?

07-11-2011, 12:52 PM

That's how I read it. It would be pretty extraordinary for a club chairman to sit out during something as fundamental as this.

Call me fickle if you want, but they will still have to report back to Petrie so he has the final say on who the manager will be.

Petrie not involved aye right. He is going to do nothing if he doesnt agree with their choice after all his involvement. The man along with all other directors whom are involved in the football team side of things should get out of club.

What mess somebody has to appoint a manager I dont really want any of them involved but you cant have it all.

Exactly. Rod will still be Chairing the Board who will ultimately be approving the appointment.

:agree: There is NO danger RP won't have the final say ...

07-11-2011, 01:08 PM
As it says here

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15622829.stm

1875 NO 1
07-11-2011, 01:11 PM

rod is the exec chairman. he'll decide. they can put what they want on the web site. as documented in the shareholders letter which was attached to the accounts. he states he is the boss.

07-11-2011, 01:11 PM
Missed an I 'Interim' can an Admin sort please?

07-11-2011, 01:12 PM
So Petrie's not involved in the hiring of a new manager then?....thank Donald Duck for that!

JCHibby
07-11-2011, 01:15 PM

100% correct, to think Rod will not have the final say is nonsense, he will be giving clear details on budget etc and will have the final say. Still I hope we end up with Strachan and McAllister as 1 & 2.

07-11-2011, 01:24 PM

If Anybody believes these two will pick the new manager then they are deluded. As per usual the Man Who Must Be Obeyed will be pullling their strings as usual.

He really must think we are daft and that the fans will lay off him if he pretends to pass responsibility onto his two yes men.

ROD TIME FOR YOU TO P155 OFF Completely. That is the only way we can be sure you will not be there to interfere with both the selection of the new man and in his signings once he is in

07-11-2011, 01:41 PM
So if you're not happy with RP, SL or FH picking the new manager, who exactly should do it? :confused:

This constant moaning about the board is tiresome. Most of us broadly agreed with Collins, Mixu and Yogi 's appointments at the time and CC was a gamble similar to Mowbray but it just didn't work out.

There will be plenty of applicants and the Hibs' job is still a cracking opportunity. We keep going for nice guys, I want someone with a nasty streak in them.

Green_one
07-11-2011, 01:41 PM

Shhhhhhhhhhhh

Another smart alex remark like that and there will be no visit from Santa for you young man.

Mr Petrie will simply oversee the governance process.

07-11-2011, 01:43 PM
By the way, I take it we all know that Petrie will pick the new manager, yes?I dinnae ken whether you're being sarcastic or not, with you it's sometimes hard tae tell because you do it often. There is absolute nae doubt in my mind that that will be the case. I dinnae care what titles Lindsay and Hyland have been given, Petrie will be pulling the strings. I'll believe he's not when he's out the door.

07-11-2011, 01:46 PM
Shhhhhhhhhhhh

Another smart alex remark like that and there will be no visit from Santa for you young man.

Mr Petrie will simply oversee the governance process.

Class .. made me laugh :aok::not worth

07-11-2011, 01:49 PM

i dont think they'll look any further than the changing rooms in the Hibs club shop!!

down the slope
07-11-2011, 01:53 PM
Maybe he will not be involved as he will resign at the AGM tomorrow ?, even then we will still have accountants and lawyers trying to find our new manager .

TheEastTerrace
07-11-2011, 02:02 PM
Call me fickle if you want. I'm not the type to be negative. I've never booed a player or manager at a game, but I have legitimate concern about the way the club is being run.

Just my opinion. But SL and FH have been handed key roles with different responsibilities and I believe they should be held accountable.

If Fife is judged with driving up revenue streams then it doesn't look good for him. The most recent set of figures were grim and next year's will be far worse. I know people with both innovative and simple money-making ideas (with the good of the club at heart) that have simply been ignored by him.

As for Scott, if he's in charge of the Football Department then he has a lot to answer for. We've had a ridiculous turnover of players, the squad is imbalanced yet again, there's no identifiable style or vision and the quality of player coming through from the Academy isn't good enough to take us where we want to go. Would like to add that I don't blame the Academy staff for that. I think their hands are tied to a large extent.

In addition, their interviews on Hibs TV just leave me angry and increasingly disillusioned.

And I think anyone who doesn't think Rod Petrie will have a major say in the appointment is naive in the extreme. Also, was SL not involved heavily int he last two appointments? So his judgement, too, has already been shown to be suspect.

Agree 100%.

They must think we came down the Forth in a banana boat to say Petrie won't have any say. SL and FH may well oversee the recruitment process, but RP, and perhaps STF, will ultimately have the casting vote.

Moreover, SL and FH may be good businessmen, but qualified to make managerial appointments? Sorry, that concerns me.

07-11-2011, 02:19 PM
This whole thing is BS. they must think we're REALLY REALLY STUPID.

GGTTH.

:agree: The bold bit sums up my view entirely, BM. But I have the strongest possible feeling that the next man in will find himself just as effectively curbed and circumscribed by Petrie and the board - and let's be honest, these guys are Farmer's men and women, so he's in there too - as the last four or more 'first team managers'.

Petrie runs the club on behalf of the major shareholders, and we know who they are.

If Anybody believes these two will pick the new manager then they are deluded. As per usual the Man Who Must Be Obeyed will be pullling their strings as usual.

He really must think we are daft and that the fans will lay off him if he pretends to pass responsibility onto his two yes men.

ROD TIME FOR YOU TO P155 OFF Completely. That is the only way we can be sure you will not be there to interfere with both the selection of the new man and in his signings once he is in

Yup. My reaction last night was 'one down, two to go'.

The next manager will be one approved and appointed by Petrie and given the final OK by Farmer - between them they own the club and will therefore make the decision.

Petrie's a bean-counter; Farmer could hardly care less about football. They determine the corporate culture of the club, which for the past 5 years or more has been that of a bunch of financially unadventurous football losers. The fatc that Farmer doesn't seem to be at all bothered by the state of the team right now suggests that he leaves it all to Petrie. This IMO is the abdication of his responsibility to the point pf dereliction of duty.

Petrie has to go - as long as he's around we KNOW that nothing really important will change. The next man (poor sod) will have the same restrictions placed on him as his predecessors. He won't be left to get on with the job - he'll always be feeling the hot sweaty breath and the tickle of the mouser on the back of his neck - Master's Watchdog watching and dogging his every move. But the bottom line is that Petrie id HIS Petrie, and the board, including Lindsay and Hyland, is HIS board. The buck stops with Farmer.

Farmer could change things if he wanted - but he'd have to make results and on-field performance top priority, which after all is as it should be in a football club, especially one with the history and potential of Hibernian. But I really don't think he cares.

Sacking Calderwood 2 days before the AGM - Petrie has raised the concept of deja vu into an art-form - is nothing more IMO than a cynical attempt to take the heat off Farmer and Petrie at the AGM. Announcing that Lindsay and Hyland will lead the search for our yet another sheep to the slaughter - sorry, new manager - is an equally cynical move to allow Farmer and Petrie to disclaim all responsibility for the boorach when yet again it all goes pear-shaped.

Could we have a sweep on how long the next guy will last? Somewhere between 9 and 15 months, I'd say - possibly get the bullet just before we embark on another of our 'great adventures' in the lower reaches of the embarrassment that is Scottish football.

07-11-2011, 02:24 PM
Good shout. Blessed would identify the right man. Id prefer Simon Callow to lead the process though. Hes currently in the middle of a run of Dickens' 'Doctor Marigold and Mister Chops' at the Kings Theatre. He's in town, in the form of his life and a lifelong Hibby to boot. Time we got some input from the thesbian community.

Bollah, just when you go quiet on us you come out with yet another belter.........I fair spat out my wee apple and grape snack bag after reading that. Top stuff as ever my man.......brilliant :faf: Fair brightened my day so that did.

TheEastTerrace
07-11-2011, 02:35 PM

:agree: The bold bit sums up my view entirely, BM. But I have the strongest possible feeling that the next man in will find himself just as effectively curbed and circumscribed by Petrie and the board - and let's be honest, these guys are Farmer's men and women, so he's in there too - as the last four or more 'first team managers'.

Petrie runs the club on behalf of the major shareholders, and we know who they are.

The next manager will be one approved and appointed by Petrie and given the final OK by Farmer - between them they own the club and will therefore make the decision.

Petrie's a bean-counter; Farmer could hardly care less about football. They determine the corporate culture of the club, which for the past 5 years or more has been that of a bunch of financially unadventurous football losers. The fatc that Farmer doesn't seem to be at all bothered by the state of the team right now suggests that he leaves it all to Petrie. This IMO is the abdication of his responsibility to the point pf dereliction of duty.

Petrie has to go - as long as he's around we KNOW that nothing really important will change. The next man (poor sod) will have the same restrictions placed on him as his predecessors. He won't be left to get on with the job - he'll always be feeling the hot sweaty breath and the tickle of the mouser on the back of his neck - Master's Watchdog watching and dogging his every move. But the bottom line is that Petrie id HIS Petrie, and the board, including Lindsay and Hyland, is HIS board. The buck stops with Farmer.

Farmer could change things if he wanted - but he'd have to make results and on-field performance top priority, which after all is as it should be in a football club, especially one with the history and potential of Hibernian. But I really don't think he cares.

Sacking Calderwood 2 days before the AGM - Petrie has raised the concept of deja vu into an art-form - is nothing more IMO than a cynical attempt to take the heat off Farmer and Petrie at the AGM. Announcing that Lindsay and Hyland will lead the search for our yet another sheep to the slaughter - sorry, new manager - is an equally cynical move to allow Farmer and Petrie to disclaim all responsibility for the boorach when yet again it all goes pear-shaped.

Could we have a sweep on how long the next guy will last? Somewhere between 9 and 15 months, I'd say - possibly get the bullet just before we embark on another of our 'great adventures' in the lower reaches of the embarrassment that is Scottish football.

In amongst a top post, that made me laugh :greengrin

Spot on Doddie. :top marks

07-11-2011, 02:51 PM

For such a senior appointment they will be required to report to the board.

07-11-2011, 02:54 PM

:agree::thumbsup:

Yourself and Bad Martini have hit it right on the head - the problems are deeper down - we got lucky with Mowbray - he changed the thinking at the club and took that responsibility on himself - but how many more Mowbray types are there and what are the chances we will appoint one ?

Leadership and bringing the fans back on side are a major factor - going to be very interesting to see who they bring in next but the AGM the board should be grilled and not avoid questions like they usually do :rolleyes:

Septimus
07-11-2011, 03:19 PM
The only way you appoint a manager is for the board to draw up a short list.

Each candidate would then spend a morning at East Mains being interviewed by the players.

The questions are easy to imagine.
1. Will we have to train in such a way as we last 90 minutes?
2. Will we have to show any commitment to the club whatsoever?
3. Will the new manager interfere with the drinking culture?
4. Will we have to act like professional athletes?
etc.etc.etc.

Any answer in the affirmative will disqualify the applicant.

No six packs allowed except for these containing beer. No ambition for the club to be shown whatsoever.

07-11-2011, 03:22 PM

GGTTH.

And you were doing so well, too...

nic81
07-11-2011, 06:40 PM

That just goes to show his feelings towards us as fans, total lack of respect and shows what a wee weasel he really is! I couldnt give a monkeys how much he has saved us over the years, he is destroying my club, Petrie GTF

07-11-2011, 06:55 PM
Maybe he will not be involved as he will resign at the AGM tomorrow ?, even then we will still have accountants and lawyers trying to find our new manager .

Keeping yourself well covered there DTS.

Kyle A
07-11-2011, 07:56 PM
we should let Carlsberg pick the new manager cos if Carlsberg picked managers..............

07-11-2011, 08:43 PM
we should let Carlsberg pick the new manager cos if Carlsberg picked managers..............

I Agree............:greengrin

07-11-2011, 08:44 PM
I Agree............:greengrin

07-11-2011, 08:45 PM

GGTTH.

Excellent stuff guys and I agree with it all.