View Full Version : Match Updates *** Hibs vs ST.Johnstone ***

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 03:35 AM
Hi everyone i'm back after been on holidays in San Fran, San Diego and Las Vegas.

Hibs are on a 2 game skid lets hope the boys can better today 3 pts are vital for us.

Any team news yet ?

Whats the weather like in Leith ?

:hnet::flag:

brightons hibby
19-09-2009, 04:07 AM
Lets hope the hibs are up to the task.i think if we go 44-2 we will be to good for them.:thumbsup::flag::flag:

Borders Hibby
19-09-2009, 04:36 AM
[QUOTE=CalgaryHibs;2179371]Hi everyone i'm back after been on holidays in San Fran, San Diego and Las Vegas.

Hibs are on a 2 game skid lets hope the boys can better today 3 pts are vital for us.

Any team news yet ?

Very calm and dark! Glad you are back, think it was bad luck that somebody else started this thread last week!:agree:

Niffy
19-09-2009, 10:22 AM
44-2 , that's some back line, but no strikers ?

Alex Miller must be back.

19-09-2009, 10:31 AM
Draws are the killer in this league and we did not take advangage of the 4 teams that drew last week...its a pretty much must win game if we are to keep ahead of the mass.

Need to see more leadership ON the pitch..not moaning and disaffection like from Deeks & Stokes. I like Cregg & McBride but we need at talker and leader in there...Liam? or get Bamba back in there with Murray beside Hogg?

19-09-2009, 10:34 AM
[QUOTE=CalgaryHibs;2179371]Hi everyone i'm back after been on holidays in San Fran, San Diego and Las Vegas.

Any team news yet ?

Very calm and dark! Glad you are back, think it was bad luck that somebody else started this thread last week!:agree:

:asshole: Aye I'll take the blame for Hibs turning in an inept performance last week. :devil:

Cracker
19-09-2009, 10:50 AM
hogg on bench, Murray and Bamba central defence??

Borders Hibby
19-09-2009, 11:14 AM
[QUOTE=Borders Hibby;2179374]

:asshole: Aye I'll take the blame for Hibs turning in an inept performance last week. :devil:

Good, gad that is all cleared up.:agree:

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 12:58 PM
Killie 0-0 Rangers 68min

Burnley 1-1 Sunderland

Martin
19-09-2009, 01:36 PM
Stack
Murray
McCormack
Bamba
Hanlon
McBride
Millar
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Stokes
Rankin

Bench
Maka
Hogg
Zemmama
Cregg
Benji
Galbraith
Stevenson

19-09-2009, 01:37 PM
Todays team is

Stack
Murray
Hanlon
McCormack
Bamba
Rankin
McBride
Wotherspoon
Miller
Riordan
Stokes

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 01:39 PM
----------------Stack----------------
-------------------------------------
McCormack--Bamba--Murray--Hanlon
Wotherspoon-Miller-McBride-Rankin
----------Stokes----Riordan----------

Sounds like 4-4-2 today??

19-09-2009, 01:39 PM
Stack
Murray
McCormack
Bamba
Hanlon
McBride
Millar
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Stokes
Rankin

Bench
Maka
Hogg
Zemmama
Cregg
Benji
Galbraith
Stevenson

Stack in goal, our spanish friend will be upset.:faf:

19-09-2009, 01:41 PM
Will Murray be captain?

spudhib
19-09-2009, 01:41 PM
Stack
Mccormack Bamba Murray Hanlon
Wotherspoon Miller Mcbride Rankin
Riordan Stokes

CapitalHibs
19-09-2009, 01:50 PM
No Morais for the saintees:wink:

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 02:03 PM
Any updates guys?

spudhib
19-09-2009, 02:04 PM
All St Johnstone so far:grr:

Any updates guys?

0-0

Poorish start, St J have come out the traps quicker.

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 02:06 PM
St. Johnstone off the bar...

spudhib
19-09-2009, 02:07 PM
Saints hit bar

mayo hibee
Samuel misses good chance - all St J so far

spudhib
Samuel misses sitter:grr:

All saints so far

spudhib
19-09-2009, 02:08 PM
Yam fud Mitchell rippin the pash oot Bamba.

19-09-2009, 02:08 PM
Poor start from Hibs, easily could have been behind. :grr:

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 02:09 PM
Another sitter

Liam Craig misses another sitter :confused:

Prof. Shaggy
0-1 coming soon...

Why are we unable to come out the traps flying?

Do we have to fall behind in every game before we get the finger oot?

blaikie
19-09-2009, 02:10 PM
WTF is happening :grr:

Saints nearly score again, c'mon Hibs get your act together. FFS

super saints pis*ing all over us :boo hoo:

vahibbie
19-09-2009, 02:13 PM
Our passing once again is piss-poor:grr:
Thot that was supposed to be our trade mark....passing I mean, no being piss-poor:wink:

HibeeSince82
19-09-2009, 02:14 PM
Our passing once again is piss-poor:grr:
Thot that was supposed to be our trade mark....passing I mean, no being piss-poor:wink:

Think you were right the first time :wink:

19-09-2009, 02:15 PM
Deek free-kick. 32/33 yards out. Nae chance.

19-09-2009, 02:18 PM
No looking too good, as yet....but if any team can get their fans hot under the Collar, then the famous hi-bees can..

19-09-2009, 02:21 PM
Here's my comment for Interactive - can the cameraman zoom out a bit more so we can get the bigger picture rather than close ups constantly.

***** start for Hibs - poor midfield again

CalgaryHibs
No looking too good, as yet....but if any team can get their fans hot under the Collar, then the famous hi-bees can..

yer right, its never a dull moment been Hi-bee

blaikie
Stokes :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

mayo hibee
Stokes!!!

Simpson
STOKES GOAL :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

spudhib
STOKESEYYY Yaaaaaaaaasssssssss:thumbsup:

19-09-2009, 02:22 PM
yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss stokes!!!!

At last get in there Stokesy. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

1-0 Hibs.

1-0 stokes

vahibbie
STOKES 1-0

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

crewetollhibee
Stokes !!! YEEHAH !!!!!!!!:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

VegasHibby
19-09-2009, 02:23 PM
Thank God that'll do his confidence some good......

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 02:24 PM
0-1 coming soon...

Strike that.

19-09-2009, 02:24 PM
Maybe he should be out in the nightclubs more often. :duck:

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 02:25 PM
this goal was against the run of play

Mon Hibs 1-0

19-09-2009, 02:26 PM
Maybe he should be out in the nightclubs more often. :duck:

:agree: said i n the sun the day that he would be dropped as JH would not tolerate that sort of behaviour..:wink:

spudhib
19-09-2009, 02:27 PM
Wotherspoon 20 yarder just wide after good work from Miller.

Good play by Miller, and shot by Wotherspoon, starting to create some chances now. :thumbsup:

vahibbie
Now that was much better:thumbsup:
Good play from Liam:agree:

19-09-2009, 02:28 PM
:agree: said i n the sun the day that he would be dropped as JH would not tolerate that sort of behaviour..:wink:

Shows you how much rubbish they print.

DaveHFC
19-09-2009, 02:29 PM
Anyone got the link for the bbc listen online thing, I can't find it!

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 02:30 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359425.stm

Does that work?

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 02:31 PM
Arsenal 1-0 Wigan

19-09-2009, 02:32 PM
Hearts are *****.

DaveHFC
19-09-2009, 02:32 PM

Does that work?

Perfect, thanks. :thumbsup:

19-09-2009, 02:33 PM

Does that work?

I'm at work today :brickwall

Link comes up to say

"content does not appear to be working try again later" :brickwall

Keep the updates coming guys :thumbsup:

Davy Mac
19-09-2009, 02:33 PM
Hearts are *****.

Agreed :greengrin:agree:

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 02:34 PM
Villa 1-0 Pompey

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 02:35 PM
I'm at work today :brickwall

Link comes up to say

"content does not appear to be working try again later" :brickwall

Keep the updates coming guys :thumbsup:

Hibs playing a bit better. More settled. Some promising attacking moves.

vahibbie
Hearts are *****.
Very thoughtfull and concise BH:agree:

mayo hibee
2-0

19-09-2009, 02:36 PM
Yeeesssss Deeks 2-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup:

spudhib
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLL DEEKS:thumbsup:

Prof. Shaggy
Hibs playing a bit better. More settled. Some promising attacking moves.

See?
2-0 deeks

DaveHFC
:thumbsup::thumbsup: Get in ya basssssss. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

How are the back 4 playing? RRRIIIOOORRRDDDAAANNN 2-0.:thumbsup:

Riordan:thumbsup: On fire!

Stokes and Riordan the goalscorers, good times:thumbsup:

vahibbie
19-09-2009, 02:37 PM
DEEK 2-0

Battle on between Stokes and Deek :thumbsup:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
Deek 2-0. We want 7.:thumbsup:

Cooncil computer :brickwall

Get in Deeks :thumbsup:

CalgaryHibs
:wink:funny game at times yeh?

were we oot played for the first 15 min and were 2 up

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 02:38 PM
Murray sounds like an improvement at centre back.

spudhib
19-09-2009, 02:39 PM
Paul Mitchell sounding gutted:greengrin:faf:Ruefully reflecting on Saints missed chances.:bye:

hibbie02
19-09-2009, 02:40 PM
How live is BBC Radio Scotland? The Deek goal was on here well before it was on the Radio :confused::confused::confused:

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 02:43 PM
villa 2-0 pompey

McBride's been man-marked.......who on here would have predicted that would happen in a game when his signing was announced?! :thumbsup:

Did they just say that Charlie Richmond has been dropped from the UEFA referee list? About time as well. He should be dropped from our refereeing list. Last few times I saw him at ER, he's nearly caused a riot every time.

19-09-2009, 02:44 PM
:wink:funny game at times yeh?

were we oot played for the first 15 min and were 2 up

How are the back 4 playing, in particular Murray?

19-09-2009, 02:44 PM
Murray sounds like an improvement at centre back.

Best CH we have .. by some distance :agree:

spudhib
19-09-2009, 02:45 PM
HT

19-09-2009, 02:46 PM
How live is BBC Radio Scotland? The Deek goal was on here well before it was on the Radio :confused::confused::confused:

can happen like that, sometimes just depends on where you are..

I can remember some of my mates listening to the same broadcast in Melbourne that I was listening to in Sydney, while we were chatting on line.

they were jumping up and down before I heard that we had even scored.

got to say its the first time Melburne had ever been ahead of Sydney....:bye:

hibbie02
19-09-2009, 02:46 PM
HT

They are still playing on the "Live" Radio. :confused:

vahibbie
19-09-2009, 02:48 PM
How are the back 4 playing, in particular Murray?

A bit shakey TBH but Murray's having a good game......plus most of his passes are to a green shirt. Unlike another central defender who's been playing recently.

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 02:48 PM
2-0 ht
good score so far but after the first 15 min it was shocking stuff.

jakki
19-09-2009, 02:49 PM
HI radio is usually 2 minutes behind, something about being on the internet :confused:

19-09-2009, 02:58 PM
A bit shakey TBH but Murray's having a good game......plus most of his passes are to a green shirt. Unlike another central defender who's been playing recently.

It will take a bit of time to get an understanding, but thats an improvement already.:thumbsup:

Big90inOz
19-09-2009, 02:58 PM
But Perth is always in front of you East coasters :wink:

can happen like that, sometimes just depends on where you are..

I can remember some of my mates listening to the same broadcast in Melbourne that I was listening to in Sydney, while we were chatting on line.

they were jumping up and down before I heard that we had even scored.

got to say its the first time Melburne had ever been ahead of Sydney....:bye:

19-09-2009, 02:59 PM
Really think that Stokes & Riordan will be a massive difference for us over the other SPL teams this season (except the OF). Look at the rest of the HT results and not a goal between them.

Hopefully this is the start for Stokes to rattle in a few over the coming weeks, it's firepower like this which should have us challenging for 3rd IMO. :thumbsup:

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 03:02 PM
Is it no time to bin that Purcell?

euro Hibby
19-09-2009, 03:03 PM
reading the posts sounds still that Hibs are playing crap ?

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:06 PM
reading the posts sounds still that Hibs are playing crap ?

Dodgy first 15 but its to-ing and fro-ing now but 2-0 will do for now.

19-09-2009, 03:10 PM
Really think that Stokes & Riordan will be a massive difference for us over the other SPL teams this season (except the OF). Look at the rest of the HT results and not a goal between them.

Hopefully this is the start for Stokes to rattle in a few over the coming weeks, it's firepower like this which should have us challenging for 3rd IMO. :thumbsup:

I do too, and thats why i couldnt understand last weeks team selection and formation. They were creating an understanding in the games before, with Riordan scoring a few, and seem to have continued that today with both getting on the score sheet.:thumbsup:

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 03:13 PM
Bolton 0-1 Stoke
Arsenal 2-0 Wigan
Villa 2-0 Pompey
Newcastle 1-0 Plymouth
Boro 0-3 WBA:greengrin
killie 0-0 rangers ft
burnley 3-1 sunderland ft

chek that Newcastle 1-1 now

19-09-2009, 03:15 PM
Is the guy on the Radio Mitchell? Needs a spare change of pants every time Saints are in our box. Utter Fanny.

CalgaryHibs
whats going guys ? need updates please:greengrin

spudhib
Stokes lashes wide

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:16 PM
Stack saves from o/h kick from Milne.

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:17 PM
Wow just heard Rankin get a mention,Wothers shoots over bar after good move.

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 03:18 PM
whats going guys ? need updates please:greengrin

Definite improvement by Hibs. 2 subs St J. Deuchar on.
Hibs strikers threatening.
Team is working better.

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:19 PM
Deuchar misses good chance.

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 03:19 PM
Sounds very open - next goal could go either way, St johnstone have gone two up front.

Deuchar misses a chance for St J.

CalgaryHibs
19-09-2009, 03:21 PM
Arsenal 3-0 Wigan

euro Hibby
19-09-2009, 03:22 PM
you feel 2 is not enough

19-09-2009, 03:23 PM

Would be good if they all finished in draws as we would gain 2 points on them all.................................providing we win this game of course. :greengrin

19-09-2009, 03:24 PM
Would be good if they all finished in draws as we would gain 2 points on them all.................................providing we win this game of course. :greengrin

Jinxed it 1-0 to Motherwell. :greengrin

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:24 PM
UTD-0--Well-1

bathhibby
19-09-2009, 03:25 PM
Steady on lets not get ahead of ourselves. We do have the capability to throw it away - but fingers crossed

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 03:25 PM
Dundee Utd losing at home. Thats good.

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:27 PM
Deeks off Galbraith on

Riordan taken off for Galbraith.

Deek aff, Galbraith on.

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 03:28 PM
Galbraith for Riordan

CalgaryHibs
Steady on lets not get ahead of ourselves. We do have the capability to throw it away - but fingers crossed

correct this IS HIBS were talking aboot........

mayo hibee
Galbraith on for Riordan. Expected to see more of this guy earlier on in the season.

19-09-2009, 03:29 PM
If I was Yogi I'd sub Riordan and give Galbraith a run-out.

Stokesy!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsup:

mayo hibee
Stokes 3-0

If I was Yogi I'd sub Riordan and give Galbraith a run-out.

I agree :greengrin

3 nil

Prof. Shaggy
Game over!

spudhib
STOKES deflected freekick 3-0

Stokes again 3-0 that raps it up now. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

DaveHFC
3-0 STOKES!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsup:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
19-09-2009, 03:30 PM
Stokes 3-0. Good free kick. :thumbsup:

Stokes:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

1875godsgift
Ya Buckin Beauty!!!!!

vahibbie
Stokes 3-0 :thumbsup:

oldbiker
:greengrin:greengrin Benji on as well

spudhib
Stokes off Benji on.

vahibbie
Benji on for Stokes

Storar
19-09-2009, 03:31 PM
Still 15 to go with Benji and Galbraith coming on!

I love it when a plan comes together. :cb

mayo hibee
Instant impact from Galbraith, winning free kick first time on the ball.

Stokes is gone off with his 2 goals and his battle with Riordan is underway. :thumbsup:

Hank Schrader
19-09-2009, 03:32 PM
Nice brace from the boy tagged as an "expensive disaster" by one Kickback moron.

Keep em coming Stokesy!!

vahibbie
19-09-2009, 03:33 PM
Hmmmm, that might have been a goal:wink:

19-09-2009, 03:33 PM
These commentators on Radio Scotland are desperate for Saints to score, they are keeking their pants every time they come close. :grr:

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:34 PM
Paul Mitchell trying to claim for a Saints goal.Fud.
Zouma getting stripped:thumbsup:

Prof. Shaggy
Galbraith sounding good.

Bob Box Fish
Who is captain today ?

mayo hibee
Rankin off

Zemmama on

spudhib
Rankin off for Zouma.

19-09-2009, 03:35 PM
Who is captain today ?

Ian Murray.

19-09-2009, 03:36 PM
O'Connor puts Birmingham 1-0 up.

spudhib
O Connor puts Brum 1 up

mayo hibee
Garry O'Connor scores for Birmingham. 0-1.

Bob Box Fish
19-09-2009, 03:37 PM
Oconner scores for Brum

19-09-2009, 03:38 PM
Who scored for Birmingham :duck:

The commentator is DESPERATE for a St Johnstone goal.

Prof. Shaggy
Stack mistake. Deuchar miss.

Saints aint gonna score today.

19-09-2009, 03:39 PM
stack nearly makes a howler

19-09-2009, 03:39 PM
Stack goes AWOL, Mitchell creams himself on Radio, the Doctor slams it into the stand.

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 03:40 PM
All 0-0s and 1-0s in the other games today.

If we do well this season it'll be because we have a bit of real class up front. Rest of the team is no better or worse than the rest, but Riordan and Stokes could score 30 between them if they stay fit.

19-09-2009, 03:40 PM
Nice brace from the boy tagged as an "expensive disaster" by one Kickback moron.

Keep em coming Stokesy!!

stokesy stilled scored more than the £10k a week pile of nade :thumbsup:

19-09-2009, 03:41 PM

HibsSpain will be thrashing himself into a coma over that post.

Expect him to start a new thread relating to this before 7pm tonight :wink:

Hank Schrader

Cue another three dozen posts by Hibs Pain about Stack not being good enough:rolleyes:

Stack mistake. Deuchar miss.

Saints aint gonna score today.

Stack goes AWOL, Mitchell creams himself on Radio, the Doctor slams it into the stand.

I'll wait until I see it myself - as has been said already the commentator is desperate for St J to score and he has always been the 1st to pick up on the slightest thing that could be classed as a mistake for a Hibs keeper.

19-09-2009, 03:43 PM
Sheep 1 nil ahead.

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:43 PM
1-0 sheep

19-09-2009, 03:44 PM
Will watch it tonight and make up my mind on Stack.

Sheep 1-0 against St Mirren

Stack goes AWOL, Hibs Spain creams himself on Radio, the Doctor slams it into the stand.

Amended for you.:greengrin

Gavin's Wankie on for saints. :greengrin

mayo hibee
Hibs are 3-0 up but all I've heard about since the 3rd goal is how well St. Johnstone have played...

jakki
19-09-2009, 03:45 PM
Bamba is MOM by HI :thumbsup:

19-09-2009, 03:45 PM
Will watch it tonight and make up my mind on Stack.

It's on BBC Alba at 8. I'll watch and see the "mistake" but it won't help me make my mind up on him - it's only his 4th match for us!

19-09-2009, 03:46 PM
It's on BBC Alba at 8. I'll watch and see the "mistake" but it woun't help me make my mind up on him - it's only his 4th match for us!

I mean make up my mind if it was a howler or not.

spudhib
Galbraith sounding good.

Can see him starting on Tuesday.:agree:

Amended for you.:greengrin

19-09-2009, 03:47 PM

Same as what I'll be doing. :greengrin

spudhib
19-09-2009, 03:47 PM
Mcaffrey off with bad head knock,saints down to 10.

19-09-2009, 03:48 PM
Hibs are 3-0 up but all I've heard about since the 3rd goal is how well St. Johnstone have played...

They have played well, on another day this would've been a win for them, missed too many sitters early on.

19-09-2009, 03:50 PM
Another 3 points:greengrin

mayo hibee
Full time - good win. Team sounded much more balanced today.

Galbraith sounded useful when he came on, hope he gets a decent run in the next few weeks. Need to keep Murray at centre back.

Prof. Shaggy
2 strikers score more times than 3 do.
Well done Yogi.

They have played well, on another day this would've been a win for them, missed too many sittesr early on.

Hopefully Wednesday will not be the other day.

FT Good win for Hibs well done Stokes.

spudhib
FT Good win so-so performance but will take that anytime.:thumbsup:

Up to 3rd:thumbsup:

Thought Liam Miller had a good game today.:greengrin

vahibbie
19-09-2009, 03:51 PM
That'll do.
Far from brilliant but 3 goals and a clean-sheet is no bad.:agree:

CalgaryHibs
i see O'Conner scored today :duck:

Should be interesting against Motherwell next week we are on same points and goal diff.

mayo hibee
19-09-2009, 03:55 PM

And if we hadn't messed up last week we'd be top.

jakki
19-09-2009, 03:58 PM
Hopefully Wednesday will not be the other day.

FT Good win for Hibs well done Stokes.
I thought the cup game is on on Tuesday :confused:

19-09-2009, 04:01 PM
I thought the cup game is on on Tuesday :confused:

You're right, I thought it was Wednesday. :confused:

19-09-2009, 04:02 PM
Can see him starting on Tuesday.:agree:

thought the game was on wednesday?? please be wednesday!

19-09-2009, 04:05 PM
thought the game was on wednesday?? please be wednesday!

It does say Tuesday on the official site but I thought Hearts were at home on Tuesday so Hibs were playing on Wednesday but apparently not.

19-09-2009, 04:09 PM

Was very impressed with him today.

It was a scoreline that flattered us today, we could have been in serious trouble had St Johnstone had their shooting boots on.

Not the best performance but gladly take the 3 points :thumbsup:

Special mention to Wotherspoon, another great performance from him.

Prof. Shaggy
19-09-2009, 04:09 PM
It does say Tuesday on the official site but I thought Hearts were at home on Tuesday so Hibs were playing on Wednesday but apparently not.

According to the SFL site its Hibs on Tuesday and Hearts on Wednesday.

19-09-2009, 04:17 PM

He did, he clearly has a lot of skill and made a mug of the Saints' defenders more than once.

Bobo
19-09-2009, 04:17 PM

Was very impressed with him today.

It was a scoreline that flattered us today, we could have been in serious trouble had St Johnstone had their shooting boots on.

Not the best performance but gladly take the 3 points :thumbsup:

Special mention to Wotherspoon, another great performance from him.

Just back, I agree, great result considering it was a pretty average performance.

For me the best players for Hibs were the three M's... Murray, McBride and Miller.

Had St. Johnstone had a sharper strike force today, they would have punished our slack defending.

CapitalHibs
19-09-2009, 04:38 PM
Galbraith seemed very lively when he came on. Does he get the start over Rankin on Tuesday?

19-09-2009, 04:39 PM
Galbraith seemed very lively when he came on. Does he get the start over Rankin on Tuesday?

Possibly because Rankin's thigh was getting strapped up when he came off so he may be rested for Tuesday's game.

19-09-2009, 04:46 PM
Just back. 3 shots - 3 goals sums it up.

Still a long way to go for John Hughes to put a team together that matches his ideals. Individually, Bamba and Murray worked hard all day and were probably the pick (although collectively the defence was shaky to say the least, go figure!).

Midfield - hmmmmm, Miller showed in patches he has something to offer (one dummy in the first half where he let the ball go past him and took two Saintees out of the game was class). Otherwise, nowt much to write home about, usual huffing and puffing.

Strikers - like I said, 3 shots, 3 goals.

Am I the only one that thinks that general fitness levels are poor?

19-09-2009, 05:06 PM

Still a long way to go for John Hughes to put a team together that matches his ideals. Individually, Bamba and Murray worked hard all day and were probably the pick (although collectively the defence was shaky to say the least, go figure!).

Midfield - hmmmmm, Miller showed in patches he has something to offer (one dummy in the first half where he let the ball go past him and took two Saintees out of the game was class). Otherwise, nowt much to write home about, usual huffing and puffing.

CapitalHibs
19-09-2009, 05:07 PM
Possibly because Rankin's thigh was getting strapped up when he came off so he may be rested for Tuesday's game.

Hardly heard Rankin's name mentioned at all. Surprised he picked up an injury.:wink:

CapitalHibs
19-09-2009, 05:13 PM

Maybe I'm being impatient (aren't we all) time to gel etc etc. but with the kind of quality player Hibs have (just look at the bench today) IMO, we should be having no problem beating any workmanlike SPL side,

lEXO
19-09-2009, 05:14 PM
It was a bit of a howler like.He went a wandering but no damage done. The best keepers in the world do this now and again,so he,s not done to much wrong apart from that tbf.

19-09-2009, 05:17 PM
It was a bit of a howler like.He went a wandering but no damage done. The best keepers in the world do this now and again,so he,s not done to much wrong apart from that tbf.

However you can't help but think if it had been Maka who did that today the knives would be out for him

19-09-2009, 05:20 PM

However you can't help but think if it had been Maka who did that today the knives would be out for him

There's a reason for that. If Stack starts doing this consistently I'd imagine he'll get the same treatment.

19-09-2009, 05:23 PM
There's a reason for that. If Stack starts doing this consistently I'd imagine he'll get the same treatment.

When did Big Mac ever start doing it consistently? :dunno:

He's made very few mistakes for a really young goalie IMO.

19-09-2009, 05:24 PM
When did Big Mac ever start doing it consistently? :dunno:

He's made very few mistakes for a really young goalie IMO.

Since he signed for us.

As for your other comment - who are you comparing him to? Craig Gordon, Joe Hart? Or Andy McNeil?

19-09-2009, 05:31 PM
Since he signed for us.

As for your other comment - who are you comparing him to? Craig Gordon, Joe Hart? Or Andy McNeil?

I'm just comparing him to an average goalie of his age.

I don't think he's a "bad" goalie by any means.

He's made a few mistakes, but I would hardly call them consistant ones.

The defence has alot to answer for at times. But its always easier just to blame 1 man and its usually the goalie who gets the finger pointed at.

19-09-2009, 05:31 PM
I'm just comparing him to an average goalie of his age.

Who?

19-09-2009, 05:41 PM
Who?

Who are you comparing him to, to say that he's bad?

19-09-2009, 05:42 PM
Who are you comparing him to, to say that he's bad?

I'll tell you when you answer the original question mate.

19-09-2009, 05:46 PM
I'll tell you when you answer the original question mate.

As i've said. I'm comparing him to an average goalie his age.

I don't mean that i'm comparing him to any goalie in particular.

What I mean by that is, he does exactly what I would expect for an average goalie his age.

An average goalie his age and height, you would expect to make decent saves and have the odd mistake... and thats exactly what Maka gives us.

19-09-2009, 05:49 PM
As i've said. I'm comparing him to an average goalie his age.

I don't mean that i'm comparing him to any goalie in particular.

What I mean by that is, he does exactly what I would expect for an average goalie his age.

An average goalie his age and height, you would expect to make decent saves and have the odd mistake... and thats exactly what Maka gives us.

Got you. So he is the benchmark.

19-09-2009, 05:50 PM
Got you. So he is the benchmark.

What makes you think that any other goalies at SPL standard are any more reliable than Maka?

19-09-2009, 05:52 PM
What makes you think that any other goalies at SPL standard are any more reliable than Maka?

Just watching the highlights and that. I concede they all make mistakes and I used to defend Maka using points about the media hype and Hibs keepers and that. Then he kept doing making the mistakes and I gave up on him.

lEXO
19-09-2009, 06:52 PM

Aye no doubts they would.That,s gonny be the case for any Hibs keeper unfortunately.**** is,nt it.