View Full Version : Do You Remember Your First Hibs Game?

billbee
19-02-2011, 07:21 PM
Got taking by my 2 Uncles to see Hibs v Roma (in 61 I think) one was a Jambo the other lived in Bathgate and followed the Celtic - guess I could have ended up at Swinie or Darkheid - but something magical happened when I saw the Hibs for the first time, no what I mean! been a life time of magic - Ive a feelin theres more to come! We Are HFC :agree:

19-02-2011, 07:27 PM
1991 Skol cup final :agree: Does this make me a glory fan? :greengrin

I have some class photos from the day too.

19-02-2011, 07:28 PM
Vividly!

I didn't get to ER as young as some, I was 13 when I went to my first game. We lived quite a bit out of town and it would've cramped my Dad's style to take me, though I always considered myself a Hibby. That means I remember the first game well.

It was the '79 Scottish Cup QF against Hearts. We won 2-1, there was massive trouble among the Hearts fans... and I was hooked. After that I got a part-time job and went to every game I could.

I'm still as demented 32 years later :greengrin

tanfield
19-02-2011, 07:30 PM
First game I can remember is pat stanton's testimonial in 78. Can remember being really excited by the fact that roughie was in goals for hibs! :)

19-02-2011, 07:31 PM
We were in the First Division, against St Mirren, sat in the East, think Stevie Crawford scored haha

19-02-2011, 07:33 PM
A 0-1 defeat by St Johnstone at ER in 1984, aged 4. Very vague memories of it, more to do with the stadium and other fans as opposed to the game itself. Recall being mesmerised by the old, roofless east terracing, thinking it stretched up to the sky.

19-02-2011, 07:35 PM
Versus Bolton Wanderers pre season friendly 1962 we won 2-0, still got original programme :agree:

19-02-2011, 07:35 PM
I was at some before but the first one I truly remember was a 2-2 draw against Rangers at ER. Jonny Graham scored with a header and I was in the North enclosure at it was then.

19-02-2011, 07:42 PM
Seeing as I was 2 weeks old, no.

19-02-2011, 08:06 PM
St J 0-2 Hibs, November 1974

Stanton and O'Rourke scored headers! :thumbsup:

Bought the prog off eBay for a £1 a couple of years ago - one of my most treasured possessions :agree:

19-02-2011, 08:09 PM
Scottish cup... Beat Clyde 2-1 at ER.

Wee Crunchie scored the winner.

Got papped out next round by hearts and a certain Wayne Foster nutmeg

PapillonVert
19-02-2011, 08:09 PM
v. Partick Thistle.

7 - 0 for the Hi-bees.

19-02-2011, 08:11 PM
vs. Motherwell at Easter Road.

We won 4-1, 94-95 season IIRC.

Edit: Checked ihibs.co.uk and it was 4-2 to Hibs on 21/10/1995.

Darren Jackson got 2, Keef and Michael O'Neill got 1 each.

19-02-2011, 08:14 PM
Versus motherwell, hibs won 4 nil, think it would be 84/85. Jim gardiner was in goal for well wearing tights.

19-02-2011, 08:24 PM
v St Johnstone, 19.11.83.

Won 4-1 and Bobby Thompson knocked out the linesman. :greengrin

hibsfan7
19-02-2011, 08:29 PM
yes last game of the 67 season we got beat 2-0 by airdrie but we were already in europe

19-02-2011, 08:31 PM
pre season friendly v middlesboro...1971....2.0 for boro.....joe baker was making his return to hibs and nobby stiles was playing for boro...baker had a couple of goals disallowed and he was wearing white boots....the stand smelt of cigars and i got a row off my dad for playing with my football cards when i should have been watching the game...all the people in the stand dressed like ron atkinson..

Reaper
19-02-2011, 08:31 PM
Mine was the FC Liege game in 1989. I was 8. I can't remember much about the game other than standing wi some other wee laddies next to the wall at the FF end of the East Stand. GGTTH!:aok:

19-02-2011, 08:37 PM
1987 the home game preceding the match with Celtic so I reckon it was against the sheep. Don't remember much. More about the game with Celtic as I lost it with the antics of that dirty git Roy Aitken

Reaper
19-02-2011, 08:42 PM
Mine was the FC Liege game in 1989. I was 8. I can't remember much about the game other than standing wi some other wee laddies next to the wall at the FF end of the East Stand. GGTTH!:aok:

Just been informed by my Dad that I'm talking *****. My first game was actually the 1989 cup Semi against Smeltic just after the Hilsborough disaster. I remember it as well as the Hibs fans sang 'Tommy Burns' is a ****** and I asked the teacher at school on the monday what a ****** was. My Dad also bought the scarf I still take to games now. :not worth

19-02-2011, 08:56 PM
George Best's home debut, 2-1 v Partick december 1979. Over 20,000 squeezed in.

Frogga
19-02-2011, 09:03 PM
Think mine is the most recent of everyone in this thread so far. I was 7 and it was on my sister's birthday.

15th August 1996 - Hibs 2 v 0 Motherwell. Darren Jackson got both the goals.

19-02-2011, 09:07 PM
Will have been 1984 cant remember what game, really makes me jealous people remember their first game.

All I remember is that it was in the old East and I sat on the stairs for most of it :faf:

19-02-2011, 09:11 PM
Millenium Derby at Tynecastle. What a night!!!

19-02-2011, 09:11 PM
Will have been 1984 cant remember what game, really makes me jealous people remember there first game.

All I remember is that it was in the old East and I sat on the stairs for most of it :faf:

Don't you remember anything about the game. Who it was against, time of year, was it freezing or an early season match?

I'm sure we can figure out the game if you can remember anything about it. :greengrin

19-02-2011, 09:16 PM
Don't you remember anything about the game. Who it was against, time of year, was it freezing or an early season match?

I'm sure we can figure out the game if you can remember anything about it. :greengrin

Was a sunny day haha, starting to think i was a late developer or backward 4 year old, My Dad will know exactly but will be taking great delight in not telling me.

First game I can properly remember was Souness debut although cant think why haha

stevenhibs
19-02-2011, 09:18 PM
Hibs 0, Aberdeen 5.

Somehow I'm still a Hibs fan. Incidentally I took my son to his first game recently. The 2-2 draw v Aberdeen last season. When they went 2-0 up I though.... Here we go again! He fell asleep for both Hibs goals though and he's a Bristol Rovers fan now! Don't ask!!! :confused:

19-02-2011, 09:19 PM
Aye,
26th September 1976 v St Johnstone
We scored 9. Lifted over, up the huuuuuuuuuge terrace for a look, then back doon, perched atop a crush barrier near the centre line, legs dangling absently, like those of a more balletic Bremner. Schaedler solid and supreme; sweeties, juice and crisps and a macaroon bar. Half-Time pies and bookies pencils filling in the scores on myriad programme back pages in accordance with the big board that proclaimed in capitals: A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H. Kensitas smoke vying with the tang of Bovril, knowing heads sagatiously considering as the game unfolds, littered with swear words but no offence taken (at least in not in the immediate proxemity).

It was my first proper encounter with the real mans world and it was intoxicating. The next home game was against Partick and we won 2-0 and I was a bit miffed.

I have been both intoxicated and miffed ever since.

Badge
19-02-2011, 09:21 PM
My auld man's no here any anymore, unfortunately, to tell me exactly but I remember Barcelona, Real Madrid and Third Lanark from when I was a boy.

19-02-2011, 09:23 PM
Was a sunny day haha, starting to think i was a late developer or backward 4 year old, My Dad will know exactly but will be taking great delight in not telling me.

First game I can properly remember was Souness debut although cant think why haha

Sunny day, might have been end of season 83/84 or start of season 84/85. 0-0 draw against the Huns (May 84) or 0-0 draw against Celtic (Aug 84) spring to mind. :hmmm:

19-02-2011, 09:28 PM
Sunny day, might have been end of season 83/84 or start of season 84/85. 0-0 draw against the Huns (May 84) or 0-0 draw against Celtic (Aug 84) spring to mind. :hmmm:

May well have been, I will ask him again but alas not content with passing on the rollercoaster ride of joy that is Hibs to his boys, as me being the biggest Hibs fan of them all he will continue his mental torture by not telling me.

I really should have phoned childline as a kid :greengrin

weedgiehibbie
19-02-2011, 09:30 PM
mine was at home to Partick Thistle in the Scottish Cup 91-92 - 2-0 hibs win

the BBC highlights have appeared on youtube making the action "easier" to remember :greengrin

19-02-2011, 09:30 PM
May well have been, I will ask him again but alas not content with passing on the rollercoaster ride of joy that is Hibs to his boys, as me being the biggest Hibs fan of them all he will continue his mental torture by not telling me.

I really should have phoned childline as a kid :greengrin

My oldest daughter will always remember her first game, it was when Colin Nish scored for Killie against Hibs and she cheered when he scored. Shouldn't be too hard to figure out what the game was in the future. :greengrin

19-02-2011, 09:36 PM
My oldest daughter will always remember her first game, it was when Colin Nish scored for Killie against Hibs and she cheered when he scored. Shouldn't be too hard to figure out what the game was in the future. :greengrin

:faf: must be the way, we took my nephew last season when he was 3 against St Johnstone in the CIS Cup, we scored right away so we were all thinking right he is the new lucky charm so he is coming to every game, didn't turn out to well in the end.

But another one into the faith isnt bad:agree:

cheltenhamhibee
19-02-2011, 09:55 PM
Dec '72 for me, pumped Ayr Utd 8 - 1, oh how times have changed !!! :wink:

7Hero
19-02-2011, 10:06 PM
george bests last game was my first, i was 5 yrs old.

19-02-2011, 10:09 PM
As far as I can recall it was at Easter Road on the 3rd December 1966. A 6-0 win against Stirling Albion. Goals from Joe Davis (47 goals for Hibs and 39 of them were penalties), Big John MacNamee, Peter Cormack, Jimmy O'Rourke and 2 from Eric Stevenson who IMHO was one of the finest wingers to play for Hibs.

http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=2948

19-02-2011, 10:12 PM
2-2 v Cowdenbeath. 1970-71 and my old boy took me to the Centre Stand, or what I came to know as the 'Centre Stand'.
Late Blackley eqauliser so he was my hero for about a week until I had Paddy properly explained to me.

jarre1875
19-02-2011, 10:12 PM
Ayr United. 1st game after winning the league cup in 72. :flag:

Took my brother to his 1st game and that was St Johnstone when Booby Thomson thumped the linesman (right in front of us to) 1 of the only times ive been in the main stand :thumbsup:

19-02-2011, 10:50 PM
Hibs 3-1 Morton. Last day of the season (85, 86?). Andy Goram scored with a kickout. Very vague but remember the Morton keeper had a Rudi Voller mullet.

19-02-2011, 10:54 PM
Hibs 3-1 Morton. Last day of the season (85, 86?). Andy Goram scored with a kickout. Very vague but remember the Morton keeper had a Rudi Voller mullet.

Last day season 1987/88. :wink:

http://users.quista.net/fraserp/Season87-88/070588morton.htm

19-02-2011, 11:08 PM
First match at ER was Scottish Cup semi - final Dundee v Third Lanark in 1952 and all I remember was getting to sit on the giant Police Horse under the old North Stand after that I do not know , was only 4 and was attending the odd game until 1957 and The Baker Boy arrived WOW I was the hooked.:hibees

19-02-2011, 11:09 PM
Last day season 1987/88. :wink:

http://users.quista.net/fraserp/Season87-88/070588morton.htm

Quality link, cheers.

My dad took me to watch Meadowbank for a while a I was only allowed to watch Hibs when I was a bit older.'good things come to those that wait...

NthCarolinaHibs
19-02-2011, 11:11 PM
My old man took me to the Fairs Cup game against Lokomotive Leipzig, in 1968..a polisman gave him two tickets to the Centre Stand,on the way to the ground, and a hatrick from Joe McBride saw us into the next round, after winning the second leg over there. Can mind being in the old Cowshed in the next round against Hamburg, and McBride scored right at the end, but we went out on 'away goals' Surely had to be one of the first years the 'away goals' rule came into play... :rolleyes:

19-02-2011, 11:17 PM
Not sure what my first was - have a vivid memory of playing Strasbourg on a european night '78 I think? :dunno: But I'm pretty sure my Dad took me to games before that.

CapitalHibs
19-02-2011, 11:20 PM
I'm sure someone will beat this one -BUT....

October 19th 1959 (had to look it up!)

Friendly at Easter Road. Hibs v Bolton Wanderers Dad took me to the centre stand:greengrin

Hibs 5 Bolton2

After the game, I remember everyone in the place yaking about a terrific young prospect by the name of Joe Baker. Cannae quite remember if he got two or three goals that night.

19-02-2011, 11:21 PM
Not sure what my first was - have a vivid memory of playing Strasbourg on a european night '78 I think? :dunno: But I'm pretty sure my Dad took me to games before that.

You sound a bit like me. I can't for the life of me remember half the games I went to when I first started going in the mid sixties. I can't even remember if I was at the 7-0 game in 1973. :greengrin

I now wish I had kept a diary.

19-02-2011, 11:25 PM
Just looked this up on the excellent iHibs website as I had a memory of a cup trip my Dad took me to in Motherwell.

6th March 1976 - we drew 2-2. Replay was 1-1 (don't remember being at that) then 2nd replay was at a neutral ground :confused: Was that the norm?

We lost 2-1.

Anyway I was 8 years old - I'll need to ask my Dad if there was an earlier one :greengrin

19-02-2011, 11:28 PM

Friendly at Easter Road. Hibs v Bolton Wanderers Dad took me to the centre stand:greengrin

Hibs 5 Bolton2

After the game, I remember everyone in the place yaking about a terrific young prospect by the name of Joe Baker. Cannae quite remember if he got two or three goals that night.

Only 3d for a programme. :greengrin

http://cgi.ebay.ph/Hibernian-v-Bolton-Wanderers-F-19-10-1959-/160507863580

NthCarolinaHibs
19-02-2011, 11:32 PM
Not sure what my first was - have a vivid memory of playing Strasbourg on a european night '78 I think? :dunno: But I'm pretty sure my Dad took me to games before that.Strasbourg was '79...went to the away game in France, on the St Giles bus...deary deary me..what a trip that was :agree: Left the Hibs club at midnight on the Sunday..got there tea time Tuesday :rockin:

CapitalHibs
19-02-2011, 11:36 PM
Only 3d for a programme. :greengrin

http://cgi.ebay.ph/Hibernian-v-Bolton-Wanderers-F-19-10-1959-/160507863580

:aok::top marks

So I wisnae making it up!... though for years I swore it was Tottenham Hotspur we were playing. Same strip though...white shirts with navy pants. Easy to see how an 11 year old laddie could get easily confused:wink:

20-02-2011, 12:01 AM

Hibs 5 Bolton2

Forgot to say I don't know how many he scored against Bolton in 1959 but he did score two against the Yams that year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBBqcZ55l2w&feature=related

:not worth :not worth

francobaresi
20-02-2011, 12:11 AM
Hibs v hearts in the early 70's at ER... Got beat & remember someone patting my head saying we'll win sometime son on ER! Walked backed to Sighthill via the toon... It was New Year....

4 Front Teeth
20-02-2011, 12:22 AM
Hibs vs dunbarton..... relegation dogfight, we won. After asking to go thousands of times, my dad finally took me, because I told him we could get relegated if we lost, he was impressed that I semi knew what I was talking about, but I actually had no idea what I was talking about, I was just copying something I heard another kid say, I still loved every split second of it. I also loved being able to go to school and say (casually) that I'd been to the game.

Chibs
20-02-2011, 06:09 AM
I dont remember the first other than that I had to put on my sunday school clothes and being lifted over the turnstile to the East Terracing, two tier at the time,and the buzz and excitement I felt as the cave chanted Marinello Marinello.
It was love at first sight that will never end.

Its strange that I now despise religion but love Hibernian.

Hibee till I die.

hibee81
20-02-2011, 06:41 AM
30th Sep 2000, away to st johnstone we won 3 nil, remember it well because i couldnt stop laughing at latapy, was bent down tying his laces when matty jack passed him the ball, the crowd shouted to let him know there was a player approaching him aswell as the ball, not fazed he stood up steped over the ball and left the super j's player stood still while he waltzed away with the ball. pure class

20-02-2011, 07:16 AM
Stirling Albion 4 Hibees 1. Long time ago. 69 maybe?

20-02-2011, 08:23 AM
Mine was a 0-0 against aberdeen in aberdeen, think it was 1993 maybe 94, jim leighton was in goals

Mac
20-02-2011, 09:24 AM
Unfortunately i have had to rely on my dad to tell me about my first game as i dont really remember it, it was about 75/76 and it was against Celtic at ER, finished 1-1 and i think Schades scored for Hibs and Deans for Celtic, just a pity i cant remember.

Black Kyle
20-02-2011, 02:49 PM
v Malmo, 0-0, pre-season friendly 69-70 I think.

20-02-2011, 02:52 PM
v Malmo, 0-0, pre-season friendly 69-70 I think.

We played Malmo in the fairs cup in 70/71 season & won 9-2 on agg, 6-0 at home, think McBride got three & Jim Blair two in the game leg, although memory wasn't what it was.

Hamilton 11-1 November 1965 was mine.

20-02-2011, 02:58 PM
13/08/2000

Hibs 5 - 1 Dundee

20-02-2011, 03:00 PM
pre season friendly v middlesboro...1971....2.0 for boro.....joe baker was making his return to hibs and nobby stiles was playing for boro...baker had a couple of goals disallowed and he was wearing white boots....the stand smelt of cigars and i got a row off my dad for playing with my football cards when i should have been watching the game...all the people in the stand dressed like ron atkinson..

That was Eddie Turnbull's first match as Hibs manager.

Joe Baker was signed in the Jan of that year by then manager, Dave Ewing & he made his second debut in the 2-1 win over Aberdeen. Pat Stanton's rocket was the first goal Bobby Clark had conceded in about nine matches & JB scored the second in Hibs 2-1 win.

thekaratekid
20-02-2011, 03:01 PM
Gordon Rae's testimonial against a Bryan Robson led Manchester United.

Tortolano got sent off early doors :greengrin

20-02-2011, 03:05 PM
13/08/2000

Hibs 5 - 1 Dundee

What a game that was! Agathes goal was something else.

20-02-2011, 03:12 PM
What a game that was! Agathes goal was something else.

It certainly was!

I've been browsing through Youtube in an attempt to relive the day; no luck so far though.

Edit: Still not found anything from that day, one of the 3 nils against Der Hun will have to do I suppose ; )

20-02-2011, 03:17 PM
It certainly was!

I've been browsing through Youtube in an attempt to relive the day; no luck so far though.

Ive also been on the lookout for footage of that for years. I was completely hammered during the game but my memory was of Agathe running through the entire Dundee defence like George Weah.

20-02-2011, 03:29 PM
Ive also been on the lookout for footage of that for years. I was completely hammered during the game but my memory was of Agathe running through the entire Dundee defence like George Weah.

Although I don't remember much about the rest of the game (probably something to do with the fact I was 10 at the time), Agathe's first goal played a major part in me going home as a reborn hibby.

Managed to find this (http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4156/is_20000813/ai_n13950362/)article on it, but thats about it.

Description of the goal we're talking about:

For the equaliser he gathered possession just inside the Dundee half and embarked on a direct, but mesmerising run towards Rab Douglas's goal. Marco de Marchi and Steven Tweed were both shrugged off as he broke into clear space in front of goal and, stumbling, flicked the ball over the keeper's body into the net.

AllyF
20-02-2011, 03:34 PM
In my first ever Hibs game we got relegated.

Great start to my career.

20-02-2011, 03:35 PM
A home game against Airdrie in the 1st division.

Hillsidehibby
20-02-2011, 03:44 PM
1968 v Falkirk. 3-2 win with Colin Stein scoring 2. My first Hibs hero, only to naff off to Rangers a month later.

20-02-2011, 03:48 PM
A 1-1 draw with Motherwell back in April (ish) in 1988 - I was going to go either to that game or the game 2 weeks later when Goram scored... :panic:

Super Joe scored for us, I think it was the equaliser...

Hibbie_Cameron
20-02-2011, 03:50 PM
A scottish cup game v Brechin. John Collins scored the only goal and i was 2 years old at the time

20-02-2011, 03:50 PM
In my first ever Hibs game we got relegated.

Great start to my career.

Jinx. :greengrin:

20-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Yup.

itchy07
20-02-2011, 05:05 PM
My dad took me to a 0-0 draw with Dunfermline, think it was a cup match round about 78. Think we went to the replay as well. Possibly the same season a trip through to Morton, he knew 2 players and we gave them a lift home. The first with my mates was the souness debut, i didn't have a ticket and bunged the guy a fiver on the gate, i was hooked for life.

Ottawa Hibs
20-02-2011, 05:06 PM
St J 0-2 Hibs, November 1974

Stanton and O'Rourke scored headers! :thumbsup:

Bought the prog off eBay for a £1 a couple of years ago - one of my most treasured possessions :agree:

Mine was also Hibs vs St.Johnstone - mid -70s can't be long after but Jimmy was playing for St. Johnstone by then and scored in a 1-0 win at Easter Road. Was still hooked. Remember being awed when saw the pitch for the first time, and wondering why Arthur Montford wasn't commentating over the loudspeaker system!

The Hurricane
20-02-2011, 06:00 PM
First game was against the huns cant remember the exact year but early to mid sixties Jim Baxter was playing but the cabbage beat them 3-2 magic

Gala Foxes
20-02-2011, 06:04 PM
Motherwell (Home) 13/12/1975 won 1-0 , Pat Stanton

West Upper
20-02-2011, 06:11 PM
Hibs 4-2 St Mirren at Easter Road in the 2000/2001 Season

20-02-2011, 06:16 PM
My uncle, who had played for the Hibees in the 1920's, took me to a "Southern League" match , in November 1940, ( can't remember the date)

Hibs 7 V Falkirk 1

Cuthbertson scored four , including three in five minutes :not worth
Sadly can't remember anything about the game It is 70 years ago after all :greengrin

heidtheba
20-02-2011, 06:18 PM
Yup - late January 1993 and we were playing Rangers at ER. My mate at Uni bought me my ticket for my 18th birthday.
We lost 4-3 and I remember two things
1/ I spent more time watching and listening to the crowd than the game itself and
2/ I used the word 'we' when talking about the game and somehow it felt right.

Dunno why but as a kid there were two places I hated in Edinburgh - the Grange and Leith Walk, I think it was cos they both went on for ages but after that match I loved hitting Leith Walk and putting the scarf on. Felt so right somehow.

The Hurricane
20-02-2011, 06:20 PM
First game was against the huns cant remember the exact year but early to mid sixties Jim Baxter was playing but the cabbage beat them 3-2 magic

My son just checked on iHibs, was 27/08/66.

20-02-2011, 06:25 PM
In the first divison, against Ayr United. Think we won 4-2 or something like that, anyone know the exact score?

jackhfc
20-02-2011, 07:10 PM
At home to Dundee, 5-0 or 5-1 to hibs I think, 1999 or 2000 I think:thumbsup:

MUPPET
20-02-2011, 07:11 PM
early 80s and we got beat by St Mirren at home - John Blackley or Berti Auld were manager - folk were chucking their scarfs on the pitch and shouting for blackley/auld to get sacked etc etc - why did i ever get hooked in !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

20-02-2011, 07:12 PM
In the first divison, against Ayr United. Think we won 4-2 or something like that, anyone know the exact score?

:agree: 4-2 was the right score for the home game in the August of that season.

PapillonVert
20-02-2011, 07:18 PM
v. Partick Thistle.

7 - 0 for the Hi-bees.

24 September 1966 according to iHibs! Jings.

Purple & Green
20-02-2011, 08:26 PM
My uncle, who had played for the Hibees in the 1920's, took me to a "Southern League" match , in November 1940, ( can't remember the date)

Hibs 7 V Falkirk 1

Cuthbertson scored four , including three in five minutes :not worth
Sadly can't remember anything about the game It is 70 years ago after all :greengrin

http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=1778

Who was your uncle if you don't mind me asking?

Purple & Green
20-02-2011, 08:31 PM
1968 v Falkirk. 3-2 win with Colin Stein scoring 2. My first Hibs hero, only to naff off to Rangers a month later.

The evening times says it was Cormack - first goal in the first half, equaliser in 80 mins and Joe Davis scored a penalty winner in 89 mins

hibernian36
20-02-2011, 08:55 PM
Will need to check with my old man on this one but was always getting smuggled in through the turnstyle between his legs in the old seated enclosure (now the Famous 5). I remember one of my first games as a Hibs kid was against Kilmarnock in the early 80's when we beat them 8-1. I was sitting in the main stand and kept having to ask a lady sitting next to me what the score was ! :greengrin

AndersonGGTTH
20-02-2011, 09:52 PM
2000? a was only five ... hibs stranaaer .. 4-0? cant mind much but sure de la cruz scored ???? anyone know! i remember the game for when my dad missed two goals when he went to wait in a que to get my first ever football pie in the old east <3

Purple & Green
20-02-2011, 10:04 PM
2000? a was only five ... hibs stranaaer .. 4-0? cant mind much but sure de la cruz scored ???? anyone know! i remember the game for when my dad missed two goals when he went to wait in a que to get my first ever football pie in the old east <3

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=4621

AndersonGGTTH
20-02-2011, 10:10 PM
http://www.ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=4621

:aok: , was tottaly of the mark though apart from the score , i was only five/six lol

killie-hibby
20-02-2011, 10:21 PM
Hibs v The Army 1956 maybe. The only names I remember from the game are Bobby Johnstone and Jackie Plenderleith.

20-02-2011, 10:48 PM
http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=4423

20-02-2011, 10:55 PM
Will need to check with my old man on this one but was always getting smuggled in through the turnstyle between his legs in the old seated enclosure (now the Famous 5). I remember one of my first games as a Hibs kid was against Kilmarnock in the early 80's when we beat them 8-1. I was sitting in the main stand and kept having to ask a lady sitting next to me what the score was ! :greengrin

http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=3771 :aok:

billbee
21-02-2011, 07:05 AM
This post making me feel auld - looking through them 99% all your first games seemed like we won - definately magical - keep them comming - Mon The Hibs

TrickyNicky
21-02-2011, 07:44 AM
I remember my first game awright.
I was 5 and it was V Hearts at Easter Road.
It was a midweek night and two of my uncles took me because they said " Tonight's the night that The Hibs were goin tae put the Hearts doon and if ever there's a baptism, this is it "!

it was 2 all, ( 2 from Des Bremner ) a late goal by Hibs, ruled off-side, " ruined the dream " as they said!

They were going to take me to Rugby Park on the Saturday but my mum said they were becoming obsessed with Hearts getting relegated.

Wish I had gone - they were relegated that day.

I don't really have a big hatred for Hearts myself, after seeing grown-men cheer an offside decision like they had been spared their lives, it slightly repulsed me!
It was so pathetic, I almost never wanted to see them again as it almost made me embarrassed to be human !

Footnote:
For the record - I am human !!

Hillsidehibby
21-02-2011, 08:53 AM
The evening times says it was Cormack - first goal in the first half, equaliser in 80 mins and Joe Davis scored a penalty winner in 89 mins

I have just checked ihibs and it says Peter Cormack scored 2 as well.

You mean to say I have gone all these years thinking it was Colin Stein???????

Glad he went to the huns now!!:greengrin

mr mojo risin
21-02-2011, 08:59 AM
one of my first games was v Dundee about 1884 and i am sure Paul Kane scored direct from corner kick. Think it finished 3-1. Ring any bells?

21-02-2011, 09:13 AM
November 1968. Hibs v Celtc. We were 2-1 up with 10 minutes to go and ended up losing 5-2!

Thigh ar la
21-02-2011, 09:19 AM
Was around 1980 against Man City or was it Coventry? Anyway it was some kind of 4 team tournament maybe with Hearts involved too. I too was sold from the moment I set foot in the ground!

21-02-2011, 10:45 AM
First game I can remember is pat stanton's testimonial in 78. Can remember being really excited by the fact that roughie was in goals for hibs! :)

:thumbsup: That was one of my first games as well - Dalgleish scored for the Hibees IIRC - to add to a penalty from the great man himself.

Pretty sure I went to another Hibs - Celtic game shortly before then which Hibs also won - but the fishul site lists a 4-1 win to Hibs - sure I would have remembered that :confused:

capi
21-02-2011, 10:59 AM
My first at ER was a reserve game against St Mirren on the 23rd of November 1963. Lost 1 - 0.
The following Saturday I saw the 'big team' beat Aberdeen 2 - 0. John Baxter and Eric Stevenson (pen). Seem to remember Baxter's shot almost taking Tubby Ogston into the net with it.

21-02-2011, 11:57 AM
8 goals past Ayr first home game after League Cup was won 1972. I wish i'd got taken to tynecastle for next new year game.

Purple & Green
21-02-2011, 12:09 PM
one of my first games was v Dundee about 1884 and i am sure Paul Kane scored direct from corner kick. Think it finished 3-1. Ring any bells?

That was this game, Paul Kane did score directly from a corner kick and it was the week after the SKOL Cup final defeat. http://www.ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=3882

Jim_in_Canada
21-02-2011, 01:27 PM
Actually, I don't remember.

Perhaps someone could help me here - I believe it was against Manchester United in the mid-fifties - and I also believe we won.

I really would like to find out what the score was !!!

Jim

NthCarolinaHibs
21-02-2011, 08:53 PM
Was that no the Gordon smith testimonial..think the Hibs won 5-2 :thumbsup:

21-02-2011, 09:07 PM
Was that no the Gordon smith testimonial..think the Hibs won 5-2 :thumbsup:

Even better than that.

Gordon Smith's testimonial game was arranged for 15 September 1952 against Manchester United, the champions of England. The two title winners were in together for a British decider. It was one of football's classic encounters. Eddie Turnbull hit a hat-trick, Lawrie Reilly struck twice and there was a goal each for Smith and Ormond as Hibs ran out 7-3 winners. In fact many older Hibs fans will tell you that this was the greatest game they have ever seen.

21-02-2011, 09:12 PM

You're doing well! :greengrin

NthCarolinaHibs
21-02-2011, 09:15 PM
Even better than that.

Gordon Smith's testimonial game was arranged for 15 September 1952 against Manchester United, the champions of England. The two title winners were in together for a British decider. It was one of football's classic encounters. Eddie Turnbull hit a hat-trick, Lawrie Reilly struck twice and there was a goal each for Smith and Ormond as Hibs ran out 7-3 winners. In fact many older Hibs fans will tell you that this was the greatest game they have ever seen.:top marks I still have the programme for that game..

21-02-2011, 09:18 PM
You're doing well! :greengrin

Kano's looking quite sprightly anaw! :greengrin

21-02-2011, 09:21 PM
No idea who Hibs were playing but, as a wee laddie, I remember my dad "lifted me up high upon his shoulder" (to quote the song). We were on the top half of the old east terracing. It would have been season 52/53-ish. Possibly the FF were playing?
My only memory of the game is that of a view similar to watching a game of subutteo. The players looked so small from the top of the hill.

21-02-2011, 09:23 PM
8 goals past Ayr first home game after League Cup was won 1972. I wish i'd got taken to tynecastle for next new year game.

That was one of the first I recall I was 9 yrs old. I had been going since i was 5 or 6 but cant recall many to be honest too busy playing with my cousins :greengrin

21-02-2011, 09:27 PM
November 1968. Hibs v Celtc. We were 2-1 up with 10 minutes to go and ended up losing 5-2!

I remember that game more than most of the games I've been to all for the wrong reasons. Was in the Dunbar end when Joe Davis scored with a penalty to put us 2-1 up. Was really looking forward to my pie supper at the Albert Street chippie on the way home until Celtic hit us with four goals.

21-02-2011, 09:29 PM
No idea who Hibs were playing but, as a wee laddie, I remember my dad "lifted me up high upon his shoulder" (to quote the song). We were on the top half of the old east terracing. It would have been season 52/53-ish. Possibly the FF were playing?
My only memory of the game is that of a view similar to watching a game of subutteo. The players looked so small from the top of the hill.

They still do. :greengrin

21-02-2011, 10:50 PM
They still do. :greengrin

LOL :faf:
:greengrin VG

22-02-2011, 11:41 AM
one of my first games was v Dundee about 1884

You must have seen us winning the Scottish Cup then.

:flag: :flag:

Exiled Hibby
22-02-2011, 02:29 PM

snap!!
cant remember a thing about it - my dad was a falkirk fan so he was trying to get me to become a Bairn - failed miserably I'm proud to say

22-02-2011, 02:40 PM

I was there, probably the 1st game i remember, although had been going with my dad for a few years previously. They had a player called Yogi Hughes, and he broke Bobby Duncans leg that day. The crack was heard all round the ground.

clashcityhibby
22-02-2011, 02:45 PM
remember mine, a 2-1 home loss to Dun Utd, date just happened to be 3rd May 1986 :greengrin

Funny thing looking back is that I considered myself a Hibs fan long before being taken to a game but I probably knew little else about Scottish football, so I was probably unaware of Hearts losing out on the title that day. The few things I recall are that I was sat in the old south stand, the terracing was a sea of scarves and celebration, I think Steve Cowan scored a pen and my old man bought me a small Hibs badge in a shop down easter road that I still wear to this day. Game was probably rank but as a 9 year old the whole day out left a huge impression on me and its been an addiction ever since.

22-02-2011, 02:52 PM
Stirling Albion 1, Hibernian 0.

1st April 1967

Found out many years later that it was my future brother in law - the late Dave Grant - who had scored the goal.

:boo hoo:

22-02-2011, 03:03 PM
Think mine was a friendly in 1968 v Newcastle at home. Cant remember much beyond that. Colin Stein was my first hero.

22-02-2011, 05:00 PM
1948 with my grandad in the stand against either Clyde or Third Lanark.

billbee
23-02-2011, 01:09 PM
1948 with my grandad in the stand against either Clyde or Third Lanark.

Ancient Hibee Take A Bow ! :aok:

23-02-2011, 01:32 PM
Jings n' help ma boab

I think I was 7 years old so that would be 1960 :rolleyes:

I think Hibs won 3-2 against Killie and the crowd looked massive to me, probably cause there was probably maybe 20-25,000 there

Biggest memory was a guy getting rolled down the old east terracing by people on their shoulders with blood pouring from his head , dont know if he was pished and fell or a bottle or something

Luna Landing
23-02-2011, 02:55 PM
First game was a League Cup section game in August 1968 - got taken by my Dad and Uncle . It finished 2-0 to Hibs although I cant remember who scored . All I really remember was that it was a midweek game and Brockville was packed - in fact the terracing was so tight it was pretty scary -especially when Hibs scored

23-02-2011, 05:02 PM
First game was a League Cup section game in August 1968 - got taken by my Dad and Uncle . It finished 2-0 to Hibs although I cant remember who scored . All I really remember was that it was a midweek game and Brockville was packed - in fact the terracing was so tight it was pretty scary -especially when Hibs scored

:agree: A great night it was indeed.

Cormack and an own goal.

23-02-2011, 05:57 PM
1960/61 dunfermline at easter road

billbee
23-02-2011, 06:07 PM
I was there, probably the 1st game i remember, although had been going with my dad for a few years previously. They had a player called Yogi Hughes, and he broke Bobby Duncans leg that day. The crack was heard all round the ground.

I remember that, it was a terrible tackle, I think wee Pat Quinn got revenge on Yogi next game at ER and put him over the boundary wall, think Yogi took an ankle break, wonder what Mr Conroy and Co would have thought of the tackles in them days!

23-02-2011, 06:19 PM
one of my first games was v Dundee about 1884

What was the cup win like? :wink:

MM19
23-02-2011, 06:32 PM
A friendly against Nottingham Forrest in July, 1966 we won 3-2 Davis, Scott and McGraw scored I think. Joe Baker scored the two goals for Forrest.

24-02-2011, 01:57 PM
:thumbsup: That was one of my first games as well - Dalgleish scored for the Hibees IIRC - to add to a penalty from the great man himself.

Was it not Joe Jordan that scored for Hibs in the Stanton testimonial.