View Full Version : League Cup Draw - Hibs v Berwick Rangers

p=sh
01-08-2011, 08:33 AM
http://sport.scotsman.com/football/SPL-sides-poised-to-join.6810836.jp

Tomorrow at 1PM in Dingwall.

Anyone remember if the draw is seeded at this stage?
Seems that the "top 5" from last season stay out till the NEXT round.

01-08-2011, 08:36 AM

http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/football/league-cup/format/

Yes it is

p=sh
01-08-2011, 09:06 AM

Yes it is

Ta for that link.
So it looks like if we get through to the NEXT round we almost certainly WON'T be seeded.
Ah well, let's see who we get the morn.

TamHibs
01-08-2011, 09:33 AM

Yes it is

So does that mean that as one of the 11 highest seeded teams for the 2nd round, we are guaranteed to be drawn away?

01-08-2011, 09:51 AM
Ta for that link.
So it looks like if we get through to the NEXT round we almost certainly WON'T be seeded.
Ah well, let's see who we get the morn.

It really depends if one of the so called seeded teams who finished above Hibs in the League gets knocked out or not!
One round at a time please

01-08-2011, 09:00 PM
Seeded
Motherwell
Inverness
St Johnstone
Aberdeen
Hibernian
St Mirren
Hamilton
Dunfermline
Raith Rovers
Falkirk
Queen of the South

Unseeded
Dundee
Morton
Ross County
Livingston
Ayr
Forfar
East Fife
Airdrie
Stenhousemuir
Berwick
Clyde

01-08-2011, 09:02 PM
Wouldn't fancy any of those top five unseeded teams away at this stage.

01-08-2011, 09:13 PM
Home draw please!

Not Livy away...

01-08-2011, 09:15 PM
Home draw please!

Not Livy away...

Or dare I say it...Ayr away:rolleyes:

scuttle
01-08-2011, 09:36 PM
Or even Morton at home

scuttle
01-08-2011, 09:37 PM
Or Ross County away

01-08-2011, 09:39 PM
Berwick at home would be good!:aok:

01-08-2011, 10:38 PM
Inverness away please :greengrin

02-08-2011, 12:25 AM
Being totally selfish, a wee trip down the road to Stenhousemuir would be most welcome for myself. :agree:

Ochilview was one of the first trips I ever made to watch Hibs, when I was six years old, and I haven't been back since.

02-08-2011, 06:45 AM
Home draw please!

Not Livy away...

Home draw for me, I've got a cup top up ticket

02-08-2011, 07:30 AM
Dundee or FarFar please

02-08-2011, 07:33 AM
Being totally selfish, a wee trip down the road to Stenhousemuir would be most welcome for myself. :agree:

Ochilview was one of the first trips I ever made to watch Hibs, when I was six years old, and I haven't been back since.

That's a lot of Hibs games you've missed since then.

02-08-2011, 07:38 AM
Dundee or FarFar please

02-08-2011, 07:47 AM
Dundee or FarFar please

You're not very quiet are you.......We heard you the first time:greengrin

02-08-2011, 08:54 AM
You're not very quiet are you.......We heard you the first time:greengrin Is he a man? Anyone seen him pee?

02-08-2011, 10:44 AM
Is there any coverage on Sky Sports News?

02-08-2011, 10:51 AM
Is there any coverage on Sky Sports News?

For the League Cup draw? The only time it got much coverage was yon time when a Tory MSP made an arse of it.

02-08-2011, 11:06 AM
For the League Cup draw? The only time it got much coverage was yon time when a Tory MSP made an arse of it.

The best draw ever imo was the one for the scottish cup, when they wheeled in some bloke who'd scored the winner for Clyde in the final, forget who they played? :wink:

He dropped one of the balls and it rolled away down the steps from the cup it was pulled from, so amateurish by the SFA. Comedy gold though.:greengrin

TamHibs
02-08-2011, 11:29 AM
I think, and i could be wrong, that as a seeded team today we will definately be drawn away from home

02-08-2011, 11:36 AM
Home draw for me, I've got a cup top up ticket

:agree: seconded by another selfish toad :greengrin

02-08-2011, 11:38 AM
I think, and i could be wrong, that as a seeded team today we will definately be drawn away from home

you are wrong.

half the seeded teams at home and half the seeded teams away. Well it would be if there was an even number of ties.

it alternates as the draw proceeds.

02-08-2011, 11:51 AM
Is the draw live on the radio anywhere?

TamHibs
02-08-2011, 11:59 AM
you are wrong.

half the seeded teams at home and half the seeded teams away. Well it would be if there was an even number of ties.

it alternates as the draw proceeds.

Ah right I see. Hopefully a home game then coz i'm a selfish grunt who wants full use of their cup top up :greengrin

02-08-2011, 12:02 PM
Is the draw live on the radio anywhere?
Cant find anything, had a look at the official SFL twitter page thing and theyre just saying it will appear on the SFL website after 1 o'clock.

02-08-2011, 12:06 PM

That has always been the case.

The second round fixtures are run midweek when CL/EL are being held.

Hence all teams qualifying for Europe get a bye to round three. This applies even if eliminated before the draw is made.

02-08-2011, 12:06 PM
:agree: seconded by another selfish toad :greengrin
:agree: thirded. The likes of Forfar's far too Farfar for those of us who love our home games.

02-08-2011, 12:09 PM
i'm guessing this article will be updated:http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/news/article/scottish-communities-league-cup-second-round-draw-6/

02-08-2011, 12:12 PM
has it been decided when the fixtures will take place?

02-08-2011, 12:13 PM
has it been decided when the fixtures will take place?

Sure they're midweek - the 23rd/24th of August.

02-08-2011, 12:20 PM
what a joke that we have to scuttle around various websites to get an update of the draw...could they not show the bloody thing live over the internet ?....or update every 30 seconds.....I know it's not the world cup draw but ffs show some initiative with marketing the tournie.....

02-08-2011, 12:22 PM
As Celtic and Rangers are not involved at this stage the draw is of no interest to the BBC or Sky.

Mark79
02-08-2011, 12:23 PM
what a joke that we have to scuttle around various websites to get an update of the draw...could they not show the bloody thing live over the internet ?....or update every 30 seconds.....I know it's not the world cup draw but ffs show some initiative with marketing the tournie.....

Be one of those velvet bags and some wooden balls with the numbers scribbled on in marker pen. Best not to show it to the world.

02-08-2011, 12:23 PM
:agree: Ridiculous handling of it all, sitting refreshing the SFL homepage. Dont see why they cant simply have a radio link atleast?

02-08-2011, 12:26 PM
The draw was meant to be at 1pm.....how long does it take these numpties to pick 22 balls out of a bag? :confused:

02-08-2011, 12:28 PM
The draw was meant to be at 1pm.....how long does it take these numpties to pick 22 balls out of a bag? :confused:you'd be surprised :rolleyes:

02-08-2011, 12:29 PM
The draw was meant to be at 1pm.....how long does it take these numpties to pick 22 balls out of a bag? :confused: exactly..then the work experience laddie has to update the website...should be notified about 2pm.....joke, past caring.....just cos it's portrayed as a mickey mouse tournament doesn't mean they should manage it like one.

02-08-2011, 12:30 PM
The draw was meant to be at 1pm.....how long does it take these numpties to pick 22 balls out of a bag? :confused:

you'd be surprised :rolleyes:

That's just a load of balls :wink:

alfie
02-08-2011, 12:31 PM
:agree: Ridiculous handling of it all, sitting refreshing the SFL homepage. Dont see why they cant simply have a radio link atleast?

So that is why its taking me so long to connect to their website! It's almost given up under the strain. Any more hits and they'll claim it is a DDOS attack by Anonymous! :greengrin

02-08-2011, 12:35 PM
So I wonder where we will find out first?

Hibs.net
Official Hibs website
BBC Sport website
Sky Sports News
SFA website

I vote for Hibs.net :greengrin

02-08-2011, 12:36 PM
The official line from the Scottish Football league is

There are currently no fixtures for season 2011/2012 for SCLC

Hibernian v Berwick Rangers
East Fife v Dunfermline Athletic
St. Johnstone v Livingston
Airdrie United v Raith Rovers
Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Ayr United v Inverness Cal. Th.
Queen of the South v Forfar Athletic
Morton v St. Mirren
Hamilton Academical v Ross County
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

Hibs v Berwick. (Always love beating Rangers) Aberdeen v Dundee must be tie of the round

hibeeliam
Berwick rangers.... AT HOME:thumbsup::thumbsup:

SQHib
02-08-2011, 12:37 PM
So that is why its taking me so long to connect to their website! It's almost given up under the strain. Any more hits and they'll claim it is a DDOS attack by Anonymous! :greengrin

Wayhah home to Berwick rangers !

Berwick at home, 1st tie out of hat.

MartinfaePorty
Hibs v Berwick Rangers
East Fife v Dunfermline
Airdrie Utd v Raith Rovers
Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Ayr Utd v Inverness CT
QOS v Forfar
Morton v St. Mirren
Hamilton v Ross County
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

you'd be surprised :rolleyes:

Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Morton v St. Mirren
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

MixuMac
Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Morton v St. Mirren
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

02-08-2011, 12:38 PM
1 for the cup top up :thumbsup:

02-08-2011, 12:38 PM
Hibs v Berwick Rangers
East Fife v Dunfermline
Airdrie Utd v Raith Rovers
Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Ayr Utd v Inverness CT
QOS v Forfar
Morton v St. Mirren
Hamilton v Ross County
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

Some quite good ones there.

02-08-2011, 12:39 PM
about as good a draw as we could have hoped for, rest of the SPL teams seem to have got some pretty tricky draws! :thumbsup:

02-08-2011, 12:40 PM
Cannae see next round at Dees or FarFar either! PETRIE :grr:

02-08-2011, 12:40 PM

Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Morton v St. Mirren
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

I see you got your wish, almost. :greengrin Falkirk versus Stenhousemuir :na na:

02-08-2011, 12:41 PM
you'd be surprised :rolleyes: I'm not.

02-08-2011, 12:42 PM
Good to get some foreign opposition at home. Could be in Europe longer than Hearts!

02-08-2011, 12:49 PM
Falkirk v Stenhousemuir
Morton v St. Mirren
Clyde v Motherwell
Aberdeen v Dundee

You would almost think that draw was fixed to drum up interest in the Tournament. There are some cracking ties in there without a doubt.

02-08-2011, 01:04 PM
1 for the cup top up :thumbsup:

:greengrin couldn't be happier

02-08-2011, 01:05 PM
You would almost think that draw was fixed to drum up interest in the Tournament. There are some cracking ties in there without a doubt.

Couple of tasty derbies in there

Renfrew_Hibby
02-08-2011, 01:12 PM
Couple of tasty derbies in there

Morton v St.Mirren is a cracker.

Also Killie got a bye then to make the draw even?

Hibtastic
02-08-2011, 01:39 PM
East Five v Dunfermline will be a tasty one for sure!!:greengrin

02-08-2011, 02:51 PM
odds on Damon Gray scoring against us? :wink:

soproni1
02-08-2011, 03:10 PM
odds on Damon Gray scoring against us? :wink:

Probably long.....

Dare I say it as comfortable a draw as we could have hoped for (wood touching)

02-08-2011, 03:50 PM
I bought my season ticket early doors - can't remember if that qualifies for the top up this year - can anyone shed a light?

02-08-2011, 03:55 PM
I bought my season ticket early doors - can't remember if that qualifies for the top up this year - can anyone shed a light?
There was a cut off Jamsie but if you have your ticket handy it will have CTU on it if it qualifies. :thumbsup:

TamHibs
02-08-2011, 04:11 PM
There was a cut off Jamsie but if you have your ticket handy it will have CTU on it if it qualifies. :thumbsup:

Or PP if you took out the payment plan

02-08-2011, 04:20 PM
Or PP if you took out the payment plan

I took out the payment plan - presumably I still qualify for the top up? Ticket at home and I'm at work so can't check.

TamHibs
02-08-2011, 04:21 PM
I took out the payment plan - presumably I still qualify for the top up? Ticket at home and I'm at work so can't check.

Aye if you took out the payment plan then you definately have the top up :thumbsup:

02-08-2011, 04:32 PM
Very decent draw :agree:

Am choking tae go back tae Hampden , Like the day oot that goes with it and getting pished oan the bus through:agree:

02-08-2011, 06:12 PM
Very decent draw :agree:

Am choking tae go back tae Hampden , Like the day oot that goes with it and getting pished oan the bus through:agree:

26?

02-08-2011, 06:17 PM
26?

Nah the 37 via Loanheid :greengrin

02-08-2011, 06:23 PM
Nah the 37 via Loanheid :greengrin

Hearts toon. Make sure it's an X37!!