View Full Version : Bowls....nearly there..

06-03-2008, 01:25 PM
The season is almost upon us, cannae wait....whens yer green opening..whats yer expectations for the season ahead ?

The Jewel is opening the green on the 12th April this year & straight into league business on the 25th..

After winning the Esk league 5th, runners up in the 4th, & winning the 3rd in consecutive seasons we ground to a halt finishing 3rd in the 2nd division last year.

With the recruitment of 3 very experienced bowlers (all club champions)hopefully we will make a good push for the 2nd division title this year.

Local competitions were hit & a miss for me last season with the scant consilation of a runners up trophy in the hope pairs.

Cant wait for the season to begin ..thats when my wife becomes a bowling widow & i become a drunken bum ...:thumbsup:

Sunny Leith
06-03-2008, 03:03 PM
I now play at Goldenacre, think the opening day is 3rd of may but with the new clubhouse being delayed, i dunno what is going to be happening. My main goal will be to win the district pairs but with my pairs partner colin hutchison playing in the u25's ive had to draft in another mate.

06-03-2008, 03:33 PM
I now play at Goldenacre, think the opening day is 3rd of may but with the new clubhouse being delayed, i dunno what is going to be happening. My main goal will be to win the district pairs but with my pairs partner colin hutchison playing in the u25's ive had to draft in another mate.Thats a late opening ..i take it you play into mid October then ?...we usually have our last club final in mid September ..

Sunny Leith
06-03-2008, 04:04 PM
Thats a late opening ..i take it you play into mid October then ?...we usually have our last club final in mid September ..

We do yeh, normally we would start in mid april but because our new club house is still under construction, they moved back the opening day. Forgot to say before hopefully edinburgh u25's can win the Scottish title again, we did well do win it last year!

06-03-2008, 04:13 PM
We do yeh, normally we would start in mid april but because our new club house is still under construction, they moved back the opening day. Forgot to say before hopefully edinburgh u25's can win the Scottish title again, we did well do win it last year!Good stuff mate & good luck ...whilst no-where near your standard i like the game & of course the social side...we do take our bowls seriously as we do the socialising before /during & after a game ...:drool:...:greengrin

Sunny Leith
06-03-2008, 04:16 PM
Good stuff mate & good luck ...whilst no-where near your standard i like the game & of course the social side...we do take our bowls seriously as we do the socialising before /during & after a game ...:drool:...:greengrin

haha cheers mate, hope you have a good season :thumbsup:

and enjoy a pint or 2 :greengrin

06-03-2008, 04:44 PM
I retired from football at 30, from cricket at 50 and an under pressure to take up bowls by Mrs Jack and all her family. Still dont feel I'm old enough for bowls though :duck:

I've been offered coaching by a couple of folk, one I think is some sort of Scottish champion, but dont tell the wife :wink: I want to be at least good before I let her know I'm wanting to try it out :greengrin

06-03-2008, 05:25 PM
I retired from football at 30, from cricket at 50 and an under pressure to take up bowls by Mrs Jack and all her family. Still dont feel I'm old enough for bowls though :duck:

I've been offered coaching by a couple of folk, one I think is some sort of Scottish champion, but dont tell the wife :wink: I want to be at least good before I let her know I'm wanting to try it out :greengrinI practised for two full seasons with my father in law from 2001 till 2003 season, an established bowler with many trophy laden seasons behind him ...he reckoned i was up to competition standard (not winning standard) but capable of giving an average player a run for his money ...:panic:

I wasnt drawn against an average player though...i was drawn against a damn good young bowler ...he beat me 21-0....:boo hoo:

It toughened me up though & it certainly improved my game..last year i beat the same player in the same competition 21-15.....:thumbsup:

Fat Stu
06-03-2008, 05:35 PM
as you may have read my club has one last year so i'll enjoy it whilst it lasts, looking for a new club next season though.

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Bolt-from-the-blue-as.3719895.jp

06-03-2008, 05:44 PM
as you may have read my club has one last year so i'll enjoy it whilst it lasts, looking for a new club next season though.

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Bolt-from-the-blue-as.3719895.jpAye thats crap Stu..i know the club well, cracking green in superb surroundings ...perhaps the only option left would be to use the cooncil facilities down the road & apply for an alcohol licence..big ask & more unlikely though knowing this council ..:agree:

Fat Stu
06-03-2008, 05:47 PM
Aye thats crap Stu..i know the club well, cracking green in superb surroundings ...perhaps the only option left would be to use the cooncil facilities down the road & apply for an alcohol licence..big ask & more unlikely though knowing this council ..:agree:

Don't think the council greens will let us use the name and such like. The greens central and the members from all over. TBH the area and the people are what make the club and with the amount likly to jump next season I cannot see us being anymore. yer right it's crap.

06-03-2008, 06:01 PM
Don't think the council greens will let us use the name and such like. The greens central and the members from all over. TBH the area and the people are what make the club and with the amount likly to jump next season I cannot see us being anymore. yer right it's crap.Its not just finding a club though Stu, its also finding a club that - A - is reasonably priced & - B - that you will get your quota of games, my dad was a member of Willowbrae he paid a whopping £150 & he barely played 8 games..

We have just bumped ours up from £12 to £20 across the board, you have to be a full club member to be allowed to join the bowling section...

Other than public greens i dont think there are many if any that can touch our price ...:agree:

Calvin
06-03-2008, 06:08 PM
I'm taking up the outdoor game this year.

Played indoors quite a few times over the window and really enjoyed it, so I'm going to become a serious player.

06-03-2008, 06:29 PM
I'm taking up the outdoor game this year.

Played indoors quite a few times over the window and really enjoyed it, so I'm going to become a serious player.Good on ye.:thumbsup:...i could never adjust ...i went indoors & i was playing through ..went back out doors & i was playing short !!! ...:greengrin

Where do you play ?

Calvin
06-03-2008, 06:46 PM
Good on ye.:thumbsup:...i could never adjust ...i went indoors & i was playing through ..went back out doors & i was playing short !!! ...:greengrin

Where do you play ?

Meadowmill indoors and I'm joining up with Longniddry outdoors (I think), as I know the youth coach there.

06-03-2008, 06:49 PM
Meadowmill indoors and I'm joining up with Longniddry outdoors (I think), as I know the youth coach there.Nae bother ..stick in ...:thumbsup:

06-03-2008, 08:17 PM
Started playing last year but I was a bit green :wink: misses told me to jack :greengrin it in or she would ditch :greengrin me

06-03-2008, 08:28 PM
Started playing last year but I was a bit green :wink: misses told me to jack :greengrin it in or she would ditch :greengrin meThats the measure of a good marriage, respect for her indoors, she aint a door mat...:greengrin

Little Miss Perfect
06-03-2008, 09:04 PM
The season is almost upon us, cannae wait....whens yer green opening..whats yer expectations for the season ahead ?

The Jewel is opening the green on the 12th April this year & straight into league business on the 25th..
...:thumbsup:

:hmmm: :idea: :whistle:

06-03-2008, 09:56 PM
:hmmm: :idea: :whistle:We also have just installed a very expensive electrified fence, this to stop steaming drunk women running across the green wi high heeled shoes on !!!...:greengrin

07-03-2008, 07:05 PM
Hey Fiolex..are you still playing at Loanhead Bc ?..we play you at the Jewel on 25th April in the league ..just wondering if you are still with them..maybe get a pint up ..:thumbsup:

08-03-2008, 07:12 AM

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Bolt-from-the-blue-as.3719895.jp

Aye, it's a sin mate. Played there many a time but since packing in the bowls I've been to many a party there. :partyhibb:drunk:
Was speaking to Norrie and he doesn't know where he's going to join.:bitchy:
Good luck in finding another club and as you said it's the members that make the club so I hope you find one that suits you. :thumbsup:

sg7nil
10-03-2008, 02:10 PM
Most clubs in the town are keen to welcome new members.

Seafield is no different, especially as we lost a lot of members over the last few years due to uncertainty about our future....

However our latest news from the owners of our site is all good and our future is more assured than many clubs in the town, all we need to do now is build up numbers (our membership has actually grown for the last couple of years) and we could become a force to be reckoned with again.

Last season our first 16 got promoted to EBL division 2 (heady heights for us), although our second 16 could do with climbing up their league ladder a bit. Our seniors are in the first division of their league too (if you're one of the more aged boolers).

We're a pretty friendly club, with less airs and graces than many other clubs in the town and our green is usually pretty good too.

There's various invitation and Open competitions throughout the year and the "Links Rinks" - in conjunction with the Leith Festival - should be hosted by us again this year. This is a competition that has had entries from all levels of bowlers since it started a couple of years ago, and even complete novices have come along and enjoyed their first taste of the game on our green... It's a round robin format, so everyone should get a minimum of three games over the day.

So anyone whose club has just shut or is threatened with imminent shutting could do worse than consider coming down to Seafield BC...

P.S. we are cheaper to join than Willowbrae (if the figures above are correct).. although not nearly as cheap as HNA6's club.

Edit - we open on 12th April and if anyone is interested in joining, PM me (unlikely I know)

Sunny Leith
12-03-2008, 01:20 PM
Most clubs in the town are keen to welcome new members.

Seafield is no different, especially as we lost a lot of members over the last few years due to uncertainty about our future....

However our latest news from the owners of our site is all good and our future is more assured than many clubs in the town, all we need to do now is build up numbers (our membership has actually grown for the last couple of years) and we could become a force to be reckoned with again.

Last season our first 16 got promoted to EBL division 2 (heady heights for us), although our second 16 could do with climbing up their league ladder a bit. Our seniors are in the first division of their league too (if you're one of the more aged boolers).

We're a pretty friendly club, with less airs and graces than many other clubs in the town and our green is usually pretty good too.

There's various invitation and Open competitions throughout the year and the "Links Rinks" - in conjunction with the Leith Festival - should be hosted by us again this year. This is a competition that has had entries from all levels of bowlers since it started a couple of years ago, and even complete novices have come along and enjoyed their first taste of the game on our green... It's a round robin format, so everyone should get a minimum of three games over the day.

So anyone whose club has just shut or is threatened with imminent shutting could do worse than consider coming down to Seafield BC...

P.S. we are cheaper to join than Willowbrae (if the figures above are correct).. although not nearly as cheap as HNA6's club.

Edit - we open on 12th April and if anyone is interested in joining, PM me (unlikely I know)

I fancy your chances for the 1st league game of the seaon, I believe your playing Goldenacre first and our green won't open till the last week of May because of the new clubhouse so were gonna struggle at the start. It's a shame Leith got promoted, would have been handy to have yous and Leith as away matches, as well as the fact I was a member of Leith for many years before the move to the acre!

sg7nil
12-03-2008, 04:05 PM
I fancy your chances for the 1st league game of the seaon, I believe your playing Goldenacre first and our green won't open till the last week of May because of the new clubhouse so were gonna struggle at the start. It's a shame Leith got promoted, would have been handy to have yous and Leith as away matches, as well as the fact I was a member of Leith for many years before the move to the acre!

Yes you're right.. it's a shame! (local rivalry and all that - we wanted them relegated to div 3 :wink:)

We have Goldenacre at home first game. Will your place be ready for then? (your 2nd 16 must be at home)

Looking forward to seeing your new place (the old one was better than ours already! - hope no other Seafield members are reading this!). If the green's not open you could always have a game of bridge instead!

Used to enjoy playing there in the old POL league.. and it was handy having the majority of the games within easy travelling distance (Seafield was actually further from my house than 5 of the teams in that old league!)

Sunny Leith
12-03-2008, 05:47 PM
Yes you're right.. it's a shame! (local rivalry and all that - we wanted them relegated to div 3 :wink:)

We have Goldenacre at home first game. Will your place be ready for then? (your 2nd 16 must be at home)

Looking forward to seeing your new place (the old one was better than ours already! - hope no other Seafield members are reading this!). If the green's not open you could always have a game of bridge instead!

Used to enjoy playing there in the old POL league.. and it was handy having the majority of the games within easy travelling distance (Seafield was actually further from my house than 5 of the teams in that old league!)

Think we will be playing out home matches at Trinity or Feranti(oh dear) until the clubhouse officially opens which is expected around end of May. Think ill practise at Leith beginning of May so im ready for the Fleming and Edinburgh u25 team, Prolly just go on with Grandpa Brown so no one can moan about me being on there lol. Still know the rinks like the back of my hand unlike the Acre where I don't hvae a clue!

12-03-2008, 06:19 PM

Used to enjoy playing there in the old POL league.. and it was handy having the majority of the games within easy travelling distance (Seafield was actually further from my house than 5 of the teams in that old league!)Wheres the Seafield club ...is that the one beside where they play cricket at Leith links ...?

Sunny Leith
12-03-2008, 06:25 PM
Wheres the Seafield club ...is that the one beside where they play cricket at Leith links ...?

sg7nil
13-03-2008, 01:13 PM
Wheres the Seafield club ...is that the one beside where they play cricket at Leith links ...?

Actually, judging by the number of cricket balls that landed on our green last year (six times in one night that I can remember! :brickwall), you could possibly say that we are part of their outfield!

The cricket club have been asked to use the small pitch (with the short boundary to our green) as little as posible, however they were tennants for Trinity cricket club last year and had to use it a lot due to multiple duplicate fixtures... what they should have done was use the strips at the far side of the square more often to make it a bigger hit to clear the wall.

We are supposed to be extending the fence this year to make it harder to hit balls over, but we'll see if it works.

The local guys from Franklin used to have a local rule that if you hit it over our wall you got a 6 but were out, this rule does not seem to apply to visiting sides though!

13-03-2008, 01:33 PM
Actually, judging by the number of cricket balls that landed on our green last year (six times in one night that I can remember! :brickwall), you could possibly say that we are part of their outfield!

The cricket club have been asked to use the small pitch (with the short boundary to our green) as little as posible, however they were tennants for Trinity cricket club last year and had to use it a lot due to multiple duplicate fixtures... what they should have done was use the strips at the far side of the square more often to make it a bigger hit to clear the wall.

We are supposed to be extending the fence this year to make it harder to hit balls over, but we'll see if it works.

The local guys from Franklin used to have a local rule that if you hit it over our wall you got a 6 but were out, this rule does not seem to apply to visiting sides though!Pretty dangerous that btw !!! ..fek having a relaxing game o bowls & getting smacked on the napper wi a friggin cricket ball !!! :yikes!:

On a side note, as rosy as things may sound at my club (Jewel) our bowling section is in turmoil...we lost over £4000 when our treasurer had sticky finger syndrome a couple o years back...there has been of late a lot of infighting due to lack of support & funds from the main commitee & due to that our bowling commitee resigned in protest..

We now have a new commitee & they recently upped membership from £12 to £20 in a bid to claw back some funds ..we thought that would resolve issues but in an act of pettyness from the main committee they have put in a protest on three of our Esk league players who are paid up members of Niddrie bowling club but represent the Jewel on a friday night.

Our arguement is if you are a fully paid up member of the main club then you are entitled to represent the club in the league , these guys pay their bowling memberships at another club though ..

What are your rules on this ?

Craigyno1
13-03-2008, 07:26 PM
Roll on the start of the Indoor season!!:rotflmao: Especially after last year's "summer"!!

sg7nil
13-03-2008, 07:42 PM
Pretty dangerous that btw !!! ..fek having a relaxing game o bowls & getting smacked on the napper wi a friggin cricket ball !!! :yikes!:

On a side note, as rosy as things may sound at my club (Jewel) our bowling section is in turmoil...we lost over £4000 when our treasurer had sticky finger syndrome a couple o years back...there has been of late a lot of infighting due to lack of support & funds from the main commitee & due to that our bowling commitee resigned in protest..

We now have a new commitee & they recently upped membership from £12 to £20 in a bid to claw back some funds ..we thought that would resolve issues but in an act of pettyness from the main committee they have put in a protest on three of our Esk league players who are paid up members of Niddrie bowling club but represent the Jewel on a friday night.

Our arguement is if you are a fully paid up member of the main club then you are entitled to represent the club in the league , these guys pay their bowling memberships at another club though ..

As far as I know we have no members with dual "bowling" memberships (although some have social membership at other clubs).

I believe that in the case where a player is a member of multiple clubs, they are only allowed to represent one club in Scottish/Elba competitions.

I don't know how this would affect league games, most Edinburgh leagues play on Wednesdays, however the West have some games on Fridays and it appears that the Esk league plays on Fridays too.

14-03-2008, 01:09 PM
As far as I know we have no members with dual "bowling" memberships (although some have social membership at other clubs).

I believe that in the case where a player is a member of multiple clubs, they are only allowed to represent one club in Scottish/Elba competitions.

I don't know how this would affect league games, most Edinburgh leagues play on Wednesdays, however the West have some games on Fridays and it appears that the Esk league plays on Fridays too.These guys play local competitions in Niddrie Bowling club, they also represent Niddrie in the Scottish & in the leagues on a Wed..

They are fully paid up members of the Jewel miners club which imo entitles them to represent us on a Friday night ..

I dont think there is a written rule as such other than a stipulation that you can only represent one club in the Scottish & you have to be a member of the club before you can bowl there ..:agree:

16-03-2008, 07:30 PM
Good to see a bowls thread :agree:.

Our green opens on 19 April and I cannae wait, this is only my second season up here after a fifteen year break! Played crown green at a decent level from the age of thirteen until I moved to the land of flat greens.
The buzz is back it's like I never stopped playing.

16-03-2008, 07:33 PM
Pretty dangerous that btw !!! ..fek having a relaxing game o bowls & getting smacked on the napper wi a friggin cricket ball !!! :yikes!:

£20.00 FFS that's cheap, we pay £140.00.

16-03-2008, 07:42 PM
£20.00 FFS that's cheap, we pay £140.00.Where are you bowling mate ..Carricknowe perchance ?

16-03-2008, 07:48 PM
Where are you bowling mate ..Carricknowe perchance ?

No I was on their list but I couldn't wait so managed to get in to Currie.

16-03-2008, 08:28 PM
No I was on their list but I couldn't wait so managed to get in to Currie.Good stuff mate ...:agree:...yes we are cheap but unfortunately we cant attract "bowlers" because you have to be a full social club member to be able to play bowls at the Jewel ...even at that its only £5 a year to join the club ..we (the bowling side) are a sub section as opposed to an actual bowling club but anyone who has been down at the Jewel will vouch for our first class green & facilities ..

We have even lost our juniors because the rule stipulates that you have to be 18 to be a member of the club therefore anyone under that age cannot play bowls at the Jewel...or more to the point ..access the club ..

Pretty crap really ...price isnae everything ..its pishy rules that are stifling us ..we as a club need to move on but we cant under the current circumstances ..

16-03-2008, 08:39 PM
Good stuff mate ...:agree:...yes we are cheap but unfortunately we cant attract "bowlers" because you have to be a full social club member to be able to play bowls at the Jewel ...even at that its only £5 a year to join the club ..we (the bowling side) are a sub section as opposed to an actual bowling club but anyone who has been down at the Jewel will vouch for our first class green & facilities ..

We have even lost our juniors because the rule stipulates that you have to be 18 to be a member of the club therefore anyone under that age cannot play bowls at the Jewel...or more to the point ..access the club ..

Pretty crap really ...price isnae everything ..its pishy rules that are stifling us ..we as a club need to move on but we cant under the current circumstances ..

It's hard enough to generate interest and encourage new members without being restrained by outdated rules and constitutions but that's the way of bowling clubs for you.Still coming to terms myself with the huge difference in crown and lawn rules! Bowling shoes/blazers/ties/greys not in the Liverpool City bowling league! Turn up from your work in your steel toecaps/jeans/overalls and play your game just the same in whatever you choose to wear :agree: At the end of the day I'm back on the green though so I'll get used to it......eventually. Cheers mate all the best for the new season.

16-03-2008, 08:55 PM
It's hard enough to generate interest and encourage new members without being restrained by outdated rules and constitutions but that's the way of bowling clubs for you.Still coming to terms myself with the huge difference in crown and lawn rules! Bowling shoes/blazers/ties/greys not in the Liverpool City bowling league! Turn up from your work in your steel toecaps/jeans/overalls and play your game just the same in whatever you choose to wear :agree: At the end of the day I'm back on the green though so I'll get used to it......eventually. Cheers mate all the best for the new season.The dress rules are rather draconian & depending on some clubs rather pathetic ..

We are pretty relaxed on what you wear whilst playing a bowling tie ...no shorts or sleeveless tops or football tops but otherwise jeans/joggers t-shirts are fine ...tbh i couldnt care less what you are wearing ..your only playing bowls ...

Esk League..thats diff...we all wear our white shirts/black/grey trousers ..ties etc..its good to look smart whilst representing your club, most of us wear black trousers as opposed to grey & it does occassionaly get up the noses of the more "posher" clubs ....:greengrin

Bowling really has to get ahead of the times though, some of the rules are nowt short o pathetic ...:agree:

sg7nil
16-03-2008, 11:41 PM
The dress rules are rather draconian & depending on some clubs rather pathetic ..

We are pretty relaxed on what you wear whilst playing a bowling tie ...no shorts or sleeveless tops or football tops but otherwise jeans/joggers t-shirts are fine ...tbh i couldnt care less what you are wearing ..your only playing bowls ...

Esk League..thats diff...we all wear our white shirts/black/grey trousers ..ties etc..its good to look smart whilst representing your club, most of us wear black trousers as opposed to grey & it does occassionaly get up the noses of the more "posher" clubs ....:greengrin

Bowling really has to get ahead of the times though, some of the rules are nowt short o pathetic ...:agree:

Some of the old boys at our club are always on about how you should wear "Battle dress" to represent the club, as its supposed to be traditional...

Our club has loads of old pictures in it and there's not a blazer in sight. Most of the guys are in suits to be fair, but the "tradition" of Blazers, white shirts and grey trousers seems to be more recent than some people will admit.

Sunny Leith
17-03-2008, 02:09 PM
No I was on their list but I couldn't wait so managed to get in to Currie.

Played their last year in the top 5,

Better prepare yourself for the attack of the midges!!! :brickwall

Otherwise thought the green was very good. My other Grandad was a member there last year but didn't bother playing so quit ahead of this season.

17-03-2008, 03:58 PM

Otherwise thought the green was very good. My other Grandad was a member there last year but didn't bother playing so quit ahead of this season.Midges !!!!! forgot about them !!! :yikes!:...i got eaten alive whilst playing in the K/O cup at Easthouses a couple of seasons back, worst time ever, my arms were all swollen after the bites & my head was bitten to bits too, doc had to give me anti-histhimines to reduce the swelling ....bloody itchy & painful !! ....our opponents were wised up though..they were puffing the big cigars in a bid tae smoke them out !! :smokin

17-03-2008, 08:10 PM

Otherwise thought the green was very good. My other Grandad was a member there last year but didn't bother playing so quit ahead of this season.

Aye the midges are murder though someone reccomended Avon Skin So Soft so I tried it last season and had no more problems. Apparently used by the British army too.

sg7nil
18-03-2008, 01:22 PM
There are greens that are as bad as Currie (if not worse) in the town for Midges..

Coltbridge (worst ever!!!), Northern and Tipperlinn all come to mind as I've been eaten alive at all three.

Never been bitten at Currie, although It seems to rain every time I'm there so that's probably why.

I'm hoping for another season of dry Wednesday nights like last years.. I don't remember having to put the waterproofs on at all last season...

If I was playing at Currie though I'd be hoping for rain every week I was at home! mibbie?:devil:

18-03-2008, 03:00 PM
There are greens that are as bad as Currie (if not worse) in the town for Midges..

Coltbridge (worst ever!!!), Northern and Tipperlinn all come to mind as I've been eaten alive at all three.

Never been bitten at Currie, although It seems to rain every time I'm there so that's probably why.

I'm hoping for another season of dry Wednesday nights like last years.. I don't remember having to put the waterproofs on at all last season...

If I was playing at Currie though I'd be hoping for rain every week I was at home! mibbie?:devil:West Linton is meant to be the worst ever in our sections...glad we passed each other in the leagues..would def have tae take a sicky for that one !!!

Its that bad the home team bowlers have the protective headgear !!:yikes!: now that is taking midges seriously ..:paranoid:....:panic:....:greengrin

forthhibby
18-03-2008, 05:35 PM
West Linton is a nightmare for midges, but i'm sure they had machines in not sure how much of a differance they have made.

18-03-2008, 05:49 PM
West Linton is a nightmare for midges, but i'm sure they had machines in not sure how much of a differance they have made.Yeah, heard about the machines too mate, its just bloody uncomfortable esp for me because i always seem to get a bad reaction to the bites ...gonna try that Avon stuff Scouse Hibee used ...couldnae care less if i smell a bit queer...:greengrin

forthhibby
18-03-2008, 05:58 PM
midgie machines work, but i think you have to have them going constantly, our club is not that busy so some nights there was no one down to put it on.

Loads of folk use the skin so soft, so must be something in it.

18-03-2008, 06:06 PM
midgie machines work, but i think you have to have them going constantly, our club is not that busy so some nights there was no one down to put it on.

Loads of folk use the skin so soft, so must be something in it.Were no too bad down the Jewel, never seem to have midgie probs there, the odd one or two bites but nowt compared to some places ..will just have to spend more time visiting the away bars !!! :greengrin

forthhibby
18-03-2008, 06:07 PM
i've found that the midgie problem never seems as bad if you stay near the bar :greengrin

18-03-2008, 06:17 PM
i've found that the midgie problem never seems as bad if you stay near the bar :greengrinEither that or the big fat cigars ...smoke em oot ...:smokin

manewhut
19-03-2008, 10:04 PM
midges at Balerno are the size of rats ... our secret weapon.:agree:

http://www.balernobowlingclub.co.uk

W.O.L - strongest league in Scotland :tin hat:

tanfield
19-03-2008, 11:36 PM
My own club, the very fashionable Whitehouse & Grange (great deal last year to join and live handy to why not) opens on the 19th of April. Quite looking forward to getting back into bowls this year for the first time since 2004.

Ready to try and conqeuer Div 4 of the EBL and will good to go back to my old stomping ground at Tramways.

Shocking though what has happened to Edinburgh. Can sympathise as my old club (Tanfield) went a similar way but fortunately managed to secure alternative premises up the road.

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 12:59 PM
midges at Balerno are the size of rats ... our secret weapon.:agree:

http://www.balernobowlingclub.co.uk

W.O.L - strongest league in Scotland :tin hat:

Aye, there's more than a few strong clubs in the league.. but there's a few whipping boys too. I've looked at your league table from the end of last season, and frankly it wasn't that competitive....

I copied it in there but it did not format well.. and I lost a ton of typing that I had put after it.

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 01:14 PM
The EBL has by the competitive nature of the games every week, helped (I believe) to raise the general standard. All our top clubs only play other top clubs in the league, there are no easy games. Tanfield who won the league several times in the past, only just escaped relegation from the top flight last year (although this may have had something to do with their new green, however).

I can't see the attraction for half the clubs in the WOL who are unlikely to have a chance of winning it. Especially the ones that are in the town (Beechwood for example) who would probably not have to travel much further (if at all) than they currently do to fulfil fixtures.

tanfield
20-03-2008, 06:18 PM
The EBL has by the competitive nature of the games every week, helped (I believe) to raise the general standard. All our top clubs only play other top clubs in the league, there are no easy games. Tanfield who won the league several times in the past, only just escaped relegation from the top flight last year (although this may have had something to do with their new green, however).

I can't see the attraction for half the clubs in the WOL who are unlikely to have a chance of winning it. Especially the ones that are in the town (Beechwood for example) who would probably not have to travel much further (if at all) than they currently do to fulfil fixtures.

The only trouble I have seen with the EBL is the flight by the better players to the better clubs. Craigie, Parkside, Pilrig and to a lesser extent Tanfield (they have more trouble keeping players these days!) so whilst that makes the 1st Div very competitive it does make other clubs weaker. Market forces I guess though.

I get sick of the W.O.L bowlers making out there are somehow superior and as proven with the Top 5 & Top 10 non W.O.L clubs are more than capable of holding their own.

20-03-2008, 06:58 PM
Its funny reading about the EBL & WOL etc, moreso the standard at what you guys play compared to our "tin pot" Esk league ...half our guys wouldnt last two minutes in those leagues or your clubs..

You's have 1st 2nd & 3rd 16's ...we have 0ne 15 ...which normally turns into one 13 ...some think they are too good to be reserve ..:greengrin

I laughed a couple of seasons ago when we played Dalkeith (Ironmills) at the Jewel ....two well mannered middle aged bowlers from Dalkeith approached me & asked to speak to our "selectors"...i laughed ..."selectors...we dont have them down here...we have a captain who picks 12 out of the available 15 players we sometimes have at our disposal" ...:greengrin

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 07:32 PM
Its funny reading about the EBL & WOL etc, moreso the standard at what you guys play compared to our "tin pot" Esk league ...half our guys wouldnt last two minutes in those leagues or your clubs..

You's have 1st 2nd & 3rd 16's ...we have 0ne 15 ...which normally turns into one 13 ...some think they are too good to be reserve ..:greengrin

I laughed a couple of seasons ago when we played Dalkeith (Ironmills) at the Jewel ....two well mannered middle aged bowlers from Dalkeith approached me & asked to speak to our "selectors"...i laughed ..."selectors...we dont have them down here...we have a captain who picks 12 out of the available 15 players we sometimes have at our disposal" ...:greengrin

Found out recently that for all the supposed strength of the Fife leagues.. the clubs over there only field one team a week too..and a 12 man team at that!

Some EBL clubs do field up 48 players a week, but the third teams are 8 a side, so they put out 1st and 2nd 16's then a third 8 (and 4th 8 if necessary).

The EBL quoted a figure last year I can't remember exactly the figure but it was something along the lines of 1400 players participating competitively every Wednesday night!

tanfield
20-03-2008, 07:33 PM
Always found it weird that Jewel don't play in the Edinburgh leagues. There's Niddrie which is further out yet they play in the EBL.

Never played at Jewel which after 22 years playing is some feat (mind you I never played at a few clubs to date - Colinton Mains, Ardmillan, Craigmillar Park, Brunstane).

Don't know the history but did Jewel not play in the same league as Niddrie before? You both play District 11 but different leagues! Remember we beat a triple from Jewel in the 1998 District 11 triples final when I played for Tanfield. The Jewel triple was pretty decent but were on a tricky rink at the Berry. One of the Jewel triples was sporting a classic porn star tash!!:thumbsup:

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 08:05 PM
I think Niddrie jumped ship from that league when the EBL was formed, could be wrong though.

There are quite a few greens in the town that I've never played on, and quite a few that I'm in no hurry to return to.

Over the last few years, the green that I've enjoyed playing on least is London Rd Foundry (especially rink 2 which should be condemned!) Thank god we got promoted away from them this year!

We had to play an ELBA Pairs tie at Stenhouse a few years ago and it had been cut up and down rather than diagonally.. there were dark and light stripes running in the direction you were bowling in, and it wasn't possible to throw your bowls hard enough into the grain.. but bowling with the grain it was flying. A bizzarre experience! (we still won though:wink:)

tanfield
20-03-2008, 08:09 PM
I think Niddrie jumped ship from that league when the EBL was formed, could be wrong though.

There are quite a few greens in the town that I've never played on, and quite a few that I'm in no hurry to return to.

Over the last few years, the green that I've enjoyed playing on least is London Rd Foundry (especially rink 2 which should be condemned!) Thank god we got promoted away from them this year!

We had to play an ELBA Pairs tie at Stenhouse a few years ago and it had been cut up and down rather than diagonally.. there were dark and light stripes running in the direction you were bowling in, and it wasn't possible to throw your bowls hard enough into the grain.. but bowling with the grain it was flying. A bizzarre experience! (we still won though:wink:)

That's another 2 clubs I've not played at and have no great desire to rush to play there. Good to see Seafield are doing ok and remember when I first started playing in the old Port of Leith leagues that Seafield was always immaculate (great pace etc..). Last played there in the top ten semi in 2002:boo hoo:

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 08:31 PM
We had a wee problem at Seafield a few years ago when we played the invitation pairs there. It hadn't rained for a while and it had been cut short in the morning.... the sun baked down all day and by mid afternoon it was getting difficult to keep your bowls on the green.... one end I saw had a pair getting 5 shots with the only woods still on the green (all the participants had played before for many years and no bowls were driven off the green!)...that was too fast for me!

it hasn't been half as fast since... thank god!

I used to play at one of the greens you've never been on every year in their invitation triples... Ardmillan... it's a funny wee green and it isn't square.. They strung 5 rinks for the round robin part of the comps (rink 1 is a nightmare!), then reverted to 4 rinks for the knockout all the rinks are ok if they only have 4 on... the place is full of jambos and one year I was there they interrupted the tournament so that the punters could go down to Gorgie to see the jambos parading the Scottish Cup! (I stayed in the bar!)... we were 5 shots up in the last round robin game one year and the opposition skip had no real "shot" on, just a hit and hope.. he scattered the whole head and when the dust settled they got a 6... their lead said to his ship.."good bowl!" he nearly got his head kicked in!

tanfield
20-03-2008, 08:36 PM
we were 5 shots up in the last round robin game one year and the opposition skip had no real "shot" on, just a hit and hope.. he scattered the whole head and when the dust settled they got a 6... their lead said to his ship.."good bowl!" he nearly got his head kicked in![/QUOTE]

:thumbsup:Quality! Nothing like a shout of well played when you've fluked a shot:brickwall

Nothing does my head in like erses who wouldn;t know a good shot if it came up and hit them in the face.

Playing in the league last year when some numpty from Lutton Place yelled with delight after my skips attempt at a drive missed the head. Thanks ****** I don't have to play them this year!

Seen too much of this over the years to be honest. Have seen guys at Tanfield refuse to shake hands at the end of the game they were that wound up.

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 08:37 PM
That's another 2 clubs I've not played at and have no great desire to rush to play there. Good to see Seafield are doing ok and remember when I first started playing in the old Port of Leith leagues that Seafield was always immaculate (great pace etc..). Last played there in the top ten semi in 2002:boo hoo:

Was that the year "wee" Seafield made it to the final? Who were you playing for...? I thought we beat Wardie in the semi that year.. after disposing of a couple of Water of Leith teams (Bainfield and Slateford) in earlier rounds, could be wrong tho'.

Unfortunately we lost the final to Willowbrae on shots..lost the singles and Pairs, won the triples and rink.. after beating teams that were ranked much higher than them to get there!:brickwall

20-03-2008, 08:48 PM
Always found it weird that Jewel don't play in the Edinburgh leagues. There's Niddrie which is further out yet they play in the EBL.

Never played at Jewel which after 22 years playing is some feat (mind you I never played at a few clubs to date - Colinton Mains, Ardmillan, Craigmillar Park, Brunstane).

Don't know the history but did Jewel not play in the same league as Niddrie before? You both play District 11 but different leagues! Remember we beat a triple from Jewel in the 1998 District 11 triples final when I played for Tanfield. The Jewel triple was pretty decent but were on a tricky rink at the Berry. One of the Jewel triples was sporting a classic porn star tash!!:thumbsup:Ah, the one & only James Cropley....:greengrin...James is a classy player & if it wasnt for his attitude would imo get into most teams in Edinburgh ..:agree:

As for the Jewel not playing in other leagues...as we are "predominently" a sub section in a Miners club it was an old agreement from the mining days that Jewel along with others such as Danderhall, Easthouses, Loanhead, Arniston etc play on a Friday..perhaps most miners finished early on a Friday & a few pints & a game of bowls would be deemed good competition ..:agree:..

That said, we are in the main a "social" section as are others ive mentioned & whilst there is a degree of seriousness involved, most if not all the teams ive played against treat it as just that..a social night out...:agree:

I am sure though that if the Jewel ever moved to a wed night or so then we would attract more of the serious bowlers as it would be far more competitive...

tanfield
20-03-2008, 08:52 PM
Was that the year "wee" Seafield made it to the final? Who were you playing for...? I thought we beat Wardie in the semi that year.. after disposing of a couple of Water of Leith teams (Bainfield and Slateford) in earlier rounds, could be wrong tho'.

Unfortunately we lost the final to Willowbrae on shots..lost the singles and Pairs, won the triples and rink.. after beating teams that were ranked much higher than them to get there!:brickwall

Played in the singles for Tanfield. Big Al beat me 21-19 and if I remember correctly it was 4-4 tied on shots so it went to the singles:boo hoo:

tanfield
20-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Ah, the one & only James Cropley....:greengrin...James is a classy player & if it wasnt for his attitude would imo get into most teams in Edinburgh ..:agree:

Thats the guy!!!

On a separate note I mind Burnsie07 had mooted the idea of getting a .Net side together to play against his club. I know he was a tad busy last year but if something could get arranged it could be a good laugh

20-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Found out recently that for all the supposed strength of the Fife leagues.. the clubs over there only field one team a week too..and a 12 man team at that!

Some EBL clubs do field up 48 players a week, but the third teams are 8 a side, so they put out 1st and 2nd 16's then a third 8 (and 4th 8 if necessary).

The EBL quoted a figure last year I can't remember exactly the figure but it was something along the lines of 1400 players participating competitively every Wednesday night!We have two teams at the Jewel..a seniors which plays on a tues morning...8 players 2 rinks....& the main team 12 players 3 rinks on a friday night ...up until the meeting i mentioned earlier on this thread we were going to put another team into the friday night leagues but despite all the mumping & moaning about there being cliques etc no-one put their names down....funny that..they moan because they cant get into the friday night team & when the offer was there to set up another team no-one was interested ....ah well ...:confused:

20-03-2008, 08:56 PM
Ah, the one & only James Cropley....:greengrin...James is a classy player & if it wasnt for his attitude would imo get into most teams in Edinburgh ..:agree:

Thats the guy!!!Pos played with his father & brother in that triple..David snr & Jnr...all good players who have won many club championships at the Jewel ...in fact..James lost to his dad in last years championship final ..:greengrin

20-03-2008, 08:59 PM

Thats the guy!!!

On a separate note I mind Burnsie07 had mooted the idea of getting a .Net side together to play against his club. I know he was a tad busy last year but if something could get arranged it could be a good laughYeah i remember that, i would be interested i that, sounds good fun ...a hibs.net rink ...... ..:greengrin

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 09:02 PM
Played in the singles for Tanfield. Big Al beat me 21-19 and if I remember correctly it was 4-4 tied on shots so it went to the singles:boo hoo:

Did Ally smile when he won?? If he did, we'll note the date ... 2002 you say!? :wink:

I remember playing against Tanfield in the Edinburgh cup a few years ago, the three rinks we had at home did OK .. I played third on rink 5 that night and we won.. all our rinks got beat at Tanfield tho'

It was funny watching the Tanfield crew coming through the gate that night cos we had the green running the wrong way (deliberately).. wee Storrier wasnae impressed!

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 09:07 PM
We have two teams at the Jewel..a seniors which plays on a tues morning...8 players 2 rinks....& the main team 12 players 3 rinks on a friday night ...up until the meeting i mentioned earlier on this thread we were going to put another team into the friday night leagues but despite all the mumping & moaning about there being cliques etc no-one put their names down....funny that..they moan because they cant get into the friday night team & when the offer was there to set up another team no-one was interested ....ah well ...:confused:

Our seniors only play league matches on Thursdays, although there is a Tuesday league as well and some clubs play in both. Our seniors only play 3 rinks a side, but we've got lots of guys that don't get a game and were moaning.. I'm match sec and said we could enquire about joining the Tuesday league.. and guess what ... they weren't interested!! I ken the feeling well!

tanfield
20-03-2008, 09:09 PM
[QUOTE=sg7nil;1547032]Did Ally smile when he won?? If he did, we'll note the date ... 2002 you say!? :wink: - Now that you come to mention it I don't think he did and has he ever by the way???

I remember playing against Tanfield in the Edinburgh cup a few years ago, the three rinks we had at home did OK .. I played third on rink 5 that night and we won.. all our rinks got beat at Tanfield tho' - Cannae mind if I played in this game or not??

It was funny watching the Tanfield crew coming through the gate that night cos we had the green running the wrong way (deliberately).. wee Storrier wasnae impressed! - SHOCK!

20-03-2008, 09:29 PM
Our seniors only play league matches on Thursdays, although there is a Tuesday league as well and some clubs play in both. Our seniors only play 3 rinks a side, but we've got lots of guys that don't get a game and were moaning.. I'm match sec and said we could enquire about joining the Tuesday league.. and guess what ... they weren't interested!! I ken the feeling well!Do leith Dockers play out of Seafield ?..we had one or two playing in the seniors last season & i know of two of our players went to play for them in a game at Seafield...it may have been a cup game or something like that though...

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 09:34 PM
Do leith Dockers play out of Seafield ?..we had one or two playing in the seniors last season & i know of two of our players went to play for them in a game at Seafield...it may have been a cup game or something like that though...

They did play a couple of games at our green last year. A league game and a game against Rosyth Dockers I think.. Plus we played a friendly against them, so it was home from home for them.

There are one or two of them are members at Seafield anyway and a couple of ex-members (Ian & Jason Mckay)

20-03-2008, 09:39 PM
They did play a couple of games at our green last year. A league game and a game against Rosyth Dockers I think.. Plus we played a friendly against them, so it was home from home for them.

There are one or two of them are members at Seafield anyway and a couple of ex-members (Ian & Jason Mckay)Ah big Jase !!! & his dad...Jason plays in the Esk wi us sound bloke (when he turns up sober:greengrin)..Ian played a few games for us in the Esk when we had guys on holiday...he has found his level in the seniors though ...:greengrin

Did you know Ken Monkhouse ? he was an ex treasurer of the Dockers, gravelly voiced Englishman, captained the Jewel seniors..

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 09:42 PM
Ah big Jase !!! & his dad...Jason plays in the Esk wi us sound bloke (when he turns up sober:greengrin)..Ian played a few games for us in the Esk when we had guys on holiday...he has found his level in the seniors though ...:greengrin

Did you know Ken Monkhouse ? he was an ex treasurer of the Dockers, gravelly voiced Englishman, captained the Jewel seniors..

Fraid not. I'm possibly too young?

20-03-2008, 09:49 PM
Fraid not. I'm possibly too young?Nae worries mate, funny you mentioned Jase..small world indeed...i used to play second to Jase in the Esk until they changed rinks about...was funny if he came whiskied up...i ended up effectively playing lead until he could eventually focus on the white !!! :greengrin

sg7nil
20-03-2008, 09:55 PM
Nae worries mate, funny you mentioned Jase..small world indeed...i used to play second to Jase in the Esk until they changed rinks about...was funny if he came whiskied up...i ended up effectively playing lead until he could eventually focus on the white !!! :greengrin

Not that small a world. My mum and dad used to play indoor at the Jewel every Sunday night and had nights out down there as well every year, they're both getting on a bit now though so they dont go any more.

20-03-2008, 10:13 PM
Not that small a world. My mum and dad used to play indoor at the Jewel every Sunday night and had nights out down there as well every year, they're both getting on a bit now though so they dont go any more.Sadly, the indoor rinks arent there anymore...its been demolished..all that remains is a small section at the entrance end, this stores the womens lockers & underneath the irrigation system for the green ...:agree:

26-03-2008, 03:42 PM
On a separate note I mind Burnsie07 had mooted the idea of getting a .Net side together to play against his club. I know he was a tad busy last year but if something could get arranged it could be a good laugh

Been thinking about this recently Andrew and I might be able to get something going for this season. I was 'volunteered' on to the Northern Committee last season, but found it very interesting nonetheless.

BTW, for anybody that is in the Broughton,Bellevue,Cannonmills,Warriston area, or from anywhere really, if you are interested in trying out the game (or if you just want to join a new club) the Northern Bowling Club is having two 'OPEN days' on Saturday/Sunday April 19th & 20th (as opposed to our opening day on April 12th).
This is for anyone who might want to come along and try the game out for the first time, see if you fancy taking it up. You will be welcomed into the club from Around 2.00pm both days and we will provide bowls, shoes etc and a wee bit of tuition for all newcomers.
At the very least, if you don't fancy the game, you can always have a wee refreshment.
We are situated in Warriston Crescent, along towards Warriston Playing fields where the primary schools play their fitba.

We play the Edinburgh Club in our first league match of the season on their green and it will be the start of a sad season for their members.

On a similar note, I was told today that the public Greens at Balgreen are to be closed and the land sold off, no doubt for housing, although this has not been confirmed yet.
Anybody in the Edinburgh City Council heard this news?

sg7nil
26-03-2008, 04:16 PM
Surely not the Balgreen ones??? They're the "jewel in the crown" of Edinburghs public greens...!!!

Although maybe there are rules about building on any of the others (most of which I believe were bequeathed to the city by benefactors who wrote into the conditions that the council could not bulid on the sites - certainly they aint allowed to build on Leith or Victoria Park - not sure about Powderhall - and I can't imagine they'd be allowed to build on either end of the meadows!)

If public greens are to go, it may in the short term assist the private clubs in securing new members, but it will undoubtedly affect the grass roots of the game as folk will not have as ready access to a casual game as before to try it out.

26-03-2008, 04:35 PM
Surely not the Balgreen ones??? They're the "jewel in the crown" of Edinburghs public greens...!!!

Although maybe there are rules about building on any of the others (most of which I believe were bequeathed to the city by benefactors who wrote into the conditions that the council could not bulid on the sites - certainly they aint allowed to build on Leith or Victoria Park - not sure about Powderhall - and I can't imagine they'd be allowed to build on either end of the meadows!)

If public greens are to go, it may in the short term assist the private clubs in securing new members, but it will undoubtedly affect the grass roots of the game as folk will not have as ready access to a casual game as before to try it out.Played Balgreen a few times when i lived in Stenhouse...thats where they hold a lot of big comps ..also gives folk the chance to pit their wits against the "big guns"....

27-03-2008, 09:00 AM

Although maybe there are rules about building on any of the others (most of which I believe were bequeathed to the city by benefactors who wrote into the conditions that the council could not bulid on the sites - certainly they aint allowed to build on Leith or Victoria Park - not sure about Powderhall - !)
Didn't know this about greens being bequeathed to the city, that's very interesting, and good news.

If public greens are to go, it may in the short term assist the private clubs in securing new members, but it will undoubtedly affect the grass roots of the game as folk will not have as ready access to a casual game as before to try it out.

:agree: 100%

Bowls has lost a bit of its popularity in the last 5 years or so, probably primarily because of the lack of youngsters coming into the game because of the misnomer of it being an 'auld man's game'.

Possibly a bit of good news though, from a 'friend' involved in the council's sports programmes, is that there are no plans that he knows off to close Balgreen and he would be mega surprised if this was ever the case. He has said he will keep me in touch if this ever changes so maybe my original info was wrong, hopefully.

27-03-2008, 09:56 AM
Are the "cooncil" greens busy..do they actually bring in revenue ?....im not saying it would be right to sell off the land but i could see the point if they are going "concerns"..

Balgreen (as discussed) is a popular venue for comps...Stenhouse (where ive never played) always looked busy when i have passed by...Leith links...never seen them used...Powderhall...never seen them used...same goes for Meadows East/West & Prestonfield...

I agree though that the stigma of bowls being an "auld" mans game does us no favours whatsoever, the bowls image certainly needs boosted by means of more press & tv coverage ...

Corsie attempted to "up" that image with a new sooper dooper indoor arena at Milton Rd but in a need to claw some of his money back he included posh restaraunt & bar facilities in the place but that went tits up due to exhorbitant prices, those prices were set for "money" folk....mister average guy me couldnt afford to bowl there never mind eat or drink !!!!

Alas, the indoor arena never lasted & it is now being turned into a private housing scheme....

We at the Jewel have two youth coaches & the plan was to coach youngsters at the indoor (Corsie) & the Jewel outdoor green but we were simply priced out...Portobello wasnt an option...

sg7nil
27-03-2008, 11:45 AM
Are the "cooncil" greens busy..do they actually bring in revenue ?....im not saying it would be right to sell off the land but i could see the point if they are going "concerns"..

Balgreen (as discussed) is a popular venue for comps...Stenhouse (where ive never played) always looked busy when i have passed by...Leith links...never seen them used...Powderhall...never seen them used...same goes for Meadows East/West & Prestonfield...

I agree though that the stigma of bowls being an "auld" mans game does us no favours whatsoever, the bowls image certainly needs boosted by means of more press & tv coverage ...

Corsie attempted to "up" that image with a new sooper dooper indoor arena at Milton Rd but in a need to claw some of his money back he included posh restaraunt & bar facilities in the place but that went tits up due to exhorbitant prices, those prices were set for "money" folk....mister average guy me couldnt afford to bowl there never mind eat or drink !!!!

Alas, the indoor arena never lasted & it is now being turned into a private housing scheme....

We at the Jewel have two youth coaches & the plan was to coach youngsters at the indoor (Corsie) & the Jewel outdoor green but we were simply priced out...Portobello wasnt an option...

Apparently there was a proposal put on the table (before Milton Road was built) to cover one or maybe two of the Leith links public greens so that there would have been an indoor facility there, that's where I heard about the rules about building on the area - they aint allowed to do it, even if it will improve the local amenities! - I'm not sure if this was a Corsie idea or not though.

Wardie have proposed building an indoor facility on the spare ground beside their green (4 rinks only) and want backing from the EBL clubs to run leagues there to make it more viable.

BTW, Stenhouse isn't public.. it's now privately owned by a consortium of locals.

I agree though that the public greens are woefully underused. I've never seen more than one green in use at any of them except when they're running the odd big competition.

27-03-2008, 12:17 PM
Powderhall & Victoria Park are where I learned to play the game when I was about 14 years old. Within a year or two I was drafted in to play for the 'Cathedral' in the catholic churches league and I must have played on every public bowling green in the city at some point or other.
Sadly, a lot of them have now gone, being used for other activities or are just derelict land.
Bowls is a great game for ALL ages and it is one of Scotland's most successful sports in terms of medals won over the years.
I don't know if it is the misconception of it being an 'auld man's game', if it is the Scottish weather, or if youngsters nowadays are mostly that lazy that that they cannot tear themselves away from their xboxes, but bowling in Scotland is dying a death and we need to attract new blood into the sport.
I believe in the last 5 years we have lost around 50,000 players to the game, which is a huge loss, but shows the general interest there used to be in bowls.

28-03-2008, 10:56 AM
Powderhall & Victoria Park are where I learned to play the game when I was about 14 years old. Within a year or two I was drafted in to play for the 'Cathedral' in the catholic churches league and I must have played on every public bowling green in the city at some point or other.
Sadly, a lot of them have now gone, being used for other activities or are just derelict land.
Bowls is a great game for ALL ages and it is one of Scotland's most successful sports in terms of medals won over the years.
I don't know if it is the misconception of it being an 'auld man's game', if it is the Scottish weather, or if youngsters nowadays are mostly that lazy that that they cannot tear themselves away from their xboxes, but bowling in Scotland is dying a death and we need to attract new blood into the sport.
I believe in the last 5 years we have lost around 50,000 players to the game, which is a huge loss, but shows the general interest there used to be in bowls.That is a frightening statistic Burnsie...:yikes!:...we at the Jewel have absolutley no chance of attracting youth or for that matter new players...jeez..we cant even get guys to sit on a bowling commitee !!! if we cant do that then we have absolutley no chance of survival ...i fear i may be looking for a new club in the next few years if this continues...:agree:

Sunny Leith
28-03-2008, 05:23 PM
Just seen that the top 10 has been drawn and we have got Willowbrae which should be hard enough.

About the age issue, I think were fairly lucky in Edinburgh that we have a lot of u25's playing the game but I know its a more serious problem in other districts.

At my club Goldenacre, we currently have 8 u25's which is more than most i'd imagine!

28-03-2008, 06:14 PM
Just seen that the top 10 has been drawn and we have got Willowbrae which should be hard enough.

About the age issue, I think were fairly lucky in Edinburgh that we have a lot of u25's playing the game but I know its a more serious problem in other districts.

At my club Goldenacre, we currently have 8 u25's which is more than most i'd imagine!We only have two former junior champions left at the club, one of them is my partner in the 2 bowl pairs....all the other juniors have left & as far as im aware they have given up the game ...

tanfield
28-03-2008, 07:51 PM
[QUOTE=Burnsie07;1552937]Been thinking about this recently Andrew and I might be able to get something going for this season. I was 'volunteered' on to the Northern Committee last season, but found it very interesting nonetheless.

Give me a shout if you think this is a goer Mike

29-03-2008, 11:23 AM
[QUOTE=Burnsie07;1552937]Been thinking about this recently Andrew and I might be able to get something going for this season. I was 'volunteered' on to the Northern Committee last season, but found it very interesting nonetheless.

Give me a shout if you think this is a goer Mike

Will do Andrew. I have a committee meeting on Monday night and will bring it up then. We could easily get a rink or two with Hibbies who are members of the Hibs.net from the club, then it would be interesting to ask who else here from other clubs would be interested in a game.

HNA6, You might just find you will gain one new member next year. My work colleague who recently took up the game, is totally fed up with Bainfield and stays just around the corner from the Jewel and has been talking about joining next season.

29-03-2008, 11:31 AM
[QUOTE=tanfield;1555075]

Will do Andrew. I have a committee meeting on Monday night and will bring it up then. We could easily get a rink or two with Hibbies who are members of the Hibs.net from the club, then it would be interesting to ask who else here from other clubs would be interested in a game.

HNA6, You might just find you will gain one new member next year. My work colleague who recently took up the game, is totally fed up with Bainfield and stays just around the corner from the Jewel and has been talking about joining next season.Good stuff mate...is he already a member of the Jewel ?

29-03-2008, 12:14 PM
[QUOTE=Burnsie07;1555492]Good stuff mate...is he already a member of the Jewel ?

No, not in any sense, but I think he will become a bowling member next season, especially with the trams probably causing even more mayhem for him, travelling across the city to Bainfield.

Can I take it you might be interested in playing in a Hibs.net v Northern Hibbies at some stage during the season, if I can get it arranged for a suitable Saturday? (outwith the fitba season of course)

29-03-2008, 09:06 PM
[QUOTE=HNA6;1555497]

No, not in any sense, but I think he will become a bowling member next season, especially with the trams probably causing even more mayhem for him, travelling across the city to Bainfield.

Can I take it you might be interested in playing in a Hibs.net v Northern Hibbies at some stage during the season, if I can get it arranged for a suitable Saturday? (outwith the fitba season of course)He would have to be a full club member to be allowed to bowl at the Jewel ...:agree:

As for hibs.net v Northern hibbies then yes , im def up for that ...:agree:

31-03-2008, 10:29 AM
[QUOTE=Burnsie07;1555522]He would have to be a full club member to be allowed to bowl at the Jewel ...:agree:

As for hibs.net v Northern hibbies then yes , im def up for that ...:agree:

Great. I have a committee meeting tonight and I will try and find out what dates are available and try and get some feedback from about what suits everybody that might be interested.

31-03-2008, 10:37 AM
[QUOTE=HNA6;1556280]

Great. I have a committee meeting tonight and I will try and find out what dates are available and try and get some feedback from about what suits everybody that might be interested.Good stuff mate ...looking forward to it...:agree:

Quotes appear wonky ..:confused:

02-04-2008, 11:44 PM
Looking forward to outdoor. Can't really be bothered with indoor, not really got the time.

Not sure if the teams are picked at Gorgie yet but according to the rumour mill we're losing more players again this year. The fees are up to £100 but they've scrapped the joining fee to try and attract new members.

We'll probably be mid table again in the league so not much to play for there but hopefully I'll manage to win something this year. Think I might put my name down for the u25 team this year too.

Hibee_Craig7062
08-04-2008, 07:54 AM
Cant wait for the outdoor to start aswell. Much prefer it to indoor but then never build up any consistency indoor due to only playing once a week at the very most.

Teams picked at Carrick Knowe and looking very strong but you dont win leagues on paper so we need to go out and do the business. First 3 league games for us will make or break IMO

11-04-2008, 09:58 PM
Cannae believe its gonna be pissin it doon the morn !!!!!! :boo hoo:

12-04-2008, 05:02 PM
Green officially opened but no play ....*** pishy Scottish weather !!!!! :brickwall

And breathe ...

forthhibby
12-04-2008, 06:37 PM
ours opened last night, but seeing the state of the green and also the weather we're having, going to be at least 3 weeks before any play will be able to take place

sg7nil
12-04-2008, 10:51 PM
We opened today and apart from a few drops of rain after we'd played a few ends it was fine.

44 players on the green and well over 60 for the meal! so it was a good day all round.

14-04-2008, 08:31 AM
We opened today and apart from a few drops of rain after we'd played a few ends it was fine.

44 players on the green and well over 60 for the meal! so it was a good day all round.

We played too, 10 ends, and apart from a brief interuption for rain, it was absolutely fine.
Thouroughly enjoyed my day, and night :wink: :greengrin

http://www.northernbowlingclub.co.uk

15-04-2008, 07:28 PM
Our green opens this Saturday :applause: hoping for good weather and a few beers afterwards.

15-04-2008, 08:27 PM
Our green opens this Saturday :applause: hoping for good weather and a few beers afterwards.Hope ye get the weather mate & have a great day...we perhaps could have played on ours but the decision was made the night before so regardless of what the weather was on the Sat it wouldnt have mattered ...:agree:

sg7nil
16-04-2008, 07:40 AM
Hope ye get the weather mate & have a great day...we perhaps could have played on ours but the decision was made the night before so regardless of what the weather was on the Sat it wouldnt have mattered ...:agree:

That's typical of booling club inflexibility IMHO. Why not announce that the green may be playable dependant on conditions, then a decision could have been taken at the time. Our green played remarkably well (for opening day) and some bowls even made it to the ditch (something that rarely happens on a heavy "opening day" green).

16-04-2008, 09:40 AM
That's typical of booling club inflexibility IMHO. Why not announce that the green may be playable dependant on conditions, then a decision could have been taken at the time. Our green played remarkably well (for opening day) and some bowls even made it to the ditch (something that rarely happens on a heavy "opening day" green).

I was reasonably impressed with the Northern too, for opening day, not as heavy as I thought it might have been. There was plenty sand on it, although nothing like Fir Park :wink: :greengrin, but it played quite well and was taking a wee draw.

16-04-2008, 10:08 AM
That's typical of booling club inflexibility IMHO. Why not announce that the green may be playable dependant on conditions, then a decision could have been taken at the time. Our green played remarkably well (for opening day) and some bowls even made it to the ditch (something that rarely happens on a heavy "opening day" green).The green was "spongy" underfoot but i actually think the precaution was taken to prevent an "auldie" (no me) slipping & hurting themselves, that decision was on the advice of our greenkeeper not our commitee...i suppose if folk had made a fuss then it would more than likely have went ahead but no-one seemed too fussed ....apart from me !!! i was itching tae get a throw ..

We have a new guy servicing the green after we got rid of STS, i know for a fact they couldnt have cared less who played on it but this "new" guy was perhaps a bit over cautious imo ...

sg7nil
16-04-2008, 10:31 AM
The green was "spongy" underfoot but i actually think the precaution was taken to prevent an "auldie" (no me) slipping & hurting themselves, that decision was on the advice of our greenkeeper not our commitee...i suppose if folk had made a fuss then it would more than likely have went ahead but no-one seemed too fussed ....apart from me !!! i was itching tae get a throw ..

We have a new guy servicing the green after we got rid of STS, i know for a fact they couldnt have cared less who played on it but this "new" guy was perhaps a bit over cautious imo ...

We had guests this year again. Too bad yours was the same day or you could have played on the hallowed turf of Seafield!

It's funny though.. I dont play indoor (once or twice a year max) and usually by the end of the outdoor season I've had enough for another year... I spend the winter recharging the boolin batteries and by about now I'm champing at the bit to get out again just like yersel.

I don't think I could motivate myself to do it all year round.

16-04-2008, 10:48 AM
We had guests this year again. Too bad yours was the same day or you could have played on the hallowed turf of Seafield!

It's funny though.. I dont play indoor (once or twice a year max) and usually by the end of the outdoor season I've had enough for another year... I spend the winter recharging the boolin batteries and by about now I'm champing at the bit to get out again just like yersel.

I don't think I could motivate myself to do it all year round.Ive tried indoor a few times but its just no the same..i suppose though it does have its advantages compared to outdoor...namely the weather ..

I think after the pressures of watching a season o hibs theres nowt better than a few games o bowls tae help ye unwind...then if ye end up having a frustrating bowling season not tae worry ....hibs are never too far away ...:greengrin

17-04-2008, 10:04 AM
I dont play indoor (once or twice a year max) and usually by the end of the outdoor season I've had enough for another year... I spend the winter recharging the boolin batteries and by about now I'm champing at the bit to get out again just like yersel.

I don't think I could motivate myself to do it all year round.

Ive tried indoor a few times but its just no the same..i suppose though it does have its advantages compared to outdoor...namely the weather ..

I think after the pressures of watching a season o hibs theres nowt better than a few games o bowls tae help ye unwind...then if ye end up having a frustrating bowling season not tae worry ....hibs are never too far away ...:greengrin

Guys, I'm very much like that myself. Never really played indoor, probably count on one hand the amount of games I have played in my 35 years of bowling.
The Hibees are my life, but come about March, I have had my fill of the fitba/hibs and am champing at the bit to get the bowls out and get out on the green.
Then, come sort of mid July (ish) (depending on what tournaments I am still left in :wink: :greengrin) I back ready for the Hibees again. :thumbsup:

17-04-2008, 10:29 AM
Guys, I'm very much like that myself. Never really played indoor, probably count on one hand the amount of games I have played in my 35 years of bowling.
The Hibees are my life, but come about March, I have had my fill of the fitba/hibs and am champing at the bit to get the bowls out and get out on the green.
Then, come sort of mid July (ish) (depending on what tournaments I am still left in :wink: :greengrin) I back ready for the Hibees again. :thumbsup:July !!! im normally out of all the single hands by then !! :grr:....:greengrin

Talking of which ..do any o you guys have problems organizing ties etc ..as in trying to get a hold of a bloody opponent !!! we have for quite a while experienced that problem, we have the "pot hunters" ..the desperados who wait until the last poss minute then make a feeble attempt to contact you, moreso if your sitting by the pool in friggin Turkey !!!! :greengrin

They then fire a card in claiming the tie !! ..not happened to me as such but it is common practice down the Jewel...i lost my rink last year because two of my partners fannied about wi dates..i had 2 weeks holidays where i was available the whole fortnight but they decided they wanted a date when i went back to work !!! ....ive left them now & put my own rink in ...**** em ...:greengrin

See..im stressed already & i aint even thrown a bowl ...:greengrin

17-04-2008, 11:36 AM
no-one rich enough on here to open up a green over in prague!

god it's that time of year, when i start to badly miss the bowls :boo hoo:

seriously if you have money, open a green up here and you'll be even more minted :wink:
what is it with most of europe and not playing the game :brickwall

17-04-2008, 11:52 AM
July !!! im normally out of all the single hands by then !! :grr:....:greengrin

Talking of which ..do any o you guys have problems organizing ties etc ..as in trying to get a hold of a bloody opponent !!! we have for quite a while experienced that problem, we have the "pot hunters" ..the desperados who wait until the last poss minute then make a feeble attempt to contact you, moreso if your sitting by the pool in friggin Turkey !!!! :greengrin

They then fire a card in claiming the tie !! ..not happened to me as such but it is common practice down the Jewel...i lost my rink last year because two of my partners fannied about wi dates..i had 2 weeks holidays where i was available the whole fortnight but they decided they wanted a date when i went back to work !!! ....ive left them now & put my own rink in ...**** em ...:greengrin

See..im stressed already & i aint even thrown a bowl ...:greengrin

Must be the same everywhere. Every year there's jokers who put off arranging ties, then wait until the very last minute when the book's full and you can't get a rink. Matches secretary always has a hard time trying to sort it out :brickwall

sg7nil
17-04-2008, 01:04 PM
Must be the same everywhere. Every year there's jokers who put off arranging ties, then wait until the very last minute when the book's full and you can't get a rink. Matches secretary always has a hard time trying to sort it out :brickwall

Tell me about it!! I am the Match Secretary!!:confused:

However I aint the monitor on all the comps, I delegate that to other committe members.:devil:

It does get interesting though when the season is in full swing when folk are looking for extensions... Generally only granted at our club if you are unavailable due to representing the club in other games (which does happen from time to time as we do have guys that play 6 or 7 nights a week during the season)

17-04-2008, 01:24 PM
Personally, I think setting some fixed dates for triples and fours ties for all members is really good, because that way you have a lot of players then being emptied out of tournaments, freeing up there time for single's ties etc. You can fix a day and get quite a lot of matches played, 1, 2 or 3 time slots across the green would see a massive amount of ties played and players more freed up. I have seen it at bigger clubs (eg. Bainfield) and I think it works well.
But there are a high # of chancers, that try to play by the rules but still steal ties. Just thought I'd mention the above, in case its of any use to some on here!

Happy bowling :boo hoo:

sg7nil
17-04-2008, 01:42 PM
Our rink medal and triples ties always get drawn to be played on Monday nights along with the hat night. The rink medal gets done and dusted then we play the triples.

My gripe is that, although the members know the rules about when the ties are to be played, you get some chancers who enter these competitions knowing that they're unavailable to play on some or all of the Monday nights in question.

We have a rule that if ALL the other players are in agreement, the tie can be played outwith the Monday night, but MUST be completed before the next Monday. If all other players cannot agree, then either a sub has to be drafted in, or the tie is forfeit.

Personally as I work shifts and have enough hassle getting Wednesdays off for League games I never enter these comps (but am available as an occasional sub if required:wink:) but it really rips my knitting when the usual suspects come up to me year after year looking for extensions!:brickwall

Why enter the competitions expecting lots of other people to have to fit in to your schedule! :brickwall

17-04-2008, 02:22 PM
Some interesting points made ..the way our draws are conducted are single hands drawn now ...Championship, Handicap & Presented (2 bowl single hand)...these can be played in any order...

Next draw will be the pairs & triples...Scottish (4 bowl) ..Hope (2 bowl)

Lastly the rinks ...

We dont have hat nights anymore but we have Memorial competitions most sundays which attract decent numbers as well as our annual big money sponsored competition (The HarkessTrophy) which is well supported by members & non-members ..

We also have the Esk league on a Friday night as weel as the Seniors on a Tues morning..

Plenty competitions but still folk want to leave things till the last day ..:confused:

sg7nil
17-04-2008, 02:32 PM
Some interesting points made ..the way our draws are conducted are single hands drawn now ...Championship, Handicap & Presented (2 bowl single hand)...these can be played in any order...

Next draw will be the pairs & triples...Scottish (4 bowl) ..Hope (2 bowl)

Lastly the rinks ...

We dont have hat nights anymore but we have Memorial competitions most sundays which attract decent numbers as well as our annual big money sponsored competition (The HarkessTrophy) which is well supported by members & non-members ..

We also have the Esk league on a Friday night as weel as the Seniors on a Tues morning..

Plenty competitions but still folk want to leave things till the last day ..:confused:

Our championship and handicap (plus the recently introduced mixed singles:brickwall) get drawn at the start of the season. The championship has to be complete by the end of July to catch the Tait Trophy which compresses it a bit. The 2 bowl wont get drawn until the first couple of rounds of the singles are out of the way.

The pairs (and the recently introduced mixed pairs:brickwall) will get drawn in a couple of weeks once everyone has had a chance to put their names up.

Frankly I could do without the mixed competitions. But when our ladies became full members they exercised their right to play in the mens competitions (even though the men could not enter the ladies comps!) so as a compromise we had to invent two new comps (which I don't play in).

At least the mixed pairs leads somewhere as we use these winners to represent us in the Scottish Mixed (previously we used to enter our mens & Ladies singles champions - but sometimes that meant entering a pair that were not particularly fond of each other and it could lead to friction!).

17-04-2008, 02:52 PM
Our championship and handicap (plus the recently introduced mixed singles:brickwall) get drawn at the start of the season. The championship has to be complete by the end of July to catch the Tait Trophy which compresses it a bit. The 2 bowl wont get drawn until the first couple of rounds of the singles are out of the way.

The pairs (and the recently introduced mixed pairs:brickwall) will get drawn in a couple of weeks once everyone has had a chance to put their names up.

Frankly I could do without the mixed competitions. But when our ladies became full members they exercised their right to play in the mens competitions (even though the men could not enter the ladies comps!) so as a compromise we had to invent two new comps (which I don't play in).

At least the mixed pairs leads somewhere as we use these winners to represent us in the Scottish Mixed (previously we used to enter our mens & Ladies singles champions - but sometimes that meant entering a pair that were not particularly fond of each other and it could lead to friction!).Jeezo !!!! mixed comps ...:no way:....i think if you have introduced new competitions it kinda softens the blow but our biggest fear at allowing women into our section would be that they take over the place !!!!

Women bowlers at the Jewel have seperate locker rooms...they dont pay any fee's whereas we pay £20..they have their own local competitions & they all play in their Scotia league, they also get one day a year where they get the whole green so if we have comps the women have the right to refuse us a rink !! ...their section was at one time very powerful with membership until two seasons ago sitting at 50/60..there was a bit o infighting (surprise surprise) & half left along with their secretary to join rivals Brunstane..

Although we have had a bit of commitee trouble we can run our own comps ..at least we know where we stand so far as dates etc are concerned...but if women get their feet in the door then .....:blah:.....:greengrin

sg7nil
06-05-2008, 06:17 PM
The season starts for real tomorrow night...:thumbsup: by this time tomorrow we'll have played a couple of ends and hopefully be beating Goldenacre (fat chance, but I can dream!).

Our aim this season is survival in the league (2nd Division - of 5 divisions in the Edinburgh league) we were promoted into last year, and a hope that we can build year on year.

Hopefully not an unrealistic aim, and I think that a few clubs in our league will be looking for the same thing, however I would imagine Goldenacre who were relegated from the first division last year will be one of the favourites to win it and bounce straight back up.

tanfield
06-05-2008, 08:38 PM
Aye, league starts tomorrow and fingers crossed that we can get a good result at home to Braid. Nothing to fear in Division 4 but we have a tendency to win games 4-5 when a 7-2 or 9-0 was on the cards so will wait and see.

Also looks like we may be able to play in short sleeves as well. For the first league game!!:thumbsup:

06-05-2008, 09:35 PM
Lost the first game in the tough Esk 2nd div v Loanhead Private but had a great 2-6 result v Dalkeith 2 in the second game ...roll on Shottstown miners on Friday ..back to home territory at the Jewel ..:agree:

Fat Stu
06-05-2008, 10:30 PM
bring on burnsie and that mob from northern tomorrow.:greengrin

sg7nil
07-05-2008, 07:21 AM
Lost the first game in the tough Esk 2nd div v Loanhead Private but had a great 2-6 result v Dalkeith 2 in the second game ...roll on Shottstown miners on Friday ..back to home territory at the Jewel ..:agree:

How does your league scoring work? 2-6 .. is this just 2 shots for a rink up? Is there no aggregate score point(s)?

Our league matches are worth 9 points, draws are possible, 2 rinks up each and the aggregate score tied would result in 4 1/2 - 4 1/2 each.

but 5- 4 and 7-2 scorelines are far more common.

P.S. for any Edinburgh League match secretaries on here.. prepare for writers cramp when filling out the forms this year - 3 forms (two of them in triplicate) to be completed and sent off now! :brickwall

Hibee_Craig7062
07-05-2008, 12:06 PM
our WOL league started last week, we opened up with a convincing 5-0 win over sighthill - (1pt for each rink up and 1pt for aggregate is how our league works)

Bainfield tonight on their green so guarenteed to be running well - another big game though against one of our challengers for the league.

07-05-2008, 01:26 PM
How does your league scoring work? 2-6 .. is this just 2 shots for a rink up? Is there no aggregate score point(s)?

Our league matches are worth 9 points, draws are possible, 2 rinks up each and the aggregate score tied would result in 4 1/2 - 4 1/2 each.

but 5- 4 and 7-2 scorelines are far more common.

P.S. for any Edinburgh League match secretaries on here.. prepare for writers cramp when filling out the forms this year - 3 forms (two of them in triplicate) to be completed and sent off now! :brickwallThe Esk done away with aggregate scores a while back...not quite sure of the details but these are the scores that can be had (3 rinks of 4)...8-0..7-1...6-2..5-3 & 4-4...

8-0 - All 3 rinks winning by a high margin - 2 pts

7-1 - All 3 rinks winning but one marginal - 2 pts

6-2 - 2 rinks winning & the other peels/marginal - 2 pts

5-3 - 2 rinks winning, 1 rink losing - 2 pts

4-4 - Identical score - 1 pt

There are other permutations to the above but i know there isnt a bonus point added anymore ..so any win gets you 2 points.

Division 2

played won drawn lost for against dif points

ARNISTON 2 2 0 0 13 3 10 4
LOANHEAD 2 2 0 0 11 5 6 4
DALKEITH 2 2 1 0 1 10 6 4 2
JEWEL 2 1 0 1 9 7 2 2
GILMERTON 2 2 1 0 1 8 8 0 2
GOREBRIDGE 2 1 0 1 8 8 0 2
ROSEWELL 2 1 0 1 8 8 0 2
POLTON 2 0 1 1 4 12 -8 1
SHOTTSTOWN 2 0 1 1 4 12 -8 1
DALKEITH 2 0 0 2 5 11 -6 0

08-05-2008, 07:53 AM
bring on burnsie and that mob from northern tomorrow.:greengrin

Stu,
were you playing for Edinburgh last night?

I was skipping of our (defeated) rinks and must say I was disappointed. I didn't think I played too badly personally but we as a club aer toiling at the moment due to the loss of a lot of our 'Top' players over the last 5 years.
We also seem to have a good few guys who are good enough to play first XVI bowls but don't want to do so, for whatever reason, an attitude I cannot understand nor accept.

Anyway, if you were in the Edinburgh first XVI team last night, well done, a very deserved 7-2 victory for you. I am not happy, nor popular, after costing us the extra point last night, but I went for glory in the hope of turning the score into a 5-4 win, and only succeeded in making it 7-2.
Oh well, it's a longish season and we now have two home games coming up where we might pick up some points.

sg7nil
08-05-2008, 08:05 AM
We got humped 7-2 last night as well. To be fair, three of the games were rarely in doubt from half way through... and so should ours have been.. so a 5 - 4 looked on the cards as we were 15 - 7 up after 11 ends... and contrived to lose :brickwall.

As you say, it's a long season... things can only get better!

Sunny Leith
08-05-2008, 08:52 AM
You would have been playing Colin then, to tell the truth I couldn't see him coming back from that posistion but fair play to him.

I was on rink 1, it played very well considering the season is still early, 22 up wasn't too bad for a debut at skip for the acre :greengrin

sg7nil
08-05-2008, 10:08 AM
Aye, I wondered which one you were... I saw Ian losing a 7 at one end and knew that he was doomed.

I heard that his third had a stinker too, but he's been like that for some time... canny wait to get away back to work... saw him leaving last night while the players on rink 4 still had 4 ends to play!!:brickwall

He takes no time these days and seems to be living on past glories!

Your team is pretty strong to be fair, and I did predict that you guys are probably favourites for our league. The only thing that may hamper you is the inability to get on your own green for some time to come yet.

08-05-2008, 10:08 AM
Stu,

I was skipping of our (defeated) rinks and must say I was disappointed. I didn't think I played too badly personally but we as a club aer toiling at the moment due to the loss of a lot of our 'Top' players over the last 5 years.
We also seem to have a good few guys who are good enough to play first XVI bowls but don't want to do so, for whatever reason, an attitude I cannot understand nor accept.

Anyway, if you were in the Edinburgh first XVI team last night, well done, a very deserved 7-2 victory for you. I am not happy, nor popular, after costing us the extra point last night, but I went for glory in the hope of turning the score into a 5-4 win, and only succeeded in making it 7-2.
Oh well, it's a longish season and we now have two home games coming up where we might pick up some points.The joys o being skip Mike eh ..when it comes off its great but when it goes the other way !! :grr:..i suppose in the top leagues you take those chances & if they fail then ye get severly punished ...

When we were in the fifth division you could afford to go for the glory & poss get away with it but i noticed in the second div you will get punished at the slightest whim because the standard is far higher, more tighter heads/skilled opponents etc..

Two weeks ago we were "cruising" at home v Loanhead...3 rinks up & heading for an 8-0...then all of a sudden we lost 13 shots in the last end !!! ...rink 2 lost a 4 ..rink 3 lost a 4 & rink 5 lost a 5 ....2 rinks down & 1 rink peels.. 2-6 defeat....unbelievable...:grr:

Fat Stu
08-05-2008, 12:56 PM
Stu,

Oh well, it's a longish season and we now have two home games coming up where we might pick up some points.

Aye, played lead in the rink that got torn apart. One of those days were nothing came off. Think we realised early doors that we wouldn't win and tried to narrow the agg. Just couldn't do anything right.

Stu

tanfield
09-05-2008, 08:00 AM
Only a 5-4 win for the mighty Whitehouse & Grange on Wednesday against Braid. Was looking like a 9-0 at one point but then as things finished it may have finished 2-7.

Was 12-6 up but contrived to lose 21-15 at the end. I do have decent excuses though as my third pulled out due to pressure of work and my second moved up with his place filled by a 13 year old (is this the youngest player in the EBL??). Was frustrating as the rink we were playing against were no great shakes to be honest.:grr:

Away to Porty next week. Oh the joys!

09-05-2008, 08:05 AM
Only a 5-4 win for the mighty Whitehouse & Grange on Wednesday against Braid. Was looking like a 9-0 at one point but then as things finished it may have finished 2-7.

Was 12-6 up but contrived to lose 21-15 at the end. I do have decent excuses though as my third pulled out due to pressure of work and my second moved up with his place filled by a 13 year old (is this the youngest player in the EBL??). Was frustrating as the rink we were playing against were no great shakes to be honest.:grr:

Away to Porty next week. Oh the joys!What one in Porty..Jessfield ?

tanfield
09-05-2008, 08:17 AM
What one in Porty..Jessfield ?

No - Portobello itself. Never had the best reputation green wise but I've always found it to be ok.

Sunny Leith
09-05-2008, 08:35 AM
Aye, I wondered which one you were... I saw Ian losing a 7 at one end and knew that he was doomed.

I heard that his third had a stinker too, but he's been like that for some time... canny wait to get away back to work... saw him leaving last night while the players on rink 4 still had 4 ends to play!!:brickwall

He takes no time these days and seems to be living on past glories!

Your team is pretty strong to be fair, and I did predict that you guys are probably favourites for our league. The only thing that may hamper you is the inability to get on your own green for some time to come yet.

Yeah he didn't have the best of games but to be fair my front end played brilliantly and were almost lying every end!

I think we might be favourites for the league but your right about the green situation, playing the home games at Trinity for a while could be very dodgy......

Least for yous Leith got beat 9 nil :devil:

sg7nil
09-05-2008, 09:29 AM
Yeah he didn't have the best of games but to be fair my front end played brilliantly and were almost lying every end!

I think we might be favourites for the league but your right about the green situation, playing the home games at Trinity for a while could be very dodgy......

Least for yous Leith got beat 9 nil :devil:

Leith is a big club, and probably on numbers alone deserve to be in the first division, however I would never wish to join there... we have a healthy (some would describe it as unhealthy) local rivalry so I'm delighted to see them get humped 9-0.:thumbsup:

On another point. I'm glad you found our green OK. We dispensed with our previous green consultant as we did not appear to be getting value from him. I think our green is exceptional for the time of year and the weather we've had so far.. What it will be like if we get a prolonged dry spell... it could get VERY fast!

Good luck with your new clubhouse (hope it's ready by 7 weeks time!)

09-05-2008, 10:07 PM
Get in there !!! Jewel - 8 - Shottstown Miners- 0 - cracking result against the former div 1 team...:thumbsup:

tanfield
10-05-2008, 08:41 AM
Get in there !!! Jewel - 8 - Shottstown Miners- 0 - cracking result against the former div 1 team...:thumbsup:

Great result, well done.:clapper:
:clapper:

10-05-2008, 09:01 AM
Great result, well done.:clapper:
:clapper:Cheers mate...:thumbsup:..were gonna have a good bash at winning this league at the second attempt..(finished 4th last season)...im delighted because since the Jewel re-entered the Esk league div 5 in 2004 we have done superbly with the bare minimum of 14 players...

2004 - Div 5 winners

2005 - Div 4 runners up

2006 - Div 3 winners

2007 - Finished 4th in Div 2

We got a good mention for our achievements in the Evening news a while back ...:thumbsup:

10-05-2008, 05:31 PM
Another away game on Friday and another 9-0 win for us, a good start hope we can keep it up. My rink won 31-7 but to be honest they never really put any pressure on us at all.

Calvin
13-05-2008, 07:42 PM
I won my first competition today, pairs final. Short matches, only 11 ends.

Scoring went like this
0-4
0-7
0-9
3-9
3-11
4-11
4-12
6-12
8-12
8-13
15-13

Yep, we needed six in the last end and got seven, happy days.:partyhibb:cheers:

Would've won it comfortably if we didn't start so poorly.

14-05-2008, 07:24 AM
I won my first competition today, pairs final. Short matches, only 11 ends.

Scoring went like this
0-4
0-7
0-9
3-9
3-11
4-11
4-12
6-12
8-12
8-13
15-13

Yep, we needed six in the last end and got seven, happy days.:partyhibb:cheers:

Would've won it comfortably if we didn't start so poorly.

Good comeback Calvino, but did you really have to take your opponents blind dog away from them half way through the game :wink: :greengrin

BTW, what's this smillie all about? :cheers:
At 16, you're too young to be drinking alcohol :greengrin

14-05-2008, 05:52 PM
Won our first two games away from home 9-0 and then got beat at home last night 2-7 :brickwall

tanfield
15-05-2008, 06:18 AM
Managed to get 4 points last night at Portobello so a steady if not spectacular start for Whitehouse in Div. 4. I managed to win my game and another rink won by a shot so 4 points was a decent result.

15-05-2008, 07:14 AM
Northern First XVI came good at last with a 7-2 victory at home against Brunstane. Burnsie boy here rescued the situation with the last bowl of the game to chap, what was at the time, a brilliantly played last bowl by Colin, my opponent, who turned three against him into a match winning lie, the shot bowl and turn the Jack a foot to lie two and game to the Northern.
Closely fought encounter right throughout in my own game, but a crucial 7-2 victory nonetheless.

Next up, London Rd Foundry at the Northern.

BTW, our 2nd XVI won 9-0 AT Brunstane with an incredible 92-38 victory.

sg7nil
15-05-2008, 07:57 AM
We lost 7-2 to Wardie...

Managed with 4 ends to go to turn what might have been a 7-2 to us into a 7-2 down. One rink lost 10 shots in the last 3 ends. :brickwall

With a couple of ends to go it was still looking like a 5-4 down at worst! :brickwall

15-05-2008, 09:11 AM
Mixed starts for a few of us on here ...early doors i know but i know what end of the table i would rather be ...

Division 2 played won drawn lost for against dif points

ARNISTON 3 3 0 0 19 5 14 6

JEWEL 3 2 0 1 17 7 10 4

ROSEWELL 3 2 0 1 15 9 6 4

LOANHEAD 3 2 0 1 13 11 2 4

POLTON 3 1 1 1 12 12 0 3

DALKEITH 3 1 0 2 11 13 -2 2

DALKEITH 2 3 1 0 2 11 13 -2 2

GOREBRIDGE 3 1 0 2 10 14 -4 2

GILMERTON 2 3 1 0 2 8 16 -8 2

SHOTTSTOWN 3 0 1 2 4 20 -16 1

tanfield
15-05-2008, 12:02 PM
Northern First XVI came good at last with a 7-2 victory at home against Brunstane. Burnsie boy here rescued the situation with the last bowl of the game to chap, what was at the time, a brilliantly played last bowl by Colin, my opponent, who turned three against him into a match winning lie, the shot bowl and turn the Jack a foot to lie two and game to the Northern.
Closely fought encounter right throughout in my own game, but a crucial 7-2 victory nonetheless.

Next up, London Rd Foundry at the Northern.

BTW, our 2nd XVI won 9-0 AT Brunstane with an incredible 92-38 victory.

I hope this isn't you trying to talk yourself up for the game next month Mike. Our team will not be intimidated by such talk:greengrin

I would have loved to say I played many wonderful bowls last night, well I could if 2 and a half feet short on a perfect line was defined as wonderful.:greengrin

15-05-2008, 02:31 PM
I hope this isn't you trying to talk yourself up for the game next month Mike. Our team will not be intimidated by such talk:greengrin

I would have loved to say I played many wonderful bowls last night, well I could if 2 and a half feet short on a perfect line was defined as wonderful.:greengrin

I think the reason I had to 'rescue' us from this position was because, twice in two ends, when we were 2 and 3, I managed to turn the head against us with a trail on the Jack to their bowls. Needless to say, yet again, I was not Mr popular in the rink :greengrin

Sunny Leith
15-05-2008, 02:34 PM
Goldenacre with a good result last night, 8-1 at 'home' against Postal so a really good win, A win for myself finshing 6 up and Colin again coming from behind to sneak a draw on the last end! Ooh and Burnsie, who is in your Scottish pairs on friday? They will have the ''pleasure'' to play against me!!!

15-05-2008, 02:52 PM
Goldenacre with a good result last night, 8-1 at 'home' against Postal so a really good win, A win for myself finshing 6 up and Colin again coming from behind to sneak a draw on the last end! Ooh and Burnsie, who is in your Scottish pairs on friday? They will have the ''pleasure'' to play against me!!!

Stan Christie and Shuggie Hilson, that's you oot then eh! :wink: :greengrin

I'm playing in the Triples at Pilrig against Tramways tomorrow night. Virtually a 'home' game for them.

15-05-2008, 02:59 PM
Guys ...wheres Musselburgh Municipal bowling green ..? my father in law is playing there in the seniors (Scottish) next wed but isnt too sure as to its whereabouts ..tbh ..neither am i ...:confused:

16-05-2008, 08:51 AM
nobody got any other scores from Wednesday then?
Where is 'Fat Stu'? did Edinburgh get a hiding on Wednesday then? :greengrin

16-05-2008, 10:13 AM
Guys ...wheres Musselburgh Municipal bowling green ..? my father in law is playing there in the seniors (Scottish) next wed but isnt too sure as to its whereabouts ..tbh ..neither am i ...:confused:Anybody ?....is there a bowling green near the Fisherrow football pitches ..tried a wee look at google earth but Musselburgh is very blurry ..(ah the blurry mussy memories..:party:)....:greengrin

16-05-2008, 11:05 AM
Anybody ?....is there a bowling green near the Fisherrow football pitches ..tried a wee look at google earth but Musselburgh is very blurry ..(ah the blurry mussy memories..:party:)....:greengrin

Just tried to google it myself and am awaiting a reply from the council on a request for an address to your enquiry. However, I have found this but I don't know if this is a private club or municipal.

Musselburgh Bowling Club
84a Inveresk Rd
Musselburgh, Midlothian,
EH21 7BQ

16-05-2008, 11:14 AM
Just tried to google it myself and am awaiting a reply from the council on a request for an address to your enquiry. However, I have found this but I don't know if this is a private club or municipal.

Musselburgh Bowling Club
84a Inveresk Rd
Musselburgh, Midlothian,
EH21 7BQCheers mate ..ive played 3 greens in Musselburgh ..Eskmills ..Church lane (just up from the Caprice eaterie) & the other which name escapes me but i think it could poss be the one you mention above ...through muss high st (from edin)..turn right at bridge & first right again...up a tight street ...if so its a private club & not a municipal ...:agree:

16-05-2008, 11:17 AM

Musselburgh Bowling Club
84a Inveresk Rd
Musselburgh, Midlothian,
EH21 7BQGot it mate ..my hunch about Fisherrow was correct ...:agree:

Musselburgh Municipal Fisherrow Links, New Street Musselburgh 0131 665 3913

16-05-2008, 11:54 AM
Got it mate ..my hunch about Fisherrow was correct ...:agree:

Musselburgh Municipal Fisherrow Links, New Street Musselburgh 0131 665 3913

Great stuff, that's the pressure off now then eh!
I'm not overly familiar with the Musselburgh area but it's always good knowing where any particular bowling green is, just for future reference.

16-05-2008, 12:20 PM
Great stuff, that's the pressure off now then eh!
I'm not overly familiar with the Musselburgh area but it's always good knowing where any particular bowling green is, just for future reference.Believe me its not !!! ..:greengrin....thats why i was so desperate to find the place before next Wed ...means my father in law can take a few drives down just to make sure he is at the right place !!! ..he is an absolute mare at taking in directions ...how he coped in the RAF i will never know ...would hate tae think o him on a bombing raid ...:greengrin

A couple o examples..(bearing in mind he has been bowling nigh on 30 years)..

Tuesday past he asked me directions to Kirkhill bowling club, he just made the game after sitting in the car park of Penicuik bowling club for half an hour ..:greengrin

Last season we were playing Gilmerton miners, the auld yin says he was coming up to watch....7 ends in & he appears...where was he for the first 7 ends ...?...Gilmerton Private ...:grr:

Lastly...my sister in law (Margaret Scott) is a cabaret singer & does the occassional stint at Dalkeith (Ironmills bc)...father in laws bro bowls from there so he knows it well ...or does he ...he turned up 2 hours late ....seems he was watching a cabaret at Polton bc...after asking bar staff about "Margaret"..then realising there was no family there it eventually sunk in ...:greengrin

The Jewels very own Victor Meldrew !!!! :thumbsup:

16-05-2008, 11:16 PM
Polton bc - 2 Jewel MW - 6 ....good result ..reversed an 8-0 from last season ..one of a bad results of 3 that cost at the very least second place ...:thumbsup:

17-05-2008, 10:52 AM

Well done last night against Stan & Shuggie, I believe you had a comfortable win.
I got hammered in the Triples too, so the only Ayr I will be seeing again this year is the 'fresh' stuff. Got off to a terrible start, clawed it back to 7-9 then managed to lose a 07 (nice number though) and virtually game over. We did get a 5 back soon after but all a bit too late.

17-05-2008, 11:16 AM
Another 9-0 win away last night :thumbsup:

Sunny Leith
17-05-2008, 05:03 PM
Well done last night against Stan & Shuggie, I believe you had a comfortable win.
I got hammered in the Triples too, so the only Ayr I will be seeing again this year is the 'fresh' stuff. Got off to a terrible start, clawed it back to 7-9 then managed to lose a 07 (nice number though) and virtually game over. We did get a 5 back soon after but all a bit too late.

Cheers, ended up winning 20-8. Wasn't so comfortable at the start, 8-3 down and me playing awful but managed to play some good bowls at important times which was good.

17-05-2008, 09:28 PM
Polton bc - 2 Jewel MW - 6 ....good result ..reversed an 8-0 from last season ..one of a bad results of 3 that cost at the very least second place ...:thumbsup:

Another 9-0 win away last night :thumbsup:

Cheers, ended up winning 20-8. Wasn't so comfortable at the start, 8-3 down and me playing awful but managed to play some good bowls at important times which was good.Bring on the Northern !! :clapper:.....:greengrin

tanfield
18-05-2008, 08:28 PM
Bring on the Northern !! :clapper:.....:greengrin

Must say it's looking good Kenny:greengrin

tanfield
19-05-2008, 07:36 AM
Cheers, ended up winning 20-8. Wasn't so comfortable at the start, 8-3 down and me playing awful but managed to play some good bowls at important times which was good.

Sunny Leith - You got your name down to play on the 28th June v Northern? If you're skipping for Goldenacre I'm sure we can find you a skip berth in the .Net team:wink:

19-05-2008, 09:37 AM
Sunny Leith - You got your name down to play on the 28th June v Northern? If you're skipping for Goldenacre I'm sure we can find you a skip berth in the .Net team:wink:

Is that you pot hunting already Andrew?

tanfield
19-05-2008, 12:25 PM
Is that you pot hunting already Andrew?

Needed someone to replace you Mike after your defection to the Northern cause.:greengrin

tanfield
21-05-2008, 07:03 AM
Well and truly pumped last night in the Scottish (pairs):boo hoo: although having said that to a very good Carrick Knowe pair who will take some beating if they playing as solidly as they did last night.

Anyway League tonight against my old club Tramways which should be interesting followed by a works bowling event in Aberdeen tomorrow and then a couple of ties at the weekend. All go:agree:

Hibee_Craig7062
21-05-2008, 12:33 PM
Well and truly pumped last night in the Scottish (pairs):boo hoo: although having said that to a very good Carrick Knowe pair who will take some beating if they playing as solidly as they did last night.

Anyway League tonight against my old club Tramways which should be interesting followed by a works bowling event in Aberdeen tomorrow and then a couple of ties at the weekend. All go:agree:

Up the Carrick Knowe boys! :applause:

It is a very strong pair Andrew with a wee bit luck the guys could do something this year i reckon

Managed to get through in the fours last night but be very surprised if we go all the way in the district as there are better fours out there id reckon

sg7nil
22-05-2008, 08:25 AM
How did all your EBL results go last night.

Seafield looked to be cruising to our first win of the season with one rink well up and the other three leading narrowly with a few ends to go.

But we blew it with a peel and two rinks peels playing the last end (which they both lost by a single shot!) :brickwall

Wouldn't have been so bad but both were lying in the final end but lost out to heavy bowls that got maximum results (one rink had to replay when the end was burnt).

So instead of a possible 9 - 0 win (although 7 - 2 would have been a reasonable result) we lost 5 - 4.

Things can only get better (as they say) :boo hoo:

22-05-2008, 10:44 AM
Northern lost 7-2 at home to LRF last night. One rink a mile up, one a mile down, one in a close game but always struggling and my own one which once again went down to the last bowl.
4 up with 4 to play, we went in to the last end 3 down after some bad and unlucky bowls from my third and yours truly here, when I managed to turn a 3 in our favour into one against when I knocked a short bowl in for shot :brickwall
I still had a wee chance with mt last bowl of the game but failed to do the biz and we ended up 2 down again :boo hoo:

tanfield
23-05-2008, 12:30 PM
5-4 win on Wednesday against Tramways but should have been more. Couple of peels in the last ends cost us although I lost a 5 in the second last after being four up with 2 to play:brickwall (great last trail by their skip it must be said though)

Still up in Aberdeen yesterday when we managed to lift the National Championships for the work bowls outing I organised:thumbsup: Quite competitive day but Edinburgh ran out worthy winners (on shots diff!) over teams from Glasgow, Aberdeen & Halifax. Beats a day in the office any day.:greengrin

sg7nil
23-05-2008, 03:29 PM
Congratulations on the win in Aberdeen... how do they pick the teams for that.. is it still down to folk that play in the Meadows on Tuesday nights?

I wouldn't mind the odd day off work either!

23-05-2008, 06:42 PM
Jewel won away 1-2 at Gilmerton private v Gilmerton in the Ko cup ...a long trip to midge infested West Linton await them ....mon the Jewel ...:thumbsup:

Won the last 3 league games & are away to Gilmerton Private tonight ..tough games as they always are ..Jewel wi a weakened team because of Scottish ties ...

tanfield
23-05-2008, 07:08 PM
Congratulations on the win in Aberdeen... how do they pick the teams for that.. is it still down to folk that play in the Meadows on Tuesday nights?

I wouldn't mind the odd day off work either!

Cheers Stuart. This was arranged some months ago before I was aware of your connection but is open to members of the club and we tried to assemble a strong team.

Each area provided a single, pairs and triples and played 3 games. The crown green guys from Halifax were superb. We fixed it to play them first (they had just got off the plane virtually) so we caught them cold but they turned over both Glasgow and Aberdeen (if you were involved in any previous matches against Glasgow you can imagine the looks on some of their faces! Priceless).

Realise you've got a lot on your hands within your own club but if you get the chance to become involved in the bank club, you would be considered for selection for next years events.

25-05-2008, 11:50 AM
Jewel crushed 8-0 v Gilmerton 2 away on Friday night in the Esk, much changed team due to players on Scottish duty ...:boo hoo:

That is the problem we have wi only having one team, other clubs wi 2 or 3 16's can promote within the teams to compensate for Scottish ties ..we have to promote within the section & to be honest the guys coming in are not up to league standard ...

29-05-2008, 07:25 AM
Northern beat Niddrie 5-4 at Niddrie last night. A good victory for us, but it was nae thanks to me or my rink.

Our 2nds won 6-3 at home to Postal and still sit proudly at the top of the table :thumbsup:

tanfield
29-05-2008, 12:55 PM
Heavy defeat last night by Civil Service at home. The back end against me could do no wrong but would have been interesting if it hadn't rained last night as the green was flying before that.:brickwall

29-05-2008, 04:17 PM
Northern beat Niddrie 5-4 at Niddrie last night. A good victory for us, but it was nae thanks to me or my rink.

Our 2nds won 6-3 at home to Postal and still sit proudly at the top of the table :thumbsup:Bad result for Niddrie Mike ..hope Scott/Bowie & Swain are hurting ...we need them for the morns night at home to Rosewell ..im back in as first reserve after missing the last four games ...:thumbsup:

29-05-2008, 07:31 PM
Bad result for Niddrie Mike ..hope Scott/Bowie & Swain are hurting ...we need them for the morns night at home to Rosewell ..im back in as first reserve after missing the last four games ...:thumbsup:

Bob Bowie cuffed me Kenny, 16-11, although it was the lead and third (bob somebody) who done the real damage. I managed to play my worst game of the season by a long way last night and didn't enjoy it at all. The guys were good to play against though, quite friendly in their manner, which makes a change from playing against the desperados of the first division.
Davy? Scott took a hammering from our Champ George Prentice, who is on fire at the moment, with George winning 26-11.

29-05-2008, 07:59 PM
Bob Bowie cuffed me Kenny, 16-11, although it was the lead and third (bob somebody) who done the real damage. I managed to play my worst game of the season by a long way last night and didn't enjoy it at all. The guys were good to play against though, quite friendly in their manner, which makes a change from playing against the desperados of the first division.
Davy? Scott took a hammering from our Champ George Prentice, who is on fire at the moment, with George winning 26-11.Unlucky Mike...Rab (Bodo) Bowie was a cracking player a few years ago ..untouchable at the Jewel before he & a few others "defected" to the Niddrie B.C...since he came back he hasnt really made the same kinda impact ...up & down kinda player ...he was my first skip in the Esk league...a frustrating skip who spends a lot of time yapping at the head instead of geeing up the lads ..:greengrin

Davie Scott is the best of the three imo (the other being Gary Swain)..best skip ive ever played with, watches your game & is always giving encouragement ....that said mate ..its on the day..

I dont know many from the Niddrie team but the annual Wauchope Trophy between the Jewel & Niddrie is a hoot ..rivalry at its very best ...its our "derby"...drinking from very early doors until "bowl off" at 2.00...5 rinks which includes a seniors rink...meal ...more bevvy ...green competitions then Jewel V Niddrie at karaoke ...cracking day out !!!!...:party:

31-05-2008, 06:50 AM
Jewel lost again last night at home to Rosewell....two rinks finished peels & the other slaughtered ...:grr:

I had a steady game at second (only my 3rd time on the green this year) & was skipped by Gary Swain wi a woeful Rab Bowie playing a very "loose" 3rd ...we were tit for tat then lost a 5 & 4 back to back ...i stuck 2 on the sweetie on a long ..to build up a good head for a 5 then again as we took back the 4 ..9 shots back in quick succession & eventually finished peels at 15 ...

We can forget promotion now, we had 6 players out through work/holidays but thats 3 defeats in 6 games ....we only lost 4 out of 18 last year !!

Wished we really had the depth in squad like some o your guys teams ...:boo hoo:

sg7nil
31-05-2008, 07:17 AM
Sunny Leith, what's the story with your green/clubhouse? When will you be playing games at home? And where have you decanted to in the meantime?

It's another 4 weeks until we are due to play at Goldenacre, but the latest I heard was that your green was unlikely to be playable for a long time still!

(I hope you get back in soon mate :thumbsup:, but bear in mind that our green will be lying unused occasionally as our second 16 have free weeks, so if you're totally stuck, let us know)

Sunny Leith
31-05-2008, 10:09 AM
Alright mate,

Well situation is still looking dodgy, were having a problem with putting the water system in place so that is the main delay we have, if that gets sorted soon then hopefully we will be in for the middle of the month, possibly even earlier!

Were playing at Trinity next 2 weeks so we will be okay i reckon! Cheers anyway though :thumbsup:

01-06-2008, 01:31 PM
Alright mate,

Well situation is still looking dodgy, were having a problem with putting the water system in place so that is the main delay we have, if that gets sorted soon then hopefully we will be in for the middle of the month, possibly even earlier!

Were playing at Trinity next 2 weeks so we will be okay i reckon! Cheers anyway though :thumbsup:

Are you not scheduled to hold the SBA semi or final at Goldenacre very shortly?
Can't see the SBA being overly chuffed at playing such games on a green that has never been played on this season and with no clubhouse facilities?

Sunny Leith
02-06-2008, 09:18 AM
Are you not scheduled to hold the SBA semi or final at Goldenacre very shortly?
Can't see the SBA being overly chuffed at playing such games on a green that has never been played on this season and with no clubhouse facilities?

Been moved to Wardie i believe!

03-06-2008, 11:52 AM
Anybody playing in the Scottish tonight?
We have George Prentice playing in the singles at Dudley tonight and our Fours are at Maitland, district 11.

Might end up at Dudley tonight if the weather improves, which it is meant to :thumbsup:

03-06-2008, 12:35 PM
Anybody playing in the Scottish tonight?
We have George Prentice playing in the singles at Dudley tonight and our Fours are at Maitland, district 11.

Might end up at Dudley tonight if the weather improves, which it is meant to :thumbsup:Nope ..my quest for Scottish glory begins on thurs afternoon in the first round of the Scottish pairs ...:agree:

07-06-2008, 12:14 AM
Another 8-0 defeat for Jewel away to Dalkeith...we are really struggling this year due to lack of pool depth ....we are now just hitting 12 players ..any call offs & we are struggling ...

tanfield
08-06-2008, 09:43 AM
Another 8-0 defeat for Jewel away to Dalkeith...we are really struggling this year due to lack of pool depth ....we are now just hitting 12 players ..any call offs & we are struggling ...

Nae joy Kenny. Out of interest how many members does the Jewel have?

08-06-2008, 09:59 AM
Nae joy Kenny. Out of interest how many members does the Jewel have?Bowling members 60 - 100, active bowlers approx 70....Jewel club Membership 3000 + ..

Bowling is only a sub section but in recent years the section has struggled..it didnt help when we had £4000 + stolen from our accounts, that committee was disolved but since then no-one has really taken the bull wi the horns ...even bowling meetings fail to get a turnout of more than 5 or 6 ...

A perfect example being last years bowling presentation dance ...we moved it from the smaller 100 capacity hall to the larger 300 capacity & sold tickets to club regulars as well as bowlers ...the hall was packed out but out of 300 folk the dissapointing thing was there were barely 20 bowlers !!!...speaks for itself doesnt it ....:grr:

10-06-2008, 08:28 AM
Bowling members 60 - 100, active bowlers approx 70....Jewel club Membership 3000 + ..

Bowling is only a sub section but in recent years the section has struggled..it didnt help when we had £4000 + stolen from our accounts, that committee was disolved but since then no-one has really taken the bull wi the horns ...even bowling meetings fail to get a turnout of more than 5 or 6 ...

A perfect example being last years bowling presentation dance ...we moved it from the smaller 100 capacity hall to the larger 300 capacity & sold tickets to club regulars as well as bowlers ...the hall was packed out but out of 300 folk the dissapointing thing was there were barely 20 bowlers !!!...speaks for itself doesnt it ....:grr:

That is bad news about the 'misplaced' (?) money Kenny, it would certainly have finished us if even half of that had disappeared.
Unfortunately bowling is on a downward spiral in recent years and we are all toiling, although the Northern has certainly picked up in the past two years thanks to some real efforts from the committee and a good few members, who have worked hard in actively promoting our club.
You will find that any club who has over 70 members is probably one of the stronger ones these days as a lot of us are toiling and I fear we will lose a few more clubs in the coming years.
As I said, fortunately the Northern has picked up again and we are looking ok, but certainly cannot take things for granted and more hard work will need to be done during the winter months and build up to next season.
For now though, we are just looking forward to giving you guys a pasting on the 28th (wish I could get my smillies working from home, anyway, tin helmet on for now)

Mike

tanfield
12-06-2008, 11:49 AM
7-2 win over Trinity last night in the rain and my first win at home:woohoo::woohoo:

Hibee_Craig7062
13-06-2008, 08:22 AM
7-2 win over Trinity last night in the rain and my first win at home:woohoo::woohoo:

How is W&G playing ahead of the District 12 finals?

CKBC (pairs & Triples) again with good chances of having someone in ayr. Good luck to all concerned.

sg7nil
13-06-2008, 10:03 AM
We got humped at Dudley on Wednesday (although I played exceptionally well - so I was told)... and with Willowbrae getting a good result too, we're now deep in relegation trouble...:brickwall still it's early in the season and a couple of good results could yet pull us out of the merde.

tanfield
13-06-2008, 11:24 AM
How is W&G playing ahead of the District 12 finals?

CKBC (pairs & Triples) again with good chances of having someone in ayr. Good luck to all concerned.

All depends on the weather Craig but has been flying during the recent dry period. If the weathers decent the green will be running ok (apart from rink 3 which is NEVER played on!)

tanfield
13-06-2008, 11:25 AM
We got humped at Dudley on Wednesday (although I played exceptionally well - so I was told)... and with Willowbrae getting a good result too, we're now deep in relegation trouble...:brickwall still it's early in the season and a couple of good results could yet pull us out of the merde.

Agree. Still early in the season. Just got to get the shovels out Stuart:greengrin

13-06-2008, 11:43 AM
Agree. Still early in the season. Just got to get the shovels out Stuart:greengrinLikewise..a promising start has turned into a mare ..two games to go until the turnaround...im pretty sure we will stay up ....just ..:worried:

14-06-2008, 11:24 AM
Agree. Still early in the season. Just got to get the shovels out Stuart:greengrin

Don't know what league you guys play in but we're nearly half way through the league season now, so it's not that early.

BTW, Abyvody know when Goldenacre is actually opening for play. Our 2nd XVI are due to play there on Wednesday but not sure if the game will go ahead there or somewhere else?

14-06-2008, 02:01 PM
Superb 7-1 home win to the Jewel over Arniston who were unbeaten in 7 ...:thumbsup:

sg7nil
14-06-2008, 09:17 PM
Don't know what league you guys play in but we're nearly half way through the league season now, so it's not that early.

BTW, Abyvody know when Goldenacre is actually opening for play. Our 2nd XVI are due to play there on Wednesday but not sure if the game will go ahead there or somewhere else?

Same one as you! (We're in division 2 - which isn't a bad standard - hence the fact that we're in relegation trouble just now... still 8 games to go, so plenty of time left... I hope!)

19-06-2008, 07:35 AM
Week 7 and half way through the season.
A fantastic 9-0 win over joint 2nd top Liberton last night moves the Northern above our opponents of last night and nearer a promotion spot.
Depending on last nights other results, we will be at worst 3rd in the league now. :thumbsup:

sg7nil
19-06-2008, 09:33 AM
An acceptable (if not brilliant) 5 - 4 win over Willowbrae last night will help our cause. :thumbsup:

Any win is a good win when you're sitting bottom of the table!

We are supposed to be at Goldenacre next week.. what's the story... is it open yet????

19-06-2008, 12:15 PM
An acceptable (if not brilliant) 5 - 4 win over Willowbrae last night will help our cause. :thumbsup:

Any win is a good win when you're sitting bottom of the table!

We are supposed to be at Goldenacre next week.. what's the story... is it open yet????

It opened on Saturday. Our 2nd XVI played on the green last night, which I believe is their fist league match played on their own green this season.

sg7nil
19-06-2008, 12:20 PM
Good to hear...

What has that meant in terms of you guys playing internal competitiions this year?

We are a couple of rounds into our singles/pairs/handicap etc.. and the rink medal final should have been last week...

How are you going to fit all your fixtures in? (or have you had playing priviledges at other clubs in the meantime?)

Just curious

Edit.. OK sorry I ken that Burnsie is at Northern, but there is a Goldenacre member on here.. so the question is aimed at him.

Sunny Leith
19-06-2008, 10:03 PM
Good to hear...

What has that meant in terms of you guys playing internal competitiions this year?

We are a couple of rounds into our singles/pairs/handicap etc.. and the rink medal final should have been last week...

How are you going to fit all your fixtures in? (or have you had playing priviledges at other clubs in the meantime?)

Just curious

Edit.. OK sorry I ken that Burnsie is at Northern, but there is a Goldenacre member on here.. so the question is aimed at him.

That wil be aimed at me!

Think a couple of the minor tournements have een srapped and we start the fours on monday, could be quite hectic with all ties but at least were finally in!

Good 5-4 win for us at Corstophine!

sg7nil
25-06-2008, 02:41 PM
That wil be aimed at me!

Think a couple of the minor tournements have een srapped and we start the fours on monday, could be quite hectic with all ties but at least were finally in!

Good 5-4 win for us at Corstophine!

Hopefully you'll no be winning tonight! :wink:

And it better stay dry, cos all my kit is still soaked from playing last night!

GGTTS (that's Seafield)

tanfield
03-07-2008, 07:48 AM
Decent 7-2 home win for Whitehouse last night. Managed a good win over Gary Swain who played well all night.

Any more updates lads??:dunno:

03-07-2008, 11:16 AM
Decent 7-2 home win for Whitehouse last night. Managed a good win over Gary Swain who played well all night.

Any more updates lads??:dunno:Good result over the big man Andy ...:thumbsup:

Jewel game v Dalkeith 2 on Friday cancelled due to funeral..our game will be played on Monday night..we really need to get firing ..were a bit too close to the bottom ..:worried:

03-07-2008, 11:26 AM
Northern firsts lost 5-4 at Brunstane, despite Burnsie07 being at his brilliant best (well gobbed a couple of shots which helped my rink scrape home).

Our 2nds lost 7-2 at home to the same opponents. Ever since our marvellous victory on Saturday against :hnet: the wheels have come of the barrow. :greengrin

03-07-2008, 11:47 AM
Northern firsts lost 5-4 at Brunstane, despite Burnsie07 being at his brilliant best (well gobbed a couple of shots which helped my rink scrape home).

Our 2nds lost 7-2 at home to the same opponents. Ever since our marvellous victory on Saturday against :hnet: the wheels have come of the barrow. :greengrinAye..ye must have peaked too early Mike....or perhaps it was because :hnet: ran ye ragged last sat..yer aw oot o puff !!!! :greengrin

03-07-2008, 12:01 PM
Oh how could i forget ..myself & my partner (Rab Brown) are through to the semi finals of the Scottish pairs..

It was tit for tat for most of the 17 ends with no scores any higher than a pair...we lost a bit ground & pulled it back to peels 11 going into the last end..

I put four bowls to within 6" of a long jack only for my opponent to draw a blinder with his first bowl ...his other three were nowhere..:grr:

His partner drew a second shot & we were staring a two shot defeat in the face ...until lady luck looked down..:greengrin

My partner with the last bowl of the game played a shot to nothing into the head..got a couple o "kellies" ..& stunned the white onto his bowl for a single & a 12 - 11 win....onwards & upwards....:thumbsup:

03-07-2008, 01:47 PM
Oh how could i forget ..myself & my partner (Rab Brown) are through to the semi finals of the Scottish pairs..

It was tit for tat for most of the 17 ends with no scores any higher than a pair...we lost a bit ground & pulled it back to peels 11 going into the last end..

I put four bowls to within 6" of a long jack only for my opponent to draw a blinder with his first bowl ...his other three were nowhere..:grr:

His partner drew a second shot & we were staring a two shot defeat in the face ...until lady luck looked down..:greengrin

My partner with the last bowl of the game played a shot to nothing into the head..got a couple o "kellies" ..& stunned the white onto his bowl for a single & a 12 - 11 win....onwards & upwards....:thumbsup:

Brilliant Kenny, well done to you both. Getting a few Kellies eh! you must really have been watching me on Saturday after all :wink: :thumbsup:

03-07-2008, 01:57 PM
Brilliant Kenny, well done to you both. Getting a few Kellies eh! you must really have been watching me on Saturday after all :wink: :thumbsup:Funny you mentioned Sat ...im now gonna re-name Kellies to..Burnsies ...:thumbsup:

11-07-2008, 05:29 AM
Its gone awfy quiet on this thread ...:greengrin

Jewel scraped a much needed 5 - 3 win over fellow strugglers Dalkeith 2 ..we move onto 10 points with Dalkeith rock bottom wi 3 ..

Another big game away tonight against another surprise struggler Shottstown miners..if we win this the funny thing is we will only be a couple o points away from 3rd place ....:greengrin

11-07-2008, 07:54 AM
Northern gubbed 7-2 against LRF on Wednesday, a very bad result for us. My rink lost 15-14 but was incredibly unlucky with my last bowl, shot against, moved the jack but it fell to one of opponents bowls rather than ours :brickwall

11-07-2008, 08:20 AM
Northern gubbed 7-2 against LRF on Wednesday, a very bad result for us. My rink lost 15-14 but was incredibly unlucky with my last bowl, shot against, moved the jack but it fell to win one of opponents bowls rather than ours :brickwallUnlike you Mike ...:greengrin

11-07-2008, 11:10 AM
Unlike you Mike ...:greengrin

You know Kenny, I must be the most unluckiest bowler in the world. That's probably why I have never won anything in my life :wink: :greengrin

11-07-2008, 11:49 AM
You know Kenny, I must be the most unluckiest bowler in the world. That's probably why I have never won anything in my life :wink: :greengrinI think there comes a time when you reach a level & that remains the standard of your bowls ..

For example, i dont expect to improve, i may beat the occassional "big" name at the Jewel in one off competitions as i have done, i may flirt wi the quarter finals every couple of seasons but i cant ever see myself getting my name up in gold writing !!! ..i simply dont think im up to or will get to that level ..:greengrin

Im not consistent enough..one good game out of four speaks for itself ...:grr:....:greengrin

11-07-2008, 12:21 PM
I think there comes a time when you reach a level & that remains the standard of your bowls ..

For example, i dont expect to improve, i may beat the occassional "big" name at the Jewel in one off competitions as i have done, i may flirt wi the quarter finals every couple of seasons but i cant ever see myself getting my name up in gold writing !!! ..i simply dont think im up to or will get to that level ..:greengrin

Im not consistent enough..one good game out of four speaks for itself ...:grr:....:greengrin

So unlike me, you're not just really unlucky then? :wink: :greengrin

11-07-2008, 12:43 PM
So unlike me, you're not just really unlucky then? :wink: :greengrinNah ...im ***** !!! :greengrin...seriously though..my nerves get the better of me ..i just cant relax & enjoy the game..jeezo..ive been playing long enough now tae know better ...even a few ..:party: beforehand doesnae work anymore....im seriously thinking of taking up knitting ...:greengrin

James Connolly
11-07-2008, 01:16 PM
Its gone awfy quiet on this thread ...:greengrin

Jewel scraped a much needed 5 - 3 win over fellow strugglers Dalkeith 2 ..we move onto 10 points with Dalkeith rock bottom wi 3 ..

Another big game away tonight against another surprise struggler Shottstown miners..if we win this the funny thing is we will only be a couple o points away from 3rd place ....:greengrin

Aye it went down to the last end, pity I was in the Dalkeith rink that lost a 5 at the last!:grr:

Division 3 certainly beckons for us now.:bye:

11-07-2008, 01:38 PM
Aye it went down to the last end, pity I was in the Dalkeith rink that lost a 5 at the last!:grr:

Division 3 certainly beckons for us now.:bye:Plenty games left mate ...i still wouldnae rule us oot ..i cannae believe we are fighting relegation this year compared to chasing promotion last year !!! ...:grr:

Ps ye will know Wullie & Scott Morrison who bowl for Dalkeith ...?

James Connolly
11-07-2008, 01:55 PM
Plenty games left mate ...i still wouldnae rule us oot ..i cannae believe we are fighting relegation this year compared to chasing promotion last year !!! ...:grr:

Ps ye will know Wullie & Scott Morrison who bowl for Dalkeith ...?

Aye, Scott's not down very much (prefers the Poker); but his auld man's down regular.

We've got Rosewell tonight, at home thank ******; then the Dalkeith Derby next week!

Even though Team 1 are heading for promotion, there will be no quarter given.:take that

11-07-2008, 02:30 PM
Aye, Scott's not down very much (prefers the Poker); but his auld man's down regular.

We've got Rosewell tonight, at home thank ******; then the Dalkeith Derby next week!

Even though Team 1 are heading for promotion, there will be no quarter given.:take thatAye, i heard Scott is a bit o a card shark now ...:greengrin..i was up your patch a couple o weeks ago when we got a right doing, Scott was playing a tie....you might have been in Polton suffering the same fate as us ...:greengrin

Bet yer glad ye have Rosewell at home...last time i played up their it was like a tattiefield !!! :agree:

11-07-2008, 09:48 PM
Shottstown Miners 0 ...Jewel Miners 8...great result at Penicuik..two wins on the trot now ...:thumbsup:

tanfield
12-07-2008, 08:32 AM
Good stuff Kenny :applause::applause:

12-07-2008, 09:05 AM
Good stuff Kenny :applause::applause:Cheers Andy...as i said on a previous post its been a funny league..we have two home games on the trot & if we win them we could make a late promotion bid wi the last five games...plenty points to be had, we have settled the team again ...:agree:

Btw..i was talking to Gary Swain last night...he was telling me he has resigned from the Niddrie bowling club committee & has taken a place on the new Newcraighall Miners Committee which now runs Niddrie bowling club ...

The upside is..Niddrie bowling club is now a "sub" section (like we are at the Jewel)...they (according to Swain) are now gonna reduce membership prices & they will be on a par with the Jewel ..£20...that will attract the cream of bowlers from nearby Musselburgh..

As well as having a cheap membership they will have a local club with two greens right on their doorstep ...

Interesting stuff indeed ...:agree:

12-07-2008, 09:59 AM
9-0 Home win against Colinton "A" last night, we started off the night one point behind leaders Sighthill, don't know how they got on but at least we can't be any worse off than before the game.:greengrin

James Connolly
12-07-2008, 11:12 AM
Shottstown Miners 0 ...Jewel Miners 8...great result at Penicuik..two wins on the trot now ...:thumbsup:

Great result up there; Dalkeith 2 beat Rosewell 6-2.:thumbsup:

Probably too little too late, but who knows.

12-07-2008, 12:30 PM
Great result up there; Dalkeith 2 beat Rosewell 6-2.:thumbsup:

Probably too little too late, but who knows.Well done ..getting a bit too close for my liking ...:worried:.....:greengrin

Sunny Leith
13-07-2008, 08:36 PM
The Acre playing Dudley on Wednesday in a huge match, there 2nd, a point ahead of us in the league so a big win will defp help us.

Also into the Quaters of the top 5 after beating Wardie 3-2, yours truly winning the deciding game 21-19 after being 10 nil doon! :greengrin

17-07-2008, 08:36 PM
Lost 17 - 6 (wi an end to spare) in the first round of the triples ...what a miserable night ...:boo hoo:

Fat Stu
17-07-2008, 09:50 PM
woot woot, just qualified for my first championship final:thumbsup:.

sg7nil
17-07-2008, 11:43 PM
Well done Stu! :thumbsup:

Our club got a draw at Maitland on Wednesday (4 1/2 - 4 1/2).... My rink was 12 shots up playing the last and contrived to lose a three to peel the aggregate across the board... so funnily enough, although we were our sides highest up rink, because we came off the green last and we knew what we had to do to get the aggregate score it felt like we had lost it for the team! :brickwall

18-07-2008, 05:10 AM
woot woot, just qualified for my first championship final:thumbsup:.Good stuff Stu ..well done mate ...:aok:

James Connolly
18-07-2008, 06:38 AM
Big derby game tonight; Dalkeith v Dalkeith 2.

They're top of division 2, while we're rock bottom; no matter, we'll still kick their @rse!:wink:

18-07-2008, 07:37 AM
woot woot, just qualified for my first championship final:thumbsup:.

Well done Stu, stick in in the final. Been there two years in a row and lost both times.

Still in there fighting myself this year but in a right tough section of the draw.

Good luck in your final.

sg7nil
18-07-2008, 08:40 PM
On another note....

Our club (Seafield) runs an open 2 bowl pairs comp each year.

This year it will be held on Saturday 26th July.

Some of you may remember it from days gone by when it used to be run across both greens at Seafield and Leith with the finals being played alternately at each club..... THE PERSEVERE....

It is currently sponsored so the prize money is decent :wink:, however we are still looking for a few more entries to make it a better day out.

The format is round robin, so all entries should get a minimum of 3 games, and it's £5 per pair if you want to enter.

If anyone is interested in playnig, fell free to PM me (preferrably by next Thursday night) and I'll stick your name into the draw. :thumbsup:

Include a phone number too, as I can contact you with your opening match time once the draw is made on Friday night. (probably the first fill on the green will be either 10:00 or 11:00 - depends on how many entries we get).

18-07-2008, 09:47 PM
On another note....

Some of you may remember it from days gone by when it used to be run across both greens at Seafield and Leith with the finals being played alternately at each club..... THE PERSEVERE....

It is currently sponsored so the prize money is decent :wink:, however we are still looking for a few more entries to make it a better day out.

The format is round robin, so all entries should get a minimum of 3 games, and it's £5 per pair if you want to enter.

If anyone is interested in playnig, fell free to PM me (preferrably by next Thursday night) and I'll stick your name into the draw. :thumbsup:

Include a phone number too, as I can contact you with your opening match time once the draw is made on Friday night. (probably the first fill on the green will be either 10:00 or 11:00 - depends on how many entries we get).Would love to take part in that Stuart but im back at work & would be struggling to commit myself to any dates ..

That said my Scottish pairs semi cut off date is 22nd July ...im working backshift !!! theres no way i can poss play that ..one o my opponents is away on holiday & doesnae get back till Monday 21st !!! :grr:

James Connolly
19-07-2008, 09:20 AM
As I predicted, Dalkeith 2 beat Dalkeith 1 6-2 last night!:thumbsup:

It's a pity we couldn't play them every week; we'd be top of the league instead of bottom.

19-07-2008, 09:59 AM
As I predicted, Dalkeith 2 beat Dalkeith 1 6-2 last night!:thumbsup:

It's a pity we couldn't play them every week; we'd be top of the league instead of bottom.Fix !!!! :grr:......:greengrin....nah, well done mate, hope ye stay up, i like a wee jaunt up to Dalkeith....:party:

Wasnae sure o the Jewel result last night as i was unable to play ..if we beat Polton that means you are only a point behind them ...& we are only three points behind Dalkeith 1 ...:greengrin

Fat Stu
20-07-2008, 12:08 AM
On another note....

Include a phone number too, as I can contact you with your opening match time once the draw is made on Friday night. (probably the first fill on the green will be either 10:00 or 11:00 - depends on how many entries we get).

stu, if I can get a partner i'll play.

on another note I won the championship today :thumbsup::thumbsup:

sg7nil
20-07-2008, 12:22 AM
Great news about the championship Stu... :thumbsup: (what happens about playing in the Scottish next year? It'd be good if they let you play in it even if the club is no more...)

Let me know if you can get a partner for Saturday (before Friday as I'll be drawing it then) and PM me a note of your phone number if you can play and I'll call you and let you know when you're on.

20-07-2008, 11:36 AM
stu, if I can get a partner i'll play.

on another note I won the championship today :thumbsup::thumbsup:Superb stuff Stu ..well done mate ...:cup: