View Full Version : NHC World Cup Playoffs (inc. France v Ireland)

HibeeMcGinn1
17-11-2009, 08:24 PM
....Is it on TV tomorrow?

Sick Boy
17-11-2009, 08:28 PM
Nope, but it will be on Iraq Goals.:wink:

HibeeMcGinn1
17-11-2009, 08:32 PM
Nope, but it will be on Iraq Goals.:wink:

goooood man

17-11-2009, 09:44 PM
....Is it on TV tomorrow?

Sky Sports News mentioned that 15,000 police will be on duty for the match. :dizzy:

hibsboy90
17-11-2009, 10:34 PM
Eurosport is covering it. Now that or the irish game?

David_D
17-11-2009, 10:56 PM
what station is the Irish game on as I had a look on tv guide but couldnt find it. I may just be blind tho

Hibbie_Cameron
17-11-2009, 11:06 PM
what station is the Irish game on as I had a look on tv guide but couldnt find it. I may just be blind tho

Its on Sky, they only won the rights in the last day or so

David_D
17-11-2009, 11:12 PM
cheers. :thumbsup:

18-11-2009, 04:32 AM
Mon the Pharaohs!

18-11-2009, 07:32 AM
It is for me Josh me and ellis's ma are in Sharm El sheik. Eat yer haeart out.
PS nae parties allowed at ma hoose the neeburs are watching!!!!!!!!!!

18-11-2009, 07:40 AM

I'm jealous! :boo hoo:

smack
18-11-2009, 11:56 AM
Is the France V Ireland game on TV tonight?

18-11-2009, 11:58 AM
:agree: :greengrin

18-11-2009, 11:59 AM

It was listed on the Sky planner last night so I was assuming they had sorted out the dispute.

18-11-2009, 12:00 PM
http://www.livesportontv.com/football/

No decent football on though :greengrin

sunshine1875
18-11-2009, 12:16 PM

Sky Sports 1

18-11-2009, 12:26 PM
http://www.livesportontv.com/football/

No decent football on though :greengrin

Is bamba gonna be on British eurosport @ 9.30? :wink::greengrin

OstKurve Hibs
18-11-2009, 02:10 PM
Is bamba gonna be on British eurosport @ 9.30? :wink::greengrin

Didnt know he was a golfer aswell:greengrin
Egypt vs algeria is on eurosport at 6:25

18-11-2009, 02:38 PM
didnt realise the beach soccer was 9;30 this morning :duck:

18-11-2009, 02:45 PM
I'm in Offenbach, Germany, would love to watch this match with a few beers; but don't really think i'll get somewhere :grr:

crappy little place :grr:

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 04:50 PM
is posting links allowed?

18-11-2009, 04:58 PM

'fraid not :boo hoo:

18-11-2009, 04:58 PM

nope.

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:03 PM
'fraid not :boo hoo:

why the tears, did you want to see this game, do you want me to give commentry?

Billy
18-11-2009, 05:03 PM
Sky Sports News mentioned that 15,000 police will be on duty for the match. :dizzy:

2-3 lines deep at trackside and what looks like 8 foot fences to keep the fans in.

18-11-2009, 05:05 PM
why the tears, did you want to see this game, do you want me to give commentry?Crack on Chick ..:greengrin

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 05:05 PM
How many are going to get sent off here?

jakedance
18-11-2009, 05:07 PM
Watching this now on Eurosport. Brilliant stuff. First booking came after 50 seconds. It's been nasty viscious stuff at times, punctuated by some comical play acting. It's an impossible game to referee but he's doing a decent job so far. There must be thousands of police in the stadium. Loving it.

Oh aye - 0-0.

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:07 PM
2-3 lines deep at trackside and what looks like 8 foot fences to keep the fans in.

Looks like it's the army surrounding the pitch

David_D
18-11-2009, 05:13 PM
1-0 Algeria. This is gonna get tasty:thumbsup:

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:13 PM
1-0 Algeria

18-11-2009, 05:26 PM
why the tears, did you want to see this game, do you want me to give commentry?

WAS going to PM you,but you seem to be sorted :greengrin

mind you,feel free to translate the commentry :wink:

AugustaHibs
18-11-2009, 05:31 PM
Sorry but what is the channel for virgin customers? :confused:

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:32 PM
WAS going to PM you,but you seem to be sorted :greengrin

mind you,feel free to translate the commentry :wink:

Cheers mate, Ive got it.

I will just tell you when boogie is on the ball:wink:

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:35 PM
Sorry but what is the channel for virgin customers? :confused:

not sure mate, check ur pm though

18-11-2009, 05:40 PM
[QUOTE=HibbyAndy;2245617]QUOTE]

Right to the point, i like it.:top marks:thumbsup:

18-11-2009, 05:41 PM
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/news/newsid=1135950.html#watch+algeria+egypt+live+now

18-11-2009, 05:43 PM
You need to grow up a bit, I posted to give folk the chance to see the game with a link, I wasn't sure if it was allowed.

Oh nice edit i see!!.

Youve now put Boughera?!... you never had that to start with hence why i asked who is boogie??:confused:.

I need to grow up?.coming from a Hun!..eh dont think so !

18-11-2009, 05:43 PM
Cheers mate, Ive got it.

I will just tell you when boogie is on the ball:wink:

I take it you mean the absolutely awful Radio Forth DJ who is going to be our match host for our game on 27 December.

18-11-2009, 05:44 PM
People need to calm down a bit ..ffs its like a creche in here at times !!!

18-11-2009, 05:45 PM
People need to calm down a bit ..ffs its like a creche in here at times !!!

Sorry K :cool2:

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:46 PM
Oh nice edit i see!!.

Youve now put Boughera?!... you never had that to start with hence why i asked who is boogie??:confused:.

I need to grow up?.coming from a Hun!..eh dont think so !

I didn't edit anything, I put at first boogie and you asked who he was and I told you, no big deal, don't get your knickers in a twist.

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:47 PM
I take it you mean the absolutely awful Radio Forth DJ who is going to be our match host for our game on 27 December.

Is this the guy with the side kick dingle, we get them on radio clyde on a sat morning.

HibeeMcGinn1
18-11-2009, 05:47 PM

yeh Ellis told me you are. u lucky lucky man

18-11-2009, 05:49 PM

Sorry K :cool2::aok:....:greengrin

I didn't edit anything, I put at first boogie and you asked who he was and I told you, no big deal, don't get your knickers in a twist.Wheesht man !!! :grr:.....:greengrin

18-11-2009, 05:51 PM
Watching this on Eurosport but is it just me or does the sound seem absolutely terrible? Can hardly hear the crowd :grr:

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 05:53 PM
:aok:....:greengrin

Wheesht man !!! :grr:.....:greengrin

Sorry HH, every thread I go in to this guy starts all his daft comments, it's a bit tiresome.

FraserHFC
18-11-2009, 06:00 PM
Watching this on Eurosport but is it just me or does the sound seem absolutely terrible? Can hardly hear the crowd :grr:

Not just you, it seems to fade in and out every few seconds

18-11-2009, 06:03 PM
PM'ing them isnt allowed either.

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 06:05 PM

Glad I didn't pm you then

18-11-2009, 06:07 PM

18-11-2009, 06:09 PM
Could he make a late appearance tonight as Trap's last-ditch throw of the dice?

18-11-2009, 06:10 PM
Glad I didn't pm you then

Do you often go onto other fans websites and abuse the free facilities?

It only takes 1 to ruin it for everone else.

Wheeshed you or I might set your PM limit to 2 instead of 200 by accident :greengrin

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 06:16 PM
[QUOTE=jonty;2245689]Do you often go onto other fans websites and abuse the free facilities?

No probs mate, It was the official fifa one that is on thisw thread now, thought it was ok as it was free legal stream.

18-11-2009, 06:21 PM
Do you often go onto other fans websites and abuse the free facilities?

No probs mate, It was the official fifa one that is on thisw thread now, thought it was ok as it was free legal stream.

If it's legit then it's fine. :agree:
Our hosting company explicitly stated when we joined them that this was a no-no.

Anyway - whats the score? :greengrin

18-11-2009, 06:23 PM
1-0 Algeria in injury time...:thumbsup:

18-11-2009, 06:25 PM
Greece beating Ukraine 1-0 and heading to the finals unless Ukraine score twice...

FraserHFC
18-11-2009, 06:28 PM
FT 1-0 to Algeria

18-11-2009, 06:28 PM
Its all over, Algeria qualify.

Algeria's keeper clims onto the crossbar and waves his shirt above his head, crowd going mental!!

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 06:30 PM
Our hosting company explicitly stated when we joined them that this was a no-no.

1-0 algeria, sorry should have made it clear it was legit.

Sloppy
18-11-2009, 06:33 PM
Could he make a late appearance tonight as Trap's last-ditch throw of the dice?
has he made the bench?

mayo hibee
18-11-2009, 06:42 PM

Unchanged team from Saturday, Stokes not on the bench.

Come on Ireland - we've only a small chance but while we're still in we'll keep believing...:scarf::pray::pray:

18-11-2009, 06:47 PM
2 x £10ew Pavlyuchenko & Gourcuff

BS44
18-11-2009, 06:57 PM
£25 Bosnia-Her 12/5

18-11-2009, 06:58 PM
20 notes on france to win 2-0

18-11-2009, 07:34 PM
Robbie keane...
Slovenia beating Russia as well...

AlanRuff
18-11-2009, 07:35 PM
Great goal

18-11-2009, 08:07 PM
Slovenia now 1-0 up at home to Russia, if it stays like that then they go through too.

With Greece knocking out the Ukraine, it would be highly amusing if all four of the seeded teams for the play offs get dumped. That would be a big two fingers up to UEFA.

It just needs the ROI to get another and Bosnia to pop up with a goal or two :greengrin

18-11-2009, 08:11 PM
20 notes on france to win 2-0
You've lost.

18-11-2009, 08:17 PM

Or if it's non-football related? There have been posts for boxing on here recently that were allowed to stay so I assume they're fine?

18-11-2009, 08:19 PM
Or if it's non-football related? There have been posts for boxing on here recently that were allowed to stay so I assume they're fine?

Any illegal link will be removed provided we spot it, regardless of the sport. The admins don't live on here 24/7 so we do miss the odd one :greengrin

Portugal now one up in Bosnia which should see them through.

18-11-2009, 08:23 PM
Any illegal link will be removed provided we spot it, regardless of the sport. The admins don't live on here 24/7 so we do miss the odd one :greengrin

Portugal now one up in Bosnia which should see them through.

Fair enough - I just assumed with the boxing links staying they were allowed. :aok:

BTW is anyone watching the ROI game? Duff should've scored just now.

18-11-2009, 08:51 PM
Slovenia win 1-0.

Russians out on away goals.

18-11-2009, 08:53 PM
Slovenia win 1-0.

Russians out on away goals.

ROI win 0-1 in France. Extra Time just about to start.

18-11-2009, 08:54 PM
mon the ireland:thumbsup:

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 08:58 PM
Ireland should have been on there way to South Africa.

Hope they do it:thumbsup:

18-11-2009, 09:01 PM
What happened to the boys from Basra? I'm only getting the news on there.:confused:

18-11-2009, 09:03 PM
C'mon the Frenchies!

18-11-2009, 09:05 PM
If Ireland can't beat this pathetic excuse for a French side, they don't deserve to go through - considering how bad they are, I was amazed to hear the commentator say that Scotland were the only nation to have won on French soil, since Russia beat them 10 years ago!

18-11-2009, 09:06 PM
Anelka's a dirty **** - 5 match ban should be heading his way :bitchy:

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 09:06 PM
Dive by Anelka

blueisthecolour
18-11-2009, 09:11 PM
1-1

2-1 to france agg

Terrible handball not given

18-11-2009, 09:11 PM
1-1 - looked like a blatant hand-ball to me? :confused:

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 09:12 PM
1-1 - looked like a blatant hand-ball to me? :confused:

Two hand balls. Henry practically caught the ball:grr:

18-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Absolutely disgraceful by Henry. :bitchy:

Blatant cheat.

18-11-2009, 09:13 PM
Two hand balls. Henry practically caught the ball:grr:

At all costs, eh? Blatant dive by Anelka moments before a blatant handball sets up what looks likely to be the winning goal.

Wonder what Platini will have to say about it all? :bitchy:

18-11-2009, 09:14 PM
France also had 2 players offside when the free kick was taken. :grr:

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 09:15 PM
Disgrace :grr:

How the fleck we can't have video replays to stop blatant cheating, God only knows.

18-11-2009, 09:15 PM
Vive La France! :sauzee:

18-11-2009, 09:16 PM
Thats the worst hand ball I have seen since Maradonas

If I was Irish, I would be absolutely raging at what's just happened. Henry has quite possibly, single-handedly (pardon the pun), ruined Ireland's chances of qualification.

Disgusting.

If France end up qualifying, FIFA should ban Henry from the World Cup.

Extra time should be replayed after that. Disgraceful cheating.

Hibbie_Cameron
At all costs, eh? Blatant dive by Anelka moments before a blatant handball sets up what looks likely to be the winning goal.

Wonder what Platini will have to say about it all? :bitchy:

I wanted Ireland to win before but even more so now. Utterly disgusting by Henry

Disgrace :grr:

How the fleck we can't have video replays to stop blatant cheating, God only knows.

Exactly - only takes 10 seconds to review it on a monitor, and saves the Irish FA losing out on a significant boost in revenue!

I wasn't overly fussed either way as to which side went through, but Henry didn't even look embarassed by his efforts - as such, I hope someone sinks a second for the RoI.

18-11-2009, 09:17 PM
So if FIFA will go back and punish players for Diving when it has influenced a goal, will they do it with this? it was certainly no accident by Henry. He bloody held it never mind touched it. :grr:

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 09:20 PM
So if FIFA will go back and punish players for Diving when it has influenced a goal, will they do it with this? it was certainly no accident by Henry. He bloody held it never mind touched it. :grr:

FIFA will do sweet FA about this one because they want France at the World Cup to appease the sponsors and media companies who pay them fat cheques. Hence also the late decision to seed the playoffs when they realised the French just might not make it.

I agree with your point though

robinp
18-11-2009, 09:21 PM
The Setanta stream i'm watching has an irish commentator and he keeps on calling Aidenio ..... MCGREEDY! :faf::faf::faf:

18-11-2009, 09:24 PM
The Setanta stream i'm watching has an irish commentator and he keeps on calling Aidenio ..... MCGREEDY! :faf::faf::faf:
Am watching the same stream as you. Are your sure he is Irish, sound like a yank to me.

18-11-2009, 09:25 PM
Henry is an ******** of a human being ..

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 09:32 PM
Shocking by McGeady there. Free kick in the dying seconds and pumps it no where

WarringtonHibee
I wouldn't feel sorry for Herny if he had a career ending injury, he's a disgrace.

Shocking by McGeady there. Free kick in the dying seconds and pumps it no where

:agree: Horrendous.

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 09:33 PM
Look at Henry!!

Richard Dunne should go over and lamp him. One of the biggest disgraces i have ever seen in the game

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 09:35 PM
Sickening for the Irish. Hope France are pumped out in the group stages :grr:

Look at Henry!!

Richard Dunne should go over and lamp him. One of the biggest disgraces i have ever seen in the game

I think Henry looks a bit disappointed in himself. He knows he cheated - it was instinct at the time. The ref/linesman should've disallowed it.

There is absolutely no chance that I would be shaking hands with Henry after that.

He's even got the gall to start smiling and celebrating.

He should be utterly ashamed and embarrassed by his actions.

18-11-2009, 09:37 PM
At least France have the punishment of not having an excuse to bin Domenech.

Hibbie_Cameron
18-11-2009, 09:38 PM
I think Henry looks a bit disappointed in himself. He knows he cheated - it was instinct at the time. The ref/linesman should've disallowed it.

At the full time whistle he was going crazy. How insulting to the Irish he was shaking their hands saying hardlines at the end.

Hope they get papped every game at the World Cup

Glad i'm not an Irish player. I think my career would be over by the time I got out of jail for ending Henrys career right now.

Does he nothing. He was trying not to laugh. Disgusting. Henry knew exactly what he was doing and his reaction at the final whistle showed how much remorse he had. As I said,the 30 minutes of extra time should be replayed.

hibbytam
Henry should be banned for the entire world cup, if not France.

And yet another example as to why there should be a TV ref of some description in football. Practically every other sport uses it in some form. Not using it is letting the cheats win.

TheEastTerrace
There is absolutely no chance that I would be shaking hands with Henry after that.

He's even got the gall to start smiling and celebrating.

He should be utterly ashamed and embarrassed by his actions.

:agree: Just goes to show eh, win at all costs. Shameful he started whooping, laughing and celebrating after that injustice.

18-11-2009, 09:40 PM
Does he nothing. He was trying not to laugh. Disgusting. Henry knew exactly what he was doing and his reaction at the final whistle showed how much remorse he had. As I said,the 30 minutes of extra time should be replayed.

I disagree - I think he realsied what he'd done. He'll get over it soon though I'm sure.

Would you charge full price to get in for the replay of Extra Time? :greengrin

JoeTortolanoFanClub
18-11-2009, 09:40 PM
That's a whole bunch of Henry's advertising contracts down the tube, eh ?

Makaveli
18-11-2009, 09:41 PM
FIFA got what they wanted.

18-11-2009, 09:42 PM
Henry should be banned for the entire world cup, if not France.

And yet another example as to why there should be a TV ref of some description in football. Practically every other sport uses it in some form. Not using it is letting the cheats win.

Agree with you on all your points.

I think that game was so important that it should be replayed and if they don't replay it, Henry should be banned from the World Cup.

Again, the game is so important that they should be able to go to a video ref for something like that.

18-11-2009, 09:44 PM
FIFA got what they wanted.

:agree::agree:

18-11-2009, 09:45 PM
I think Henry looks a bit disappointed in himself. He knows he cheated I thought that too, never mind tho, Mock the Week just started on Dave ja vu.

18-11-2009, 09:46 PM
this proves that there is a need for having the two extra match officials who stand on the touchline at the goals.

feel totally gutted for the irish players, they played so well. yes they will be kicking themselves as they had a couple of chances to win in normal time, but to lose to a cheating wee prick is :grr:

18-11-2009, 09:46 PM
What a lot of toss posted on this thread. As DH said it was total instinct by Henry, if you were the player would you say sorry ref it should be a freekick or if you supported the team that just went through would you be moaning your arse off?

Comparing it to Maradona's handball is laughable.

Imagine if this was a Hibs scenario when that goal made sure we won the SC...bit different isn't it :dizzy:

18-11-2009, 09:47 PM
Should Maradonna have been banned after the 'Hand of God' incident :dunno:

Players have been cheating for years. Joe Baker didn't get away with punching the ball into the net v Clyde in the '58 Cup Final, Joe Jordan did when Joey Jones got the blame for his handball when we knocked Wales out the World Cup in 1977.

What Henry did was wrong but he'll be even more of a hero for many in France than ever.

18-11-2009, 09:48 PM
Lizarazu and Wenger both saying on French tv that France stole the match. They didn't rate France and praised Ireland to the hilt.

Raymond's not a popular guy at all! :greengrin

18-11-2009, 09:50 PM
It's about time that football got video referees. There is absolutely NO decent argument against it.

We have the technology. It would have taken the ref 5 seconds to glance at a pitchside TV screen and disallow that goal.

As for Henry, I am absolutely disgusted. I thought so highly of the guy, until tonight.

Henry is an ******** of a human being ..

:faf: :faf:

Commits the sin of a handball, which apparently the linesman should have seen, and now he's a bad member of the human race??

Ze men in ze white coats are on ze way, ya??!!

Hibbie_Cameron
Lizarazu and Wenger both saying on French tv that France stole the match. They didn't rate France and praised Ireland to the hilt.

Thats the only reason i wanted Ireland to win, i cant stand Raymond. No credit to Scotland at all when we beat them at Hampden and even less so when we won in Paris.

France will be lucky to escape the group with him in charge

CyberSauzee
18-11-2009, 09:51 PM
What a lot of toss posted on this thread. As DH said it was total instinct by Henry, if you were the player would you say sorry ref it should be a freekick or if you supported the team that just went through would you be moaning your arse off?

Imagine if this was a Hibs scenario when that goal made sure we won the SC...bit different isn't it :dizzy:

Well said. At last a voice of reason

For all those calling it blatant cheating, asking for video replays, more officials, etc, just how do you define blatant cheating? Is it every bookable offence that is missed that must have some retrospective punishment? If so, then every player caught on camera shirt pulling should be banned from the world cup finals, according to some of the above comments.

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 09:52 PM

The first touch with his hand may have been instinct, the second touch with his hand was blatant cheating. Does that make it right? Not in my book. I support neither team, but this decided the outcome of the match and as a football fan, I can see why the Irish would be raging,.

18-11-2009, 09:54 PM
Live with 2 french boys and an irish boys and the french boys didnt even want to talk to him after it. They knew what happend was heart breaking.

I feel sick for him

TheEastTerrace

For all those calling it blatant cheating, asking for video replays, more officials, etc, just how do you define blatant cheating? Is it every bookable offence that is missed that must have some retrospective punishment? If so, then every player caught on camera shirt pulling should be banned from the world cup finals, according to some of the above comments.

The guy handled the ball twice, if that doesn't reflect blatant cheating I don't know what does.

It's hardly the same as deliberately handling the ball TWICE to bring it under control before immediately setting it up for a team mate to score a tap-in.

18-11-2009, 09:56 PM
The first touch with his hand was instinct, the second touch with his hand was blatant cheating. Does that make it right? Not in my book. I support neither team, but this decided the outcome of the match and as a football fan, I can see why the Irish would be raging,.

Exactly, the first time it hits your hand, your "instict" would be to pull your hand away. It is just the same as maradonas, as they have huge permeatations attached.
And if a hibs player done it in a cup final, it wouldnt stop it from being cheating

lumbo_hfc
18-11-2009, 09:57 PM
:agree: Just goes to show eh, win at all costs. Shameful he started whooping, laughing and celebrating after that injustice.

Exactly, win at all costs! if it was a scotland player who had handled the ball in the last minute, would use all be asking for the game to be replayed and the scotland player to be shot? doubt it!!

No Wonder he was celebrating after, his team has just scored a goal and have just qualified for the world cup!

18-11-2009, 09:59 PM

Nor should he be, he's a ***** manager.

18-11-2009, 10:00 PM
Exactly, win at all costs! if it was a scotland player who had handled the ball in the last minute, would use all be asking for the game to be replayed and the scotland player to be shot? doubt it!!

No Wonder he was celebrating after, his team has just scored a goal and have just qualified for the world cup!

I wouldn't be ASKING for it to be replayed but I would have no objections if the opposition were demanding a replay.

18-11-2009, 10:01 PM
Everyone can moan all they want but...

1. We know the goal shouldn't have counted
2. TV evidence should be in use
3. Ireland are out
4. France have qualified
5. Nowts going to change
6. I'm going to watch family guy
:bye:

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 10:01 PM

Each to their own I suppose. Personally, I feel it would be better to be talking about a winning goal that displayed skill, craft and ingenuity rather than one that involved handling the ball....twice.

Velma Dinkley
18-11-2009, 10:03 PM
To be fair to Maradona, he only touched the ball with his hand once.

18-11-2009, 10:06 PM

3. Ireland are out
4. France have qualified
5. Nowts going to change

Plan

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 10:07 PM

3. Ireland are out
4. France have qualified
5. Nowts going to change

Well, to be fair that sums it up unfortunately. I'm off to watch Generation Kill on C4

lumbo_hfc
18-11-2009, 10:09 PM
Each to their own I suppose. Personally, I feel it would be better to be talking about a winning goal that displayed skill, craft and ingenuity rather than one that involved handling the ball....twice.

Would have rather seen a good goal myself but france knew it wasn't going there way and to get to the world cup i would do anything, just like Henry has done! If you can get away with it, why not?

Anyone else see how many times Keane handled the ball tonight? i counted 4 at least should he have been sent off?

CyberSauzee
18-11-2009, 10:14 PM
The guy handled the ball twice, if that doesn't reflect blatant cheating I don't know what does.

So is shirt pulling blatant cheating. If spotted by the ref it's an automatic yellow card.

It's hardly the same as deliberately handling the ball TWICE to bring it under control before immediately setting it up for a team mate to score a tap-in.

Henry handled the ball. It should have been a foul. So is shirt pulling. Why should one form of cheating be different from another?

Thierry Henry is obviously not your typical Frenchman, what were his hands doing by his sides?!?

TheEastTerrace
Would have rather seen a good goal myself but france knew it wasn't going there way and to get to the world cup i would do anything, just like Henry has done! If you can get away with it, why not?

Anyone else see how many times Keane handled the ball tonight? i counted 4 at least should he have been sent off?

Keane was penalised on all occasions via award of a free kick to France. Was Henry penalised? No.

I never said anything about Henry being sent off, the goal should have simply been chopped off.

Anyways, it's done now. I'm off :greengrin

ChrissyG1875

What did you expect him to do? Hit it out, out of respect? All that matters is we've qualified. *****ING YAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!! :sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee:

lumbo_hfc
18-11-2009, 10:16 PM
Keane was penalised on all occasions via award of a free kick to France. Was Henry penalised? No.

I never said anything about Henry being sent off, the goal should have simply been chopped off.

Anyways, it's done now. I'm off :greengrin

4 free kicks for deliberate hand ball, no yellow card :confused: doesnt add up!

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 10:19 PM
So is shirt pulling blatant cheating. If spotted by the ref it's an automatic yellow card.

Henry handled the ball. It should have been a foul. So is shirt pulling. Why should one form of cheating be different from another?

I agree, shirt pulling is blatant cheating but where does it fit into the argument about the rights and wrongs of this incident?

TheEastTerrace
18-11-2009, 10:20 PM
4 free kicks for deliberate hand ball, no yellow card :confused: doesnt add up!

Well the ref can't have viewed them as deliberate but accidental. Henry's was not accidental. I'm still not advocating Henry should be sent off by the way.

18-11-2009, 10:21 PM
I'd ask him!

Boris
18-11-2009, 10:24 PM
To be fair to Maradona, he only touched the ball with his hand once.

So did big Joe Jordan at Anfield in 1977 - got Scotland to Argentina. Canni mind any greetin or moanin bout cheatin then........:wink:

18-11-2009, 10:30 PM
Incredible amount of vitriol for Henry on the thread. If, once he'd realised he'd fouled, he'd deliberately put the ball out of play (or similar), he'd have been crucified by all of his teammates and the whole of France.

Just as Dave Beaumont is to this day vilified by Hibbies for not "halfing" Wayne Foster when he had the opporchancity.

Fantic
18-11-2009, 10:35 PM
What did you expect him to do? Hit it out, out of respect? All that matters is we've qualified. *****ING YAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!! :sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee::sauzee:

FIFA wins again :rolleyes:

18-11-2009, 10:38 PM
I'd ask him!

He'll say nowt...apparently there were no replays of the goal shown on the big screens in the ground...

all i can say is...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4rJAw-fuYHk

:cool2:

Rory89
18-11-2009, 10:56 PM
I'm absolutely raging about this. Lets look at what's happened:

FIFA change the rules to give all the big countries as best a chance as possible.

FIFA guy declares it would be a disaster if the likes of Portugal and France didn't qualify.

France in danger of going out and what do you know the officials suddenly become blind at the crucial moment.

That's all my countries, ROI, Northern Ireland and Scotland not going to the World Cup. At least with Scotland it's because we're a bunch of losers so I couldn't really care anymore how those 11 empty shirts get on, but this feels much worse. If the stuff said about Bamba on here isn't true I'll be supporting the Ivory Coast and whoever plays France, or should that be whichever defenders get close enough to Henry to break both his legs. Anyway, France have absolutely no chance.

18-11-2009, 11:01 PM
Incredible amount of vitriol for Henry on the thread. If, once he'd realised he'd fouled, he'd deliberately put the ball out of play (or similar), he'd have been crucified by all of his teammates and the whole of France.

Just as Dave Beaumont is to this day vilified by Hibbies for not "halfing" Wayne Foster when he had the opporchancity.

aye, but that was different :greengrin

anyway, very disappointed in Henry....he's always been portrayed as a pretty decent good egg of a sportsman..this could change things somewhat, with regards his outside interests...interesting to see if these razor folks keep him in their adverts...the other two are squeky clean sportsmen (Tiger w and federer)....
Yes many say it was instinctive but he touched it twice, which seems to take the "instinctiveness" out of it.
Hey ho as they say, but gutted for the irish lads.

18-11-2009, 11:03 PM
haha prick.

scott_hfc1875
19-11-2009, 12:21 AM
is it just me that thinks half the board has massively overreacted about a handball

hibsboy90
19-11-2009, 12:42 AM
is it just me that thinks half the board has massively overreacted about a handball

As a result is has not given ireland the chance to fairly compete in at least a penalty shootout, where Ireland have a 50:50 chance of going through.

A whole nation has been left dejected as aresult of this, with their summer next year taking on a completely different tone. As for the monetary changes that the irish football ass. will suffer, potentially millions of pounds in retail sales, as well as publicans etc missing out.

So yes, in the end it was only a handball, but the effect is huge to the nation of ireland, and the french will gain as a result.

It also doesnt help that for a while we have all been clamouring for video technology, saying that "one day there will be a massive decision that would need video replays, causing huge effects not just with the outcome of the match"

Tonight was that time - FIFA need to get their act together and embrace technological chage, rather than shy away from it.

As a result, football looks ridiculous to the non-footballing world, with so much resting on the shoulders of an official, with no modern approach to ensure decisions are correct.

19-11-2009, 01:23 AM
It was a classic European handball, if any british/irish player had tried that they would have been sent off! never mind France are through:greengrin

19-11-2009, 02:26 AM

Just ask the English about over reaction to a handball, thank god there was no internet around back then!! :agree:

Henry cheated, simple as that, and as a result of him cheating a team have lost a very important game of football.

The game should be made void and Ireland should go through, just can't see M. Platini being popular in France if that happened though! :wink:

France are cr@p anyway and will get humped by New Zealand 3 - 0 in the group stages :devil:

19-11-2009, 03:52 AM
I can understand if you don't support/weren't supporting Ireland, but that's hardly the point. If Henry hadn't cheated, then France wouldn't have scored the winning goal and Ireland would have still had a chance of progressing on penalties.

As it is, he admitted to deliberately handling the ball, claiming that it's the referee's job to spot cheating. Outrageous behaviour from a "professional" who a lot of children would likely look up to.

I've lost any respect I had for Henry tonight, and not just because I was backing the ROI.

Oh, and to the OP. Picture this scenario.

Hibs are in the cup final in extra time, the score is tied, and the opposing team's striker deliberately handles the ball leading to what will eventually be the winning goal, thereby robbing Hibs of (yet another) chance to win the cup...

Hibs being the team you presumably follow, imagine how you'd be feeling.

gilliecabbage
19-11-2009, 05:57 AM
I can understand if you don't support/weren't supporting Ireland, but that's hardly the point. If Henry hadn't cheated, then France wouldn't have scored the winning goal and Ireland would have still had a chance of progressing on penalties.

As it is, he admitted to deliberately handling the ball, claiming that it's the referee's job to spot cheating. Outrageous behaviour from a "professional" who a lot of children would likely look up to.

I've lost any respect I had for Henry tonight, and not just because I was backing the ROI.

Oh, and to the OP. Picture this scenario.

Hibs are in the cup final in extra time, the score is tied, and the opposing team's striker deliberately handles the ball leading to what will eventually be the winning goal, thereby robbing Hibs of (yet another) chance to win the cup...

Hibs being the team you presumably follow, imagine how you'd be feeling.

dont get me wrong here i do like watching ireland and i have lots of irish friends who are gutted but.....
what if the boot was on the other foot? and a hibs or scotland player had done that and won us the cup or got us to the world cup???

when ur young, ur told to play to the whistle.the ref and linesman have made a mistake and it is cheating i agree.but if i was thiery i wouldav done the same thing.

19-11-2009, 06:08 AM
dont get me wrong here i do like watching ireland and i have lots of irish friends who are gutted but.....
what if the boot was on the other foot? and a hibs or scotland player had done that and won us the cup or got us to the world cup???

when ur young, ur told to play to the whistle.the ref and linesman have made a mistake and it is cheating i agree.but if i was thiery i wouldav done the same thing.

You are a cheat, then.

TrinityHibs
19-11-2009, 06:15 AM
That'll be the Gillette sales in Ireland burst then.

19-11-2009, 06:17 AM
Fabrice > Thierry.

Get that collar up.

19-11-2009, 06:39 AM
That'll be the Gillette sales in Ireland burst then.

I love the idea of Ireland becoming the hairiest country in Europe by way of protest.:greengrin

19-11-2009, 07:02 AM
I'm absolutely raging about this. Lets look at what's happened:

FIFA change the rules to give all the big countries as best a chance as possible.

FIFA guy declares it would be a disaster if the likes of Portugal and France didn't qualify.

France in danger of going out and what do you know the officials suddenly become blind at the crucial moment.

That's all my countries, ROI, Northern Ireland and Scotland not going to the World Cup. At least with Scotland it's because we're a bunch of losers so I couldn't really care anymore how those 11 empty shirts get on, but this feels much worse. If the stuff said about Bamba on here isn't true I'll be supporting the Ivory Coast and whoever plays France, or should that be whichever defenders get close enough to Henry to break both his legs. Anyway, France have absolutely no chance.

There's no way the referees could have seen that, it was on the far side from both of them.

If FIFA were using the much maligned referee behind the goals, it would have been spotted.

19-11-2009, 07:11 AM
While Henry has definitely cheated, I can't help but feel there's some karma at work when it means Aiden McGeady won't be at the World Cup Finals

19-11-2009, 07:28 AM
I feel sorry for TH. He's been a fantastic player, particularly with Arsenal where some of the things he done on the pitch were amazing. At one point he possibly was the best player in the world.

Now he'll be remembered as the guy who cheated his way into the World Cup finals.

It's not really his fault. When the stakes are so high, you instinctively do what you have to do and rely on the ref picking it up. Henry looked delighted that the ref and linesman missed it, and he'd got his poor French side, who were very much second best on the night, out off jail.

Later on, when you saw him sitting dejectedly on the pitch beside an Irish player, you could see what actually happened had sunk in, and this great sportsman would forever be put in the position of having to defend the indefensible. You could tell that he wished the officials had been able to do their job and stop them getting this unfair advantage. His South Africa swansong, no matter what France do out there, will be forever tarnished, and you sense that Henry would much rather have taken his chances on the penalties lottery.

I think this might be the catalyst for introducing the electronic eye. There is so much money in the game now and much greater opportunity for corruption (some pundits in Ireland are already stating this is an economic disaster for a small nation) that this sort of thing needs to be wiped out.

It would be unthinkable if Tiger Woods or Rodger Federer (TH's Gillette buddies) had their integrity compromised by the shortcomings of a game which has been left behind by technology and can no longer adequately enforce fair play to the standards required.

I would introduces a tennis-like system, whereby each side are given five challenges per half, and the team captain has to make a judgement about whether or not to challenge the ref with the electronic eye.

Apart from anything else, this would introduce perspective and sportsmanship to the game, with players and captain's not challenging every trivial decision in case a bit one came along later.

19-11-2009, 07:29 AM
While Henry has definitely cheated, I can't help but feel there's some karma at work when it means Aiden McGeady won't be at the World Cup Finals

:agree:Hate that wee turd, but chances also blown for Stokes & Miller:confused: Oh, and AO'B:greengrin

SidBurns
19-11-2009, 07:46 AM
There's no way the referees could have seen that, it was on the far side from both of them.

If FIFA were using the much maligned referee behind the goals, it would have been spotted.

Just like the fourth/fifth/sixth (delete where appropriate) ref at the Fulham v Roma game yeah!?! Extra officials won't work unless you have ten of them TRUST ME! One at each side of each goal, one on each side of each half, a ref and a fourth/tenth official. I'm sorry but ten officials = SHAMBOLIC, video is the ONLY way forward!

SidBurns
19-11-2009, 07:46 AM
I feel sorry for TH. He's been a fantastic player, particularly with Arsenal where some of the things he done on the pitch were amazing. At one point he possibly was the best player in the world.

Now he'll be remembered as the guy who cheated his way into the World Cup finals.

It's not really his fault. When the stakes are so high, you instinctively do what you have to do and rely on the ref picking it up. Henry looked delighted that the ref and linesman missed it, and he'd got his poor French side, who were very much second best on the night, out off jail.

Later on, when you saw him sitting dejectedly on the pitch beside an Irish player, you could see what actually happened had sunk in, and this great sportsman would forever be put in the position of having to defend the indefensible. You could tell that he wished the officials had been able to do their job and stop them getting this unfair advantage. His South Africa swansong, no matter what France do out there, will be forever tarnished, and you sense that Henry would much rather have taken his chances on the penalties lottery.

I think this might be the catalyst for introducing the electronic eye. There is so much money in the game now and much greater opportunity for corruption (some pundits in Ireland are already stating this is an economic disaster for a small nation) that this sort of thing needs to be wiped out.

It would be unthinkable if Tiger Woods or Rodger Federer (TH's Gillette buddies) had their integrity compromised by the shortcomings of a game which has been left behind by technology and can no longer adequately enforce fair play to the standards required.

I would introduces a tennis-like system, whereby each side are given five challenges per half, and the team captain has to make a judgement about whether or not to challenge the ref with the electronic eye.

Apart from anything else, this would introduce perspective and sportsmanship to the game, with players and captain's not challenging every trivial decision in case a bit one came along later.

I think you'll find the majority of people will disagree with you here!?!

19-11-2009, 07:51 AM
I think you'll find the majority of people will disagree with you here!?!

I know, but I wonder how many of them have actually played a competitive sport? You're reacting in the heat of the moment and you don't have time to abstract your thoughts.

I think the media feed of the drama of personal vendetta and get us all whipped up into that nonsense.

The sport shouldn't be putting people (players, refs) in that position. It's not the dark ages and the technology is there, so use it.

Witch hunting Henry isn't going to change a structural problem that will continue to reoccur.

19-11-2009, 07:58 AM
I watched a European game recently (I forget who) in which there were officials behind the goals...was this a trial or something? Surely with something like this in place, Henry's actions would have been penalised?

I don't believe in all this 'getting caught in the moment' b*llocks. A professional football team shouldn't have to cheat to win. I seriously doubt he'll feel any sort of remorse or have any negative feelings longterm - perhaps he initially felt bad for the Irish team, who were far superior on the night and deserved to get the chance to progress but I can't see him pulling out of the French squad for SA as self-punishment for example. If France win the 2010 WC (unlikely I know), Henry won't be remembering November 18th 2009 in Paris whatsoever.

To put it bluntly, he's a cheat, and whilst yes, he could have at one point been considered the best player in the world, he's tarnished his reputation for a lot of people.

Yes, but the so-called Corinthian values of sport have long been replaced by big money and a win at all cost mentality. Yes, he cheated. Yes, most would do the same in his situation. I was supporting the Republic and as disgusted as anyone at the time. But I disagree that it won't effect him and stay with him. In the radio interview after the game he seemed more upset that the officials hadn't done their job and enforced the laws of the game.

19-11-2009, 07:58 AM
It's a fair cop, as Heny puts his hands up and says it WAS hand ball, but also says it's not his job to stop play....:top marks fair do's..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/8367588.stm

19-11-2009, 07:59 AM

Very sensible post, with a bit of objectivity compared to most of the stuff on here! :agree:

19-11-2009, 08:00 AM
Sorry LH, replied to your post before you deleted it. If you want me to delete the above i'm happy to do that.

19-11-2009, 08:04 AM
Sorry LH, replied to your post before you deleted it. If you want me to delete the above i'm happy to do that.

gilliecabbage
19-11-2009, 08:05 AM
You are a cheat, then.

suppose it does make me a cheat but no doubt ull still find maradonas hand of god quite amusing

I know, but I wonder how many of them have actually played a competitive sport? You're reacting in the heat of the moment and you don't have time to abstract your thoughts.

I think the media feed of the drama of personal vendetta and get us all whipped up into that nonsense.

The sport shouldn't be putting people (players, refs) in that position. It's not the dark ages and the technology is there, so use it.

Witch hunting Henry isn't going to change a structural problem that will continue to reoccur.
:agree: exactly

19-11-2009, 08:06 AM
:confused: O'oops..pay attention..:greengrin

19-11-2009, 08:10 AM

Agree with all of that completely:top marks

It was nauseating listening to Liam Brady and David O'Leary on the radio this morning whine about replaying the game and a FIFA conspiracy being at work wanting France to get through for extra advertising revenue. If thats the case why were Russia (massive market) 'allowed' to lose? I'm sure there are plenty of Irish that will enjoy playing the victim for a few weeks, just like the English in 86.

19-11-2009, 08:25 AM
Agree with all of that completely:top marks

It was nauseating listening to Liam Brady and David O'Leary on the radio this morning whine about replaying the game and a FIFA conspiracy being at work wanting France to get through for extra advertising revenue. If thats the case why were Russia (massive market) 'allowed' to lose? I'm sure there are plenty of Irish that will enjoy playing the victim for a few weeks, just like the English in 86.

Shut up you, Alan O'Brien might never play at the World Cup now because of Henry :grr::faf:

19-11-2009, 08:28 AM
Shut up you, Alan O'Brien might never play at the World Cup now because of Henry :grr::faf:

O'Brien would have lit it up like Roger Milla in 1990:thumbsup:
Boozy said 'Im not proud of being French this morning':boo hoo::boo hoo:

19-11-2009, 08:32 AM
O'Brien would have lit it up like Roger Milla in 1990:thumbsup:
Boozy said 'Im not proud of being French this morning':boo hoo::boo hoo:

I heard he wants to get Malian nationality so he can team up with Amadou for the World Cup in 2014 :agree:

19-11-2009, 08:40 AM
I heard he wants to get Malian nationality so he can team up with Amadou for the World Cup in 2014 :agree:

I heard that O'Brien's grandads from Mali:agree:

19-11-2009, 08:44 AM
I heard that O'Brien's grandads from Mali:agree:

:faf::faf:

19-11-2009, 08:46 AM
:faf::faf:

Its true, he was a roadie for Amadou and Mariam.

19-11-2009, 08:51 AM

Looks like they were the ref & Lino last night :devil:

Mag7
19-11-2009, 08:52 AM
Usual heavy dollops of hypocrisy on here. It's OK for Mardona to stick the ball into the net with his hand (in an arguably even more important game) because it was against England, but because Ireland are the victims it's an outrage?

Both goals should never have stood, but until the rules are changed to allow video evidence folk can moan all they like. It won't change anything.

19-11-2009, 08:55 AM

I agree. There’s no doubt he broke the rules – the ref and linesman weren’t good enough to spot it. As you said I think a lot of the do-gooders on here have never been in a position where they’ve had a chance to break the rules to win. I know for a fact that I’d do it if ever the chance was presented to me.

It’s getting hysterical now – famous Irishman Ray Houghton on the radio this morning talking about how because it’s only little Ireland they won’t do anything about it! If it was the other way round does he think the game would be replayed? There’d be no chance of that happening.

19-11-2009, 08:58 AM
Usual heavy dollops of hypocrisy on here. It's OK for Mardona to stick the ball into the net with his hand (in an arguably even more important game) because it was against England, but because Ireland are the victims it's an outrage?

Both goals should never have stood, but until the rules are changed to allow video evidence folk can moan all they like. It won't change anything.

:top marks and if Deek did the same in the 90th minute, for us to win the Scottish cup, he'd be a hero, and given legendary status from the fans. Players cheat all the time. A hibs player will cheat on saturday, and we wont give a toss if he gets away with it.:confused:

19-11-2009, 09:02 AM

I agree but I’m not sure I would, at least to start with, limit the number of appeals. You would really have to analyse the reaction of the players to come to a fair number.

Hate that wee turd, but chances also blown for Stokes & Miller Oh, and AO'B

We’ve all come to accept that Big Sol will be away with most folk hoping its after a good World Cup. And the ‘Bamba and Fletcher Stand’ rising in the East!

We have Stokes and Miller by a thread, a baws hair, a decent WC and we could easily have lost them as well.

19-11-2009, 09:03 AM

Don't think the moaning is supposed to change anything, is it? When proper footy is suspended for internationals there's no proper chance to have a go at this week's Hibs scapegoat, so fulmination against something or someone else results. So Henry is a disgrace, should be banned from South Africa, should have drawn the attention of the ref to his handball (who in living memory has done this in pro fitba?), France are a disgrace, etc.

Only thing I would say is that there is a precedent for whole teams owning up to unwarranted good fortune and offering to replay a game. Arsenal did that a few years ago after a gamesmanship controversy. But the personal vilification of TH is nonsensical.

If Franceland offered to replay the match would that be the end of the cheating allegations, or would Irishers still be complaining that the match wasn't replayed just from the moment that Henry handballed? :dunno:

19-11-2009, 09:31 AM

Was he the guy who guided A and M on to the stage? If so, I hope A O'B never gets that gig.... he'd forget to stop and launch the two of them into the orchestra pit.

19-11-2009, 09:35 AM
Was he the guy who guided A and M on to the stage? If so, I hope A O'B never gets that gig.... he'd forget to stop and launch the two of them into the orchestra pit.

19-11-2009, 09:40 AM

I agree.

I can remember hearing an interview with Ronald Koeman (who, for those of you too young to remember should have bene sent off in a qualifier against England, wasn't, and went on to score. England failed to qualify. Or at least, that's how I remember it. Happy to be corrected) , who was asked about having been villified for years by the English media and fans. He said something along the lines of:

Well, they're right. I fouled David Platt, and the referee should have sent me off - but he didn't. So should I have refused to touch the ball from then on? Refused to try to score? Would an England player in the same situation have done these things? These things happen - although they shouldn't. I stayed on the pitch when the ref should have sent me off, and I carried on playing to the best of my ability. I think most players would do the same.

From a personal point of view, I wanted both countries to qualify, and I'm disappointed that the game was settled the way it was. But I don't think that it makes Henry evil. Wrong, yes - but as others have pointed out, not really that different to anyone else, in our team or others.

Posh Swanny
19-11-2009, 09:41 AM
Disgrace. I think the right thing to do in this instance is to pen a song about it to the tune of the Hokey Cokey.

19-11-2009, 09:44 AM
Disgrace. I think the right thing to do in this instance is to pen a song about it to the tune of the Hokey Cokey.

:tsk tsk: Living dan sarf you may not be aware that the Hokey Cokey is sectarian.

GieTheBaTaeReilly
19-11-2009, 09:45 AM
Just ask the English about over reaction to a handball, thank god there was no internet around back then!! :agree:

Eh?

Posh Swanny
19-11-2009, 09:48 AM
:tsk tsk: Living dan sarf you may not be aware that the Hokey Cokey is sectarian.

I know Ormiston is sarf of Edinburgh but we do get the Daily Record out there!

I'd forgotten all about that story! LOL!

19-11-2009, 09:49 AM
Eh?

Reference to a famous handball incident in an earlier Worldcup, in the year of our lord, AD - I mean, AK - 1986.

GieTheBaTaeReilly
19-11-2009, 09:51 AM
I was referring to the internet statement - you know the thing that began in the 1960's ....

19-11-2009, 09:58 AM
I was referring to the internet statement - you know the thing that began in the 1960's ....

Nah, only rocket surgeons had the interweb in 86.

19-11-2009, 10:01 AM

I remember seeing my first computer in the seventies. It was delivered to our school by a large truck. Thank goodness we weren't expected to surf the net on it. It took long enough pencilling in squares on bits of cardboard to make it multiply 2 by 76 and add 4. God know how many HB pencils it would have taken to point out the glaring inadequate refreeing standards of the time.:bitchy:

19-11-2009, 10:17 AM
How ridiculous is this?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8367913.stm

Live - Reaction to Republic of Ireland's exit

Last time I checked, the BBC doesn't serve either France or the Irish Republic

How can you have live reaction to something that happened yesterday?

A teensy weensy bit out of proportion perhaps?

Would the BBC be moaning if Rooney does something similar in the World Cup itself?

19-11-2009, 10:31 AM
if it wasn't for the Irish FA taking the pash out of Sarkozy's diminutive stature in the run up to the first leg. :wink:

19-11-2009, 11:29 AM
I wonder how much this thread could be cut down by if the same crap wasn't re-iterated every 3rd post...it pays to read before posting :wink:

ChrissyG1875
19-11-2009, 11:45 AM
FIFA wins again :rolleyes:

Care to elaborate?

19-11-2009, 12:17 PM
How ridiculous is this?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8367913.stm

Live - Reaction to Republic of Ireland's exit

Last time I checked, the BBC doesn't serve either France or the Irish Republic

How can you have live reaction to something that happened yesterday?

A teensy weensy bit out of proportion perhaps?

Would the BBC be moaning if Rooney does something similar in the World Cup itself?

I couldn't believe it when I saw that.

I think the overriding feeling here is empathy. We can remember greeting after that Italy game when we suffered an injustice - last night's situation was eerily similar. Late injustices after superhuman efforts; odds on Scotland would not have qualified anyway, and I'd wager Ireland's only bet would have been a penalty shoot out against a far more technical French outfit. When we look back to the Italy game everyone ignores the luck the Italians had as well, rendering our outpouring of grief a bit blinkered.

It's just as blinkered as all the furore over cheats, replays and what not. It stinks of course, but for everything to get played out as a catalyst for prosecutions and rule changes is more or less down to relating to Ireland's cause. I think everyone is getting caught up in Ireland's emotion and asking for drastic measures that will never happen...

19-11-2009, 12:30 PM
“They’re all probably clapping hands, Platini sitting up there on the phone to Sepp Blatter, probably texting each other, delighted with the result,” Robbie Keane fumed.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/

19-11-2009, 12:55 PM
Nah, only rocket surgeons had the interweb in 86.

:agree: And Brain scientists.

19-11-2009, 01:08 PM

How could that happen? Only foreigners cheat. :confused:

19-11-2009, 01:18 PM
How could that happen? Only foreigners cheat. :confused:

And Joe Jordan

19-11-2009, 01:23 PM
This is just the world getting back at Eire for giving us Jedward.:wink:

19-11-2009, 01:26 PM
And Joe Jordan

That was accidental. He was just using his arms for balance during a difficult jump. And I distinctly remember Joe pleading with the ref not to go ahead with the penalty award, and instead give a free kick to Walesland.

19-11-2009, 01:32 PM
It's the Irish players I feel really sorry for.

Most of them are still in the dressing room waiting for the third half.

19-11-2009, 01:48 PM
That was accidental. He was just using his arms for balance during a difficult jump. And I distinctly remember Joe pleading with the ref not to go ahead with the penalty award, and instead give a free kick to Walesland.

Of course he did.

The really weird thing about that incident was that everybody in the stadium were 100% certain that it was the Welsh player who handled the ball.

It was much, much later before naughty Joe was found out and we were on our way to Argentina because of his handling skills.

19-11-2009, 02:41 PM
:agree: And Brain scientists.

19-11-2009, 02:49 PM

Assuming you are having a laugh. :greengrin

Joe was delighted when it was given and can certainly remember screaming for it watching on the box. It was only when there was a picture in one of the papers at the weekend that clearly showed Joe punched the ball.

I suppose we can argue that we won the game 2-0 and would still have won however it was a massive decision.

GieTheBaTaeReilly
19-11-2009, 02:59 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38332000/jpg/_38332905_jordan_fist_150.jpg

19-11-2009, 03:42 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38332000/jpg/_38332905_jordan_fist_150.jpg

Behave yerself - Joe's just blawing his nose!

TrinityHibs
19-11-2009, 03:46 PM
Dont know how to do those link things but it looks like the Irish have been on Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Thierry_Henry&oldid=326715091

19-11-2009, 03:51 PM
Dont know how to do those link things but it looks like the Irish have been on Wikipedia

Don't think that will last too long

19-11-2009, 03:51 PM

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

19-11-2009, 03:52 PM
It's the Irish players I feel really sorry for.

Most of them are still in the dressing room waiting for the third half.

BH.

19-11-2009, 05:34 PM

In tears:faf::faf::faf:

19-11-2009, 06:16 PM

Brilliant, can someone get the French language version done as well?

Still :sauzee: Vive la France

Aubenas
19-11-2009, 09:49 PM
and if Deek did the same in the 90th minute, for us to win the Scottish cup, he'd be a hero, and given legendary status from the fans. Players cheat all the time. A hibs player will cheat on saturday, and we wont give a toss if he gets away with it.

Sorry, not in my name. Cheating is wrong because it is wrong. No grey areas, you can't be a little bit wrong - that's like saying stealing from Asda's ok cos they're big but it's wrong to steal from the corner store cos it's small. So last night was exactly the same as if Henry had bribed the ref or been on drugs - WRONG.

What Henry did was unacceptable - as it would be if a Hibs player did it - even more so actually cos I like to be proud of Hibs and what we stand for. I'd rather we won nothing ever again than cheat our way to victory.

If cheating becomes tolerated - win at all costs, see what you can get away with, winning is all that matters - then very soon there will be no game, cos fans won't pay to be robbed and players won't play if they know it's the biggest cheat that wins rather than the best players.

Because Henry wasn't big enough to say 'Sorry ref, I handled it' (or in the alice in wonderland daftness of numpties in managers' jackets on public parks - he was too professional to own up) coaches and teachers all over France, and Ireland, will be finding it more and more difficult to day to convince their kids that cheating is wrong morally and in addition it destroys all sport.

Oh, but I forgot, it's not sport , is it, it's big business, entertainment glamour, and a means for inadequates to try to be successful.
Aye right!

19-11-2009, 09:53 PM
Sorry, not in my name. Cheating is wrong because it is wrong. No grey areas, you can't be a little bit wrong - that's like saying stealing from Asda's ok cos they're big but it's wrong to steal from the corner store cos it's small. So last night was exactly the same as if Henry had bribed the ref or been on drugs - WRONG.

What Henry did was unacceptable - as it would be if a Hibs player did it - even more so actually cos I like to be proud of Hibs and what we stand for. I'd rather we won nothing ever again than cheat our way to victory.

If cheating becomes tolerated - win at all costs, see what you can get away with, winning is all that matters - then very soon there will be no game, cos fans won't pay to be robbed and players won't play if they know it's the biggest cheat that wins rather than the best players.

Because Henry wasn't big enough to say 'Sorry ref, I handled it' (or in the alice in wonderland daftness of numpties in managers' jackets on public parks - he was too professional to own up) coaches and teachers all over France, and Ireland, will be finding it more and more difficult to day to convince their kids that cheating is wrong morally and in addition it destroys all sport.

Oh, but I forgot, it's not sport , is it, it's big business, entertainment glamour, and a means for inadequates to try to be successful.
Aye right!

:top marks:top marks quality post..........

19-11-2009, 09:59 PM

Aye right!

I think you miss an important point here. In fitba, at all or almost all levels, there is no tradition of self-penalising handball. In golf, snooker and tennis at all levels there is a tradition of self-penalising inappropriate contact with the ball. Have you ever seen a player anywhere in the world go up to a ref and say that he handled the ball? Who? :dunno:

Totally inappropriate scapegoating of Henry imo. You're demanding that he decide, in the space of a few seconds, to become the first person in the modern world to declare handball against himself. If he had done that, good for him. The fact that he didn't shouldn't be held against him for the rest of his career - it's just unreasonable or, worse, Di-sterical.

19-11-2009, 10:00 PM
Well if Hibs won the cup from one of our players punching the ball over the line, i would not give a toss. And if this had happened against England yesterday, i have no doubt 99% of this board would be pishing themselves laughing. There is nothing more fickle than a football fan.

19-11-2009, 10:10 PM
Totally inappropriate scapegoating of Henry imo. Di-sterical.

I agree. The result was decided over 210 minutes of football. If the handball had been spotted Ireland might well still have been eliminated. If you went through the game you'd probably find dozens of other occasions when players got away with fouls, like in any game. This incident just happened to be closer to the scoring of a goal than other events.

Aubenas
19-11-2009, 10:10 PM
I think you miss an important point here. In fitba, at all or almost all levels, there is no tradition of self-penalising handball. In golf, snooker and tennis at all levels there is a tradition of self-penalising inappropriate contact with the ball. Have you ever seen a player anywhere in the world go up to a ref and say that he handled the ball? Who?

I know what you mean - but we've all seen examples of players doing something illegal and pulling up in obvious realisation, which helps the ref make the decision. Henry didn't benefit from the ball hitting his hand - he touched and guided it in two separate movements and this led directly to a goal. He then set off celebrating. Not exactly an innocent victim of circumstances.

And I think there have been at least two examples of games being replayed because a 'winning' club felt an injustice had been done.

19-11-2009, 10:21 PM
I know what you mean - but we've all seen examples of players doing something illegal and pulling up in obvious realisation, which helps the ref make the decision. Henry didn't benefit from the ball hitting his hand - he touched and guided it in two separate movements and this led directly to a goal. He then set off celebrating. Not exactly an innocent victim of circumstances.

In real time it - perhaps - looks as much like a single movement as two movements. Watching the whole sequence in real time, I don't think he had long enough to think about pulling up and then actually pulling up - he handled and squared in a virtually continuous movement. And I thought Gallas's arm twitched involuntarily as the ball came across to him - he was able to restrain it at his side as his brain realised his head could get to it. The whole sequence between the two of them backed up John Collins's view that a lot of these movements are instinctive, not premeditated, and all the talk of disgraceful cheating is wide of the mark imo. He did celebrate at the goal and at the final whistle, but I think sitting down at the end beside Dunne another emotion may have surfaced.

And I think there have been at least two examples of games being replayed because a 'winning' club felt an injustice had been done.
:agree: Would like to see Franceland offer to do this. Whether Ireland would be morally right to take up the offer is another matter. :wink:

Aubenas
19-11-2009, 10:58 PM
Would like to see Franceland offer to do this. Whether Ireland would be morally right to take up the offer is another matter.

Yeh - but, as we know, inevitably, France would win!!!!!!!!:boo hoo:

20-11-2009, 12:36 AM
Assuming you are having a laugh. :greengrin

Joe was delighted when it was given and can certainly remember screaming for it watching on the box. It was only when there was a picture in one of the papers at the weekend that clearly showed Joe punched the ball.

I suppose we can argue that we won the game 2-0 and would still have won however it was a massive decision.

And look what happened to us as a result....

What comes around, goes around. The French should maybe be afraid - VERY afraid.... :devil:

Aye right!

If that were a Hibs player in the Scottish Cup Final, I'm afaraid I wouldn't be there to see them lift the Cup. Like you, I'd like to be proud of my team, not having to justify injustice like that.

There's clearly been pressure from the authorities to get the 'big' teams through. The late change in the seeding rules - talk about moving the goalposts - was unfair; it was supposed to be an open draw. The change was money working to make it harder for the 'wee' teams to qualify; we see that often enough in Scottish football, and we have to live with the consequence - a joke league where two clubs run things for their own benefit.

Tell me the referee or an assistant wouldn't have seen that hand-ball if it had been Stokes catching the ball instead of Henry. Aye, right - he'd have disallowed the goal on the strength of the home crowd's reaction, then thought up a reason afterwards.

Some folks reckon Maradona greater than Pele. I don't - because Pele was never involved in anything like the 'hand of God' business. I remember Bobby Charlton walking out on to the pitch at ER at Gordon Rae's testimonial, to applause from every corner of the ground. Why did he get that ovation? I reckon it was because he wasn't just a great footballer - BC was a sportsman, a gentleman, and he was respected throughout the game. Henry's a talented player, but he'll be remembered for that hand-ball long after his goals have faded in the memory.

I actually agree with one thing DBS has said - I think it's now sunk in on Henry that the very last thing he SHOULD have done is the one thing he DID do.

"Say it ain't so, Thierry...."