View Full Version : Home pitch

Mister P
07-03-2010, 10:00 PM
Here is a list of all the pitches Edinburgh Leisure use. If anyone knows these pitches please let me know your thoughts.

Kev, can you give us a heads up on any you know from experience.

Arbouretum (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh35pn&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=14.671726,39.506836&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH35PN,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.968647,-3.214703&spn=0.003386,0.009645&t=h&z=17)
Bingham (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153ba&sll=55.968647,-3.214703&sspn=0.003386,0.009645&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153BA,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)
Campbell Park (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh130rb&sll=55.944,-3.104118&sspn=0.006777,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH130RB,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.904046,-3.266181&spn=0.013568,0.038581&t=h&z=15)
City Park
Colinton
Currie
Double Hedges [think Inch colts have the lease on it]
Drumbrae [too small:dunno:]
Duddingston (Cavalry Park (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153pu&sll=55.968803,-3.221741&sspn=0.054183,0.154324&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153PU,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16))
Fernieside (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=fernieside+drive&sll=55.912634,-3.13267&sspn=0.006783,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Fernieside+Dr,+Edinburgh,+Midlothian+EH17,+U nited+Kingdom&ll=55.91445,-3.128421&spn=0.003067,0.01929&t=h&z=16&layer=c&cbll=55.914452,-3.128422&panoid=QlYXG3ubv1n9nhlAS3wrlw&cbp=11,297.99,,0,5) [next to ma hoose:greengrin brand new pavilion, barely ever see it being used:dunno]
Gyle
Inverleith
Inch [Danny says stay well clear]
Jack Kane
Kirkliston
Meggetland (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh141dd&sll=55.91445,-3.128421&sspn=0.00683,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH141DD,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)
Portobello (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153aw&sll=55.925884,-3.234465&sspn=0.00678,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153AW,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)
Paties
Queensferry
Ratho
Roseburn
Saughton [only a couple of pitches any good and they're leased IIRC]
seafield
Sighthill
Silverknowes [summer only]
Wardie

07-03-2010, 10:07 PM
Arbouretum

Arboretum is the park you go past if you're going to Edinburgh Academy down Arboretum Road. Played on it once last season, good surface.

Double Hedges used to be superb a few years ago but I've not played there since, I will go down for a wee inspection tomorrow.

The Inch Park pitches are truly horrible. Nothing to do with the quality of the grass, it's the sideways slope on one and the elevated corner on the other. Bad idea.

Mister P
07-03-2010, 10:13 PM
Ive google mapped a few of the lesser known pitches going by their postcodes. I take no responsibility for the accuracy of google maps:greengrin

craig1875
07-03-2010, 10:46 PM
I think what ever pitch we decide apon, realy needs to have good bus routes near by.

Arbouretum (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh35pn&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=14.671726,39.506836&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH35PN,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.968647,-3.214703&spn=0.003386,0.009645&t=h&z=17) - From what i remember very good pitches but not the easyest place to get to by bus. (i got lost, and turned up about half time.)

Double Hedges [think Inch colts have the lease on it] - They were great pitches about 10 year ago, not seen them for a while. Great for buses.

Gyle - Not sure on the pitch quality, but good bus service to the place.

Inch [Danny says stay well clear] - Agree with danny.

Jack Kane - Pitches aren't bad but good for buses.

Wardie - They were good pitches a 4-5 year ago but alot of games get called off there in the winter. (also where i damaged my ankle, so personaly wouldn't want to go back.)

I don't think i know anything about the other pitches so if i had to vote for one it would probably be Gyle.

P.S. what about the pitches where we played erin hibs i think it was. great new pitches not far from silverknowes, or does it had to be an Edinburgh Leisure approved pitch? :confused:

Mister P
07-03-2010, 11:22 PM
P.S. what about the pitches where we played erin hibs i think it was. great new pitches not far from silverknowes, or does it had to be an Edinburgh Leisure approved pitch? :confused:

doesnt ahve to be an EL pitch, but thats what the league uses. we'd have to organise our own pitches otherwise and tbh thats one of the hastles im looking forward to not having to deal with:agree:

08-03-2010, 04:29 AM
Porty slopes side ways

there's a pitch here, I see it all the time when i'm working and it looks good. I've no idea of size or anything

11-23 Park View
Edinburgh
City of Edinburgh
EH21 8
United Kingdom

Delboy*
08-03-2010, 06:17 AM
Here is a list of all the pitches Edinburgh Leisure use. If anyone knows these pitches please let me know your thoughts.

Arbouretum (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh35pn&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=14.671726,39.506836&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH35PN,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.968647,-3.214703&spn=0.003386,0.009645&t=h&z=17)
Bingham (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153ba&sll=55.968647,-3.214703&sspn=0.003386,0.009645&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153BA,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)
Campbell Park (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh130rb&sll=55.944,-3.104118&sspn=0.006777,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH130RB,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.904046,-3.266181&spn=0.013568,0.038581&t=h&z=15)
City Park
Colinton
Currie
Duddingston (Cavalry Park (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153pu&sll=55.968803,-3.221741&sspn=0.054183,0.154324&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153PU,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16))
Fernieside (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=fernieside+drive&sll=55.912634,-3.13267&sspn=0.006783,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Fernieside+Dr,+Edinburgh,+Midlothian+EH17,+U nited+Kingdom&ll=55.91445,-3.128421&spn=0.003067,0.01929&t=h&z=16&layer=c&cbll=55.914452,-3.128422&panoid=QlYXG3ubv1n9nhlAS3wrlw&cbp=11,297.99,,0,5) [next to ma hoose:greengrin brand new pavilion, barely ever see it being used:dunno]
Gyle
Inverleith
Jack Kane
Kirkliston
Meggetland (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh141dd&sll=55.91445,-3.128421&sspn=0.00683,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH141DD,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)
Portobello (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153aw&sll=55.925884,-3.234465&sspn=0.00678,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153AW,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)
Paties
Queensferry
Ratho
Roseburn
seafield
Sighthill
Silverknowes [summer only]
Wardie

ARE ALL THESE PITCHES ACTUALLY AVAILABLE TO US??

if not or unknown then this is pretty pointless:rolleyes:

08-03-2010, 07:06 AM
Bingham is already used by two Sunday teams so i doubt we'd get that pitch.

Like I said yesterday john. Jack kane is good enough aslong as someone goes a little earlier so we can put our nets up on the best pitch. Fernieside, if it's the one I think it is, is pretty decent.

Mister P
08-03-2010, 08:31 AM
i phoned the lassie at the JK and asked what pitches were actualy part of EL. she posted me the sbove list. if WE cant lease a pitch, how is bingham or any other already taken by other teams :dunno:

Delboy*
08-03-2010, 08:51 AM
i phoned the lassie at the JK and asked what pitches were actualy part of EL. she posted me the sbove list. if WE cant lease a pitch, how is bingham or any other already taken by other teams :dunno:

Thats just my point m8, ok she has given u a list of EL pitches but that doesnt mean we can just take our pick as i would imagine that most of the better ones are already leased out, naw?.....................

or did u do wot any good Fonz would do n ask for all pitches available to lease on a sunday at 2pm?.........................

08-03-2010, 08:59 AM
Jack Kane pitches are murder and you always get some jakey with a bike hairing across the halfway line.

Gyle pitches are good, i really like them. play there regularly.
Saughton pitches are the two REALLY sloped ones avoid at all costs.

Mister P
08-03-2010, 09:01 AM
aye, but need to know of any we want to keep well clear of.

if theres nae worth while ones left, theres always places like Edin Academy and the likes.
the league secretary said if theres any pitches we like to use then let him know. I assumed he was talking about EL pitches but maybe he would book (if available) Edin Academy or other 'private' pitches:dunno: or we book it directly ourselves when needed.

Ive enquired about Edin Academy, it's £50 per game. Im going to contact them again and ask if its possible to get some kind of agreement with them to reserve their pitches if we can book 5 weeks in advance (that's apparently the notice the league gives you for your fixtures), just as a heads up like.

Delboy*
08-03-2010, 09:50 AM

if theres nae worth while ones left, theres always places like Edin Academy and the likes.
the league secretary said if theres any pitches we like to use then let him know. I assumed he was talking about EL pitches but maybe he would book (if available) Edin Academy or other 'private' pitches:dunno: or we book it directly ourselves when needed.

Ive enquired about Edin Academy, it's £50 per game. Im going to contact them again and ask if its possible to get some kind of agreement with them to reserve their pitches if we can book 5 weeks in advance (that's apparently the notice the league gives you for your fixtures), just as a heads up like.

If u can get Edin Academy then ur a superstar! :agree:

08-03-2010, 10:06 AM
Jack Kane pitches are murder and you always get some jakey with a bike hairing across the halfway line.

Gyle pitches are good, i really like them. play there regularly.
Saughton pitches are the two REALLY sloped ones avoid at all costs.

they arent all murder!!

the 3 pitches on the left hand side are decent.

better than others we've played on.

---------- Post added at 11:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:05 AM ----------

edinburgh academy would be good.... is it the pitch we used to play against rangers???

Mister P
08-03-2010, 01:29 PM
just enquired. ed acad is leased out to Hutchie Vale so no can do :boo hoo:

kevinref
08-03-2010, 07:55 PM

Arbouretum (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh35pn&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=14.671726,39.506836&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH35PN,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.968647,-3.214703&spn=0.003386,0.009645&t=h&z=17) pitch is too small for adults
Bingham (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153ba&sll=55.968647,-3.214703&sspn=0.003386,0.009645&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153BA,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)dunedin have on sundays
Campbell Park (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh130rb&sll=55.944,-3.104118&sspn=0.006777,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH130RB,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.904046,-3.266181&spn=0.013568,0.038581&t=h&z=15)saturday team have 5 yr contract sole for them seaforth highlanders
City Park no one not being used unlikly to get
Colinton fernieside 16s (folded)and oxgangs i think
Currie currie boys club have sole use of it
Duddingston (Cavalry Park (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153pu&sll=55.968803,-3.221741&sspn=0.054183,0.154324&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153PU,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16)) dont know
Fernieside (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=fernieside+drive&sll=55.912634,-3.13267&sspn=0.006783,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Fernieside+Dr,+Edinburgh,+Midlothian+EH17,+U nited+Kingdom&ll=55.91445,-3.128421&spn=0.003067,0.01929&t=h&z=16&layer=c&cbll=55.914452,-3.128422&panoid=QlYXG3ubv1n9nhlAS3wrlw&cbp=11,297.99,,0,5) [next to ma hoose:greengrin brand new pavilion, barely ever see it being used:dunno] tynecastle have sole rights to this
Gyle anybody
Inverleith spartans have sole use
Jack Kane any body
Kirkliston broxburn
Meggetland (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh141dd&sll=55.91445,-3.128421&sspn=0.00683,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH141DD,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16) no chance schools only
Portobello (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=eh153aw&sll=55.925884,-3.234465&sspn=0.00678,0.01929&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Edinburgh+EH153AW,+United+Kingdom&t=h&z=16) anybody
Paties chesser inn
Queensferry no one
Ratho sighthill sunday ratho saturday
Roseburn few teams use it on sundays
seafield lochend
Sighthill edin city
Silverknowes [summer only] no one
Wardie fully booked on sat hutchie on sun

Delboy*
09-03-2010, 08:16 PM
Remember n enquire about all that we fancy, even if someone has some kind of hold over it, Johny managed to get back at sighthill this season for Meadow Star's home games even tho its Edin city that have those parks.

09-03-2010, 10:30 PM
Anyone got any contacts within Edina Hibs?

A few good parks at the Jewel, would be keeping the Hibs theme going :notworthy:

10-03-2010, 06:43 AM
Anyone got any contacts within Edina Hibs?

A few good parks at the Jewel, would be keeping the Hibs theme going :notworthy:

Got told yesteray that Edina hibs are in talks with the council about leasing Bingham. They plan on building two floodlit pitches there.

Mister P
10-03-2010, 09:01 AM
should we send an email to them:dunno:

10-03-2010, 09:05 AM
should we send an email to them:dunno:

Aye, or phone, defo :agree:

10-03-2010, 02:12 PM
Got told yesteray that Edina hibs are in talks with the council about leasing Bingham. They plan on building two floodlit pitches there.That wont be the pitches on Bingham Avenue (the one Dunedin use)..i would be very surprised if it was ..

Edina for many a year have used the pitches 1/ Beside the Jewel Miners club & 2/ The railway pitch ....in the last couple of years they have marked out & used a 3rd pitch in Bingham..the 3rd pitch is basically "over the burn" from pitches 1 & 2 & still within walking distance to their club rooms ..

10-03-2010, 02:18 PM
That wont be the pitches on Bingham Avenue (the one Dunedin use)..i would be very surprised if it was ..

Edina for many a year have used the pitches 1/ Beside the Jewel Miners club & 2/ The railway pitch ....in the last couple of years they have marked out & used a 3rd pitch in Bingham..the 3rd pitch is basically "over the burn" from pitches 1 & 2 & still within walking distance to their club rooms ..

That's the pitches I played on for a few years before joining the Beers! Pretty good surfaces and decent changing facilities :thumbsup:

John has emailed Edina and they have got back to him already, seems promising but nothing has been confirmed yet :pray:

10-03-2010, 02:22 PM
That wont be the pitches on Bingham Avenue (the one Dunedin use)..i would be very surprised if it was ..

yeh, it was the boy at my work who plays for dunedin who told me.

he said the council are eager to lease out council pitches to teams who have a proper set up, i.e. different age groups starting at a young age.

---------- Post added at 03:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:21 PM ----------

That's the pitches I played on for a few years before joining the Beers! Pretty good surfaces and decent changing facilities :thumbsup:

John has emailed Edina and they have got back to him already, seems promising but nothing has been confirmed yet :pray:

fingers crossed! :cool2:

10-03-2010, 02:23 PM

John has emailed Edina and they have got back to him already, seems promising but nothing has been confirmed yet :pray:Thats where i had my ill fated trial wi Edina many years ago ..when i say ill fated i mean i was Tom Kite ...:greengrin

Good luck, i hope ye get something sorted wi Edina....:aok:

Mister P
15-04-2010, 08:48 AM
had a friend suggestion on facebook that turned out to be the guy who runs edina. theyve not had their meeting yet but he says the "have" bingham park as well as the jewel so it should be a go-er.