View Full Version : Media WTF is this

10-09-2010, 10:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cegdR0GiJl4

i cant get away from this song, every music channel or radio station it seems to come on :wtf:

i feel old saying this but is this what is considered music these days :crazy:

Storar
10-09-2010, 11:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cegdR0GiJl4

i cant get away from this song, every music channel or radio station it seems to come on :wtf:

i feel old saying this but is this what is considered music these days :crazy:

:faf: Oh my god! I cannot believe this made it out of South Africa alive :faf:

I'm genuinely shocked that it's being played here and other people are hearing it!
This is one of the BIGGEST bands in South Africa at the moment! Seriously never thought they'd get over here. I was at their exclusive album launch party in Johnannesburg back in April (my cousin works for a radio station there!) and the queue to get in was unbelievable. There were hundreds of kids outside trying to get in because people in that country actually take this music seriously :faf:
Their interviews are the more embarrassing than their songs too. Would you believe me if I told you thats more or less how "Yo-Landi Fokken Vi$$er" sounds when she speaks?
Would you believe me if I told you there's worse Afrikaans bands that Die Antwoord? :greengrin

10-09-2010, 11:21 PM
:faf: Oh my god! I cannot believe this made it out of South Africa alive :faf:

I'm genuinely shocked that it's being played here and other people are hearing it!
This is one of the BIGGEST bands in South Africa at the moment! Seriously never thought they'd get over here. I was at their exclusive album launch party in Johnannesburg back in April (my cousin works for a radio station there!) and the queue to get in was unbelievable. There were hundreds of kids outside trying to get in because people in that country actually take this music seriously :faf:
Their interviews are the more embarrassing than their songs too. Would you believe me if I told you thats more or less how "Yo-Landi Fokken Vi$$er" sounds when she speaks?
Would you believe me if I told you there's worse Afrikaans bands that Die Antwoord? :greengrin

its utter pish, i cant believe the people of SA buy into this, the guy is like Tim Westwood's long lost brother.

Is he really taking himself that seriously? or is it an act?

Storar
10-09-2010, 11:44 PM
its utter pish, i cant believe the people of SA buy into this, the guy is like Tim Westwood's long lost brother.

Is he really taking himself that seriously? or is it an act?

It's mingin, although its mainly the Afrikaners who seem to buy into it over there. Most of, if not all, the 'British' South Africans and the blacks were just as appalled by it as you and me which is why I'm so surprised it's actually getting airtime here!

The guy is serious though with his 'preaching' which is pretty gay although the Ninja thing is just his latest alter ego from what I gather but all his other alter egos have been pretty much the same.

Anyway, you can't listen to Die Antwoord without listening to Fokofpolisiekar (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MdSh8OGCGw), Straatligkinders (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkQ10Dr27h4&feature=related) or my personal favourite Jack Parow (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRzFqW4Xh2k&feature=related)... each is embarrassingly bad as the other!

11-09-2010, 08:47 AM
i'd never heard of die antwoord until half an hour ago but having spent that time viewing their stuff on youtube i am now a fan...of their comedy. Watching their interviews and videos its clear that they are having a laugh and the strange alien girl is weirdly attractive if a bit scary....interesting insight into the south african music scene.

Calvin
13-09-2010, 01:17 AM
I stumbled across this on a music channel at the end of last week and was traumatised!

It's one of the worst songs in history yet I couldn't get it out my head.

The singer is either a genius or an idiot.

xxclairexx
13-09-2010, 02:41 AM
Shameful but - i got made to use that as a message tone for losing a daft bet and...... I know every *****ing word now and cani help but sing it - it's catchy :whistle:

13-09-2010, 09:10 AM
It's mingin, although its mainly the Afrikaners who seem to buy into it over there. Most of, if not all, the 'British' South Africans and the blacks were just as appalled by it as you and me which is why I'm so surprised it's actually getting airtime here!

The guy is serious though with his 'preaching' which is pretty gay although the Ninja thing is just his latest alter ego from what I gather but all his other alter egos have been pretty much the same.

Anyway, you can't listen to Die Antwoord without listening to Fokofpolisiekar (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MdSh8OGCGw), Straatligkinders (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkQ10Dr27h4&feature=related) or my personal favourite Jack Parow (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRzFqW4Xh2k&feature=related)... each is embarrassingly bad as the other!

I don't see what is embarrasing about these two, one has a low budget video and sound quality but the songs are OK, other than being in Afrikaans they sound a lot like many bands i have heard from the UK and USA. I dont really see how these two are catgorised with Die Antwoord or Jack Parow other than they sing in Afrikaans. Thats like comparing Lady Gaga and Pantera because they both sing in english.

Makaveli
13-09-2010, 02:47 PM
I heard this on one of the music channels the other day and thought it must have been a joke? :confused:

13-09-2010, 04:23 PM
Deary me :bitchy: I prefer Coldplay that guff, and that's saying something!!

Some trio though eh - A wee blonde bint that I cannae decide if she's tidy or not, the ugliest person i've ever seen who looks like the love child of ET and Gail Platt, and South Africa's answer to Tim Westwood.

Suffice to say I aint a fan!

Storar
14-09-2010, 12:33 AM
Deary me :bitchy: I prefer Coldplay that guff, and that's saying something!!

Some trio though eh - A wee blonde bint that I cannae decide if she's tidy or not, the ugliest person i've ever seen who looks like the love child of ET and Gail Platt, and South Africa's answer to Tim Westwood.

Suffice to say I aint a fan!

She's mingin, the 'ugly guy' isn't even in the band, he just features in the video for some reason. He's a sufferer of progeria so think he can get away with his looks...

Slickshoes, I wasn't comparing the music styles, I was just giving a couple more examples of the most popular Afrikaans bands just now. My point was that it's crap right across the board.

14-09-2010, 06:24 AM
Attractive? she looks like a 12 year old :worms:

14-09-2010, 08:41 AM
She's mingin, the 'ugly guy' isn't even in the band, he just features in the video for some reason. He's a sufferer of progeria so think he can get away with his looks...

Slickshoes, I wasn't comparing the music styles, I was just giving a couple more examples of the most popular Afrikaans bands just now. My point was that it's crap right across the board.

Fair enough haha, its one of those weird things but i couldnt help myself clicking link after link of afrikaans bands yesterday!

Think that last one you mentioned is the worst by far though!

15-09-2010, 09:12 AM
It's better than this

Cheryl Cole - Promise This (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAafPrM81sU)