View Full Version : friendly: Beers v WesterHailes Baptist Church.

Mister P
21-08-2010, 01:54 PM
tuesday 24th august.

venue: Drumbrae
kick off: 6:30
meeting at 5:45

squad:
paul
archie
brad
deek
jamie
josh
grant bur
geoff
grant be
dunkie
sean
fenton
matt
newbie 1

GB6
21-08-2010, 02:15 PM
im in

21-08-2010, 02:27 PM
in

mentalhibee
21-08-2010, 03:23 PM
in.

21-08-2010, 03:51 PM
In!!!

Gus
21-08-2010, 04:00 PM
in

21-08-2010, 04:17 PM
In.

21-08-2010, 04:29 PM
I've got a guy interested in coming along to us, he'll be at the game on Tuesday :agree:

21-08-2010, 04:45 PM
In

Mister P
21-08-2010, 05:23 PM
Simbas playing for the Church :cool2:

21-08-2010, 07:16 PM
Simbas playing for the Church :cool2:

Take it you text him?

Delboy*
21-08-2010, 07:18 PM
in

21-08-2010, 08:02 PM
any surprises for this game :cool2:

21-08-2010, 08:19 PM
any surprises for this game :cool2:

Funny you should say that...

21-08-2010, 08:28 PM
Funny you should say that...

It's about time we got those kit bags!!

21-08-2010, 08:43 PM
It's about time we got those kit bags!!

Fanny..

21-08-2010, 08:48 PM

Fanny..

How :confused:

It's not that?? Well it has to be training tops??

Wysie8
21-08-2010, 08:48 PM
Yeah, what happened to those? Or the training gear?

Mister P
21-08-2010, 09:03 PM
the training gear.

£20 gets you

socks
shorts
t-shirt with initials printed
rain jacket
upgrade of insurance.

BUT, we can't order them when only a handfull of players have paid their dues.

SO CAN EVERYONE GET THEIR FINGERS OOT AND PAY UP.

if people had paid a fiver a week we would have had them ages ago!!!!

Gus
22-08-2010, 08:10 AM
the training gear.

£20 gets you

socks
shorts
t-shirt with initials printed
rain jacket
upgrade of insurance.

BUT, we can't order them when only a handfull of players have paid their dues.

SO CAN EVERYONE GET THEIR FINGERS OOT AND PAY UP.

if people had paid a fiver a week we would have had them ages ago!!!!

we havent had four training sessions???:confused: thats when i thought people were gonna give you the fiver a week:cool2:

I went to give you a tenner last week "give it me after" forgot & me and missus went tae the flicks instead:greengrin

22-08-2010, 02:41 PM
as this is a friendly i'd like to be included for a wee run out :thumbsup:

Josh 01
22-08-2010, 03:09 PM
In

Teo10
22-08-2010, 03:33 PM

Cripple

Mister P
22-08-2010, 03:41 PM
are u fit paul

22-08-2010, 05:34 PM

Not if we have 16 fully fit players :wink:

22-08-2010, 08:29 PM
are u fit paul
I'm getting there, played three games of fives and would like to get a game under my belt or even 20 minutes if at all possible. As this is a friendly I thought it would be an ideal opportunity for me to get some game time under my belt whilst on road to full recovery

Not if we have 16 fully fit players :wink:

its friendly... didnt think there would be a squad limit :dunno:

Mister P
22-08-2010, 08:33 PM
I'm getting there, played three games of fives and would like to get a game under my belt or even 20 minutes if at all possible. As this is a friendly I thought it would be an ideal opportunity for me to get some game time under my belt whilst on road to full recovery

its friendly... didnt think there would be a squad limit :dunno:

aye, but we're still trying to fix a few problems, hence the need for a friendly in among a busy schedule. all depends on what we try out.

22-08-2010, 08:38 PM
aye, but we're still trying to fix a few problems, hence the need for a friendly in among a busy schedule. all depends on what we try out.
wouldnt like to think im not included in the attempt to fix those few problems
I may well be the answer :greengrin
haha but on a serious note, i'm part of the squad hence putting my name forward. I'm a fortnight or so away from a good level of fitness.

22-08-2010, 08:58 PM
I've got a guy interested in coming along to us, he'll be at the game on Tuesday :agree:
and i cannae play aye :wink:

Mister P
22-08-2010, 09:13 PM
so who should step aside to let you have a shot?

name them and I'll tell them.:na na:

22-08-2010, 09:17 PM

not saying that in the slightest...

all im saying is i'd like to be included in the squad and given its a friendly i dont see the need for restricitng it. fair enough if 20 folk put there name down then aye, but if 17 then your not going to bump one person from it.

just dont like how im being excluded so easily:boo hoo:

and i would have thought i would have had priority over someone who hasnt signed yet!? :dunno:

Mister P
22-08-2010, 09:31 PM
sssht, Im pulling yer chain.

but it does depend on what we try.

potentialy 2 newbies, maybe just the one though:rolleyes:

22-08-2010, 09:33 PM
sssht, Im pulling yer chain.

but it does depend on what we try.

potentialy 2 newbies, maybe just the one though:rolleyes:

okey doke :cool2:

22-08-2010, 09:37 PM
The reason it's capped at 16 as the new kits only have 15 outfield strips..

There's 2 or 3 goalies kits so if you wanna hit the sticks with your gammy arm fire in :wink:

As for the guy I've got coming along..

He's a striker/winger which myself, Derek and John have identified as a area which is needing imediate strengthining and with this guys credentials he's not one to be missing out on a chance to sign..

This is in now way disrespect to yourself Paul or Danny for that matter as he's in exactly the same boat as you!!

The guy I've got coming is 100% fully match fit and on Tuesday we'll get to see the real deal from him and then we can decide if he's worth pursuing or not!

As you've said your already signed so we've decided your worth pursuing :wink: but as you've not done any football or training for how ever many weeks it'd be prudish just to disregard this traialists appearence over yours or Dannys!!

I hope this doesn't piss you off or dishearten you and the situation might not even arise if we don't get 16 bodies..

Even though I think we will!

That sound reasonable?

22-08-2010, 09:43 PM

There's 2 or 3 goalies kits so if you wanna hit the sticks with your gammy arm fire in :wink:

He's a striker/winger which myself, Derek and John have identified as a area which is needing imediate strengthining and with this guys credentials he's not one to be missing out on a chance to sign..

This is in now way disrespect to yourself Paul or Danny for that matter as he's in exactly the same boat as you!!

The guy I've got coming is 100% fully match fit and on Tuesday we'll get to see the real deal from him and then we can decide if he's worth pursuing or not!

As you've said your already signed so we've decided your worth pursuing :wink: but as you've not done any football or training for how ever many weeks it'd be prudish just to disregard this traialists appearence over yours or Dannys!!

I hope this doesn't piss you off or dishearten you and the situation might not even arise if we don't get 16 bodies..

That sound reasonable?

Good post, and perfectly good reasoning.
Thanks for that. :aok:

22-08-2010, 10:14 PM

No me anyway, did you enjoy the rangers game :greengrin

Mister P
22-08-2010, 10:15 PM
Good post, and perfectly good reasoning.
Thanks for that. :aok:

so you gonna go in goals then?

22-08-2010, 10:23 PM

That sound reasonable?

You are a joey btw! You talk some pants, you will know what I'm talking about :cool2::notworthy:

DunKie87
22-08-2010, 11:06 PM
in as always

23-08-2010, 05:59 AM
Any idea on the venue yet John?

I think I'll be struggling to get to the game on time depending on where we are playing.

I've got to get my stitches out at 5:10 but my doctors is in Roslin. I won't have a car so unless I can get a lift I'll not get there in time

Mister P
23-08-2010, 07:03 AM
no idea yet mate. i'll txt as soon as i know tho

GreenGunner
23-08-2010, 08:42 AM
I'm out for tomorrow lads - best of luck though.
I'm also away this weekend so pls send me a text if there's anything doing next week

:notworthy:

23-08-2010, 10:20 AM
I'm out.

Now that the schools are back I would rather get a Monday session under my belt first (next Monday).

Mister P
23-08-2010, 10:23 AM
updated first post with times and details

23-08-2010, 10:27 AM
im out guys... theres no chance ill get from roslin to drumbrae in time. :boo hoo:

23-08-2010, 10:32 AM
Which pitch at Drumbrae is it? Is it the ones by the sports center :dizzy:

23-08-2010, 10:39 AM
john,

are you off tomorrow and if so, what time will you be leaving your house at??

depending on how long im in the doctors i could get a bus over to straiton and you could pick me up.... might be a bit tight timewise so understand if you think its not possible.

Mister P
23-08-2010, 11:13 AM
lynne is likely to be out tomorrow with the car, im having to figure out how to drop the wee man off and get a bus. i'll keep u updated tho ritch.

23-08-2010, 11:19 AM
lynne is likely to be out tomorrow with the car, im having to figure out how to drop the wee man off and get a bus. i'll keep u updated tho ritch.

no problem boss.

Josh 01
23-08-2010, 11:38 AM
yeah the one at the leisure centre

Teo10
23-08-2010, 11:40 AM
I played there last tuesday, you guys better hope its not windy, the slightest breeze and that place feels like a tornado going through it!

23-08-2010, 12:29 PM
yeah the one at the leisure centre

Cheers Neph, shall pop along with the weeman then :wink:

23-08-2010, 01:07 PM
I played there last tuesday, you guys better hope its not windy, the slightest breeze and that place feels like a tornado going through it!

Learn how to spell

your signature:wink:

Teo10
23-08-2010, 01:09 PM
Learn how to spell

your signature:wink:

You know, I was going to take it easy against you at Craigmount tonight if we were on opposite teams... but im now going to request to be against you.

23-08-2010, 01:12 PM
You know, I was going to take it easy against you at Craigmount tonight if we were on opposite teams... but im now going to request to be against you.
:bitchy: Shaking in my wee boots t-bag

FYI its always :greengrin

:love ya!:

Teo10
23-08-2010, 01:28 PM
:bitchy: Shaking in my wee boots t-bag

FYI its always :greengrin

:love ya!:

Well I made you cry last time I torn you a new bumhole! remember.. it looked like this ---> :boo hoo:

Its never been allways :wink:

23-08-2010, 01:33 PM
Well I made you cry last time I torn you a new bumhole! remember.. it looked like this ---> :boo hoo:

Its never been allways :wink:

:panic:

Glancy87
23-08-2010, 02:46 PM
Im in but if you have plenty of players i will just give it a miss. Give other players a run out.

Mister P
23-08-2010, 07:34 PM
Im in but if you have plenty of players i will just give it a miss. Give other players a run out.

I thought you were away for a month???:confused:

If needed, can someone take some of the kit afterward, balls, medibag etc.
I probably wont have the car and will be bussing it back over to Gilmerton afterwards so canny take all the shizzle with me Im afraid.

24-08-2010, 07:09 AM
I thought you were away for a month???:confused:

If needed, can someone take some of the kit afterward, balls, medibag etc.
I probably wont have the car and will be bussing it back over to Gilmerton afterwards so canny take all the shizzle with me Im afraid.

Think me n my dug are going to come and watch Pube teeth so I'll give you a lift home.

Teo10
24-08-2010, 07:26 AM
Think me n my dug are going to come and watch Pube teeth so I'll give you a lift home.

Your dug hates you.

24-08-2010, 07:39 AM
Your dug hates you.

not as much a he hates dunks!

im going to get him to attack him...... he obeys my every word.

have you seen him Teo??

here's a wee pic.....

cute eh??

24-08-2010, 07:46 AM
Ritchies dug is the best dug I've met in ages

Teo10
24-08-2010, 08:04 AM

have you seen him Teo??

here's a wee pic.....

cute eh??

Haha Ill see your dog tonight! going to just work late then come straight to Drumbrae from work, better not be raining:grr:

24-08-2010, 08:43 AM

have you seen him Teo??

here's a wee pic.....

cute eh??

Lesley's bringing my dogs tonight tae..

http://triton.imageshack.us/Himg842/scaled.php?server=842&filename=imagext.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=480

Also very cute!!

24-08-2010, 11:00 AM
My lad is a big hibby as you can see..

http://triton.imageshack.us/Himg834/scaled.php?server=834&filename=imagetwc.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=480

Might sign him for the Beers :notworthy:

BigBeatz1
24-08-2010, 11:31 AM
Anyone able to pick me up from the station tonight?

24-08-2010, 11:41 AM

What stations does the train stop at Grant?

GB6
24-08-2010, 11:50 AM

more importantly :greengrin is anyone going past the lochend area? my usual ''taxis'' pete and aaron are out of this one :grr:

24-08-2010, 12:26 PM
more importantly :greengrin is anyone going past the lochend area? my usual ''taxis'' pete and aaron are out of this one :grr:

How about you learn to drive bawjaws :agree:

24-08-2010, 12:41 PM

just take you and your stupid wee face on a bus!!! :agree::devil:

GB6
24-08-2010, 12:42 PM
How about you learn to drive bawjaws :agree:

:tumble:

GB6
24-08-2010, 12:46 PM
just take you and your stupid wee face on a bus!!! :agree::devil:
:asshole:

looks like my wee face will be on the bus

24-08-2010, 01:11 PM
:asshole:

looks like my wee face will be on the bus

you forgot 'stupid' :agree:

BigBeatz1
24-08-2010, 01:52 PM
either edinburgh park, haymarket or waverly, whatever suits you :p

24-08-2010, 02:14 PM
either edinburgh park, haymarket or waverly, whatever suits you :p

Edinburgh Park is good for me!! I work 2 mins from there and finish at 5, what times the trains?

Josh 01
24-08-2010, 02:16 PM
i can get gran at edin park no bother fentos
What time grant?

Josh 01
24-08-2010, 02:17 PM
owell i wont bother then haha

24-08-2010, 02:31 PM
owell i wont bother then haha

Josh if you could get him that'd be a help as I need to go home for my shizzle and also probably get Fonz :rolleyes:

Josh 01
24-08-2010, 02:43 PM
i mate thats fine
Grant what time?

sauzee=legend
24-08-2010, 04:18 PM
Good luck boys. Gutted I need to work.

24-08-2010, 07:50 PM
:cool2:

24-08-2010, 08:37 PM
What was the score guys?

24-08-2010, 08:43 PM
1-1

Archie scored a deliberate lob from about 40 yards :greengrin

24-08-2010, 08:55 PM
1-1

Archie scored a deliberate lob from about 40 yards :greengrin
Now you're just being ridiculous...

24-08-2010, 08:55 PM
Was a good game boys.

MOM in my opinion was Fenton, put in a good shift and won loads of tackles and linked up well.

24-08-2010, 08:57 PM
Now you're just being ridiculous...

All 100% true.... Except the deliberate bit :greengrin

Special mention to both keepers... Geoff made an unbelieveable save in the first and grant made another in the second half.

Big samba looked good in midfield I though also....

24-08-2010, 09:10 PM
MOM for me was either dunkie, Jamie or Fenton. For me Jamie done alot of work up and down the right with out much service from me, also John was good.

My goal was 100% ment took a good pass from Fenton, took a touch seen the keeper of the line and the ball sat up so I hit it

24-08-2010, 09:13 PM
MOM for me was either dunkie, Jamie or Fenton. For me Jamie done alot of work up and down the right with out much service from me, also John was good.

My goal was 100% ment took a good pass from Fenton, took a touch seen the keeper of the line and the ball sat up so I hit it

Ok Archie, I'll give you the benefit of the doubt x

24-08-2010, 09:15 PM
Almost forgot!!!

WELCOME BACK TEO :thumbsup:

Was one of the clauses in your contract that you get the number 10 shirt?? :wink:

24-08-2010, 09:15 PM

Im putting it out there. MOM for me was Fonz closely followed by Fenton

DunKie87
24-08-2010, 09:23 PM
Tht wiz quite a hard game the nite
but woke up afta halftime nd took the game ti them
farches wonder cross wiz quality
celebrated it like he won the scottish cup tho lol
john i thought had a great game puttin his body on the line fur the cause
we need ti learn the in/off tho im winnin the headers wi 1 player chasin it.
gd result tho
1 last fing fur the amount of long ball they punted up, we dealt wi them really well.
well done ya bunch eh jessies

Delboy*
24-08-2010, 09:38 PM
well done to John n Gus.
John stepped up to the plate n a definite improvement from the Gus-man

24-08-2010, 09:59 PM
I would like to apologise for the negativity in the first half it was caused by me. I was having a howler and I knew it. But I felt all I heard was Archie this Archie that. Someone telling me to do one thing and someone else the other and I got pissed off. Deek my shout wasn't directed at you it was an aimless shout

Mister P
24-08-2010, 10:08 PM
I would like to apologise for the negativity in the first half it was caused by me. I was having a howler and I knew it. But I felt all I heard was Archie this Archie that. Someone telling me to do one thing and someone else the other and I got pissed off. Deek my shout wasn't directed at you it was an aimless shout

yup I'll agree mate. i had a wee pop in the first half. What I was trying to inform you (and maybe wasnt concise enough) was that although you're pushing up on a free player, your man was in behind you leaving me to be dragged out of position to cover him, thus leaving my man free for gus to slide over into, etc etc etc. it the heat of the moment it came out as "AAAARRRCCCHHIIEEE" but you're right, and this is why we need to have much clearer communication between each other.

GB6
24-08-2010, 10:20 PM
Think we played much better second half, well done archie on the goal and overall performace :thumbsup: thought 2 cb's played well aswell, gus won nearly every header and the couple he missed (if there even was any) john was there to clear up... Grant again great saves that kept us in it... well done overall !!

Teo10
24-08-2010, 10:35 PM
Well done tonight lads, so glad to be back!!!

We could have one, think I was just too excited and being back I couldn't do much! Special mentions to both keepers, grandaddy Geoff kept us in the game with some terrific saves!

It was there for the taking but we didn't lose and it was a good fitness test, we need to keep communication through all parts of the field, who's marking who, where players are to go etc.

Anyway well done lads and it's awesome to have put on the green and White again!

Mister P
24-08-2010, 10:40 PM
my review of tonights game is up!!!!

24-08-2010, 10:48 PM
Line-ups, subs, etc..

Mister P
24-08-2010, 11:09 PM
Geoff/ Grant 2nd half

LB Josh
CB Matt
CB John
RB Archie

LM Grant Burnett
CM Deek
CM Fenton
RM Jamie

CF Dunkie
CF Brad

subs
Teo, on for Brad
Paul, on for Matt
Sean, on for Grant

archie scores a peach!!!!
the run up wasn't the same but it went something like this
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSZz-bgjjDM)

GB6
24-08-2010, 11:24 PM
Geoff/ Grant 2nd half

LB Josh
CB Matt
CB John
RB Archie

LM Grant Burnett
CM Deek
CM Fenton
RM Jamie

CF Dunkie
CF Brad

subs
Teo, on for Brad
Paul, on for Matt
Sean, on for Grant

sean came on for matt and paul for me

25-08-2010, 05:56 AM
Geoff/ Grant 2nd half

LB Josh
CB Matt
CB John
RB Archie

LM Grant Burnett
CM Deek
CM Fenton
RM Jamie

CF Dunkie
CF Brad

subs
Teo, on for Brad
Paul, on for Matt
Sean, on for Grant

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04ADUEYjAys&feature=youtube_gdata_player

25-08-2010, 08:48 AM
Tough game last night against a BIG physical side..

Improvement from when we played them last..

Archie, not even I would have the audacity to claim that was meant!

I've posted more in depth on our site, can we please use that lads :aok:

EDIT: Just want to add that Geoff's save in the 1st half was immense and Grant's in the 2nd was genuinely one of the best saves I've ever witnessed!!

GB6
25-08-2010, 04:39 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04ADUEYjAys&feature=youtube_gdata_player

more along the lines of... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4fsLeCjB4s

25-08-2010, 04:57 PM
more along the lines of... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4fsLeCjB4s

:agree: but a better end product