View Full Version : Musicians That Died Too Young

Sodje_18
22-06-2011, 01:50 PM
Some musicians that you wish were around to make more music. I'll start off with Sid Vicious and John Lennon :agree:

22-06-2011, 02:10 PM
Bob Marley and Freddie Mercury :agree:

22-06-2011, 02:12 PM
Marc Bolan

Sodje_18
22-06-2011, 02:39 PM
Bob Marley and Freddie Mercury :agree:
Knew Freddie Mercury would come up :agree:
Bob Marley went straight over my head though :doh:

22-06-2011, 02:44 PM
Jimi Hendrix, Tim and Jeff Buckley, Elliot Smith, Billie Holiday, Nick Drake, Janis Joplin, Marvin Gaye.........

All far too young to die and there are countless other as well.

22-06-2011, 02:45 PM
Buddy Holly

woodythehibee
22-06-2011, 04:39 PM
Buddy Holly

22-06-2011, 04:55 PM
John Simon Ritchie, AKA Sid Vicious.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VvgJ6cgHMGc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNycA1JNcno

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIp_N6bjj64

Anyone else watched 'Sid & Nancy'? A catastrophic 'account' of the run-up to Spungen's death, IMO.

I'm a big fan of The Pistols and not ashamed to admit i'm fascinated by the guy.

22-06-2011, 05:00 PM
Joe Strummer.
Alex Harvey.

hibbill2002
22-06-2011, 05:32 PM
John Lee Hooker

22-06-2011, 06:13 PM
Buddy Holly

:agree: first into my head

Then Freddie. Others I can think off

Bon Scott
Phil Lynott
Cozy Powell
Alex Harvey
Randy Rhoads
Cliff Burton
Steve Clark
John Bonham
Stevie Ray Vaughan
Jeff Healey
Glenn Miller
Karen Carpenter
Nat King Cole
Michael Jackson

22-06-2011, 06:42 PM
Ian Curtis
Sam Cooke

22-06-2011, 06:49 PM
Stuart Adamson
Michael Hutchence

2 of the finest front men.

22-06-2011, 07:10 PM
Sandy Denny
Biggie Smalls

Hillsidehibby
22-06-2011, 07:14 PM
Keith Moon

22-06-2011, 07:20 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VvgJ6cgHMGc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNycA1JNcno

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIp_N6bjj64

Anyone else watched 'Sid & Nancy'? A catastrophic 'account' of the run-up to Spungen's death, IMO.

I'm a big fan of The Pistols and not ashamed to admit i'm fascinated by the guy.

the guy was a fud, glenn matlock was the real pistols bass player. except of course on never mind the bollocks, it was steve jones who played both lead and bass guitar :wink:

22-06-2011, 07:40 PM
dave insurgent
darby crash

22-06-2011, 08:02 PM
Ian Curtis, Stuart Adamson, John Lennon, Marc Bolan and Steve Marriot.

22-06-2011, 09:46 PM
Kurt Cobain....Elvis.....Poly Styrene......Harry Horse (Swamptrash)...Bon Scott....Phil Lynott....Keith Moon....Paul Fox and Malcom Owen (The Ruts)

the most sadly missed however is Joe Strummer...there will never be another.

Sodje_18
22-06-2011, 10:20 PM
Tuoac, Eazy E, John Bonham, Jeff Buckley

22-06-2011, 10:28 PM
the guy was a fud, glenn matlock was the real pistols bass player. except of course on never mind the bollocks, it was steve jones who played both lead and bass guitar :wink:

Aye for the most part they turn off his bass amp for live shows! Guy couldnae play a note!

Lynn Strait, made one awesome album then died in a meth-fuelled car crash.

22-06-2011, 10:32 PM
Phil Lynott

Good shout.

22-06-2011, 11:53 PM
Hank Williams, who sowed the seeds of rock`n`roll in the 40`s, died of a heart attack at only 29, due to alcohol and drug problems.

He wrote this song in 1947, preceding a very similar sounding track by Bill Haley and the Comets that is widely claimed to be the first rock`n`roll record by some 6 years..

http://youtu.be/-Lza3NVH6Ig

vein
22-06-2011, 11:57 PM
Paul McCartney :fishin::duck:

23-06-2011, 12:05 AM
Hank Williams, who sowed the seeds of rock`n`roll in the 40`s, died of a heart attack at only 29, due to alcohol and drug problems.

He wrote this song in 1947, preceding a very similar sounding track by Bill Haley and the Comets that is widely claimed to be the first rock`n`roll record by some 6 years..

http://youtu.be/-Lza3NVH6Ig

In a similar vein there is Robert Johnson (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Johnson) who died even younger and his recordings have influenced some of the greatest musicians in the rock & blues arena.

Mixu62
23-06-2011, 12:55 AM
Ian Curtis
George Harrison.

23-06-2011, 03:48 AM
Tupac Shakur.

O.D.B.

23-06-2011, 08:29 AM
Paul Kossoff
Ronnie Van Zant
Dennis and Carl Wilson

deek
23-06-2011, 08:53 AM
Phil Lynott
Jim Morrison
Bon Scott
Eva Cassidy
Paul Kossof
John Lennon
Freddie Mercury
Jimi Hendrix

23-06-2011, 09:57 AM
Rory Gallagher, Frank Zappa, Robert Palmer, John Martyn.

Sid Vicious didn't die soon enough.

23-06-2011, 10:46 AM
Was never a fan, but Aaliyah was killed in a plane crash in 2001 - aged 22.

Sodje_18
23-06-2011, 10:57 AM
Only really liked one song from her (Fairytale of new york) but never the less Kirsty Maccoll anyone?

Calvin
23-06-2011, 08:49 PM
Jackie Wilson, 41 when he had his career ending heart attack, died when he was 49.

23-06-2011, 09:32 PM
Jackie Wilson, 41 when he had his career ending heart attack, died when he was 49.

Best darts player Sccotland ever produced.

23-06-2011, 09:36 PM
Best darts player Sccotland ever produced.

:agree: :not worth

23-06-2011, 11:01 PM
Tupac Shakur.

O.D.B.

ODB was well passed his musical shelf life by the time he passed on.

23-06-2011, 11:39 PM
Jeff Buckley, Kurt Cobain, probably the only 2 of that generation of musicians who didn't die of an overdose, Jimi, often wonder if the music business would be in the state it's in if all these guys were still plying their trade today.

24-06-2011, 12:35 AM
nate dogg:agree:

I would also say Big L.

Kings of Leon, well they died after three albums to me anyway.:taxi

24-06-2011, 10:21 AM
nate dogg:agree:

I would also say Big L.

Kings of Leon, well they died after three albums to me anyway.:taxi

:agree: First 3 albums were superb then what happened, sold out to crack USA :na na:

Jim Morrison
Kurt Cobain
Elvis Pressley
Keith Moon
Stevie Ray Vaughan

24-06-2011, 10:27 AM
Only really liked one song from her (Fairytale of new york) but never the less Kirsty Maccoll anyone?

Good call. She was much more than the co-singer on a Pogues single.

Bunter
25-06-2011, 05:09 PM
Good call. She was much more than the co-singer on a Pogues single.:agree:

Kirsty MacColl.
Pete de Freitas.
Stuart Adamson.
Malcolm Owen.
Joe Strummer.

Calling Sid Vicious a musician is stretching things a bit IMO.

27-06-2011, 05:38 AM
Think we should rename this thread 'musicians who died' because some of the people mentioned where drawing their pensions.

Anyway, has anybody mentioned Mozart?

27-06-2011, 06:55 AM
Think we should rename this thread 'musicians who died' because some of the people mentioned where drawing their pensions.

Anyway, has anybody mentioned Mozart?

Some of those mentioned were still producing great music at the time of their passing. They were a loss to music. How anybody could consider Sid Vicious a "loss" in any sense is beyond me.

Dr_Regal
27-06-2011, 08:05 AM
Layne Staley - Unbelievable(drugs)
Dimebag Darrell - the late Pantera guitarist, one of the best ever.(shot in the face by some redneck psycho)
Cliff Burton- Bassist for Metallica(Bus Crash)

27-06-2011, 09:33 AM
:agree: first into my head

Then Freddie. Others I can think off

Bon Scott
Phil Lynott
Cozy Powell
Alex Harvey
Randy Rhoads
Cliff Burton
Steve Clark
John Bonham
Stevie Ray Vaughan
Jeff Healey
Glenn Miller
Karen Carpenter
Nat King Cole
Michael Jackson

Some real musical "heavyweights" in the playing sense in there if I may say and, in particular a couple of my personal favourites, namely:-

Stevie Ray Vaughan
Anyone who really enjoys guitar playing at it's emotional, technical and soulful best could not help but marvel at Stevie Ray's incredible playing. Here are a couple of decent example's but the internet is packed with more if you are interested! Stevie Ray (and others) died in a helicopter crash in Wisconsin in 1990 after swapping flights with one due to take some of Eric Clapton's entourage to Chicago as he needed to leave that night due to prior commitments elsewhere. The flight he should have taken made it!

Little Wing (written by Hendrix) - played live (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAG-kX_IlUw) of course.

Lenny (written by SRV himself) - Live (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YIHvK5WN7I&feature=related) at El Mocambo in Toronto, Ontario during a tour in 1983.

John Henry Bonham - Led Zeppelin

Possibly one of the best rock drummers of all time whose driving power and rythym was a huge part of the Led Zep sound!

Here's possibly the best known drum solo in Moby Dick (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRuTcnd8YLU)!

And then another, Gary Moore, former Thin Lizzy guitarist, but sensational solo blues guitarist who died in a hotel on the Costa Del Sol in February this year.

This is a personal favourite of mine, The Stumble (written by Freddy King) - played live (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0nKJFVVoYM) at The Montreaux Jazz Festival in 1990.

Also, Still Got The Blues, famous for its brilliant solo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4O_YMLDvvnw&feature=related)which starts at 3:56 on this clip is worth recording too!

Too many too young! :agree:

Sodje_18
27-06-2011, 11:27 AM
Some of those mentioned were still producing great music at the time of their passing. They were a loss to music. How anybody could consider Sid Vicious a "loss" in any sense is beyond me.
At no point did I say he was a loss. I simply said he died very young, I presonally wasn't a fan of the sex pistols, but I'm sure they did have quite a lot of fans.

27-06-2011, 12:39 PM
And then another, Gary Moore, former Thin Lizzy guitarist, but sensational solo blues guitarist who died in a hotel on the Costa Del Sol in February this year.

I cannot believe I forgot Gary Moore :embarrass :hide:

One one the best guitarists I have ever had the pleasure to see playing live :not worth Unbelievable talent and wrote some fabulous songs over the years. Very sad when he died a few months ago.

Thanks for the links :thumbsup:

27-06-2011, 09:51 PM
I cannot believe I forgot Gary Moore :embarrass :hide:

One one the best guitarists I have ever had the pleasure to see playing live :not worth Unbelievable talent and wrote some fabulous songs over the years. Very sad when he died a few months ago.

Thanks for the links :thumbsup:

No worries, trust you enjoyed them as much as I did! :wink:

I was a huge fan of Gary Moore's live shows particularly those at Barrowlands in Glasgow which just seemed to have the right "ambience" and "atmosphere" for his style of playing! :agree: However good he was though, he did sometimes over-indulge himself with solos that were just too long even if demonstrations of fantastic technical ability! :confused:

However, it was easy to forgive him those instances just to hear him play blues in the way that it should be played! :wink:

04-07-2011, 09:09 AM
Some musicians that you wish were around to make more music. I'll start off with Sid Vicious and John Lennon :agree:

No offence boys, but WTF did Sid ever do for music? You are surely confusing him with Glenn Matlock, who is still alive.

Sid actually had quite a tragic life, and he was exploited mercilessly by McLaren. He was just a vulnerable guy and was made into a cartoon character. Lydon talks a lot of sense on the subject, and he knew Sid as well as anyone.

Buddy Holly

What could Buddy have achieved had he lived? I suppose the thing about having your career cut short at the top is that you manage to avoid the likes of Lennon's Double Fantasy album, or McCartney's Frog Chorus. People only remember the good stuff.

Joe Strummer.
Alex Harvey.

Both in their 50s when they carked, how old is "too young to die" these days?

Rory Gallagher, Frank Zappa, Robert Palmer, John Martyn.

Sid Vicious didn't die soon enough.

John Martyn was a genius, Sid was just a bloke that had attitude, there is no need to be that nasty about him.

Wow what a great thread for arguments!

I'd like to add Robert Johnson to the list.

Sodje_18
04-07-2011, 11:59 PM
Wow what a great thread for arguments!
I had no intention of creating such a thread :devil:

08-09-2011, 08:44 PM
I don't think he really qualifies for the 'age' thing, but I want to add Gerry Rafferty. I, like a lot of people, thought he was a one hit wonder with Baker street and never gave much attention to his music. I recently saw the TV Tribute to him and re-discovered how superb his work was. I'm now a 'born again', Rafferty fan.

08-09-2011, 08:53 PM
Lowell George

Warren Zevon

Forthview
08-09-2011, 09:22 PM
The brothers;
Johnny Ramone
DeeDee Ramone
Joey Ramone

Saw then live 7 times, amazing experience every time.

RIP:not worth

08-09-2011, 09:56 PM
Brian Jones
John Lennon
Eva Cassidy
Freddie Mercury
Kirsty McColl

09-09-2011, 02:25 PM
Mozart.

Schubert.

Bessie Smith.

Billie Holiday.

Art Tatum.

Charlie Parker.

Janis Joplin.

Jimi Hendrix.

Jim Morrison.

I won't start a list of the ones I consider lived far too long.... :devil:

Koom
10-09-2011, 02:45 PM
nobody mentined Amy Winehouse yet?? .....
Paul Gray, aka The Pig , Slipknot bass player, accidential drugs overdose..