View Full Version : Hibs.Net Longest Day of Golf

03-04-2009, 03:09 PM
Hey all,

As some of you will be aware, a few of us are taking part in The Longest Day of Golf, to help raise funds for MacMillan Nurses. We're playing 4 rounds of golf in one day (23rd July) with the following itinerary:

Bathgate Golf Course - 6.00am
Uphall Golf Course - 10.00am
Harburn Golf Course - 14.00pm
Dalmahoy Golf Course - 18.00pm

Our lineup features a member on here (whom many of you will know), who goes by the username Houchy. He, like the rest of us, is an ardent Hibs fan, but with a twist. At only 31, he has battled cancer and overcome it 8 times. His story is inspirational and one of the reasons the rest of us are getting behind him and taking part in this fantastic event. He put the feelers out to try and get some supportive publicity for our event, and the response in the last couple of days has been phenomenal!

Edinburgh Evening News (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/10k-charity-bid-by-dad.5138731.jp)

Daily Record (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/editors-choice/2009/04/03/i-beat-cancer-8-times-in-18-years-86908-21249790/)

2nd Top Read Story on The Sun's Website! (http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/article2357824.ece)

West Lothian Courier (http://www.westlothiancourier.co.uk/west-lothian-news/west-lothian-news/2009/04/02/man-beats-cancer-eight-times-62405-23289800/)

Safe to say, this is going to be an important event, and one I hope the members of hibs.net (whether taking part, or by helping in some way) can be proud of! We're trying to get Hibs involved as well in some way, so hopefully Hibs fans everywhere can feel some sense of pride in what we hope to achieve.

Our goal is to raise £10,000 for MacMillan Cancer Support - not an easy task, but one well worth striving for!

I completed this event last year, and managed to raise £1500 between 4 of us and I'm delighted to be doing it again this year!

I've set up a Justgiving page which aims to collect as many donations as we can possibly achieve in the months which will lead up to the event date. I've popped the link at the bottom of the email and most team participants will have the link at the bottom of their profiles (Houchy, Greenlex, Hi8sry, sg7nil, Godsahibby, HibbyScott, Cocopops1875 and myself).

I'm aware how tight everyone is watching their finances this year, but we would appreciate whatever you can give, no matter how big or small. To shamelessly steal Tesco's slogan "Every little helps".

Thanks in advance, and I'm sure we'll keep this thread updated with any major news relating to the date.

Thanks again. Glory Glory!

Donation Page (http://www.justgiving.com/hibsnetlongestday)

p.s. - any chance an admin can make this a sticky please?? Cheers! :thumbsup:

Benny Brazil
03-04-2009, 03:52 PM
Donation duly done - and well deserved.

03-04-2009, 04:13 PM
Thank you very kindly BB! :thumbsup:

Again, can this be made a stick please?

Muchos gracias from all of us!

03-04-2009, 07:03 PM
As Scott says the thread in the Other Sports forum (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=136353) is well worth a read.

Good luck to the guys. :thumbsup:

Hibby D
03-04-2009, 09:18 PM
Donation made - well done guys :agree:

03-04-2009, 11:05 PM
Good luck guys ...:aok:

08-04-2009, 12:54 PM
Easy peasy...done it twice this year already in my bare feet :fibber:

08-04-2009, 12:57 PM
Easy peasy...done it twice this year already in my bare feet :fibber:

Infront of the Wii or Playstation does not count :greengrin

08-04-2009, 12:58 PM
Thanks for all the donations made thus far guys - we've managed to make £175 online in a week since setting the site up.

We've yet to start passing round donation forms (as I think we're still waiting on them coming in?) family and friends, so you're all giving us a good start.

To all taking part:

We're being granted 4 rounds of golf for free, which would otherwise be fairly costly - maybe worth considering making a wee donation ourselves in what we're saving in green fees?

Same rules apply as anyone else donating though - just what you can afford.

I'm going to donate an amount myself - lex has already made a donation too, which is great.

Cheers again folks!

08-04-2009, 01:41 PM
Thanks for all the donations made thus far guys - we've managed to make £175 online in a week since setting the site up.

We've yet to start passing round donation forms (as I think we're still waiting on them coming in?) family and friends, so you're all giving us a good start.

To all taking part:

We're being granted 4 rounds of golf for free, which would otherwise be fairly costly - maybe worth considering making a wee donation ourselves in what we're saving in green fees?

Same rules apply as anyone else donating though - just what you can afford.

I'm going to donate an amount myself - lex has already made a donation too, which is great.

Cheers again folks!

:agree: I've registered each of the players addresses individually, when registering the teams so the forms go out directly to each participant.

HibeeChick
09-04-2009, 02:17 PM
Done!

09-04-2009, 07:46 PM
Done!

Thanks Amanda, and everyone else who has donated. It's incredible that we are over £300 already and haven't even got our sponsor forms out from MacMillan yet.

Thank you so much everyone who has donated to the cause so far in such tight times. It really is appreciated.

:top marks Everyone :not worth:agree::applause:

10-04-2009, 10:27 AM
I have just entered a Talksport competition in conjunction with MARS, and out lined our day,I also enclosed a link to our page in hope that we can raise awareness of our day, they are paying out £5,000 a month to worthy causes, so I hope they deem our cause as worthy :thumbsup:

http://www.marsrefuel.com/refuel_fund/thanks.aspx

jakki
17-05-2009, 07:49 PM
Ronnie, just donated. Sorry its not more.

17-05-2009, 08:41 PM
Have a good day lads:thumbsup:

18-05-2009, 03:45 PM
Ronnie, just donated. Sorry its not more.

Thanks Jakki every penny is gratefully received :thumbsup:

Have a good day lads:thumbsup:

Thanks Ronaldo7 :thumbsup:

19-05-2009, 01:48 PM
Done - and happily so.

MacMillan Hospice and their nurses do an incredible job, and made my dad's short time there more comfortable than we could have possibly hoped for.

I also know one of the golfers personally, and despite going to the wrong Uni in Glasgow, he's a good lad and I hope you all have a great day and go on to meet and beat your donations target.

09-06-2009, 07:06 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?p=2066112#post2066112

10-06-2009, 03:41 PM
Just donated.

My auld legs would never have stood up otherwise I'd be a willing participant. May the golf gods smile on you throughout the big day.

24-06-2009, 12:35 PM
Scotbet podcast promoting our events 20 mins in worth a listen from there on in :devil: click on the kickabout link :wink:

http://thekickabout.jellycast.com/podcast/feed/23

Don-hibee
23-07-2009, 12:25 PM
Just heard from my other half (H18SRY) have now reached the half way point and all holding up well

Keep going guys :applause:

23-07-2009, 07:03 PM
Well done lads..no long now :greengrin

I almost forgot to make my donation...fantastic cause..well done again.

NaeTechnoHibby
23-07-2009, 08:13 PM
Last few holes I imagine :thumbsup:

Well done lads :top marks

Don-hibee
23-07-2009, 08:14 PM
yep and you can still donate too. :greengrin

NaeTechnoHibby
23-07-2009, 09:57 PM
yep and you can still donate too. :greengrin

Done that ages ago :agree:

But anyone else who would like to help the cause :thumbsup:

Must be finished now though, it's dark :greengrin

23-07-2009, 10:34 PM
Just left them all in the coctail bar at Dalmahoy. Everyone round in one piece ( just) and in good spirits. Last two teams finished in tbe dark but finished none the less. Well done guys on a fantastic effort. Gutted I couldn't do it. Well done again.

HibbyScott
23-07-2009, 11:16 PM
I'm so so so so so sore :boo hoo:

24-07-2009, 08:05 AM
I'm so so so so so sore :boo hoo:

**** knows how "caddyboy" :greengrin

ano hibby
24-07-2009, 11:41 AM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Fans-in-charity-drive.5491490.jp

well done you guys:top marks

24-07-2009, 06:47 PM
**** knows how "caddyboy" :greengrin

caddyboy got it easy well till his second caddy started abusing him:greengrin some of us kept it real tho:wink:

24-07-2009, 09:15 PM
caddyboy got it easy well till his second caddy started abusing him:greengrin some of us kept it real tho:wink:

Respect my brutha! :thumbsup: 2 real men :wink:

26-07-2009, 04:36 PM
If anyone who uses facebook is interested, I've posted an album with c.100 photos of our day onto my profile.

You'll probably need to add me to view them, but feel free if you're all so inclined!

Here (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?page=1&aid=89745&id=756539780)

Cheers!

26-07-2009, 04:59 PM
If anyone who uses facebook is interested, I've posted an album with c.100 photos of our day onto my profile.

You'll probably need to add me to view them, but feel free if you're all so inclined!

Here (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?page=1&aid=89745&id=756539780)

Cheers!Nice pics ...love the efforts of Ronnie tae retrieve his ball oot that gully !!!! ..not ...:greengrin

05-08-2009, 11:39 AM
Thought Id post this here so all who have supported us can see the end scores for our day, incase you don't all read the "Other Sports" forum:

Group 1 Scores*

* Combined 2 best scores per hole, cumulative (which has been changed from last year according to my papers from last year, which was the 2 best stableford players per team).

Bathgate - 96 points
Uphall - 91 points
Harburn - 88 points
Dalmahoy - 85 points

Individual Scores

Scott (M) - Bathgate 37 points, Uphall 38 points, Harburn 43 points, Dalmahoy 38 points
Ronnie (Hi8sry)- Bathgate 28 points, Uphall 20 points, Harburn 26 points, Dalmahoy 19 points
Colin (Cocopops1875) - Bathgate 30 points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 35 points, Dalmahoy 24 points
Scott (HibbyScott) - Bathgate 24 points, Uphall 33 points, Harburn 25 points, Dalmahoy 31 points

Group 2 Scores

Bathgate - 101 points
Uphall - 84 points
Harburn - 84 points
Dalmahoy - 77 points

Individual Scores

Chris (Godsahibby): Bathgate 46 points, Uphall 36 points, Harburn 34 points, Dalmahoy 30 points
Stuart (sg7nil): Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 26 points, Harburn 32 points, Dalmahoy 23 points
Tony Wright: Bathgate 37 points, Uphall 31 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 25 points
Mark Whelan: Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 34 points

Group 3 Scores

Bathgate - 85 points
Uphall - 68 points
Harburn - 57 points
Dalmahoy - 39 points

Scores based on missing cards - Lawrence told me to calculate their scores based on what I have, so these appear worse than they necessarily were.

Individual Scores

Lawrence (Houchy) - Bathgate 30 points, Uphall 24 points, Harburn 20 points, Dalmahoy 22 points
Michael Eprile - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall 42 points, Harburn 37 points, Dalmahoy n/a points
Douglas Burford - Bathgate 33 points, Uphall n/a points, Harburn n/a points, Dalmahoy n/a points
Greg Muir - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall n/a points, Harburn n/a points, Dalmahoy 17 points

Awards/Records From Day

Total Rounds High Score (Team) - Team 1 (360 points)
Total Rounds Low Score (Team) - Team 3 (249 points)

Total Rounds High Score (Individual)- Scott M (156 points overall)
Total Rounds Low Score (Individual)- Ronnie (Hi8sry) - 93 points overall*

* Scores for Douglas Burford and Greg Muir were lower, but incomplete based on missing scorecards.

Closest to the Pin Bathgate (8th) - Lawrence
Closest to the Pin Uphall (16th) - Colin Smith
Closest to the Pin Harburn (15th)** - n/a
Closest to the pin Dalmahoy (4th) - Stuart

** - not completed due to police outing/marker usage on green

Highest Cumulative Points in a single Round(team) - Team 2, Bathgate 101 points
Lowest Cumulative Points in a single Round(team) - Team 3, Dalmahoy, 39 points

Highest Cumulative Points in a single Round(individual) - Chris Strachan, 46 points (Bathgate)
Lowest Cumulative Points in a single Round(individual) - Greg Muir, 17 points (Dalmahoy)

Most Scores generated during the day (Least holes with 0 points) - Scott M (3 holes without score)

Team 1, with the highest daily total points will have a good chance at a trip to Portugal for the final with our daily cumulative points, as 348 was the lowest qualifier last year!

Fingers crossed.