View Full Version : The we will always love the Old East stand thread!

22-02-2010, 09:36 AM
Goodbye, Thanks for the memories! :agree:

May be gone/going, but you will never be forgotten! :thumbsup:

22-02-2010, 09:38 AM
I am sad...November 2007 vs Hertz (1-1) will now forever be my last game in the old East Stand :boo hoo:

22-02-2010, 09:43 AM
End of an era and all that. It will be sadly missed. :boo hoo:

They'd better leave the exit gates there for posterity though, if I don't touch them on the way out the world will surely end :greengrin

Ghaax
22-02-2010, 09:46 AM
Grew up there and spent ma whole Hibee life on that terracing. Tried the shed, the auld enclosure but always came back to the terracing.:thumbsup:

Still - don't know how I'll cope wi getting chucked oot o so many games from now on............:rolleyes::bye:

Joe Baker II
22-02-2010, 09:48 AM
Very sad news, just caps a pretty miserable week for many Hibs fans!

22-02-2010, 09:49 AM
Apart from one season, I have always had my season ticket in the East. I will always remember being in there for the 6-2 game most.

OLD EAST STAND - :notworthy:

22-02-2010, 09:50 AM
I personally remember the old East Terracing (uncovered and huge) - IMO the monstrosity that currently exists makes ER look like some third-rate amateur stadium: the quicker it goes the bettter. Good riddance to it - and great news!:thumbsup:

bornahibby
22-02-2010, 09:51 AM
Had some of the best times at a footie match in the old east. I'll be sad to see it go.

hibsfan7
22-02-2010, 09:54 AM
:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notwo rthy:maybe we should sell it to a certain team who are on the lookout for a new stand

you know the one that is going to cost £51 million

22-02-2010, 10:03 AM
End of an era and all that. It will be sadly missed. :boo hoo:

They'd better leave the exit gates there for posterity though, if I don't touch them on the way out the world will surely end :greengrin

I wonder if Nostradamus foresaw the tumbling of the green metal gates? I surely hope not.

22-02-2010, 10:11 AM
some great memories watching hibs in the east, souness's first rangers game, bouncing, ending up at the bottom after both goals and the sending off, rushing inside after the 91 cup win,Athens game, 6-2 game. only ever moved because i wouldn't take my lassie in there when she was wee.will be back now though:thumbsup:

22-02-2010, 10:20 AM
I personally remember the old East Terracing (uncovered and huge) - IMO the monstrosity that currently exists makes ER look like some third-rate amateur stadium: the quicker it goes the bettter. Good riddance to it - and great news!:thumbsup:

Ah, but from inside the East, the stadium looked great. :wink:

22-02-2010, 10:26 AM
Some great memories.

6-2, winning the First Div, parading the cup, End of Moggas first season, Athens and seeing the likes of Keith Keith Keith, Mickey, Crunchie, Latapy, Sauzee, the Pornstar, Matty Jack, Deek, GOC, Scotty and the rest week in week out. The worst bog at a fitbaw ground, walking up and down those steps, hibees bounce, ending up rows from your seat after a big goal, the stupid kenco stands, getting the coupan on, and tapping the green bar.

But it's deffo for the best, I'm still irked by my shocking view against Dnipro and don't think I bought a ticket for the East when I didn't know where I'd be sittin again. Last match will be Elfsborg which sucks too.

Onwards and upwards cabbage!

22-02-2010, 10:35 AM

:faf: ... perspective - damn ... no real comeback on that!

22-02-2010, 10:36 AM

If you weren't behind a pillar or TV gantry, that is!

EskbankHibby
22-02-2010, 10:36 AM
I wonder if Nostradamus foresaw the tumbling of the green metal gates? I surely hope not.

:agree:, Quatrain 1875 (see what i did there).

"and lo the new structure will come from the East"
"in the same year as the demise of the pink ones from the West"
"a new structure for a period of dominance"
"sadly some green metal gates will have to go"

Truly an end of days prophecy.

22-02-2010, 10:42 AM
:agree:, Quatrain 1875 (see what i did there).

"and lo the new structure will come from the East"
"in the same year as the demise of the pink ones from the West"
"a new structure for a period of dominance"
"sadly some green metal gates will have to go"

Truly an end of days prophecy.

:faf: :faf:

Loved, love and will forever love the East. What a bunch of radgies and gadgies sat in there, but I wouldn't have it any other way.

Celebrating like a madman when Benji papped it past the Lanky Lesbian to make it 2-1, ending - literally - 3 rows away after O'Connor slotted home the second against Rangers in The George Best game - fun, fun times.

Will be a day of seriously mixed emotions come the St Johnstone game :boo hoo:

Brummie_Hibs
22-02-2010, 10:43 AM
Best memory: Sunshine on Leith - AEK!
Worse memory: Paco Luna missed header - AEK!

hibby4ever
22-02-2010, 11:34 AM
Best memory in the east has to be the aek athens game and the worst was again the athens game when i thought luna had scored and he missed.......

22-02-2010, 12:00 PM
Whilst I enjoyed it, I cannot get over emotional. I stood there in the early 70s for various reasons to do with visiting supporters. I lived in the Coo shed for a while, I lived in the South enclosure for a while, I lived in the Coo shed when it got seated for a while, I lived in the FF for a while, I even dallied in the West for a while. I have sat in the south with the brats when I didn't think they were old enough for a bit of skullduggery in the east. Recent years I have sat or stood wherever the notion has taken me on a weekly basis. Aye it was good, but so were other parts of the ground as well. Long live progress.

:notworthy:

22-02-2010, 12:02 PM
The atmosphere during the AEK match was just awesome.

London Hibs FC
22-02-2010, 12:05 PM
Best memory has got to be my first, cannot remember who we were playing against or which date it was but it was definitely a midweek game back in the 70s.

Dad had lifted me over the turnstiles, he lead me to the top of the stairs and there it was; Easter Road in all its glory.

I also remember him lifting me on his shoulders so I could touch the top of the exit on the way out.......... I didn't know why I was doing it but it was clear that it needed to be done.

Last place I saw my Grandad alive was in the East, lots of memories and emotions have been shared over there.

I'll miss the old East but I'm more than ready to embrace the completion of an arena fit for many more good memories to come.

:notworthy:

22-02-2010, 12:13 PM
East Stand; the best stand in the world....:devil::not worth:scarf::rockin:

...beats every other footballing enclosure in the world without trying and I am including some seriously good stands in this assessment.

They are all mere **** all's compared to the mythical heavenly enclosure that is, the East Terracin' .... in fact, on the eighth day, after God created Hibs and Archie Gemmill's goal against Holland in 1978, he spent a little bit of time inventing the plans for the East Stand and also, plotting the demise of the huns at a future date, TBC :devil:

Far too many great memories of that stand to count em all. Recall yams bubble bursting there and losing clothing that day. Recall ripping huns once...and the other side of soap dodge city and other less common events such as rolling in at 7.55 on a cold October night to join a rousing (as only the EAST can do :devil:) rendition of Flower of Scotland as we gubbed the Canadians and I think, Crawford scored anaw.

Ahh, the east. I'll be sad to see her go....in fact, might steal a large chunk of seating, roofing AND the gates. Anyone got a spare arctic and a 22lb hammer :greengrin

22-02-2010, 02:00 PM
My best memory of the East Terracing was at the first game after the roof was built. After years of standing on an open terrace and vainly trying to create an atmosphere, we suddenly had this fantastic roofed terrace to call our own.

I realise it now looks ******* in comparison to the other sides of the ground but everyone thought it was fantastic when it was opened.

p.s. Incidentally, could anyone clarify for me whether it was the Aug 85 or Aug 86 it opened? I think it was the latter but not 100% sure.

p.p.s Does anyone have photos of the newly roofed East Terrace upon opening?

Cal 7-0
22-02-2010, 02:24 PM
Going to miss the East, the banter, the extra fitba mates I've made round about us, the Wee Woman in front of me who's always got a packed lunch wi her, Big Raymond's dulcet tones as he roars at all thing and anything but hey at least we will get a rerun on telly of the goals you miss whilst at the pie stall or cludgy. Good times, here's to many more.

:flag:The East is Dead-Long Live The East.:flag:

22-02-2010, 02:25 PM
My best memory of the East Terracing was at the first game after the roof was built. After years of standing on an open terrace and vainly trying to create an atmosphere, we suddenly had this fantastic roofed terrace to call our own.

I realise it now looks ******* in comparison to the other sides of the ground but everyone thought it was fantastic when it was opened.

p.s. Incidentally, could anyone clarify for me whether it was the Aug 85 or Aug 86 it opened? I think it was the latter but not 100% sure.

p.p.s Does anyone have photos of the newly roofed East Terrace upon opening?
must have been 86 cause it was 85 when we were all huddled into the cave on our run to the cup final, beating both the unwashed on the way.ahh the old cowan and durie partnership-great in the cup midweeks but didnt win in our first 7/8 league games:greengrin

Disc O'Dave
22-02-2010, 02:34 PM
QUOTE=keekaboo;2363634]

p.p.s Does anyone have photos of the newly roofed East Terrace upon opening?[/QUOTE]

Nope, but I do have one of it after the Hamilton game...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4372602442/

Ande to go even further back.....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/2391931809/in/set-72157600481180535/

Supermac is your man for pictures of the stadium in the past 20 years...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/sets/72157602269717720/

Just look at those whilst playing "Sunshine on Leith" - go on, I dare you.

22-02-2010, 02:35 PM
must have been 86 cause it was 85 when we were all huddled into the cave on our run to the cup final, beating both the unwashed on the way.ahh the old cowan and durie partnership-great in the cup midweeks but didnt win in our first 7/8 league games:greengrin

I think it was the 1985-86 season.

I vaguley remember everyone dancing around in it when news came through of a Bobby Ball lookalike scoring fifty odd miles away at the end of that campaign :greengrin

It was certainly in place for the first game of 86-87 when Sourpuss got red carded for the Huns.

22-02-2010, 02:36 PM
One of the East's finest moments...

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=119788&highlight=Souness

22-02-2010, 02:38 PM

That's my memories of it as well, seems likely to be 86 then.

I had a spell of sitting in the Cave end, while the work was being done on the East. I don't actually ever remember it being called the 'East' or 'East Terracing' in those days, just 'The Terracing'.

22-02-2010, 02:38 PM
There goes the atmosphere at ER :devil:

ozhibs1875
22-02-2010, 02:40 PM
only ever went to one east stand game...partick in the cup?

will always remember the frozen *****e in the p!sh ice that greeted me in the toilet:greengrin

22-02-2010, 02:50 PM
Nope, but I do have one of it after the Hamilton game...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4372602442/

Ande to go even further back.....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/2391931809/in/set-72157600481180535/

Supermac is your man for pictures of the stadium in the past 20 years...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/sets/72157602269717720/

Just look at those whilst playing "Sunshine on Leith" - go on, I dare you.

Thanks