View Full Version : Greggs Bamba

emmjayfox
30-08-2009, 06:19 PM
Anyone else hear that today was his last game ?

30-08-2009, 06:30 PM

30-08-2009, 06:32 PM
Care to expand chaps?

hibbybrian
30-08-2009, 06:35 PM
that's a hell of a suspension for a yellow card = sine die :devil:

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 06:37 PM

You can expand in the "you know" if you want:wink:

stewthehibee
30-08-2009, 06:42 PM
BR want to pay lots o money for him then the Tache will sell him:boo hoo:

30-08-2009, 06:43 PM
Based on that performance I would not bet against any potential suitor having second thoughts.:duck:

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 06:44 PM
Would give us a cash injection for Barr and Arfeild.

Wotherspoon at RB
Murray and Barr CH
Hanlon LB

7Hero
30-08-2009, 06:45 PM

:pray:

stewthehibee
30-08-2009, 06:48 PM
[B]Would give us a cash injection for Barr and Arfeild.
Wootherspoon at RB
Murray and Barr CH
Hanlon LB yes i agree

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 06:50 PM
yes i agree

Thank you:greengrin

emmjayfox
30-08-2009, 06:59 PM
i heard an amount mentioned but i dare say how much in fear of getting shot domn in flames.I will say though its a damn fine amount if true :greengrin

30-08-2009, 07:04 PM
i heard an amount mentioned but i dare say how much in fear of getting shot domn in flames.I will say though its a damn fine amount if true :greengrin
aww come on youve got to tell us now! :agree:

30-08-2009, 07:04 PM
Had to watch the game on ESPN and had to witness the misfortune that was BAMBA! absolutely dreadful as centreback!!

Probably protecting himself for a move but his performance today was woeful to say the least!

Hogg played ok contrary to others, stack, hmm still to be convinced; riordan and stokes need to start fighting for lost causes!! and; too many lovely passes and not enough penetration! ooh lordy did I just say penetration?

However, we are still only a few weeks into Yogis tenure and I would expect he will see all of this and adjust accordingly. But we were a wee bit unlucky!

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 07:17 PM

Just say it:agree:

GreenPJ
30-08-2009, 07:19 PM
Don't think Bamba was great but without him we have absolutely zero height and presence.

davym7062
30-08-2009, 07:21 PM
Had to watch the game on ESPN and had to witness the misfortune that was BAMBA! absolutely dreadful as centreback!!

Probably protecting himself for a move but his performance today was woeful to say the least!

Hogg played ok contrary to others, stack, hmm still to be convinced; riordan and stokes need to start fighting for lost causes!! and; too many lovely passes and not enough penetration! ooh lordy did I just say penetration?

However, we are still only a few weeks into Yogis tenure and I would expect he will see all of this and adjust accordingly. But we were a wee bit unlucky!

you must have been drunk watchin. bamba dreadfull and hogg ok.

god give me strength

30-08-2009, 07:22 PM
£2m.

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 07:23 PM
£2m.

I'll start the car.:greengrin

renato
30-08-2009, 07:25 PM

£2m.

Club(s) interested and offering?

Sauce?

30-08-2009, 07:25 PM
you must have been drunk watchin. bamba dreadfull and hogg ok.

god give me strength

not drunk! worst of all is...being sober has its issues particularly a dose of reality!!!

30-08-2009, 07:27 PM

Not until now, buy yes if true it would be something of a relief.

30-08-2009, 07:27 PM
I got a text about an hour ago saying he was off - mind you that could have been someone reading this p**h :greengrin

shamo9
30-08-2009, 07:37 PM
I'll start the car.:greengrin

I think Dunfermline have a 20% sell on clause...

30-08-2009, 07:37 PM
well i heard 3 million.:bye:if true ,yes thank you very much.[as long as yogi gets the lot]

emmjayfox
30-08-2009, 07:56 PM
well i heard 3 million.:bye:if true ,yes thank you very much.[as long as yogi gets the lot]

raise it :agree:

30-08-2009, 07:59 PM
Would give us a cash injection for Barr and Arfeild.

Wotherspoon at RB
Murray and Barr CH
Hanlon LB
:agree: The only way that Hibs are going to bid a realistic amount for the likes of Arfield is if we have already secured the sale of one of our players at a handsome fee. The most likely candidate for that at the moment would be Bamba.

Don't think Bamba was great but without him we have absolutely zero height and presence.
That definitely worries me as well. Barr is 5'10". Good though he may be, I can't fathom how he would be a direct replacement for Bamba.

30-08-2009, 08:05 PM
To be honest, I don't buy into the notion that you have to be 6 foot 6 to win a header. If you're a defender worth your salt, you can time a jump and beat anyone.

Cannavaro, in central defender terms is a dwarf yet I rarely see him being outjumped. Granted having an extra foot in height gives you an advantage but I'm 6'4 and I've been consistenly gash in the air for about ten years now (good feet for a big man was the cry). In fact, I am a blonde Colin Nish :boo hoo:

Hogg, Murray, Barr, whoever, at centre back doesn't alarm me. They just need to time their jump properly.

emmjayfox
30-08-2009, 08:07 PM
what height is kevin mcCann he was a great centre half for hibs ?:rolleyes:

30-08-2009, 08:08 PM
what height is kevin mcCann he was a great centre half for hibs ?:rolleyes:

Irrespective of the laddie's height, he's not a centre half full stop.

Bob1875
30-08-2009, 08:10 PM
Id much rather have Sol Bamba than Arfield or Barr, but Id play him in centre midfield. Its not the big mans fault he has to play CB. I still think hes a class act.

30-08-2009, 08:10 PM
To be honest, I don't buy into the notion that you have to be 6 foot 6 to win a header. If you're a defender worth your salt, you can time a jump and beat anyone.

Hogg, Murray, Barr, whoever, at centre back doesn't alarm me. They just need to time their jump properly.
But do they?

Before Jones arrived on the scene Hibs endured a long spell (years rather than months) during which they were very susceptible to the high ball into the box.

I would rather we didn't go back to those days - long patient build-up and passing movements to get into a one - nil lead, only to be undone by a huge punt up the park. :grr:

And we all know which teams specialise in the latter. :wink:

fife hfc
30-08-2009, 08:11 PM
Why do people knock him at centre half:confused: i think he has been our best defender by a country mile and I hope to hell he stays as he will leave a huge gap at the back.

emmjayfox
30-08-2009, 08:11 PM
i like centre halfs to have a bit of height and stature about them

30-08-2009, 08:15 PM
But do they?

Before Jones arrived on the scene Hibs endured a long spell (years rather than months) during which they were very susceptible to the high ball into the box.

I would rather we didn't go back to those days - long patient build-up and passing movements to get into a one - nil lead, only to be undone by a huge punt up the park. :grr:

To be honest, Hibs have been rank in defence for as long as I've supported them!

What we need is a tight defensive unit who know their roles, know the art of defending, work together and can go to work safe in the knowledge there is a safe pair of hands behind them in goals.

It'll take time, but Yogi will get us there eventually.

For what my opinion is worth, big Sol is my favourite player and I'd be gutted to see him go as although he has a few rough edges, his overall game has improved tenfold since he came to Hibs. However, as Neil Diamond once alluded to, money talks and if Hibs receive an offer such as £2m for example, it would be ridiculous to turn that down given that he was bought 32 appearances ago for the nominal sum of 50k.

emmjayfox
30-08-2009, 08:18 PM
But do they?

i agree wi this.

30-08-2009, 08:23 PM
If the figure being banded about is correct then someone in the EPL is going to get a steal imho! Sure he has some flaws but ultimately his power and pace are his main attributes which will stand him in good stead when he moves. Hat goes off to Mixu if Hibs return a massive return on the transfer fee paid to the Pars last year even allowing for their cut.

30-08-2009, 08:30 PM
For what my opinion is worth, big Sol is my favourite player and I'd be gutted to see him go as although he has a few rough edges, his overall game has improved tenfold since he came to Hibs. However, as Neil Diamond once alluded to, money talks and if Hibs receive an offer such as £2m for example, it would be ridiculous to turn that down given that he was bought 32 appearances ago for the nominal sum of 50k.
I agree.

There is no argument in my mind that if an offer is on the table for Bamba on a par with the amounts being suggested, then Hibs should accept it. I just don't think that Barr is the direct, slot-in replacement for Bamba that many on here suggest.

But there is also talk of this young lad, Ayling, from Arsenal. :hmmm:

30-08-2009, 09:30 PM
goal aside Bamba was my MOM he was outstanding :agree:

30-08-2009, 09:32 PM
If the figure being banded about is correct then someone in the EPL is going to get a steal imho! Sure he has some flaws but ultimately his power and pace are his main attributes which will stand him in good stead when he moves. Hat goes off to Mixu if Hibs return a massive return on the transfer fee paid to the Pars last year even allowing for their cut.

£3m a steal? As much as I rate Sol Bamba I think if we get offered £3m then yes please.

Hibs Soldier
30-08-2009, 09:34 PM

Be gutted if he goes, he has been great. Need to have something lined up to replace him imo.

30-08-2009, 09:35 PM
I agree.

There is no argument in my mind that if an offer is on the table for Bamba on a par with the amounts being suggested, then Hibs should accept it. I just don't think that Barr is the direct, slot-in replacement for Bamba that many on here suggest.

But there is also talk of this young lad, Ayling, from Arsenal. :hmmm:

With a surname like that, I'm sure some of the more notable members of the first team squad will welcome the young lad with open arms.

30-08-2009, 09:38 PM
If these figures prove to have any reality then what will David Wotherspoon be worth if he progresses from his astounding start :greengrin

The Beastie Bus
30-08-2009, 09:40 PM
Think he'll command our biggest transfer fee yet. Quality player:agree:

30-08-2009, 10:30 PM
:pray:

He was in Blackburn on Wednesday night.

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 10:32 PM
Seems like a good move for him TBH.

30-08-2009, 10:33 PM
I think Dunfermline have a 20% sell on clause...

Think it maybe 30% sell on clause.

The Beastie Bus
30-08-2009, 10:37 PM

Considering we got the boy for 50 grand if we make 1 mill out of it then well done us, Dunfermline should also get something out of it imho.

30-08-2009, 10:39 PM
I know a bit of the topic, but i heard that Hertha Berlin were impressed with Riordans display against celtc today.:duck:

The Beastie Bus
30-08-2009, 10:42 PM
I know a bit of the topic, but i heard that Hertha Berlin were impressed with Riordans display against celtc today.:duck:

sauce? chilli or broon

30-08-2009, 10:52 PM
I've heard today that the whole Hibs team will be sold before the end of the window

The board will get £5million pounds for them and the money's going to the new stand, East Mains operating costs and the new website

We will rely on players made redundant from Livingston for the rest of the season and probably end up candidates for relegation - despite Yogi's best efforts

But....Hey Ho........the only pleasure we get out of being a Hibs fan these days is selling players for big bucks

Sure prefer that to success on the park - don't we? :thumbsup:

30-08-2009, 11:04 PM
raise it :agree:

:agree: £3.5m is what I heard today, but could be a load o' Nade.

Just aboot fell off my seat when I heard it!!!

Petrie's Tache
30-08-2009, 11:08 PM

As were a few others no doubt. However dosent mean he is going anywhere.:greengrin

30-08-2009, 11:08 PM

I'd have to be sheer radge to believe we would get that much for him. :greengrin

I think we would be lucky to get 2 Million for him IMO.

andrew_dundee
30-08-2009, 11:58 PM
there is no way anyone is going to offer £3m for Bamba, he's simply not good enough, realistically i would be shocked if anyone offered £1 million, (i'm convinced you could buy a beter player than Bamba for £1 million actually) he is good but i would be shocked if we were really being offered some of the money being suggested on here

Auckland Hibs
31-08-2009, 05:11 AM

I can't see it mate, more like 1.5m would be a fair price IMO.

31-08-2009, 06:29 AM

That's about 4 times in the last week you've hinted that Riordan may be away..:boo hoo::bitchy:

31-08-2009, 06:33 AM

Luckily Deek's German is no as good as his French, Italian, or Spanish so I think this one is a non-starter :agree:

31-08-2009, 07:46 AM
He was in Blackburn on Wednesday night.

:cool2:

Think it might be 40% :cool2:

You're a BAD BAD man! :greengrin

31-08-2009, 07:51 AM
:cool2:

Think it might be 40% :cool2:

You're a BAD BAD man! :greengrin

Deffo 50%.

31-08-2009, 08:10 AM
I can't see it mate, more like 1.5m would be a fair price IMO.

I agree (hence the "just aboot fell of my seat") but I'm just passing on what I heard.

31-08-2009, 08:12 AM
When you think of some of the money thrown about in the EPL why not get some decent value for Sol who would do well down there IMO.

31-08-2009, 08:13 AM
bye bye sol welcome barr :wink:

31-08-2009, 02:15 PM
Not sure if anyone else has posted about this or not, or if it has been confirmed that he is going. At the final whistle yesterday Bamba seemed to be Hugging everyone in a way that suggested it may have been his last game? Did anyone else see / feel that?

31-08-2009, 02:36 PM
:yawn:

31-08-2009, 02:37 PM
:yawn::yawn:

31-08-2009, 02:40 PM
Not sure if anyone else has posted about this or not, or if it has been confirmed that he is going. At the final whistle yesterday Bamba seemed to be Hugging everyone in a way that suggested it may have been his last game? Did anyone else see / feel that?

He does that every game :confused:

31-08-2009, 02:48 PM
:yawn::yawn::yawn:

31-08-2009, 02:57 PM
:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:

31-08-2009, 02:58 PM
:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:

31-08-2009, 03:01 PM
I'm sure someone started a near-identical rumour this time last year about Rob Jones.

Some media type started saying big RJ was on his way after clapping the fans after a match. What the media fud didn't realise is that he did this every match.

So, like my esteemed .net colleagues: :yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:

31-08-2009, 03:12 PM
sky sports believes that blackburn manager out of the country
so is he up at er ,,,,,,,,,or is he lying

on the beach,,,,,the lucky bassa:wink::wink::wink:
hb

31-08-2009, 03:13 PM
Hopefully just rumours which will come to nothing, but the fact that he himself has recently talked up the supposed interest of big clubs adds an edge to the possibility.

Last Minute
31-08-2009, 03:35 PM
:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:

PotsyHibee
31-08-2009, 04:08 PM
I've actually been impressed with Bamba at CB in General, hope he doesn't leave but if he does I hope it takes a stupid fee for us to consider selling. We shall see though...not long now.