View Full Version : Reminder About Corteo to Tynecastle

22-08-2011, 08:30 PM
Just a quick reminder for the Corteo/March to Tynecastle on Sunday.

It is starting at Murrayfield Hotel and we are heading to the ground at 2:30, anyone between there and the ground feel free to join in, we'll also slow down at Roseburn bar so people from there can join in too. If you could wear or bring something green and white that would be great! We want this to look the business, let's outdo the Jambos, not that they're gonna come back with much of a display :greengrin

If you are going to the game then can you please take part in the poll and just give a simple yes or no as to whether your taking part in the Corteo or not so I can get a rough idea of numbers. Cheers everyone your help would be appreciated, and finally mon the Cabbage!

22-08-2011, 08:43 PM
I may have been a tad premature in voting no. What exactly is it and whats it for? :greengrin

22-08-2011, 08:50 PM
I may have been a tad premature in voting no. What exactly is it and whats it for? :greengrin

Just a group of Hibbies gathering at one place and marching to the stadium singing non-stop, getting everyone in party mode and getting hyped up for it. The aim of it is to carry on the non-stop chanting and bring it into the ground, think 30 mins before kick-off our end could be almost full everyone giving it their all with the singing, balloons, flags etc, and the Hearts stands will be less then half empty with nae noise :greengrin

22-08-2011, 09:08 PM
Just a group of Hibbies gathering at one place and marching to the stadium singing non-stop, getting everyone in party mode and getting hyped up for it. The aim of it is to carry on the non-stop chanting and bring it into the ground, think 30 mins before kick-off our end could be almost full everyone giving it their all with the singing, balloons, flags etc, and the Hearts stands will be less then half empty with nae noise :greengrin

Good luck. :aok:

23-08-2011, 02:53 PM
I want to go on the march but me and my mate are getting a lift in from some yams, and i duno when and where we will be parking. If we see you lot we will join in but looking unlikely atm.

Good luck and lets outsing that lot. :flag:

23-08-2011, 03:18 PM

It is starting at Murrayfield Hotel and we are heading to the ground at 2:30, anyone between there and the ground feel free to join in, we'll also slow down at Roseburn bar so people from there can join in too. If you could wear or bring something green and white that would be great! We want this to look the business, let's outdo the Jambos, not that they're gonna come back with much of a display :greengrin

If you are going to the game then can you please take part in the poll and just give a simple yes or no as to whether your taking part in the Corteo or not so I can get a rough idea of numbers. Cheers everyone your help would be appreciated, and finally mon the Cabbage!

Does this "march" have to be notified to the police authorities - is that an issue - can't quite see how lots of people converging and marching somewhere (where there could be trouble) is not governed by some public safety regulation ??? Just wondering...:confused:

23-08-2011, 03:20 PM
Does this "march" have to be notified to the police authorities - is that an issue - can't quite see how lots of people converging and marching somewhere (where there could be trouble) is not governed by some public safety regulation ??? Just wondering...:confused:

You must be a great laugh doon the pub :greengrin

23-08-2011, 03:27 PM

I won't be there but good luck. Hope the march will be captured on video and posted on Youtube. :wink:

:cgwa :cgwa

23-08-2011, 03:57 PM
CWilli - if you cannae see the time then you'll never find the march

hfc_chris
23-08-2011, 03:57 PM
What time are you leaving the Murrayfield?

Just thinking I might get to the turnstiles before you lot as they are not the best staffed gates in the SPL and you might miss the first 10/15mins.

Eh? Is kick off not 3.45?

23-08-2011, 04:04 PM

Here's the legislation relating to the law on processions and assemblies.

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1986/64/part/II

I think, ideally, the authorities probably should have been notified about this but I doubt if anyone will be in any trouble. L&B police will have sites like this monitored anyway in the lead up to Sunday's match so I've no doubt that they'll be aware that this is happening. If they're really unhappy about it then I'm sure they'll have a police presence in these areas to prevent it from happening.

To be on the safe side, you better carry a spare £1000 with you to cover any fines. :greengrin

cwilliamson85
23-08-2011, 04:09 PM
Apologies :hide:

I completely forgot about the ridiculous KO time. On the other hand it will give me plenty time to get through and a have a few pints.

hfc_chris
23-08-2011, 05:23 PM
Apologies :hide:

I completely forgot about the ridiculous KO time. On the other hand it will give me plenty time to get through and a have a few pints.

Certainly beats 12.45! :cheers:

Skanko79
23-08-2011, 05:33 PM
cant believe some folk are actually worried that the police should be informed. I'm pretty sure that everyone partaking in the fun (after all, thats what it is) will have a ticket for the game therefor im pretty sure there will be a sufficient number of police officers on duty. get a grip.

23-08-2011, 05:45 PM
Apologies :hide:I completely forgot about the ridiculous KO time. On the other hand it will give me plenty time to get through and a have a few pints. How is it ridiculous? It kicks off 45 minutes later than 'normal' kick off time. Would you rather the game kicked off at a real ridiculous time such as midday?

23-08-2011, 05:48 PM

You have no idea how much for your sake i hope that comment was tongue in cheek!!!

23-08-2011, 06:04 PM

No need. That was originally an issue when we first planned to start the march at ER, but between Murrayfield and Tynecastle it's always mobbed with Hibbies every Derby Day, therefore not really an issue, just as many Hibs fans around that area as usual it's just we'll be in a big group singing all the way. I've made it very clear already in a fair few posts that we are NOT looking for trouble, if we wanted to do that we'd stroll straight through the middle of Gorgie. Simply just going to the pub beforehand/having a laugh/sing-song then heading to the ground as one making a hell of a noise :agree:

23-08-2011, 06:06 PM
No need. That was originally an issue when we first planned to start the march at ER, but between Murrayfield and Tynecastle it's always mobbed with Hibbies every Derby Day, therefore not really an issue, just as many Hibs fans around that area as usual it's just we'll be in a big group singing all the way. I've made it very clear already in a fair few posts that we are NOT looking for trouble, if we wanted to do that we'd stroll straight through the middle of Gorgie. Simply just going to the pub beforehand/having a laugh/sing-song then heading to the ground as one making a hell of a noise :agree:

Did you get my order for a plasma tv and trainers? :greengrin

23-08-2011, 06:14 PM
Did you get my order for a plasma tv and trainers? :greengrin

I'll take note :greengrin

23-08-2011, 06:29 PM
cant believe some folk are actually worried that the police should be informed. I'm pretty sure that everyone partaking in the fun (after all, thats what it is) will have a ticket for the game therefor im pretty sure there will be a sufficient number of police officers on duty. get a grip.

I was just wondering what the situation was - it's a valid question, I felt, I was only asking, no hassle! I'm not worried about the police: no need to be - I'm safe here in Berlin. Mind you I'm worried about the outcome of the game, but hey - still, hope you all have fun outside and inside (Tynecastle, I mean of course!):greengrin

23-08-2011, 06:32 PM

Sounds great to me - hope you have a great day out at the neighbours :agree: - I was just being inquisitive!

cwilliamson85
23-08-2011, 07:50 PM
How is it ridiculous? It kicks off 45 minutes later than 'normal' kick off time. Would you rather the game kicked off at a real ridiculous time such as midday?

As like most fans I would love a 3pm on a Saturday but I know this is not possible due to TV deals so a later time than the usual which let's people grab a cheeky pint beforehand is good enough.

23-08-2011, 09:12 PM
Me and three others will be there for the Corteo from Murrayfield Hotel to the ground. Looking forward to it, something different, hopefully alot of Hibees catch on and it can turn out to be a good success. I'll be in full voice for the walk anyway, that's for sure. NOTHING beats Derby Day! C'mon the Hibees !! :flag::flag::flag:

24-08-2011, 07:19 AM
No need to worry about police.50 or so Hibbies marching from the murrayfield will have a police escort and when 100 join in at the Roseburn more police will tag along. Nothing new really

24-08-2011, 07:29 AM
I would imagine the police will be delighted the Hibees have organised themselves into a large crowd that they know about and can easily control rather than dozens of smaller groups all over the place.

Thomson1875
24-08-2011, 11:40 AM
On the facebook group, says over 200, if over 200 turn up and get pretty drunk as quite a number do on derby day then it will be pretty good. Hopefully a big number after we pass the roseburn.

Can't wait for sunday, not confident at all but bring it on.

24-08-2011, 11:43 AM
If the march was leaving a wee bit later I'd be involved but my lot will still be in a boozer somewhere! Good luck with it anyway guys.

duffers
24-08-2011, 11:57 AM
If the march was leaving a wee bit later I'd be involved but my lot will still be in a boozer somewhere! Good luck with it anyway guys.

I was thinking the same. An hour and a half to get from the Murrayfield to Tynecastle seems quite a long time. Even 3 might have been better and would have got more numbers involved.

24-08-2011, 12:01 PM
I was thinking the same. An hour and a half to get from the Murrayfield to Tynecastle seems quite a long time. Even 3 might have been better and would have got more numbers involved.

I never leave for a derby earlier than 15 mins before KO. What's the point sitting around in the stadium when I can get there as the teams come out and have an extra couple of pints.

wearethehibs
24-08-2011, 12:08 PM
I never leave for a derby earlier than 15 mins before KO. What's the point sitting around in the stadium when I can get there as the teams come out and have an extra couple of pints. Just my opinion but I thinks that's the wrong attitude to have, imagine 1000 or so hibees all singing and bouncing while the players are warming up, would get them right up for it. Plus you could be wasted by 2:45 no bother :)

cwilliamson85
24-08-2011, 12:32 PM
Also the plan of leaving at 2:30 will probably mean leaving at 2:45 by the time you get everyone ready to go at the same time.

30mins walk to Tynie and then 30mins inside the ground.

Cant wait.

24-08-2011, 01:22 PM
Also the plan of leaving at 2:30 will probably mean leaving at 2:45 by the time you get everyone ready to go at the same time.30mins walk to Tynie and then 30mins inside the ground.Cant wait. Half an hour ftom The Murrayfield to Tynecastle? How are you making your way ther, are you hopping?

Rory89
24-08-2011, 02:02 PM
Am I missing something here? Walking from the two nearest pubs to the away end to the stand, not really a "corteo" is it? Walking from Easter Road to Tynie is, this is just what people do every derby game. Was everybody planning on getting a taxi before this idea popped up? :confused:

cwilliamson85
24-08-2011, 02:35 PM
Half an hour ftom The Murrayfield to Tynecastle? How are you making your way ther, are you hopping?

At a gentleman’s pace it would take 20mis so imagine after a few pints trying to get there with 100 / 200 (however many people do this). 30mins is not that far off.

vercol36
24-08-2011, 02:54 PM
On the 'reply to' bit i clicked to let you know i am coming. But i'm also bringing three other folk who aren't members of hibs.net so count them in too!

24-08-2011, 04:11 PM
Am I missing something here? Walking from the two nearest pubs to the away end to the stand, not really a "corteo" is it? Walking from Easter Road to Tynie is, this is just what people do every derby game. Was everybody planning on getting a taxi before this idea popped up? :confused:

My original plan was to leave from ER but hardly anyone was interested.

24-08-2011, 04:16 PM
My original plan was to leave from ER but hardly anyone was interested.

Not too surprised at that. Pretty long way to walk when you're half cut. I think you would have "lost" half the corteo as soon as the number 1 and 35 buses were spotted coming up Easter Road. :agree:

24-08-2011, 04:26 PM
Me and two mates will be there, bring it on! :cgwa

28-08-2011, 08:43 PM
How did this go?

wearethehibs
29-08-2011, 07:53 AM
How did this go? Not as big a turn out as expected but I thought it went pretty well, lots of singing, a few flags and a green smoke bomb.

29-08-2011, 08:02 AM
How did this go?

Great atmosphere at the Murrayfield.

:hibees

30-08-2011, 04:22 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74sQUSSPSEg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQWha8kJdmM&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

30-08-2011, 04:45 PM
Was a good atmosphere in the Murrayfield, though I missed the corteo as I'd only just got another pint!