View Full Version : Billy Dodds in the Herald - Riordan

30-01-2011, 06:53 PM
And are the board FINALLY backing a manager by getting rid of the ones with the bad attitudes?

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/more-scottish-football/billy-dodds-prima-donnas-such-as-riordan-are-responsible-for-rot-that-has-set-in-at-hibs-1.1082592

30-01-2011, 07:07 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/more-scottish-football/billy-dodds-prima-donnas-such-as-riordan-are-responsible-for-rot-that-has-set-in-at-hibs-1.1082592?

I agree with him:agree:

30-01-2011, 07:12 PM
Think there has been obvious issues going on at the club since before Collins and Petrie made a mistake in meeting with those players. Not a wise move.

However I wouldn't give any creedence whatsoever to what a complete imbecilic er$e like Billy Dodds (ghost)writes...

30-01-2011, 07:14 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/more-scottish-football/billy-dodds-prima-donnas-such-as-riordan-are-responsible-for-rot-that-has-set-in-at-hibs-1.1082592?

But the rot set in before Riordan came back to Hibs, was that his fault as well?

30-01-2011, 07:17 PM
I dont agree with that. He is implying that Riordan isnt trying and doing it when it pleases him. That IMO is nonsense.
He is sufferring the same as all the forwards in that we are not creating enough.
Stokes and Bamba I can agree with as they have moved up a gear since going but to lump Riordan in with that is plain wrong.

30-01-2011, 07:19 PM
And are the board FINALLY backing a manager by getting rid of the ones with the bad attitudes?

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/more-scottish-football/billy-dodds-prima-donnas-such-as-riordan-are-responsible-for-rot-that-has-set-in-at-hibs-1.1082592

"Has the culture at Hibs been wrong since Collins?"

What makes you think the culture was right when Collins was at ER
The rights and wrongs of Collins appointment/tenure/ability have been debated over and over again
He's yesterday's man - let's move on

benrocky
30-01-2011, 07:25 PM
But the rot set in before Riordan came back to Hibs, was that his fault as well?

Billy Dodds is not saying that what he is actually saying is if the likes of Riordan and fellow ( prima donas ) pull their fingers out and actually play the game they are paid to do as a job then we will have a better chance of survival.

Nothing to do as or when the rot set in just work and get us out of it.

stubru59
30-01-2011, 07:27 PM
Nothing said here that hasn't been said on this forum. Identifying the problem is the easy part, it's sorting it out that has proved elusive.

30-01-2011, 07:31 PM

so do i. he says it as it is, and what some of us thought, that its not very good behind the scenes.

Maybe Riordan does need to move on

30-01-2011, 07:32 PM

Spot on, too many players have not been pulling their weight for long enough, and do not show enough fight, which is precisely why we are languishing 2nd from bottom.........

Dodds suggests Hibs will sneak away from relegation as we have too much quality, I think he is right, however we need to start scoring and being tighter at the back first.... Lets hope CC can address both these issues and pretty damn quickly....

30-01-2011, 07:34 PM
I agree with a lot of what he says but I wish he and other pundits would refrain from suggesting that we are going to somehow pull the rabbit out of the hat at the eleventh hour, to the misfortune of Hamilton. Billy Reid just has to pin articles like that on their dressing room door to fuel the determination and passion for his team to succeed, which we seem to lack these days.

30-01-2011, 07:53 PM
Nothing said here that hasn't been said on this forum. Identifying the problem is the easy part, it's sorting it out that has proved elusive.

The subject has been done to death on here :rolleyes:

30-01-2011, 07:55 PM

How many of your lasts say, 40 posts, have just been slating Riordan?

Change the record FFS :yawn:

30-01-2011, 07:55 PM
Care to explain what all this means?
It sounds interesting though!

I was asking myself the same question but I didn't want to show my ignorance. :greengrin

30-01-2011, 07:59 PM
Billy Dodds is 100% correct.

When the ball breaks down, and when play goes away from him, Derek gives up. His hands get thrown in the air, he is petulant, and he has a negative effect on the players around him. He has argued with both players and fans this season during games.

Colin Nish was the same today. Gave away so many unnecessary fouls, and instead of getting on with it, getting his head down and learning that the ref was never going to allow his tugging, grabbing and backing in, all he did was shake his head, moan, and give the "woe betide me" look to the bench.

Hibs need fighters and battlers, not just because we are where we are, but even when doing well. We need energy, drive and commitment. We also need fit players. Derek, for me, is not fit. He has lost pace, can't get by his marker, and his touch and set pieces in the main have been dreadful.

Like Dodds says, he has god given natural talent......more than any other Hibs player on his day. But IMHO, his lifestyle and attitude is catching up with him, and also being found out by CC.

We MUST start to build a side without him, and we must look to sign pace up top. Goals will still come........but we also need positive influences in the dressing room and at East Mains. Less time in casinos and bookies......more time perfecting your art.

Scotthibs1875
30-01-2011, 08:03 PM

I agree 100%. There is no question that Riordan has talent but in terms of work rate and team work he is awful, the last thing we need right now.

30-01-2011, 08:04 PM

Why is the poster not allowed an opinion now?

30-01-2011, 08:09 PM
poor wee Billy's got a big chip on his shoulder because he ran around chasing shadows in the likes of Greenock and Stirling for most of his career.

Annoying wee turd hasn't had a decent word to say about us ever, even when we were dazzling he constantly advised our younger players like Brown, Thomson, Whittaker, etc to move to the Old Firm.

He'd be better trying to explain that attrocity of a moustache he sported for Movember.

30-01-2011, 08:09 PM
I cannae stand Billy Dodds, but I think there is some merit in his writing there.

I don't know what Deek's mindset is like, whether he thinks this is him at the very top of his game, but I don't think we're seeing the best of Derek Riordan - not by a distance.

As Dodds points out, Deek hasn't been (and isn't) the only one culpable of that. There are others who give Hibs less than they should and expect it to happen for them.

The change is coming, though. :agree:

30-01-2011, 08:11 PM
Think there has been obvious issues going on at the club since before Collins and Petrie made a mistake in meeting with those players. Not a wise move.

However I wouldn't give any creedence whatsoever to what a complete imbecilic er$e like Billy Dodds (ghost)writes...

This has been done before but I am going to ask anyway.

What do you think he should have done and how would you defend your suggestions in employment law?

30-01-2011, 08:15 PM
I cannae stand Billy Dodds, but I think there is some merit in his writing there.

I don't know what Deek's mindset is like, whether he thinks this is him at the very top of his game, but I don't think we're seeing the best of Derek Riordan - not by a distance.

As Dodds points out, Deek hasn't been (and isn't) the only one culpable of that. There are others who give Hibs less than they should and expect it to happen for them.

The change is coming, though. :agree:

I think Billy Dodds is John Hughes ghostwriter.

30-01-2011, 08:21 PM
Like a lot of newspaper stuff it is often who is saying it, rather than what is being said. Had Dodds not signed for and been succesful at Rangers, he would not be a columnist nor a sought after pundit.

30-01-2011, 08:21 PM
I canny stand Dodds either but read that article as objectively as I could. The bit that stood out for me

He scores goals, but only once have his team actually won when he has found the net.

Now I haven't studied the stats but I've seen it posted so often on here that without Riordan we're going down, and I started believing it. If Dodds article is true in every way then all clamour to keep him might actually backfire on us?

:dunno: :confused:

30-01-2011, 08:28 PM
I canny stand Dodds either but read that article as objectively as I could. The bit that stood out for me

He scores goals, but only once have his team actually won when he has found the net.

Now I haven't studied the stats but I've seen it posted so often on here that without Riordan we're going down, and I started believing it. If Dodds article is true in every way then all clamour to keep him might actually backfire on us?

Objective post Billy, I agree with your sentiments

30-01-2011, 08:34 PM

What do you think he should have done and how would you defend your suggestions in employment law?

What has that got to do with it?

The Baldmans Comb
30-01-2011, 08:34 PM

'Billy luvs futba':wink:

Riordans Boots
30-01-2011, 08:40 PM

Loady P!SH :agree:

30-01-2011, 08:40 PM
Objective post Billy, I agree with your sentiments

I am genuinely perplexed though. I know that the obvious response is had the defence not ****ed up so many times we would have won more games so you can't blame DR, and if he'd had better service from midfield he'd have had more chances and scored more.

Still confused :greengrin

30-01-2011, 08:41 PM
Loady P!SH :agree:

No need to do that, pish is allowed :greengrin

30-01-2011, 08:59 PM

No -what it means is that Riordan does his job but others don't do their jobs-but according to the article he should be running around playing for them as well.

Like Billy Dodds I've been hearing tales about Hibs players for years and also like Billy Dodds I know Sweet FA about it.

30-01-2011, 09:25 PM
I agree 100%. There is no question that Riordan has talent but in terms of work rate and team work he is awful, the last thing we need right now.

At least you can`t blame him for todays performance. Like it or not with him we at least have some goal threat, without him none.

30-01-2011, 09:32 PM
At least you can`t blame him for todays performance. Like it or not with him we at least have some goal threat, without him none.

CORRECT :agree:

we also have better delivery at fre kicks

HFC07
30-01-2011, 09:39 PM
I agree there is a rot at Hibs, perhaps it was a bit much stating Riordan's name in the report but no others as I am sure he is not alone.
The players should all be taking a level of professionalism and working hard to get the results we need and quit the carrying on.

30-01-2011, 10:08 PM
Why is the poster not allowed an opinion now?

Is that a question or a statement :dunno:

30-01-2011, 10:30 PM

Yeah, after failing to score in seven games, the last thing we need is a natural goalscorer.

30-01-2011, 10:32 PM

:agree: In the long run, maybe we would be better off moving Riordan on. But NOT when we are on the verge of getting relegated and can't score to save ourselves.

We need Riordan in the team just now. He should only be dropped when we have better players to replace him.

I remember Matt le Tissier being something of a luxury player for Southampton, but he knocked in bags of goals over a long period for them, keeping them in the EPL. Once he retired they dropped down the divisions. Fans need to think about WHO will keep us up, regardless of their work rate.

YetholmHibee
30-01-2011, 10:33 PM
Hard work without talent is a shame, but talent without hard work is a tragedy

30-01-2011, 10:36 PM
I think Billy Dodds is a dobber but that article is spot on.

30-01-2011, 10:57 PM
:agree: In the long run, maybe we would be better off moving Riordan on. But NOT when we are on the verge of getting relegated and can't score to save ourselves.

We need Riordan in the team just now. He should only be dropped when we have better players to replace him.

I remember Matt le Tissier being something of a luxury player for Southampton, but he knocked in bags of goals over a long period for them, keeping them in the EPL. Once he retired they dropped down the divisions. Fans need to think about WHO will keep us up, regardless of their work rate.

A good example, but worth remembering that Riordan himself has also stopped scoring, which becomes a big problem. It's easy to make a case for a 'luxury player' when he's giving you some tangible benefits, but what about when he's not?

30-01-2011, 11:02 PM
Billy Dodds is 100% correct.

When the ball breaks down, and when play goes away from him, Derek gives up. His hands get thrown in the air, he is petulant, and he has a negative effect on the players around him. He has argued with both players and fans this season during games.

Colin Nish was the same today. Gave away so many unnecessary fouls, and instead of getting on with it, getting his head down and learning that the ref was never going to allow his tugging, grabbing and backing in, all he did was shake his head, moan, and give the "woe betide me" look to the bench.

Hibs need fighters and battlers, not just because we are where we are, but even when doing well. We need energy, drive and commitment. We also need fit players. Derek, for me, is not fit. He has lost pace, can't get by his marker, and his touch and set pieces in the main have been dreadful.

Like Dodds says, he has god given natural talent......more than any other Hibs player on his day. But IMHO, his lifestyle and attitude is catching up with him, and also being found out by CC.

We MUST start to build a side without him, and we must look to sign pace up top. Goals will still come........but we also need positive influences in the dressing room and at East Mains. Less time in casinos and bookies......more time perfecting your art.

We can't afford NOT to play Riordan unless we sign better strikers quickly. And we would probably have to spend over a million to do that.

If we sign a good target man to get the best out of Riordan, we'll start to see the best of him again.

Talking of getting rid of by far our best striker when we can't score without him is utterly moronic. I'd get rid of 95% of the players and the manager before I get rid of him.

30-01-2011, 11:05 PM
We can't afford NOT to play Riordan unless we sign better strikers quickly. And we would probably have to spend over a million to do that.

If we sign a good target man to get the best out of Riordan, we'll start to see the best of him again.

Talking of getting rid of by far our best striker when we can't score without him is utterly moronic. I'd get rid of 95% of the players and the manager before I get rid of him.

30-01-2011, 11:08 PM
OK then lets say Dodds is correct, thats 1/11 of our problems identified, why is focus on DR? We let in 3 more today, problems all over the park.

There are 10 other pros out there equally if not more cocking it up weekly.

Poorly researched rubbish from Dodds, Hibs have problems far greater than Riordan playing well or not so wrong to be focusing on that. Its up to everyone to get us out mire. Aye he has scored only 8 but how many of the team have produced an equivilent or less in their role.

DR has not been anwhere near the striker he has been, but some defenders and midfielders have been even further away from where they need to be and thats the issue.

30-01-2011, 11:14 PM

Talking of getting rid of by far our best striker when we can't score without him is utterly moronic. I'd get rid of 95% of the players and the manager before I get rid of him.:top marks Riordan needs a decent strike partner and if we could get one in tomorrow it could save us from relegation.

Dropping or selling Riordan is not the answer to Hibs problems just now, it will only make things worse.

30-01-2011, 11:16 PM

:agree: It's the lack of ability of players like Rankin, Dickoh, Hart, De Graaf, Trakys etc that has been the problem, not Riordan. These duffers were brought in or kept by Hughes when he had ample time in the close-season to sort things out.

I also blame the board for allowing Stokes to be sold so close to the transfer window and allowing the club to reach the stage where 16 players were out of contract at the same time.

If Riordan leaves, he goes with nothing but my thanks for the fantastic number of goals he scored for us.

s club 7-0
30-01-2011, 11:17 PM
I totally agree with Billy Dodd's article. The modern day player needs to work harder to compete, regardless of natural ability. Look at the fitness levels of the world's top players.

Also, professionalism on and off the park is part and parcel of the job in this day and age and Riordan just doesn't get it. He was the only current first team player on the stage at the Usher Hall in June last year and he could hardly stand up. Sadly he is a law unto himself and thinks he is owed something.

Anyway, apparently he's off to Castle Grayskull in the morning.

30-01-2011, 11:19 PM

Far from being moronic, it is abundantly clear to me that we had better get used to building a side without Derek.

But more importantly, Dodds is correct in his article. Derek is an experienced footballer within the club, yet his influence and attitude is certainly not one recently that has had the team bonding around him or galvanising the team/club. In fact, arguing with team mates over set pieces, arguing with fans in the FF whilst play rages on, and generally being off form yet not looking like he wants to readdress that, to me, means we pick a side that doesn't include him. He then has the choice to work hard to get back into the side and help, or he picks up his pay and doesn't and leaves in summer......this latter part of the season will maketh the man IMHO. There is not a clammer of clubs after him, and previous managers at Hibs and Celtic (and Scotland) have questioned his attitude and work ethic. Does he have the fight to get into the side, play well, and take us up the table.......I don't think he does sadly. And it pains me to say that about Riordan, truly.

And re a target man. Derek's best football has been alongside GOC, and laterly Chris Killen whilst in Celtic Reserves......both strikers working tirelessly to allow Derek to play. So Derek doesn't need a target man as such, but a player with presence who can run channels, force markers out, and create space.

Riordan is a very intelligent footballer, one who I love watching when he is on form. But as far as his atittude goes......sorry, it's better to rid the club of a bad attitude, rather than let it ****** in the dressing room and create factions.

30-01-2011, 11:22 PM
And I don't know why the word "******" was marked with asterisks :greengrin

31-01-2011, 09:00 AM
poor wee Billy's got a big chip on his shoulder because he ran around chasing shadows in the likes of Greenock and Stirling for most of his career.

Annoying wee turd hasn't had a decent word to say about us ever, even when we were dazzling he constantly advised our younger players like Brown, Thomson, Whittaker, etc to move to the Old Firm.

He'd be better trying to explain that attrocity of a moustache he sported for Movember.

I dont think that is fair his career including a number of Scotland caps and having played well for teams like Rangers, Aberdeen, Dundee, Dundee Utd also having started off at Chelsea would IMO be viewed as more successful than Deeks.

Given his own experiences he is in a better position than most to his opinion that is not to say that he is right however he has a right to give it.

31-01-2011, 10:08 AM

Off topic maybe but in reply to your question - he should not have agreed to meet the players behind the manager's back. Pure and simple.

If they had approached him in a work environment - ie his office - then that's different.

Employment law doesn't affect any of this.

31-01-2011, 10:23 AM
There may be some truth in what Dodds says, but the problem for me is the little Hun toad has never, ever had a good word to say about anything Hibernian.

It must break his heart to speak about anything outside the Old Firm.

31-01-2011, 10:57 AM
As far as I can see, he's bang on the money. As much as I love watching Riordan when he's on his game, he is a bit of a sacred cow for Hibs. He probably does think he's doing enough but as Dodds says, that's part of the problem.

rubber mal
31-01-2011, 12:12 PM
Billy Dodds needs. To start using longer. Sentences.

31-01-2011, 12:26 PM
I dont agree with that. He is implying that Riordan isnt trying and doing it when it pleases him. That IMO is nonsense.
He is sufferring the same as all the forwards in that we are not creating enough.
Stokes and Bamba I can agree with as they have moved up a gear since going but to lump Riordan in with that is plain wrong.

The jury is still out on Stokes & Bamba. They're only doing now what they did when they first came to Hibs.

I predict it will not be long before we hear stories of bad attitudes and poor professionalism emanating from their new clubs.

31-01-2011, 01:32 PM
The jury is still out on Stokes & Bamba. They're only doing now what they did when they first came to Hibs.

I predict it will not be long before we hear stories of bad attitudes and poor professionalism emanating from their new clubs.

Which is kinda the point I was making. They could have up'd their game/attitude but I am not so sure Riordan can.

Wing Half
31-01-2011, 01:57 PM
Like a lot of newspaper stuff it is often who is saying it, rather than what is being said. Had Dodds not signed for and been succesful at Rangers, he would not be a columnist nor a sought after pundit.

And his target audience here is the Ibrox faithful - "we're not in for him and we don't want him". Exactly the same hatchet job Hately pulled on last Wednesday's Sky panel.

31-01-2011, 04:39 PM

Why don't you go and check if you are that interested?

31-01-2011, 04:50 PM
What has that got to do with it?

Absolutely everything. There was a grievance put to RP by pretty much the entire first team squad. What, realistically, was the guy meant to do and remain compliant with employment law?

31-01-2011, 04:51 PM
I think the team set up yesterday could accommodate Riordan quite easily, and get the best out of him.

31-01-2011, 06:45 PM

I have had the same argument (And I do mean argument..those who defend Derek seem unable to consider other views) several times this season including with my brother....

Personally I don't care about any individual players career stats....I care about points and Team displays by the club I support. I also pointed out that Derek is no longer a player who can change a game when its getting away from us...yes he can still score the odd goal that great..

Think of say Ivan Sproule and how his introduction could change the whole direction of the game...not just about his performance but the way he would put everything into it in a way that rubbed off on teamates who raised their game as well leading to the whole team stepping up a gear.

I think its time for Derek to move on so that the memory of the times when he was such a player won't be sullied further

benrocky
31-01-2011, 06:56 PM
Far from being moronic, it is abundantly clear to me that we had better get used to building a side without Derek.

But more importantly, Dodds is correct in his article. Derek is an experienced footballer within the club, yet his influence and attitude is certainly not one recently that has had the team bonding around him or galvanising the team/club. In fact, arguing with team mates over set pieces, arguing with fans in the FF whilst play rages on, and generally being off form yet not looking like he wants to readdress that, to me, means we pick a side that doesn't include him. He then has the choice to work hard to get back into the side and help, or he picks up his pay and doesn't and leaves in summer......this latter part of the season will maketh the man IMHO. There is not a clammer of clubs after him, and previous managers at Hibs and Celtic (and Scotland) have questioned his attitude and work ethic. Does he have the fight to get into the side, play well, and take us up the table.......I don't think he does sadly. And it pains me to say that about Riordan, truly.

And re a target man. Derek's best football has been alongside GOC, and laterly Chris Killen whilst in Celtic Reserves......both strikers working tirelessly to allow Derek to play. So Derek doesn't need a target man as such, but a player with presence who can run channels, force markers out, and create space.

Riordan is a very intelligent footballer, one who I love watching when he is on form. But as far as his atittude goes......sorry, it's better to rid the club of a bad attitude, rather than let it ****** in the dressing room and create factions.

Spot on mate well put. :top marks

31-01-2011, 07:06 PM
Off topic maybe but in reply to your question - he should not have agreed to meet the players behind the manager's back. Pure and simple.

If they had approached him in a work environment - ie his office - then that's different.

Employment law doesn't affect any of this.

Utter rubbish as it was work related. There legally has to grievance procedure in place and this was being followed. By not listening to them he would have been in breach of the law and probably their contracts as well. The only thing that could be leveled at him was the location but I suspect he did not have much choice in that.

As a result of this the Captain issued a public apology and the main protagonists were shipped out.

01-02-2011, 11:46 AM
Are we and the players still "Bewildered" about Deeks whereabouts or will he start tomorrow?

01-02-2011, 12:21 PM
Utter rubbish as it was work related. There legally has to grievance procedure in place and this was being followed. By not listening to them he would have been in breach of the law and probably their contracts as well. The only thing that could be leveled at him was the location but I suspect he did not have much choice in that.

As a result of this the Captain issued a public apology and the main protagonists were shipped out.

The only thing that's utter rubbish is your interpretation of the law!

If you think this was a formal legal procedure, you are very much mistaken. You think this was well handled do you?

01-02-2011, 01:05 PM
Billy Dodds is a tosser.

He has a terrible record as coach/assistant and this is a nothing story. Somebuddy told by something about someone and I dont like that somebody cause they dont try hard enough. Mate tells me someone doesnae like him so I dinnae like somebody.

Whatever , back to your hole Dodds you little circus act gimp.

Never see why explayers slag off current pros on heresay.

01-02-2011, 03:23 PM
The only thing that's utter rubbish is your interpretation of the law!

If you think this was a formal legal procedure, you are very much mistaken. You think this was well handled do you?

I think it was handled as well as it could have been being a particularly sensitive issue. Perhaps RP thought that he could deal with any complaints quickly and didnt want it to escalate into a full blown legal issue? Maybe this was a misjudgement on his part and he should have made the complaint a formal one, but I dont believe that would have been any better. Perhaps, in this regard,it was not a formal legal procedure but it was a grievance involving the entire first team squad (bar 2) led by the club captain, and as such, as the ultimate authority in the club he had an obligation and duty to hear this through. There may have been allegations of bullying or certain players may have feared for their futures had JC found out, which carries with it its own particular set of procedures.

I think it was a hellish situation for anyone to be in, and I am sure RP maybe felt like throwing all the whinging barstewards in the forth but, again, I do not think he could have done much else in that particular situation.