View Full Version : Match Updates Europa League

25-08-2011, 06:14 PM
Seven British teams in Europe tonight. This is what each team has to do in order to progress;

Fulham-Avoid a four goal defeat
Celtic-Win or any score draw
Rangers-1-0 win or any win by two goals or more
Birmingham-Win
Stoke-Draw or win
Hearts-Pray
Tottenham-Turn up

Rangers vs Maribor is live on ESPN (Kick off 7.30pm) on sky channel 417.
Tottenham vs Hearts is on ITV4 (Kick off 8pm) on sky channel 120.
Sion vs Celtic is on the subscription channel, Premier Sports (Kick off 7.30pm) on sky channel 433.

wearethehibs
25-08-2011, 06:24 PM
I've seen there's been a shock already, Spartak Moscow beaten 3-2 on the night after the 1st leg finished 2-2. Anyone know why the 2 Turkish teams games have been postponed?

25-08-2011, 06:28 PM
I've seen there's been a shock already, Spartak Moscow beaten 3-2 on the night after the 1st leg finished 2-2. Anyone know why the 2 Turkish teams games have been postponed?

Fenerbahce have been kicked out of the Champions League over match-fixing allegations so Trabzonspor have taken their place and subsequently their second leg against Athletic Bilbao in the Europa League has been cancelled.

Athletic Bilbao get a bye into the Europa League group stages.

25-08-2011, 06:32 PM
Celtic down to 10 men in the first minute...........Penalty scored. :greengrin

25-08-2011, 06:33 PM
1-0 Sion pen

25-08-2011, 06:36 PM
Majstorovic sent off for Celtic in first minute, 1-0 Sion.

It doesn't change too much for Celtic to be honest. One goal and they're through.

25-08-2011, 06:41 PM
Majstorovic sent off for Celtic in first minute, 1-0 Sion.

It doesn't change too much for Celtic to be honest. One goal and they're through.
I think with 10 men it does. :greengrin

25-08-2011, 06:45 PM
Liking the talk of Romanov :greengrin

25-08-2011, 06:46 PM
Strachan taking the piss out of Romanov, Hearts are in dissaray. Long may it continue.

25-08-2011, 06:46 PM

Laughing at the big team before the game. Wait until after it.

25-08-2011, 06:56 PM
Just remembered a friend of mine Stevie had a Spurs top on at the Hibs game last Sat.:faf:

Fulham one down in Dnipro

Jim_in_Canada

What was it ?

25-08-2011, 06:59 PM
watch the cricket on ITV4, or, emmerdale and corrie st :hmmm:

hibeeleicester
25-08-2011, 07:00 PM
Did i just hear "ohh the hibees are gay".... forgot we were playing them tonight.

25-08-2011, 07:01 PM
Hearts doing well. Still 0-0

1 minute gone

25-08-2011, 07:07 PM
See they are playing in their hun second strip.

25-08-2011, 07:09 PM
Have they been in the Spurs half yet?:confused:

25-08-2011, 07:09 PM
Have the ****bos been out their own half yet ??

Twiglet
25-08-2011, 07:11 PM
Can see this turning into a very dirty match. Don't know how Grainger wasn't booked there.

25-08-2011, 07:12 PM
David Murphy just scored for Birmingham- they are 2 up.

25-08-2011, 07:13 PM
Have they been in the Spurs half yet?:confused:

Hertz just hit the bar :dizzy:

25-08-2011, 07:13 PM
Get that boy Frederics on loan before sunday .... he is rippin the p1sh oot of Grainger .... realistically hope Ivan is watchin to see how easy it is to get past him !!

25-08-2011, 07:14 PM
Decent effort.:worried::greengrin

25-08-2011, 07:15 PM

That was a great move and deserved a goal....

It would be just like them to find their form ahead of Sunday.....

Twiglet
25-08-2011, 07:15 PM
Decent effort.:worried::greengrin

Hearts getting too many chances. Too many loose passes from Spurs.

25-08-2011, 07:17 PM
they are signing 'were from the Capital your from ......' the the capital :rolleyes:

WarringtonHibee
25-08-2011, 07:17 PM
"The Hearts are having a party and the Hibs are in their bed?"

Nah, I think you'll find we're watching your mob get violated over two legs. :na na:

Curly1875
25-08-2011, 07:19 PM
Worryingly there actually looking quite decent tonight, not that it should trouble spurs but I can see this kind of play hurting us on Sunday if they keep it up

25-08-2011, 07:19 PM
****ing hell Tottingham lets ****ing lift it!

25-08-2011, 07:22 PM
Worryingly there actually looking quite decent tonight, not that it should trouble spurs but I can see this kind of play hurting us on Sunday if they keep it up

Its Spurs reserve's not Sunderlands first team they are playing.

25-08-2011, 07:23 PM
Spurs are just fannying about, they really don't look that interested so far.

25-08-2011, 07:23 PM
Yams used to say to me that we had hardly any songs. Only Hearts song i can hear is HEA.....RTS

25-08-2011, 07:24 PM
Poor show from Spurs 3rd team so far, making the yams look half decent

25-08-2011, 07:25 PM
Harry wont be pleased...after first 10 Hearts have realised that Spurs are not taking it seriously enough.....inviting them on to them

25-08-2011, 07:27 PM
So as it stands just now, all 3 Scottish clubs are going out tonight.

Tottenham and Stoke are as good as through, Birmingham look as if they are going through and although Fulham are losing tonight, they're still 3-1 up on aggregate over Dnipro.

25-08-2011, 07:28 PM
Haha pen

25-08-2011, 07:28 PM
Penalty Spurs :thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 07:29 PM
Penalty for Spurs.

Penalty spurs - fhat's better

HibeeSince85
And it begins....

Twiglet
Penalty Spurs!

ooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh..........

Saved. :rolleyes:

Twiglet
Missed.:rolleyes:

Pen to Spurs and he misses

25-08-2011, 07:30 PM
Missed it - grrr!

ooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh..........

Ooops I jinxed it :greengrin

HibeeSince85
And it begins.... :grr:

how often do they sing about hibs, they must really luv us:greengrin

Twiglet
25-08-2011, 07:31 PM
Why was that a yellow for MacDonald and not a red?

C'mon tae F spurs stop dicking about....it's like a school game here, makers takers.....ffs

Hope McDonald doesn't get a second yellow for time-wasting :wink:

25-08-2011, 07:32 PM
Shouldn't the jumbo keeper have been red carded, clear goal scoring opportunity and last man ????//

Sympathetic ref and was possibly going away from goal.

Did I just hear the beasts singing "bring on the Hibees"?

For a wee team they don't care about, we're getting some decent airtime here.

He wasn't going directly towards goal.

HibeeSince85
25-08-2011, 07:33 PM
how often do they sing about hibs, they must really luv us:greengrin

Heard us mentioned about 10 times, it's how big teams do it though.

That or Billy Boys

He was going away from goal so not a clear goalscoring opportunity.

Billy boys clearly heard there from the yams end.

FFS.

25-08-2011, 07:34 PM
Lost count of the amount of times Hibs have mentioned in their songs now. UEFA fine for the Billy Boys song as well hopefully?

25-08-2011, 07:35 PM
Hearts glorious Hearts, Then songs about Hibs, Then more Hearts glorious Hearts..., then more baout Hibs.....and so on

Oh and with the odd sectarian one chucked in!

25-08-2011, 07:36 PM
Serg seems to have instilled a bit of shape and flair into them........:confused:....hope its short lived

Magnifique
Wondering if young Harry is one of kanoes tribe, he has an uncle Harry down there or did years ago, and the laddies got the nose tae

We will claim him as one of ours anyway

This is ****....how can spurs get away with playing an understrength team ?......is it only ok if you're winning by a mile ?...surely they have an obligation to their fans to put out a strong team ? I'd be pretty pissed off if I'd paid top dollar to watch their youth team.....and that was a red.....think that's it for now :greengrin

He was going away from goal so not a clear goalscoring opportunity. He hadn't played the ball that far ahead of him and so I think he'd have scored if he hadn't been brought down. The direction he was travelling in is secondary to whether he was denied the opportunity. I think it was sympathetic refereeing.

I'm no in my bed, actually.

25-08-2011, 07:37 PM
Scotland **** along with the Huns, two blue peas out of the same pod.

KingFranck
25-08-2011, 07:38 PM
They are obsessed with Hibs .... tramps the lot of them

25-08-2011, 07:38 PM
Heard us mentioned about 10 times, it's how big teams do it though.

That or Billy Boys

best spurs song yet

"are you rangers in disguise" :thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 07:39 PM
Is paulo sergio wearing make up?

Obsession FC

Twiglet
Sympathetic ref and was possibly going away from goal.

Did I just hear the beasts singing "bring on the Hibees"?

If he'd passed the keeper he'd be about 4 yards from goal with no-one in front of him and a tight, but very do-able angle on goal. Would have thought that would merit a red.

They keep singing about us. Spurs fans now siinging "Champions League you're havin a laugh".:greengrin

SneakersO'Toole
25-08-2011, 07:40 PM
Really hope we shut these tramps up on Sunday.

Oh, and Templeton is one ugly lad. Classic 'hearts face'.

25-08-2011, 07:41 PM
Wallace Mercer :not worth:

25-08-2011, 07:42 PM
0-1 Maribor yee haaaaaaa

Oh, and Templeton is one ugly lad. Classic 'hearts face'.

reminds me if some kind of rodent, not sure what though.

A cross between a rat and a squirrel perhaps...

1-0 Maribor.

25-08-2011, 07:43 PM
1-0 Maribor.

SneakersO'Toole
25-08-2011, 07:44 PM
Unlucky super ally. Another complete trumpet.

25-08-2011, 07:44 PM
I hope Skacel is alright...

25-08-2011, 07:45 PM
1-0 Maribor.

Can't be...they are a crap bunch of eastern Europeans who should be beaten easy....

Super Ally :bye:

Haha Huns

1-0 Maribor.:thumbsup::thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 07:46 PM
I hope Skacel is alright...

Whats happened to him?????

25-08-2011, 07:47 PM
Whats happened to him?????

Ripped his tights.

25-08-2011, 07:47 PM
Ripped his tights.

Pussy

25-08-2011, 07:49 PM
Well done Hertz 0-0 with Spurs under 19's after 45 mins. Maroon sick bags.

2-0 Sion

2-0 Sion.

Scottish football - officially worse than Cypriot football.

2-0 Sion.

Rangers and Celtic both need 2 goals in the last 25 minutes to have any chance.

robinp
Just realised after seeing it at least a dozens times that's ER in that Bet 365 advert. :taxi

25-08-2011, 07:52 PM
Jesus, as much as I dislike each Scottish team playing tonight I kinda hoped that at least one would go through.

Scotland, football-wise, really are a ****ing joke.

25-08-2011, 07:52 PM
So much for the old firm, more like the old infirm.

25-08-2011, 07:53 PM
Hearts winger David Templeton:

http://www.henson.com/jimsredbook/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Witches_09.jpg

25-08-2011, 07:54 PM

:hilarious:

25-08-2011, 07:55 PM
Goal for Celtic ruled out for offside.

http://www.henson.com/jimsredbook/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Witches_09.jpg:hilarious

Rangers are honkin. They wont score tonight.

25-08-2011, 07:56 PM
Why are you making him look so good.

25-08-2011, 07:56 PM
Handball penalty decision goes against Rangers.

25-08-2011, 07:57 PM
Goal for Celtic ruled out for offside.

Celts will be singing.........
Theres a conspiracy theres a conspiracy..............:singing:

SneakersO'Toole
25-08-2011, 07:58 PM

This is perfect.

25-08-2011, 07:59 PM
Handball penalty decision goes against Rangers. Would have been very soft if given.

25-08-2011, 08:00 PM

You tidied that up in photoshop didnt you?:rolleyes:

25-08-2011, 08:02 PM
Rangers are honkin. They wont score tonight.
FFS:grr:

25-08-2011, 08:03 PM
2-1, Sion.

Mulgrew free kick.

12 minutes left for Celtic to get one more.

25-08-2011, 08:04 PM
2-1, Sion.

Mulgrew free kick.
FFS:grr:

heidtheba
25-08-2011, 08:04 PM
You tidied that up in photoshop didnt you?:rolleyes:

Scary...I'm also sure I've seen my mates go off with worse on a saturday night down the Grassmarket...

25-08-2011, 08:05 PM
Goal to Rangers

25-08-2011, 08:05 PM
Goal to Rangersboo

25-08-2011, 08:06 PM
Rangers 1-1 Maribor.

Rangers get one more and it's in to extra time.

25-08-2011, 08:06 PM
Think the Maribor keeping will be waking up with a third testicle in the morning. :greengrin:

25-08-2011, 08:07 PM
Maribor keeper just took a belter in the goolies after Healy was clean through on goal...!!!

Made my eyes water a tad.

25-08-2011, 08:07 PM
3-1 Sion.

:bye: Celtic.

25-08-2011, 08:08 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
3-1 Sion.

:bye: Celtic.

25-08-2011, 08:08 PM
3-1 Sion.:bye: Celtic. Good

25-08-2011, 08:10 PM
Can't wait to hear what that greeting faced git Lennon will have to say about that....also, his coat must be on a shoogly peg if he does not sort things out quickly??

25-08-2011, 08:13 PM
Lafferty booked.

He should now be off after he escaped with a warning in the first half for a really bad tackle.

25-08-2011, 08:14 PM
Maribor bring Tavares on, IIRC he was a bit of a player.

25-08-2011, 08:15 PM
Sion is just a wee town in a valley with a population of about 30,000. Thats like getting pumped by Dumbarton!

The mutants in their support :faf:

State of them :faf:

Someone needs to half templeton if we are going to have a decent chance in this derby.

Mon_the_cabbage
25-08-2011, 08:16 PM
QUOTE=Westie1875;2898403]Maribor bring Tavares on, IIRC he was a bit of a player.[/QUOTE]

Always thought he was more than a woman

25-08-2011, 08:16 PM
Someone needs to half templeton if we are going to have a decent chance in this derby.

Step forward Murray / Scott / Palsson - take your pick. :greengrin:devil:

25-08-2011, 08:17 PM
110 in a row, how original

vercol36
25-08-2011, 08:17 PM
I hate those dirty inbred h*ns as much as the next man, but this referee is a knob.

25-08-2011, 08:19 PM
Full time;

Sion 3-1 Celtic (Sion win 3-1 on aggregate.)

25-08-2011, 08:20 PM
Maribor really are a bunch of cheating, time wasting little barstewards.

25-08-2011, 08:20 PM
Full time;

:greengrin:greengrin:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 08:21 PM
Come on MNaribor. Hold out!!!!!!!

KB1
25-08-2011, 08:21 PM
Maribor really are a bunch of cheating, time wasting little barstewards.

I know and I love it!!!!!!

25-08-2011, 08:22 PM
Spurs should be embarrassed at 0-0 after an hour gone. If they even half tried they would be a goal or two ahead. I'd be pretty miffed if I was a spurs fan at the game tonight.

Prepare for the boos from the Rangers fans :greengrin

Full time;

Tims out - braw! :thumbsup:

Full time;

Rangers 1-1 Maribor (Maribor win 3-2 on aggregate.)

Huns out too.

25-08-2011, 08:23 PM
Root Toot they are Both OOT. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Very disappointed in the Spurs youth team. They've made Hearts look good.

GIRUY Healy ya flute playing prick!

No scottish teams left in Europe.

25-08-2011, 08:24 PM
It is pretty pish poor that not a single of the 4 Scottish clubs who entered Europe lasted beyond August.

vercol36
Full time at Ibrox. That was some shameful sh*t. Started the game hoping they would be put out but after all that cheating I wanted them to win.

Hearts lasted longer in Europe than Rangers or Celtic!

Just need Spurs to pop in a couple for a perfect night.

Come on Harry....get Bale on or we will never hear the end of this.....

OF out and no dosh...that should help the competition in Scotland :wink:

GIRUY Healy ya flute playing prick!

Wtf is all this about :faf:

25-08-2011, 08:25 PM
Well thats a shame.

SneakersO'Toole
I don't give a monkey's about Scotlands coefficient, I'm delighted that the infirm are out of Europe.

Scotland's shame the both of them.

It is pretty pish poor that not a single of the 4 Scottish clubs who entered Europe lasted beyond August.

Celtic - Irish
Rangers and Hearts - English.

As far as I'm concerned, there was only one Scottish team in Europe this season.

HiBremian
Hearts lasted longer in Europe than Rangers or Celtic!

Just thought that too. For 20 minutes, the Yams are the only Scots team in Europe. Well done, Vlad, great achievement.:na na:

25-08-2011, 08:26 PM
Rangers fans :faf::faf:

25-08-2011, 08:26 PM
No scottish teams left in Europe.

Hearts aren't out yet. There are still 20 mins to score 6 at least. 5 takes them into extra time

25-08-2011, 08:27 PM

Yet another sign that Scottish football is going down the pan.

25-08-2011, 08:28 PM
Scottish is dead already the standard is awful

25-08-2011, 08:31 PM
Full time at Ibrox. That was some shameful sh*t. Started the game hoping they would be put out but after all that cheating I wanted them to win. The huns have profited so much from cheating that if they have been victims of it tonight and their fans feel cheated then it just makes their exit all the sweeter.

25-08-2011, 08:31 PM
Maribor bring Tavares on, IIRC he was a bit of a player.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqQwS-KEqXY
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqQwS-KEqXY)

25-08-2011, 08:32 PM
Thank god for the wise heads in charge of our game, if it wasnt for their well thought out decision to start our season earlier to help Scottish clubs in qualifying then our nations football could of been in turmoil tonight.......oh wait !!

25-08-2011, 08:32 PM
This puts the threads whinging for investment into perspective, here are 3 clubs pouring vastly more cash than we do into their squads papped out of Europe at the first time of asking.

If this doesn't set alarm bells singing off at Hampden, and even more importantly, Ibrox and Parkhead, nothing will. We need change and we need it now or this league is going to end up the standard of that in Wales or Northern Ireland!

Any ideas what this has done to our coefficient? We must be set to lose places for this?

25-08-2011, 08:33 PM
I hate the 3 clubs playing tonight as much as anyone but tonight's (and last week's) results really show just how bad our game actually is up here.

No-one expected Hearts to challenge Spurs and what everyone expected to happen did happen in the first leg. However for the two best teams in our country to lose to clubs from Slovenia and Switzerland is really poor stuff. The really worrying thing is that, YET AGAIN, they'll finish first and second in the league about 25 points ahead of everyone else.

I hear people say quite a lot that we shouldn't criticise our football as much as we do because it's not as bad as a lot of people make it out to be.

People need to realise that Scottish football is dead, the SPL is one of the weakest leagues in Europe and our clubs cannot compete now with even the more modest of nations.

25-08-2011, 08:35 PM
This puts the threads whinging for investment into perspective, here are 3 clubs pouring vastly more cash than we do into their squads papped out of Europe at the first time of asking.

If this doesn't set alarm bells singing off at Hampden, and even more importantly, Ibrox and Parkhead, nothing will. We need change and we need it now or this league is going to end up the standard of that in Wales or Northern Ireland!

Any ideas what this has done to our coefficient? We must be set to lose places for this?

We are now below The Pitcairn Islands

25-08-2011, 08:38 PM
Scottish is dead already the standard is awful

No it's not.

25-08-2011, 08:38 PM
As long ad the cash is biased towards the ugly sisters nothing will change.

25-08-2011, 08:40 PM
there are 2 CL spots this year as it counts back over several years.....so there is the chance for someone to split the OF and get some of the bigger money...never a better chance when you see how they (OF) are struggling...with the window about to close they are noy going to have Europe as the ace to attract decent players...or the extra finance.....

25-08-2011, 08:40 PM
I hate the 3 clubs playing tonight as much as anyone but tonight's (and last week's) results really show just how bad our game actually is up here.

No-one expected Hearts to challenge Spurs and what everyone expected to happen did happen in the first leg. However for the two best teams in our country to lose to clubs from Slovenia and Switzerland is really poor stuff. The really worrying thing is that, YET AGAIN, they'll finish first and second in the league about 25 points ahead of everyone else.

I hear people say quite a lot that we shouldn't criticise our football as much as we do because it's not as bad as a lot of people make it out to be.

People need to realise that Scottish football is dead, the SPL is one of the weakest leagues in Europe and our clubs cannot compete now with even the more modest of nations.

I find myself agreeing with you far too often these days :greengrin

25-08-2011, 08:42 PM
Cannot believe how poor spurs have been - two poor teams tonight and a boring, boring match.

HiBremian
25-08-2011, 08:42 PM
As long ad the cash is biased towards the ugly sisters nothing will change.

The cash is biased towards bigger clubs across the world now. It's called raw capitalism. Leagues used to distribute income more equitably, which made them more competitive. European competition is now more or less totally predictable. It's all based on wealth.

One word - Murdoch.

25-08-2011, 08:43 PM
Should have been another pen to spurs there.

25-08-2011, 08:46 PM
"Are you watching Hibee sc*m?"

You would have thought they were winning here or something!

25-08-2011, 08:46 PM
"Are you watching Hibee ****"

yes we are watching your first team struggle against a spurs XI :rolleyes:

25-08-2011, 08:47 PM
"Are you watching Hibee sc*m?"

You would have thought they were winning here or something!

0-0 against a youth team. They'll be celebrating all night long.

25-08-2011, 08:47 PM
As I write Shamrock Rovers in extra time in Belgrade while Celtic and Rangers are out ( won`t mention Hearts - should UEFA not have a rule where second legs aren`t played if there`s 5+ goal difference against away team ? ) . Only a couple of weeks ago there were rumours here that Michael O`Neill was favourite to be our new manager . Looks like our chance has gone and when CC leaves we`ll go back to usual mediocre manager with SPL background .

25-08-2011, 08:49 PM
Full time;

Tottenham 0-0 Hearts (Tottenham win 5-0 on aggregate.)

25-08-2011, 08:49 PM
I suppose hearts deserve credit for being marginally less pish than spurs tonight but it really was a game to make the eyes bleed.

25-08-2011, 08:50 PM
Did the commentator on Spurs -yam game just say about the wee laddie spinning the scarf "he must have had a few E's tonight as he's still going strong" :wtf: just rewound it and in 89m50 seconds that is what he said ,that is out of order.

25-08-2011, 08:50 PM
The mutants played well and probably deserved to win. Big deal. We will rape them on Sunday.

25-08-2011, 08:51 PM
Scunny v Toon into extra time on SS1 :thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 08:55 PM
Did the commentator on Spurs -yam game just say about the wee laddie spinning the scarf "he must have had a few E's tonight as he's still going strong" :wtf: just rewound it and in 89m50 seconds that is what he said ,that is out of order.

I heard that too. :taxi

25-08-2011, 08:56 PM
2-1 Shamrock :thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 08:56 PM

I thought he said that as well. Suppose he meant E numbers.

25-08-2011, 08:57 PM
I find myself agreeing with you far too often these days :greengrin

Don't worry, it's something that comes to everyone eventually! :greengrin

To put things into further perspective tonight, Shamrock Rovers have just gone 3-2 up on aggregate in extra time away to Partizan Belgrade. :rolleyes:

25-08-2011, 08:57 PM
Anyone see that ugly mug? :faf:

duffers
25-08-2011, 08:58 PM
Thought hearts looked half decent tonight to be fair. Although Spurs were pretty poor.
See they have adopted our calum booth song aswell.

heidtheba
25-08-2011, 08:58 PM
What was with the mutant with the 'hertz saltire' on his bonce?
brutal stuff!

25-08-2011, 08:59 PM

I didn't hear it but I'm guessing he'll have meant "E numbers" as in the additives that are put into fizzy drinks like Irn-Bru and Coke.

Bobo
Spurs were as poor tonight as they were good last week! They had no urgency or desire going forward and surrendered the ball too easily to Hearts.

P!sh poor game to watch for a neutral.

WarringtonHibee
http://i55.tinypic.com/zvackp.png

****ing *****. :faf:

25-08-2011, 09:00 PM
Anyone see that ugly mug? :faf:

:agree: He was well out of it. Probably seeing dead people and giant ants. :greengrin

Strachan and Southgate couldn't believe it.

X marks the spong.

Don't blame the teams outside the OF for the recent failures in Europe. The OF can't decide whether the SPL holds them back or gives them a constant avenue into Europe. Meanwhile they asset strip any Scottish club willing to challenge them although this season they've not even been able to afford that!

The end game for Sky/major European clubs is a two tier/conference style European League of about 40 clubs. Bayern Munich were hinting at this recently. I would imagine the OF have a good chance of being involved due to, whether we like it or not, their large fan bases world wide.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/jul/27/european-clubs-breakaway-fifa-uefa

25-08-2011, 09:01 PM

Nonce or what :faf:

25-08-2011, 09:02 PM
I didn't hear it but I'm guessing he'll have meant "E numbers" as in the additives that are put into fizzy drinks like Irn-Bru and Coke. Thought it was pretty obvious that was what he meant.

HiBremian
25-08-2011, 09:04 PM
2-1 Shamrock :thumbsup:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0825/shamrock_partizan.html

"The greatest goal in the history of Irish football"

See how much it means over there...

EDIT: Shamrock Rovers through to group stages.

25-08-2011, 09:07 PM
Shamrock Rovers beat Partizan Belgrade 3-2 on aggregate, after extra time.

The Irish league's got more teams involved in Europe than we have now. :bitchy:

25-08-2011, 09:07 PM
2-1 Shamrock :thumbsup:Congratulations Michael O`Neill and Shamrock Rovers - a great result . Great to see success for an ( ex ) Hibbie . As I said before , hope we haven`t missed chance of great manager . Could have been / be the perfect manager for us for many reasons .

25-08-2011, 09:08 PM
Thought it was pretty obvious that was what he meant.

If he meant to say e numbers he should have said it, as E's [which he did say] are totally different :rolleyes:

25-08-2011, 09:10 PM
I know it's not the Europa League but Newcastle's just gone 2-1 up against Scunthorpe in extra time.

Newcastle's come from behind.

Sam Ameobi, Shola's younger brother.

25-08-2011, 09:10 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0825/shamrock_partizan.html

"The greatest goal in the history of Irish football"

See how much it means over there...

EDIT: Shamrock Rovers through to group stages.

The amount of cash they are going to get is going to seriously change that league, they'll have so much more cash than anybody else is likely to ever get their hands on!

Well done to them I say!

25-08-2011, 09:12 PM
If he meant to say e numbers he should have said it, as E's [which he did say] are totally different :rolleyes:

Have to agree.

It would be like saying "Christ look at that guy; somebodies been on the coke..............................eh, coke, cans of coke.". :greengrin

25-08-2011, 09:13 PM
If he meant to say e numbers he should have said it, as E's [which he did say] are totally different :rolleyes: The drug connotation never crossed my mind until I saw it on here and I doubt it entered his head either. Not a big deal though.

25-08-2011, 09:14 PM
Shamrock Rovers beat Partizan Belgrade 3-2 on aggregate, after extra time.

The Irish league's got more teams involved in Europe than we have now. :bitchy:Are you surprised ? The Irish clubs have had as good if not better results than Scottish based clubs for a while now ( results of OF have been boosted by ranking which have meant they`ve avoided early rounds , something that`s going to change soon ) . Bohemians beat Aberdeen about 8 years ago and since then results have been similar between clubs from two leagues . Great result for Shamrock Rovers and for Michael O`Neill .

7Hero
25-08-2011, 09:17 PM
Congratulations Michael O`Neill and Shamrock Rovers - a great result . Great to see success for an ( ex ) Hibbie . As I said before , hope we haven`t missed chance of great manager . Could have been / be the perfect manager for us for many reasons .

petrie doesn't pick decent managers, have you not worked that one out yet :confused:

25-08-2011, 09:17 PM
Cannot believe how poor spurs have been - two poor teams tonight and a boring, boring match.

Spurs were uninspired. I'll wager that's the last game Pavs plays, especially with you-know-who waiting in the wings.

Kranjcar was the only spark but he looks a star against inferior opposition. He does nowt in the Prem.

Hearts were dreadful too. It was as though the pitch was 30 yards too long for their wee legs! Their moves just fizzled out.

I don't understand the fuss about Templeton. Very lightweight. Probably go and get a hattrick on sunday now.

25-08-2011, 09:20 PM
FT Newcastle win 2-1.

25-08-2011, 09:29 PM
The three most despicable clubs in Scotland out of Europe in one night :bye: :partyhibb

25-08-2011, 09:46 PM
The three most despicable clubs in Scotland out of Europe in one night :bye: :partyhibb My thoughts exactly. Don't understand all this 'black day for Scottish football' rubbish.Great day - all 3 of those ****ers out on 1 night

25-08-2011, 10:01 PM
0-0 against a youth team. They'll be celebrating all night long. A yam acquaintance has been on facebook talking about his 'pride' at the performance and talking about 'bring on the wee team'.I cant wait for Sunday.

25-08-2011, 10:17 PM
The amount of cash they are going to get is going to seriously change that league, they'll have so much more cash than anybody else is likely to ever get their hands on!

Well done to them I say!

I don't think that the Europa League is much of a money spinner.

hibeeleicester
25-08-2011, 10:21 PM

5 million for the group stage :agree:

25-08-2011, 10:52 PM

25-08-2011, 11:10 PM
A well, so much for the early start to the season :faf::faf::faf:

Cool_Hand_Luke
25-08-2011, 11:45 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8ciVBQixpU&feature=youtube_gdata_player :greengrin

26-08-2011, 12:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8ciVBQixpU&feature=youtube_gdata_player :greengrin

Great movie! :thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 12:48 AM

Not compared to the Champions League sure, but I'd imagine the income for an Irish League club is even lower than ours, the money for qualifying, plus maybe a tasty big club in their group and they could still make more money than they would take in in several seasons!