View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland V Spain (plus other qualifiers)

12-10-2010, 12:45 PM
Romania U21 v England U21 is on ESPN at the moment.

2nd half just started with England 2-1 up from 1st leg, no goals in this one yet.

Not as exciting a game as last night.

C'mon the Romanians, 1-0 will do them. :thumbsup:

12-10-2010, 01:07 PM
Scotland team likely to be

McGregor
Hutton (or Bardsley)
Weir
McMannus
Whittaker
Morrison
D Fletcher
McCulloch
Dorrans
Naismith
Miller

Probably a 4-5-1 formation, anyone think we have any chance whatsoever.

Spain missing Xavi & Torres but surely only complacency on their part would mean anything less than a comfortable Spain win, their streets ahead of us in every way.

alex74
12-10-2010, 01:25 PM
Scotland team likely to be

McGregor
Hutton (or Bardsley)
Weir
McMannus
Whittaker
Morrison
D Fletcher
McCulloch
Dorrans
Naismith
Miller

Probably a 4-5-1 formation, anyone think we have any chance whatsoever.

Spain missing Xavi & Torres but surely only complacency on their part would mean anything less than a comfortable Spain win, their streets ahead of us in every way.no chance with a 4-5-1 what was wrong with 4-6-0 anything under 3 goals is a result

12-10-2010, 01:29 PM
Romania U21 v England U21 is on ESPN at the moment.

2nd half just started with England 2-1 up from 1st leg, no goals in this one yet.

Not as exciting a game as last night.

C'mon the Romanians, 1-0 will do them. :thumbsup:

Unfortunately finished 0-0 so England go through.

supershotmo
12-10-2010, 01:31 PM
Spain are 50/1 to win 5-0 with Ladbrokes.

Riordans Boots
12-10-2010, 01:43 PM
McGregor
Gilks
Alexander
Gordon
Douglas
Marshall
Langfield
Goram
Leighton
Gunn
Rough

12-10-2010, 01:47 PM
McGregor
Gilks
Alexander
Gordon
Douglas
Marshall
Langfield
Goram
Leighton
Gunn
Rough

I'd have to agree, the only sensible formation is 11-0-0

12-10-2010, 01:49 PM
McGregor
Gilks
Alexander
Gordon
Douglas
Marshall
Langfield
Goram
Leighton
Gunn
Rough

I'd still expect Spain to score a couple. :wink:

12-10-2010, 02:23 PM
McGregor
Gilks
Alexander
Gordon
Douglas
Marshall
Langfield
Goram
Leighton
Gunn
Rough

ill be watching the game and listining to real radio commentry

12-10-2010, 02:27 PM
Northern Ireland v The Faroes is on Sky Sports 1 in about 5 minutes if anyone isn't at work and fancies watching it.

alex74
12-10-2010, 02:31 PM
ill be watching the game and listining to real radio commentrywhats real radio commentry like a listen to real radio every night.

12-10-2010, 02:40 PM
Northern Ireland v The Faroes is on Sky Sports 1 in about 5 minutes if anyone isn't at work and fancies watching it.

Toss up between that & Countdown, think Rachel Riley just swings it. :wink:

12-10-2010, 02:43 PM
Wonder what ludicrous anti football formation Levein will unleash on the world tonight?

Can't take another dose of the kind of crap that was served up on Friday night!!

12-10-2010, 02:45 PM
think spain will run out 3-0 victors 2night, right off to the bookies:greengrin

12-10-2010, 03:12 PM
no chance with a 4-5-1 what was wrong with 4-6-0 anything under 3 goals is a result

12-10-2010, 03:18 PM
no chance with a 4-5-1 what was wrong with 4-6-0 anything under 3 goals is a result

Is anyone confused as to why we placed the much discussed 4-6-0 against an average Czech side but are now playing a 4-5-1 albeit at home but against Spain??

12-10-2010, 03:22 PM
whats real radio commentry like a listen to real radio every night.

ther doing a commentry on tonights game

euro Hibby
12-10-2010, 03:42 PM
We all thought we would get a better deal from levin - young untainted. Instead we end up with the new mesiah in modern day football tactics. The thing is Uncle walter got away with it because he is Uncle walter. I suspect we will use the same tactics in Lichtenstein and maybe grab a point.

Anyway, I have Spain in my bookies line which is the best thing I could do for Scotland as i lose more than I win !

12-10-2010, 03:58 PM
I'am currently in the Renfrew ferry and the music being played by some band. Makes you want to cut your wrists :greengrin

12-10-2010, 04:06 PM
Me as well Mainboy. No more weegie folk songs at least :)

12-10-2010, 04:12 PM
X3!

12-10-2010, 04:20 PM
Faroes 1 N Ireland 0

Brings back memories of Scotland.

alex74
12-10-2010, 04:26 PM
Is anyone confused as to why we placed the much discussed 4-6-0 against an average Czech side but are now playing a 4-5-1 albeit at home but against Spain??a think he got it wrong way round he maybe thinks we are playing the czech tonight lol

12-10-2010, 04:33 PM
Faroes 1 N Ireland 0

Brings back memories of Scotland.

Laugherty makes it 1-1, 15 mins to go.

12-10-2010, 05:15 PM
http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://s.bebo.com/app-image/7929017848/5411656627/PROFILE/i.quizzaz.com/img/q/u/08/05/08/20219803a2165307309b719869261l.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp%3FMemberId%3D858587951&usg=__Q9Y_S9vALcxydT4Wkw3KY5gemSQ=&h=237&w=355&sz=11&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=dkr0hY9EVpdaHM:&tbnh=135&tbnw=180&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dpatriotic%2Bscotland%26um%3D1%26hl%3D en%26biw%3D1440%26bih%3D687%26tbs%3Disch:1&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=457&vpy=187&dur=4018&hovh=183&hovw=275&tx=190&ty=87&ei=OJe0TNX-AszY4gamiMmgDQ&oei=OJe0TNX-AszY4gamiMmgDQ&esq=1&page=1&ndsp=22&ved=1t:429,r:2,s:0Thought about not watching the match tonight after being made to endure that horror show in Prague. Then again. I'm Scottish and I'm proud. How patriotic would it make me not to watch the game? **** it. i am in a patriotic mood and we needed to get right up for it, just like v france, and give these bassas a right good go.

Ay we might get humped. Ay we are *****. Ay Gary Caldwell in midfield... LOL. But we have to remember....

This is hampden.

We can do it.

BELIEVE.

MON THE ECOSSE GET INTO THEM, GET FIRED UP FOR IT AND GIVE IT YOUR ALL.

http://s.bebo.com/app-image/7929017848/5411656627/PROFILE/i.quizzaz.com/img/q/u/08/05/08/20219803a2165307309b719869261l.jpg

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://s.bebo.com/app-image/7929017848/5411656627/PROFILE/i.quizzaz.com/img/q/u/08/05/08/20219803a2165307309b719869261l.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp%3FMemberId%3D858587951&usg=__Q9Y_S9vALcxydT4Wkw3KY5gemSQ=&h=237&w=355&sz=11&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=dkr0hY9EVpdaHM:&tbnh=135&tbnw=180&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dpatriotic%2Bscotland%26um%3D1%26hl%3D en%26biw%3D1440%26bih%3D687%26tbs%3Disch:1&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=457&vpy=187&dur=4018&hovh=183&hovw=275&tx=190&ty=87&ei=OJe0TNX-AszY4gamiMmgDQ&oei=OJe0TNX-AszY4gamiMmgDQ&esq=1&page=1&ndsp=22&ved=1t:429,r:2,s:0

12-10-2010, 05:58 PM
we do underdog much better..also remember France...I am more relaxed about tonight than other games. We are more likely to get a result tonight and then throw it away in Lichtenstien.....Its the Scottish way :greengrin

12-10-2010, 06:02 PM
Official:

McGregor, Bardsley, McManus, Weir, Whittaker, McCulloch, Fletcher, Morrison, Dorrans, Naismith, Miller

12-10-2010, 06:06 PM
Cant seem to find the guy from iraq anymore, anyone help. :thumbsup:

alex74
12-10-2010, 06:13 PM
Cant seem to find the guy from iraq anymore, anyone help. :thumbsup:common scotland

12-10-2010, 06:15 PM
Official:

McGregor, Bardsley, McManus, Weir, Whittaker, McCulloch, Fletcher, Morrison, Dorrans, Naismith, Miller

2 right backs in the team? Whittaker and Bardsley?

12-10-2010, 06:32 PM
Spain Team

Casillas
Ramos
Puyol
Pique
Capdevila
Busquets
Alonso
Cazorla
Silva
Iniesta
Villa

Czech Republic 2 up against Lichenstein.

12-10-2010, 06:37 PM
we do underdog much better..also remember France...I am more relaxed about tonight than other games. We are more likely to get a result tonight and then throw it away in Lichtenstien.....Its the Scottish way :greengrin

Its the Hibs way:wink:

12-10-2010, 06:44 PM

Same as the other night, Whitty at LB I assume

12-10-2010, 06:48 PM
Spain Team

Casillas
Ramos
Puyol
Pique
Capdevila
Busquets
Alonso
Cazorla
Silva
Iniesta
Villa

Czech Republic 2 up against Lichenstein.

One bonus from that team - no Xavi....

Clutching at straws much...

Riordans Boots
12-10-2010, 06:51 PM
Cant seem to find the guy from iraq anymore, anyone help. :thumbsup:

Sky Sports 1 :greengrin

12-10-2010, 06:54 PM
Predictions?

Scotland 0-5 Spain :agree:

12-10-2010, 06:58 PM
Amy McDonald? I certainly would.

12-10-2010, 06:59 PM
Predictions?

Scotland 0-5 Spain :agree:

3-2 Spain.

Looks like the crowd are up for it though. :agree:

Anyone watching in 3D is so what's it like?

12-10-2010, 07:00 PM
Bit unfair to delete me Admins- my link was legal it's up on the ZDF site (zdf.de) - it'sGermany's version of the BBC, it may be an instance of "Not available in your area" - which is what I get when I try to watch the BBC all the time here in Berlin, but maybe it would work your side. It's not illegal, surely?

PiemanP
12-10-2010, 07:05 PM
Amy McDonald? I certainly would.

:drool:

12-10-2010, 07:06 PM
A better chance in the first minute then in the entire Czech game - that's what you get if you play a ****ing striker Levein. :grr:

12-10-2010, 07:06 PM
Legal in Germany perhaps PJ.

I'm not a lawyer however I'm asking myself 'Am I sure its 100% legal?'

Not prepared to put this site at risk.

HibeeSince82
12-10-2010, 07:09 PM
Atmosphere sounds amazing!!

12-10-2010, 07:13 PM

And one of them will get torn a new one.

ClewsHibs
12-10-2010, 07:14 PM
Villa just had 2 half chances :bitchy:

12-10-2010, 07:16 PM
And one of them will get torn a new one.

Is that the Bardsley who played for Rangers ?

12-10-2010, 07:27 PM

:agree: Sent off at ER

ancienthibby
12-10-2010, 07:27 PM

Correct!

12-10-2010, 07:32 PM
Bardsley applying himself well thus far.

McGregor has made some important blocks thus far.

Only a matter of time methinks!

12-10-2010, 07:33 PM

Aye...Huns and ex huns:grr:

12-10-2010, 07:39 PM
Own up then....how many people had the thought cross their mind 'that wasn't hard enough' when Puyol rattled McGregor in the heid?

:devil:

12-10-2010, 07:39 PM
They are virtually all Huns aren't they? Isn't Darren Fletcher a Hibby?

12-10-2010, 07:42 PM
They are virtually all Huns aren't they? Isn't Darren Fletcher a Hibby?

Nah - self confessed tim, despite having played for Rangers in his youth days.

McManus, Fletcher, Dorrans and Morrison kinda scupper your theory a little :wink:

12-10-2010, 07:43 PM
Whittaker - ******ing clown!!!!! :grr::bye:

12-10-2010, 07:44 PM
Penalty to Spain, Whittaker handball.

1-0, Villa.:grr:

12-10-2010, 07:45 PM
Half time, 0-1.

12-10-2010, 07:46 PM

Poor defending. Jumped under the ball and then challenges with his arms way up in the air.

12-10-2010, 07:48 PM
Stonewaller. Poor defending from Whittaker (who seems to have spent more time on his butt than on his feet).

Think miller and naismith awffy poor first half.

Russdoorsfan71

Had to be a penalty for me... would have been screaming for it at the other end.

Whittaker has been gash since the off! I know he's not a left back but the basics just aren't there (haven't ever been for that matter). Naismith and Him on the left has been embarrassing.

Must admit I thought that was a bit harsh...I mean a yard away from him ?.....like to see that given at the other end of the park, doubt it though.....harsh

12-10-2010, 07:49 PM
Had to be a penalty for me... would have been screaming for it at the other end.

Whittaker has been gash since the off! I know he's not a left back but the basics just aren't there (haven't ever been for that matter). Naismith and Him on the left has been embarrassing.

Erm, no arguments from me. Was that not obvious?! :greengrin

12-10-2010, 07:50 PM
Legal in Germany perhaps PJ.

I'm not a lawyer however I'm asking myself 'Am I sure its 100% legal?'

Not prepared to put this site at risk.

I understand your POV. It's legal, but whether it would have worked in the UK is another matter anyway.

alex74
12-10-2010, 07:50 PM

Poor defending. Jumped under the ball and then challenges with his arms way up in the air.got nothing to lose now have to go for it

12-10-2010, 07:53 PM
Italy v Sebia abandoned due to crowd trouble

12-10-2010, 07:53 PM
Whitty might get torn a couple of new ones before this finishes. He's been found wanting as he's not a left back. His positional sense has been terrible and he's found himself eating grass on a number of occassions.

Definate penalty for me.

12-10-2010, 07:54 PM
Whittaker you useless hun *******.

been humped all night down that side.

England 0 Montenegro 0 HT

blindsummit
I'm unable to follow the game other than on here and on the BBC text as I'm at work. the BC are saying that Whittaker was booked twice but wasn't sent off. is that true??

12-10-2010, 07:56 PM
Aye...Huns and ex huns:grr:

Cheers thought it was the same one.

blairwallace
12-10-2010, 07:56 PM
England 0 Montenegro 0 HT

who? :confused:

LiverpoolHibs
12-10-2010, 07:57 PM
Italy v Sebia abandoned due to crowd trouble

This has been absolute madness, by the way. Craig Thomson reffing it as well.

euro Hibby
12-10-2010, 07:57 PM
I counted over 5 good chances for Spain against Scotlands one effort and possibly the 2 on 2 with a misplaced miller pass. Its 8-1 on shots.

We are useless down the flanks letting Spain play the ball in at will. Should finish 3-0.

12-10-2010, 07:58 PM
I'm unable to follow the game other than on here and on the BBC text as I'm at work. the BC are saying that Whittaker was booked twice but wasn't sent off. is that true??

I thought that too - the commentators said he was booked for the over-zealous tackle on Ramos, but it didn't confirm it.

Italy vs Serbia was being reffed by Craig Thomson as well - mental fans on either side, but it was apparently due to the Serbian fans lobbing flares onto the park and lighting fireworks! Lunatic fans, who will no doubt see their national side hammered for their own stupidity!

12-10-2010, 07:58 PM

I don't think the ref booked him when he went through Sergio Ramos, but he got booked at the penalty.

Riordans Boots
12-10-2010, 07:59 PM

I'm watching the game - and I thought that too :confused:

12-10-2010, 07:59 PM

Don't believe so. The Sky commentator thought he was going to be booked earlier on for a challenge on Ramos but he was told to get up by the referee.

He was booked at the penalty though.

12-10-2010, 08:00 PM
This has been absolute madness, by the way. Craig Thomson reffing it as well.

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2557/news/2010/10/12/2162842/crowd-trouble-delays-kick-off-in-euro-2012-qualifier-between

12-10-2010, 08:01 PM

He was only booked for the penalty, the foul on Ramos wasn't a booking, well it was, but he didn't get booked.

Whitty might get torn a couple of new ones before this finishes. He's been found wanting as he's not a left back. His positional sense has been terrible and he's found himself eating grass on a number of occassions.

Definate penalty for me.

Nope, he's not a left back. Not an international, anyway.

Lee Wallace would have played there if he was fit, but he's not.

Who else could Levein have played? :dunno:

Riordans Boots
Don't believe so. The Sky commentator thought he was going to be booked earlier on for a challenge on Ramos but he was told to get up by the referee.

He was booked at the penalty though.

Cheers for that :thumbsup:

Charlie whars yer teeth coming on

Calvin
12-10-2010, 08:03 PM
Stonewall pen.

Maybe not a popular opinion but McGregor did poorly at the penalty. He dived for the sake of diving, to make the effort. If you dive the right way and even get a hand on it, you have to keep it out. Maybe at a pen the keeper gets more leeway but if that was a 1-on-1 from twelve yards and he did that, criticism would ensue.

12-10-2010, 08:07 PM
Yet another example of pish-poor Whittaker defending.

Wonderful.

ionahibby
12-10-2010, 08:08 PM
In a pub in amsterdam no scotland game on tv just holland game and england but they have an internet bit so thank you to all the guys on .net for keepin me up to date with the score :thumbsup:

12-10-2010, 08:12 PM
2-0 Iniesta.

12-10-2010, 08:13 PM
Whittaker again, stood off his man, giving Iniesta all the time in the world to slot home the second.

Someone put a bullet in this useless huddy and be done with it :bitchy:

12-10-2010, 08:15 PM
2-1 Naismith. :thumbsup:

12-10-2010, 08:15 PM
When the ball came in from the right, Weir was playing right back and Bardsley was at centre half. They're getting pulled from pillar to post at the back and not getting much help from our midfielders.

Good goal from Naismith though:greengrin

12-10-2010, 08:16 PM
Get in there young Naismith!

1-2

Great work by Kenny Miller, great ball, great run by Naismith and a good timed goal!!

Riordans Boots
12-10-2010, 08:16 PM
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAs:thu mbsup::thumbsup:

ionahibby
12-10-2010, 08:17 PM
I assume he is playing with a striker this time :confused:

12-10-2010, 08:18 PM
Whittaker again, stood off his man, giving Iniesta all the time in the world to slot home the second.

Someone put a bullet in this useless huddy and be done with it :bitchy:

Don't you think that is just a tad harsh?

erin-go-bragh87
12-10-2010, 08:19 PM
Don't you think that is just a tad harsh?

Nah..........

alex74
Erm, no arguments from me. Was that not obvious?! :greengrinjust seen fletcher didnt know he was playing

:agree:Miller ploughing a lone furrow up front. Getting supported by Naismith, Dorrans, and Morrison on occassion.

12-10-2010, 08:22 PM
Dorrans looks like he needs an alarm clock shoved up his jacksey to give him a shake.:grr:

12-10-2010, 08:23 PM
2-2 Pique own goal. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

get in :thumbsup: just blow for full-time now

Good move and a GOOOOOOAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLL

12-10-2010, 08:24 PM
Good grief! :cool2:

alex74
get in ther

YES! Mon the Jocks! :thumbsup:

12-10-2010, 08:25 PM
Holy s**t, shirley no?! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

tony
12-10-2010, 08:26 PM
Adams come on and played some, well, Spanish style passes. Levein will not like that. On for McCulloch. McCulloch. What actually is the point of McCulloch?

......and lovely (funny) goal, great build up.

vahibbie
12-10-2010, 08:27 PM
How typically Scotland.:confused:

12-10-2010, 08:31 PM
Bad challenge by Miller, yellow card.

alex74
12-10-2010, 08:32 PM
david weir man of the match

vahibbie
12-10-2010, 08:33 PM
Another good save:thumbsup:

Good save from 2 fingered jake

tony
How typically Scotland.:confused:

Ok, given we should still be getting stuffed what this really shows up is the disgrace that was the Czech game. We really arent as bad as our manager thinks.

12-10-2010, 08:34 PM
david weir man of the match

We've 15 minutes to go.....their's a man of the match still to be claimed:greengrin

12-10-2010, 08:34 PM
Ok, given we should still be getting stuffed what this really shows up is the disgrace that was the Czech game. We really arent as bad as our manager thinks.

Exactly :agree:

12-10-2010, 08:35 PM
thats a pretty bold move by harry putting on another striker eh, would prefer we went for a draw here now :agree:

tony
12-10-2010, 08:36 PM
and I'm still waiting for someone to tell me what the point of McCulloch is. An antidote for something? A lucky charm like a gonk?

oh ffs :boo hoo: 2-3

3-2 Llorente. :bitchy:

Scotland 2-3 Spain Llorente

More pish defending.

McManus sells the jersey

12-10-2010, 08:37 PM
Jamie Mackie on, where on earth is Steven Fletcher? :confused:

12-10-2010, 08:38 PM
sorry, but how the f does a centre half get under the ball ?....

12-10-2010, 08:38 PM
3-2 Spain.

Looks like the crowd are up for it though. :agree:

Anyone watching in 3D is so what's it like?

Hope you had a few bob on it:cool2:

vahibbie
12-10-2010, 08:39 PM

Indeed:agree:

Now when we should be looking for a draw he puts a forward on:confused:

12-10-2010, 08:39 PM
sorry, but how the f does a centre half get under the ball ?....

No idea, but 2 defenders have done it and Spain have scored from it on both occasions!

9 minutes to score a 3rd...

Hakim Sar
12-10-2010, 08:42 PM
what a poor poor player mcmanus is

lucky guy playing international football he is :monkey: chimpanzees can defend better

tony
12-10-2010, 08:45 PM
Adam looks like he could cause some problems with his vision and passing (if not pace) Shame Leveins got him playing his Blackpool role but 20 yards deeper.

12-10-2010, 08:46 PM
Whittaker sent off, 2 yellows.

12-10-2010, 08:47 PM
And Whitty's night of misery is complete:grr:

If Levein was any kind of decent manager, he would have seen how badly Whittaker was getting the pish ripped out of him and hauled him off long before he had the chance to get sent off.

Useless f** :grr::grr:

weststandhibby
puts potters tactics on friday into even more doubt. a bit of fight shown from the team tonight. if theyd done same on friday would have had at least a point if not 3:grr:

12-10-2010, 08:51 PM
Full time, 3-2.

12-10-2010, 08:51 PM
Great game.

Much improved showing.

What a difference a striker and trying to get on the front foot makes!

McGregor immense again.

Time to ditch some of the OF/ex-OF players IMHO eg McCulloch and McManus

Much better though :agree: than that abortion v the Czechs.

12-10-2010, 08:52 PM
why didn't he try and consolidate at 2-2 ffs :grr:

12-10-2010, 08:52 PM
Decent effort, but 4 points out of 12 is why we'll continue to fail in our quest to qualify for any major final.

Time to promote some of the U21's, who look every bit as good as some of their senior counterparts.

ClewsHibs
12-10-2010, 08:53 PM
after we scored the first then equalized it just makes you think why we cant play every match with that attitude. :confused:

Full time, England 0-0 Montenegro.

Great game.

Much improved showing.

What a difference a striker and trying to get on the front foot makes!

McGregor immense again.

Time to ditch some of the OF/ex-OF players IMHO eg McCulloch and McManus

Much better though :agree: than that abortion v the Czechs.

Which begs the question, what on earth did he think he was doing against them?

That wasn't a game for trying something out :bitchy:

ClewsHibs
12-10-2010, 08:54 PM
Full time, England 0-0 Montenegro.

at least its their time to win the world cup next time.. :greengrin

12-10-2010, 08:57 PM
Good game. Scotland showed up a few flaws in the Spanish defence.

12-10-2010, 09:02 PM
what a poor poor player mcmanus is

lucky guy playing international football he is :monkey: chimpanzees can defend better

Totally agree, how bad was he for the third goal. Pub team defending if he hadnt played for an OF team he would never be near the team. Danny Wilson is three times the player he is.

tony
12-10-2010, 09:03 PM
puts potters tactics on friday into even more doubt. a bit of fight shown from the team tonight. if theyd done same on friday would have had at least a point if not 3:grr:

I agree about the 'tactics' on Friday, but thought that the balance of the team was much better in the second half. We suddenly had players in midfield who could actually pick out a pass and switch directions, though to be honest it could still have been 5,6,7 - 2. We almost looked like a proper balanced football team. And it seemed to give them all belief. Agree about McCulloch and McManus. Watched Iceland U21 who were packed with full internationals, so why not the Liverpool boy at centre half?

And will Levein play the best we actually have and give them the confidence to go out and give it a proper go? I have my doubts.

euro Hibby
12-10-2010, 09:03 PM
Its about as good as we could do - Spain really are a class team and might have won by more on another night.

Potter should admit he screwed up in Prague - hopefully never again will we play without a striker. By the time Levin is finished learning , we will be well out Euro championship again !

12-10-2010, 09:07 PM
Its about as good as we could do - Spain really are a class team and might have won by more on another night.

Potter should admit he screwed up in Prague - hopefully never again will we play without a striker. By the time Levin is finished learning , we will be well out Euro championship again !

Hopefully he will have collected his P45 long before then......,

:boo hoo:

12-10-2010, 09:09 PM
Why the **** didnt we play like that against c.republic?! Im sure we would have one that one.

We played some nice actual football for once tonight, looked like a half decent outfit. Real shame but we got some pride back at least and hopefully potter will adhere to this formation and team and we should start to win matches.

Piss poor defending by McManus/Whittaker who are not good enough. Was impressed by Bardsley who i think is a good player. Also, thought Fletch and Adam worked well when he came on. Surprised by Adam , looks a decent player now and played some lovely balls. Think he should defo be a starter.

HibsMax
12-10-2010, 09:10 PM

Even the Americans commentating on the game today said that playing 4-6-0 was a mistake, and what do Americans know about football? :wink:

They also commented on Scotland sitting too deep and allowing Spain to move up the pitch and apply more pressure.

EDIT : I actually thought we did a decent job today. More of the same please, maybe a little more attacking.
Maybe I'm fooling myself, maybe I would be just as disappointed but I would really love to see Scotland having a go, no matter who the opponents are.

12-10-2010, 09:12 PM
I'd love to see young Danny Wilson coming into the team for the next game, in place of McManus. He looks a solid, comfortable young defender.

Thank **** Whittaker is going to be suspended - shocking player at that level - my fiance's parents are both ST holders at Ibrox and have lambasted him for 2 seasons now.

It's easy to see why.

alex74
12-10-2010, 09:15 PM
Even the Americans commentating on the game today said that playing 4-6-0 was a mistake, and what do Americans know about football? :wink:

They also commented on Scotland sitting too deep and allowing Spain to move up the pitch and apply more pressure.

EDIT : I actually thought we did a decent job today. More of the same please, maybe a little more attacking.
Maybe I'm fooling myself, maybe I would be just as disappointed but I would really love to see Scotland having a go, no matter who the opponents are.thanks for the effort scotland a lot better than friday

12-10-2010, 09:16 PM
How refreshing a display was that? Levein should be thoroughly ashamed of himself for not adopting that formation and those tactics in Prague.

They may be huns but I have to say McGregor and Naismith were outstanding and that Charlie Adam made a positive difference when he replaced that thug McCulloch

As TSSF says I'd bring young Danny Wilson into the defence for the next batch of games and I'd be tempted to promote one or two others from the U21's

12-10-2010, 09:17 PM
Craig Levein walked away from his interview in the huff because he was aked if we looked better with a striker.

What a t it. :agree:

12-10-2010, 09:18 PM
Oops Levein's away in a cream puff :faf:

12-10-2010, 09:18 PM

I actually think that Levein screwed up just as badly against Lithuania. His team selection and tactics that night were a total joke against an even worse team than ourselves and the Czech republic.

tony
12-10-2010, 09:19 PM
Surprised by Adam , looks a decent player now and played some lovely balls. Think he should defo be a starter.

I'm a bit baffled why people seem to still be surprised by Adam. He gets rave reviews from folk in England, who are utterly baffled why he isnt first on the teamsheet. He didn't seem to do it up here, but that says way more about our football than the way he plays it. When he came on with Fletcher, Morrison and Dorrans we actually looked like a proper, balanced team.

Just watched Levein embarass himself on SKY. We have the players to be an OK team. We really don't have the manager.

Greenblood70
12-10-2010, 09:20 PM
Toys out the pram fae that tit Potter.

He just can't take any form of criticism/questionning of his tactics can he...

ForeverHibs93
12-10-2010, 09:21 PM
What is Levein playing at? Walking off from an interview in a huff because he was asked about his shocking tactics last week:confused:

12-10-2010, 09:22 PM
Craig Levein walked away from his interview in the huff because he was aked if we looked better with a striker.

What a t it. :agree:

Oops Levein's away in a cream puff :faf:

Oh dear :clown::boo hoo::jamboclow

JoeT
12-10-2010, 09:27 PM
What is Levein playing at? Walking off from an interview in a huff because he was asked about his shocking tactics last week:confused:

He's an embarrassment

12-10-2010, 09:32 PM
I totally understand why Levien walked away. He put out a team that played well, and the press wanted to use that as a stick to beat him with. But, hey, well done to the reporter for doing his best to pour cold water over a good performance - twat.

12-10-2010, 09:46 PM
I totally understand why Levien walked away. He put out a team that played well, and the press wanted to use that as a stick to beat him with. But, hey, well done to the reporter for doing his best to pour cold water over a good performance - twat.

Levein is the twat. Blew a huge chance to get something from a very average Czech team by playing the most mind-numbing system in football history.

tony
12-10-2010, 09:51 PM
Levein is the twat. Blew a huge chance to get something from a very average Czech team by playing the most mind-numbing system in football history.

:agree::top marks

His players showed him up by playing so well against the best in the world. Get a manager that can get the best out of them.

12-10-2010, 09:52 PM

I disagree. The reporter asked the question the vast majority of fans wanted to ask. Why did Levein not use the same line up and tactics in Prague. Perfectly entitled to ask that IMO

darrenmcintosh2
12-10-2010, 09:53 PM
Levin is a mug. That said Scotland fought their hearts out Tonight and was a great team performance was really impressed with bardsly at the back seems a good full back.

12-10-2010, 09:56 PM
I haven't seen this interview yet but it seems pretty clear to me that the pressure is getting to Levein and he is struggling to deal with it.

Was the interview on Sky sports or BBC sportsound?

12-10-2010, 10:00 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2_x3bBN0FpU

what a faniel!

12-10-2010, 10:02 PM
I haven't seen this interview yet but it seems pretty clear to me that the pressure is getting to Levein and he is struggling to deal with it.

Was the interview on Sky sports or BBC sportsound?

Sky Sports with that wee fud David Tanner. But fud or not, Levein made a complete chorus and verse of himself yet again.

12-10-2010, 10:05 PM

what a faniel!

What an arrogant tube :faf:

He knows he messed up and isn't man enough to admit it.

12-10-2010, 10:07 PM
dearie me :asshole::faf:

12-10-2010, 10:08 PM

He knows he messed up and isn't man enough to admit it.

:agree: That's exactly right.

SurferRosa
12-10-2010, 10:24 PM
I'm a bit baffled why people seem to still be surprised by Adam. He gets rave reviews from folk in England, who are utterly baffled why he isnt first on the teamsheet. He didn't seem to do it up here, but that says way more about our football than the way he plays it. When he came on with Fletcher, Morrison and Dorrans we actually looked like a proper, balanced team.

Just watched Levein embarass himself on SKY. We have the players to be an OK team. We really don't have the manager.
When he wiz at the huns, av watched Adam almost single handedly beat us...easily their best player. Charlie Adam is a terrific player and worth his place in the Scotland team......Rankers let him go so cheaply, the bank must still be floggin them over it..!!

darrenmcintosh2
12-10-2010, 10:32 PM
When he wiz at the huns, av watched Adam almost single handedly beat us...easily their best player. Charlie Adam is a terrific player and worth his place in the Scotland team......Rankers let him go so cheaply, the bank must still be floggin them over it..!!

Adam is long overdue within Scotland squad. He came on and played fantastic. Came on and showed levin that he deserves his place. Phil bardsly the same fantastic 90mins. And for his first cap. What is Levins problem with stevie fleycher. Any1 know

12-10-2010, 10:34 PM
I chose master chef and Jools.. But from what I'm picking up from this it seems Levein is doing a bit of a Yogi these days with the press.The best and most amusing " losing the plot whilst being interviewed on telly" was wee Jim McClean of Dundee Utd when he actually physically lashed out at the interviewer. Think he made contact too .. :greengrin

This reporter was lucky then, because levein has previous as well.

SurferRosa
12-10-2010, 10:39 PM
Adam is long overdue within Scotland squad. He came on and played fantastic. Came on and showed levin that he deserves his place. Phil bardsly the same fantastic 90mins. And for his first cap. What is Levins problem with stevie fleycher. Any1 know
Think he`s injured...

darrenmcintosh2
12-10-2010, 10:45 PM
Think he`s injured...

That explains it lol wasnt in squad on Friday. Was benched today.
Would have been good for him too get a run out. See what he could have brought too the team rather than mackie. Fair enough he is on fire in the championship. Dont think he is ready right now. Will be good too see what happens in 11 months for the next set if qualifiers.

12-10-2010, 10:46 PM
I'd love to see young Danny Wilson coming into the team for the next game, in place of McManus. He looks a solid, comfortable young defender.

Thank **** Whittaker is going to be suspended - shocking player at that level - my fiance's parents are both ST holders at Ibrox and have lambasted him for 2 seasons now.

It's easy to see why.

Never engage old firm fans in debate regarding football. Their views are generally based more on expectation than any real knowledge of the game.

Whittaker has played out of position for his nation in the last 2 games, while the £9 million Premiership Hutton, and Bardsley played in their preferred positions.

Why not suggest that their perception of Whitty is entirely of their own doing due to Saint Walter taking a very good player and pi55ing him around in practically every position other than where the laddie is most comfortable? :confused:

12-10-2010, 10:50 PM
I disagree. The reporter asked the question the vast majority of fans wanted to ask. Why did Levein not use the same line up and tactics in Prague. Perfectly entitled to ask that IMO

It was a loaded question. He was trying to - without a HINT of subtlety - set Levien up. Now, Levien made a catastrophic arse up of that last game - but the boys have just went out and played well after they were totally written off. The performance was the big story, but the jouno thought that he could make the biggest name for himself by setting up the manager.It was the first thing on his mind, totally classless, and I hope his next bowel movement is a hedgehog.

12-10-2010, 10:54 PM

12-10-2010, 11:13 PM
It was a loaded question. He was trying to - without a HINT of subtlety - set Levien up. Now, Levien made a catastrophic arse up of that last game - but the boys have just went out and played well after they were totally written off. The performance was the big story, but the jouno thought that he could make the biggest name for himself by setting up the manager.It was the first thing on his mind, totally classless, and I hope his next bowel movement is a hedgehog.

Levein made a monumental b@lls up against the Czechs and he'll still be hearing about it in 20 years time. The question the reporter asked was an obvious one and Levein's reaction to the question suggests he doesn't realise the mistake he has made. In all likliehood Scotland will be out of the Euro Championship at the end of the campaign not on merit but because the Manager's tactics didn't give us a chance of progressing.

darrenmcintosh2
12-10-2010, 11:15 PM

It's easy to see why.

How can people criticise a defender that scored 7 goals last season. For a defender too get 7 goals a season is a great record. I feel Whittaker was extremely unlucky tonight.

12-10-2010, 11:24 PM

what a faniel!what a complete tit he is :agree:

He knows he messed up and isn't man enough to admit it.:agree:

SurferRosa
12-10-2010, 11:33 PM
Sorry.., but i think the reporter was more than entitled to ask the Scotland manager why he sent out his team to try to avoid gettin beat by a 2nd rate Czech team on Friday, but puts a striker on against the world champions. Levein let himself down, his players down,the fans down and Scotland down with that ****in disgrace on Friday night and if he wants to take the hump when asked about it, then it shows how guilty he feels but doesn`t have the guts to admit it.

Hibbie_Cameron
13-10-2010, 12:47 AM
Not long back. One of the best nights at hampden for a while.

The atmosphere was superb and when the equaliser went in the noise and chaos was unforgetable

13-10-2010, 12:51 AM
I'am just back from hampden. Had a fantastic day out. When Scotland equalised to make it 2-2 hampden erupted. My bus broke down in glasgow. We were stuck there for an about an hour after the game.

13-10-2010, 12:59 AM
Sorry.., but i think the reporter was more than entitled to ask the Scotland manager why he sent out his team to try to avoid gettin beat by a 2nd rate Czech team on Friday, but puts a striker on against the world champions. Levein let himself down, his players down,the fans down and Scotland down with that ****in disgrace on Friday night and if he wants to take the hump when asked about it, then it shows how guilty he feels but doesn`t have the guts to admit it.
I can sympathise with Potter. Friday night was Friday night and he has dealt with it good bad or indifferent. He set us up not to get beat away from home. Big deal. It almost worked. He was away from home to a side that are better than us.
Tonight we were always going to be beaten. He CHANGED TACTICS as we were at home and on a hiding to nothing. Again it almost worked.
He is undoubtably seriously pissed of with the media who are still questioning tactics from Friday night. The same media who during tonights game were saying we played badly on Friday night. We didno such thing. We played well both games and nearly pulled of a couple of results.
Is it any wonder when a Journalist who cannot grasp two different tactics for two completely different games asks a question trying to link the two gameschecks so exasperated he just walks off. I have not seen this and am assuming this is what happened.

HibeeMG
13-10-2010, 02:27 AM
I can sympathise with Potter. Friday night was Friday night and he has dealt with it good bad or indifferent. He set us up not to get beat away from home. Big deal. It almost worked. He was away from home to a side that are better than us.
Tonight we were always going to be beaten. He CHANGED TACTICS as we were at home and on a hiding to nothing. Again it almost worked.
He is undoubtably seriously pissed of with the media who are still questioning tactics from Friday night. The same media who during tonights game were saying we played badly on Friday night. We didno such thing. We played well both games and nearly pulled of a couple of results.
Is it any wonder when a Journalist who cannot grasp two different tactics for two completely different games asks a question trying to link the two gameschecks so exasperated he just walks off. I have not seen this and am assuming this is what happened.

Erm, we've all been questioning the never before seen tactics on Friday but he had always defended them.

It is a case of the rest of Scotland saying to him that we were right and he was wrong. He needs to acknowledge it with a bit of humility and then move on.

The man cannot defend his selections and tactics. The record for the week is played 2, lost 2. Regardless of who we played.

13-10-2010, 04:43 AM
Erm, we've all been questioning the never before seen tactics on Friday but he had always defended them.

It is a case of the rest of Scotland saying to him that we were right and he was wrong. He needs to acknowledge it with a bit of humility and then move on.

The man cannot defend his selections and tactics. The record for the week is played 2, lost 2. Regardless of who we played.And how we played or set up to play.
If we had held out for a draw with those tactics would he be getting questioned about them?
The players seemed to know what was required and were at least competent enough to play Fridays tactics. But for bog a standard corner which would have happened no matter the tactics on Fridayvwexwould have been out of Prague with a point. For everyone to question the tactics is a bit boring. That were the tactics everyone should get over it. It almost got us the desired result.
I would only fault Leveins media performances but can u derstsnd his exasperasions with them. Let's not forget the same media that leaked the fact that we wouldn't be starting with a recognised striker days before he even announced his team when it was divulged to them by a player or players agent.
His job is hard enough without our own press and TV sticking it up him when the team has performed wel enough ( with his tactics I might add).
I think if it was someone else other than Potter he wouldn't be getting it quite as tight on this message board.

13-10-2010, 06:37 AM
Are you serious?!! Over in Prague at the w-end it wasnt just Hibs.netters that were hacked off I can assure you of that. Good effort by everyone tonight, best atmosphere @ Hampden ive witnessed since SOL post Killie Final.

HibeeMG
13-10-2010, 06:50 AM
And how we played or set up to play.
If we had held out for a draw with those tactics would he be getting questioned about them?
The players seemed to know what was required and were at least competent enough to play Fridays tactics. But for bog a standard corner which would have happened no matter the tactics on Fridayvwexwould have been out of Prague with a point. For everyone to question the tactics is a bit boring. That were the tactics everyone should get over it. It almost got us the desired result.
I would only fault Leveins media performances but can u derstsnd his exasperasions with them. Let's not forget the same media that leaked the fact that we wouldn't be starting with a recognised striker days before he even announced his team when it was divulged to them by a player or players agent.
His job is hard enough without our own press and TV sticking it up him when the team has performed wel enough ( with his tactics I might add).
I think if it was someone else other than Potter he wouldn't be getting it quite as tight on this message board.

Unfortunately for him the tactics on Friday and yesterday didn't work. Because of that he shouldn't be coming across as an d!ck in interviews.

Does he not realise that it's a very tough thing to see your national team play without a striker? He can't just come out and say 'this is the plan we came up with'. The plan failed. If it had have been a draw his position would've been strengthened, but it wasn't.

Yesterdays game was also a failure. Admittedly, there wasn't much margin for error in getting your tactics right against the World and European champions. So we can forgive him that. Not against the Czechs though. We deserve an answer even if it's an acknowledgment that he got it wrong.

13-10-2010, 07:03 AM
Unfortunately for him the tactics on Friday and yesterday didn't work. Because of that he shouldn't be coming across as an d!ck in interviews.

Does he not realise that it's a very tough thing to see your national team play without a striker? He can't just come out and say 'this is the plan we came up with'. The plan failed. If it had have been a draw his position would've been strengthened, but it wasn't.

Yesterdays game was also a failure. Admittedly, there wasn't much margin for error in getting your tactics right against the World and European champions. So we can forgive him that. Not against the Czechs though. We deserve an answer even if it's an acknowledgment that he got it wrong.

His tactics didnt work on Friday but why were they wrong? If we played with one or two up front and got horsed 2 or 3 nil would you say the tactics were right? Its easy to slate the tactics if we get beat. Doesnt always follow they were wrong though. Can folks not see this?
We played ultra defensively with 6 in midfield (one a pacey striker with more about him defensively than Miller))to stop them scoring. If we had passed it better instead of lumping it up the park to no one we might have even pulled of a win.

13-10-2010, 07:28 AM
Quite a lot of ifs in that last post. If i never had balls I'd be a female!

HibeeMG
13-10-2010, 08:23 AM
His tactics didnt work on Friday but why were they wrong? If we played with one or two up front and got horsed 2 or 3 nil would you say the tactics were right? Its easy to slate the tactics if we get beat. Doesnt always follow they were wrong though. Can folks not see this?
We played ultra defensively with 6 in midfield (one a pacey striker with more about him defensively than Miller))to stop them scoring. If we had passed it better instead of lumping it up the park to no one we might have even pulled of a win.

The point is that the majority of people think those tactics were wrong. They were wrong not just in terms of entertainment, not just in terms of trying to win the game but also wrong in terms of giving our defence a chance to keep the clean sheet that Levein was so desperate for.

Like I said before, if the game had finished as a draw then you and he would have a better starting position for your argument. I'm saying that playing my (and everyone else's!) way wouldn't have left us with less points!!

Oh, and if you really, really want me to go into the details of why a 4-6-0 formation is so, so wrong then I will.

jonny
13-10-2010, 08:23 AM
IMO last night's performance makes Friday night's tactics look even more ridiculous.
Im not buying all the "it almost worked" comments. It didn't work - simple.

We set out without a forward against a team we had beaten only a few months before. Czech didn't qualify for the world cup, Czech just lost at home to Lithuania - essentially Czech are not that good. Levein gave them far too much respect. Had we gone there and had a go we might have still lost, no-one will ever know, however, I think we would have had enough to turn them over.

Against the world and european champions who I'm sure everyone will agree are miles better than Czech we played with a forward and hey presto we score 2 goals. Although on the back foot for most of the game we did give them problems when we attacked, had a couple of chances in the 1st half and a few more in the 2nd. On Friday night we didn't threaten the Czech goal at all.

If HP just put his hands up and said "I had a plan on Friday, it didn't work and in hindsight I got it wrong" I'd have a bit more respect for the man.

haagsehibby
13-10-2010, 08:42 AM
As it stands, and if my calculations are correct, if we beat the Czechs and Liths at home and beat Lichtenstein away and if Spain get maximium points then we will finish second. So we should have gone for it in Prague since there was no downside in losing anyway.

13-10-2010, 11:16 AM
As it stands, and if my calculations are correct, if we beat the Czechs and Liths at home and beat Lichtenstein away and if Spain get maximium points then we will finish second. So we should have gone for it in Prague since there was no downside in losing anyway.

Your calculations are correct. If those results happen, we would finish one point ahead of the Czech Republic and we would be on the same number of points as Lithuania but we would be above them as we would have the better head-to-head record.

13-10-2010, 11:59 AM
Quite a lot of ifs in that last post. If i never had balls I'd be a female!

I'd think yer boabby would have something to say aboot that...:greengrin

patlowe
13-10-2010, 12:45 PM

This would require three wins in a row. While each of those games are winnable, I'm just not sure whether Scotland have the mental strength and consistency to see it through.

13-10-2010, 12:50 PM
Greentinted - who said I've got one?!!

13-10-2010, 03:43 PM
Greentinted - who said I've got one?!!

:shocked::offski:

13-10-2010, 03:49 PM

Zero points out of six.:bye:

13-10-2010, 04:04 PM
Greentinted - HEEHEE!!