02-03-2011, 11:30 AM
Should we bring him home. :agree:

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12876_6787727,00.html

02-03-2011, 11:37 AM
Calderwood said this after the Aberdeen game at ER last year: -

However, former Hibs winger Ivan Sproule will not be returning to Easter Road as he already joined Yeovil on loan from Bristol City last month and can't play for another club this season.
"He can't play - he has played for two clubs," Calderwood said. "It's a position where people are in contract, you are always limited to what happens in other squads.

02-03-2011, 11:43 AM
Yes absolutely

M11BMO
02-03-2011, 11:43 AM
I thought you could only play for a maximum of 2 teams in a season? :confused:

02-03-2011, 11:48 AM
NO

Or only if CC deems he is capable of doing a job for Hibs which i don't think he will.

02-03-2011, 11:50 AM
I thought you could only play for a maximum of 2 teams in a season? :confused:

Exactly.

He's 30, he's always been a rather limited player, and I'm far from convinced that this would be the best use we could make of his wage.

Retrograde step, IMO. Let the past remain the past.

02-03-2011, 11:55 AM
We should get him back as sprint training coach. :greengrin

02-03-2011, 11:58 AM
We should get him back as sprint training coach. :greengrin

Thats a cuishy job,"sprint now sprint faster"

hibeenicol
02-03-2011, 12:03 PM
Should we bring him home. :agree:

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12876_6787727,00.html

I'd have him back in a flash!!

02-03-2011, 12:04 PM
Maybe a couple of years I go I would have said yes but Ivan is now 30 and if folk expect him to be as fast as we was 5 years ago then they will be very disappointed.

Leave it in the past and let us remember him for turning over the huns at Ibrox.

02-03-2011, 12:36 PM
In 2007 John Collins wanted to add pace to his defence. He was a big admirer of Michael Hart of Aberdeen, desribed at the time as one the fastest full backs in the SPL. Rod apprently made enquiries and, never one to let a player fall off his radar tried again 2 years later, finally signing him for Yogi in 2010.

Hart is now 31 and enduring yet another period of injury - the fifth in his career. Given how De Graaf (31 soon) worked out and at 28 our own Deeko is not as fleet footed as in his heyday - it's a big gamble to give a 1 or 2 year contract to a 30-year old who couldn't hold down at place at Bristol City

Much as it pains me to say it

02-03-2011, 12:37 PM
Maybe a couple of years I go I would have said yes but Ivan is now 30 and if folk expect him to be as fast as we was 5 years ago then they will be very disappointed.

Leave it in the past and let us remember him for turning over the huns at Ibrox.

02-03-2011, 01:36 PM
NO

Or only if CC deems he is capable of doing a job for Hibs which i don't think he will.

:agree::agree:

We dont need IS IMO

02-03-2011, 01:45 PM

I think CC has a plan and a clear idea of where he sees the team this time next year. It appears to me this involves hungry, young players mixed with a bit of experiences. I just don't see where Ivan Sproule would fit into this.

Much as i loved him first time round i'd rather it wasn't soured by him coming back and not offering anything like what he did last time. Sproule has assured he will be remebered thanks to the hat trick at Ibrox, lets leave it that way.

02-03-2011, 01:46 PM
In 2007 John Collins wanted to add pace to his defence. He was a big admirer of Michael Hart of Aberdeen, desribed at the time as one the fastest full backs in the SPL. Rod apprently made enquiries and, never one to let a player fall off his radar tried again 2 years later, finally signing him for Yogi in 2010.

Hart is now 31 and enduring yet another period of injury - the fifth in his career. Given how De Graaf (31 soon) worked out and at 28 our own Deeko is not as fleet footed as in his heyday - it's a big gamble to give a 1 or 2 year contract to a 30-year old who couldn't hold down at place at Bristol City

Much as it pains me to say it

I would have liked to have seen him back at ER at some point, but as you say, hes getting older and a player whos game was mostly based on their pace isnt going to offer too much once that has gone.

As others have said, its probably best just to remember him for all the good times he had when he was a player for us!

02-03-2011, 02:06 PM
I suspect the signing of Vaz Te, if he’s lucky enough to get an extended contract with us, will be the Ivan style player in the team, but without the constant bookings and subsequent suspensions. What was it when he left us - 9 matches???

And if this is an indication of the level of CCs signings, assuming it works out, then Ivan doesn’t stand a chance of ‘coming home’ in any way other than a spectator.

02-03-2011, 06:48 PM
Bring Ivan home.

He can be our version of scakcel once more.

02-03-2011, 07:07 PM
I'd like to see him return but trust CC to make the correct call.

02-03-2011, 07:12 PM
Its largely a myth that speed always goes as you get older. Yes, approaching 40 perhaps. Look at sprinters- Linford Christie recorded his best times in his mid 30s and in football Giggs is a good example if you can stay clear of leg breaks and muscle tears you can still contribute speed

02-03-2011, 07:13 PM
Bring Ivan home.

He can be our version of scakcel once more.

As much as I love Ivan, that's a ridiculous comparison, Skackel is a far, far more accomplished footballer.

Ivan was a brilliant impact player, hurling him on with 20-25 minutes to go and using his pace against tired defenses. But his pace will undoubtedly have faded and without it I don't see what he would offer us.

I'd rather keep the memories of him as they are. Would be delighted to see him back at the club in some capacity one day, but I just don't think playing is it.

02-03-2011, 08:44 PM
Its largely a myth that speed always goes as you get older. Yes, approaching 40 perhaps. Look at sprinters- Linford Christie recorded his best times in his mid 30s and in football Giggs is a good example if you can stay clear of leg breaks and muscle tears you can still contribute speed

Perhaps, but then Christie and Giggs will have spent decades training with the very best and living the exact lifestyle required to pull that off.

02-03-2011, 10:24 PM
I would sign Sproule in a heartbeat.

He's only 30 years old, not 40, and I think knowing that he would be absolutely loved by the fans if he did come back, would help him to perform and play his best football.

Go on Colin, you know it makes sense. :agree:

Horse
02-03-2011, 11:06 PM
Would love to see Sproule back. People always talk of him only having pace but he also had skill, commitment, a good record of assists and was often a great finisher. Just watch a few youtube clips and you'll see what I mean.

Ironically because he was so fast his detractors point to that as his only strength when in reality, even if he lost a bit of his pace he would still be a very useful asset to many teams.

03-03-2011, 08:03 AM
This Sproule stuff is getting tedious. He was exciting on occasion, but he is not the player some think he is.

blaikie
03-03-2011, 12:05 PM
Would love to see Sproule back. People always talk of him only having pace but he also had skill, commitment, a good record of assists and was often a great finisher. Just watch a few youtube clips and you'll see what I mean.

Ironically because he was so fast his detractors point to that as his only strength when in reality, even if he lost a bit of his pace he would still be a very useful asset to many teams.

His last goal (or even last touch of a ball at ER) when he beat the two Celtic centre halfs and there keeper. That was more skill than pace,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKF4MZWSHG4 :thumbsup:

03-03-2011, 12:16 PM
This Sproule stuff is getting tedious. He was exciting on occasion, but he is not the player some think he is.

What he said! :top marks

MixuMac
03-03-2011, 12:27 PM
He is past his best

I was happy to see him go when he did so no way do I want to see him back.

Would rather remember the good times

Luna_Asylum
03-03-2011, 12:47 PM
Ivan = Hibees legend

Petrie petrie sign him up........

03-03-2011, 08:21 PM

His last goal (or even last touch of a ball at ER) when he beat the two Celtic centre halfs and there keeper. That was more skill than pace,

Just aboot greetin watching that, come back wee man we love you and play out your days with your beloved Hibernians

03-03-2011, 08:24 PM
Perhaps, but then Christie and Giggs will have spent decades training with the very best and living the exact lifestyle required to pull that off.
I think Lindfords "retirement" from the track was somewhat clouded.

03-03-2011, 08:25 PM

Correct!

Lets remember him as he was, but don't tarnish it by bringing back a player who's time has gone.

TrinityHibs
03-03-2011, 08:59 PM

Thats why I have real issues with John Collins. Ivan was a joy to watch in a very good team and was driven away.

04-03-2011, 10:50 PM
signed with notts county on loan till end o season

04-03-2011, 10:53 PM
signed with notts county on loan till end o season

Does that kybosh the stuff about him not being eligible to play for any other sides this season?

05-03-2011, 12:35 AM
Some of Ivan's best moves

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzd2DjLlR18

wazoo1875
05-03-2011, 12:43 AM
Some of Ivan's best moves

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzd2DjLlR18
That's my wee mate Liam doing the dancing and inviting Ivan up.
Not seen that for ages :aok:

05-03-2011, 12:44 AM
Not seen that for ages :aok:That was a great night :agree:

05-03-2011, 12:55 AM
Not seen that for ages :aok:

Think Ivan was out for six weeks after that due to a hamstring injury. :greengrin

05-03-2011, 08:20 AM
I'd take him back in a shot personally.

05-03-2011, 08:24 AM
He's off to Notts County for a month

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11719_6794985,00.html

greenlad
05-03-2011, 08:27 AM
Does that kybosh the stuff about him not being eligible to play for any other sides this season?

No

The lower division English clubs are exempt from these rules, which is why they can also sign players on loan outwith the transfer window. As an SPL side Hibs are not exempt from these rules however.